DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/21/2026 is acknowledged. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejection are set forth below, and this office action is non-final. Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 14-16, 20, 21, 25, 28, 32, 34, 35 and 47 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 5 recites “the temperature”, which should be “a temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 7 recites “the sealing temperature”, which should be “the seal initiation temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 10 recites “strength”, which should be “the seal strength is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 11 recites “the sample”, which should be “the sealed sample”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 12 recites “the seal”, which should be “the heat seal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 13 recites “the peak load”, which should be “a peak load”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 14 recites “the sample width”, which should be “a width of the sealed sample”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, lines 30-31 recite “15%, 16%, 17%,18%, 19%, 20%, 25%, 30%, 35% or 40%”, which should be “15 wt%, 16 wt%, 17 wt%, 18 wt%, 19 wt%, 20 wt%, 25 wt%, 30 wt%, 35 wt% or 40 wt%”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 31 recites “the heat resistant polymer polyamide”, which should be “the polyamide”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 32 recites “4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9% or 10%”, which should be “4 wt%, 5 wt%, 6 wt%, 7 wt%, 8 wt%, 9 wt% or 10 wt%”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, lines 32-33 recite “the heat resistant polymer ethylene vinyl alcohol”, which should be “the ethylene vinyl alcohol”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3, line 2 recites “a calculated composite melt index”, which should be “the calculated composite melt index”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, line 3 recites “8 and 50 wt% the”, which should be “8 and 50 wt% of the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10, lines 1-2 recite “the heat resistant polymer polyamide”, which should be “the polyamide”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14, line 2 recites “a calculated composite melt index”, which should be “the calculated composite melt index”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15, line 3 recites “the traverse direction”, which should be “a traverse direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16, line 3 recites “the machine direction”, which should be “a machine direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 25, lines 2-3 recites “the compatibilizer is present in the at least one reclaim layer in amount from 0.5 to 10 wt% ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer”, which should be “the compatibilizer is present in the at least one reclaim layer in amount from 0.5 to 10 wt% and the compatibilizer is ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 32, line 3 recites “total weight”, which should be “the total weight”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 34, line 3 recites “total weight”, which should be “the total weight”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 35, line 2 recites “a scrap content of at least 50 wt% based on total weight”, which should be “the total scrap content of at least 50 wt% based on the total weight”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 5 recites “the temperature”, which should be “a temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 8 recites “the sealing temperature”, which should be “the seal initiation temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 10 recites “strength”, which should be “the seal strength is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 12 recites “the sample”, which should be “the sealed sample”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, lines 13-14 recites “the seal”, which should be “the heat seal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 14 recites “the peak load”, which should be “a peak load”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 15 recites “the sample width”, which should be “a width of the sealed sample”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, lines 30-32 recite “10%, 11%, 12%, 13%, 14%, 15%, 16%, 17%, 18%, 19%, 20%, 25%, 30%, 35% or 40%”, which should be “10 wt%, 11 wt%, 12 wt%, 13 wt%, 14 wt%, 15 wt%, 16 wt%, 17 wt%, 18 wt%, 19 wt%, 20 wt%, 25 wt%, 30 wt%, 35 wt% or 40 wt%”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 32 recites “the heat resistant polymer polyamide”, which should be “the polyamide”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, line 33 recites “4%, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9% or 10%”, which should be “4 wt%, 5 wt%, 6 wt%, 7 wt%, 8 wt%, 9 wt% or 10 wt%”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 47 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 47, lines 33-34 recite “the heat resistant polymer ethylene vinyl alcohol”, which should be “the ethylene vinyl alcohol”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 14-16, 21, 25, 28, 32, 34, 35 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2014/0154477 A1 cited in IDS) in view of Szala et al. (US 2020/0317896 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 14-16, 21, 25, 28, 35 and 47, Chu et al. disclose a multilayer film comprising a bulk layer and a microlayer section (see paragraph 0066). The bulk layer (heat seal layer) comprises VLDPE, LLDPE, LDPE, polypropylene, etc. (see paragraphs 0066 and 0159). That is, the bulk layer can comprise 100 wt% of polyolefin such as VDLPE, LLDPE, LDPE or polypropylene. Given that bulk layer is identical to the heat seal layer as presently claimed, bulk layer will necessarily function as heat seal layer. Given that the bulk layer is identical to heat seal layer as presently claimed, the bulk layer has a seal initiation temperature as presently claimed and a calculated composite melt index as presently claimed.
The microsection comprises a microlayer (reclaim layer) comprising a recycled polymer in amount of up to 100 wt%, i.e. scrap content of 0 to 100 wt% (see paragraph 0067). The microlayer can comprise polyethylene such as LLDPE (see paragraphs 0160). Further, additional polymers can be added in microlayer (see paragraph 0157). For instance, microlayer can include EVOH, polyamide such as PA6, etc. (see paragraph 0157). That is, microlayer can include blend of polyethylene and EVOH. The microlayer can also include blend of polyethylene, EVOH and polyamide, wherein EVOH and polyamide reads on two distinct heat resistant polymers. Given that the microlayer (reclaim layer) comprises 0-100% scrap and given that the microlayers comprise up to 70% of the total thickness of the multilayer film (see paragraph 0065), the amount of scrap in the multilayer film would necessarily overlap that claimed.
Chu et al. do not disclose microlayer (reclaim layer) as presently claimed.
Szala et al. disclose a composition comprising a polyethylene such as LLDPE, a combination of a vinyl alcohol polymer such as EVOH and a polyamide such as PA-6, and a polar polymer such as ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer (see Abstract, pages 27-28, claims 1, 4, 25 and paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0123). The ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer reads on compatibilizer. The amount of polyethylene is about 10 to about 99 wt% based on the total weight of the composition (see paragraph 0155). The amount of ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer is about 0.1 to about 50 wt% based on the total weight of the composition (see paragraph 0156). The amount of EVOH and polyamide in the composition is from 0.1 to 50 wt%, wherein a weight ratio of polyamide to EVOH is 99:1 to 1:99 (see paragraphs 0157 and 0162). When the ratio of polyamide to EVOH is 80:20, based on 50 wt% of combined amount EVOH and polyamide, the amount of polyamide is 40 wt% and the amount of EVOH is 10 wt% (40 = 80 x 50/100 and 10 = 20 x 50/100). When the ratio of polyamide to EVOH is 80:20, based on 0.1 wt% of combined amount EVOH and polyamide, the amount of polyamide is 0.08 wt% and the amount of EVOH is 0.02 wt% (0.08 = 80 x 0.1/100 and 0.02 = 20 x 0.1/100). Therefore, the composition comprises 0.08 to 40 wt% of polyamide and 0.02 to 10 wt% of EVOH. Further, the composition can contain about 0.1 to about 50 wt% of additional additives such as phosphite (see paragraphs 0151 and 0158). Given that phosphite is identical to the antioxidant presently claimed, it would necessarily inherently function as an antioxidant. The composition improves mechanical properties and optical properties (see paragraphs 0012, 0013 and 0281). The composition can be in the form of a film (see paragraph 0154).
In light of motivation for using a composition disclosed by Szala et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Szala et al. in the microlayer of Chu et al. in order to improve mechanical properties and optical properties, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, the microlayer (reclaim layer) comprises 0.02 to 10 wt% of ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer, 0.08 to 40 wt% of polyamide, about 0.1 to about 50 wt% of ethylene-acrylic acid as a compatibilizer, about 10 to about 99 wt% of polyethylene and about 0.1 to about 50 wt% of antioxidant. Accordingly, the heat resistant polymers (ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer and polyamide) comprise 0.1 to 50 wt% the total weight of the microlayer (reclaim layer).
Accordingly, Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. disclose microlayer identical to that presently claimed. Therefore, microlayer (reclaim layer) necessarily inherently has a calculated composite melt index and a seal initiation temperature as presently claimed.
Further, given that the heat seal layer and the reclaim layer are identical to that presently claimed, the reclaim layer has a seal initiation temperature higher than the seal initiation temperature of the heat seal layer as presently claimed.
Given that the multilayer layer including the heat seal layer and the reclaim layer of Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. are identical to that presently claimed, the microlayer (reclaim layer) necessarily inherently has properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 32, Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. disclose the multi-layer film structure as set forth above. The bulk layer (heat seal layer) can comprise 100 wt% of polyolefin as noted above. The microlayer (reclaim layer) comprises 0.02 to 10 wt% of ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer, 0.08 to 40 wt% of polyamide resin, about 0.1 to about 50 wt% of an ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer and about 10 to about 99 wt% of polyethylene as noted above. Therefore, the microlayer (reclaim comprises) 10.12 to 60 wt% of polyolefin (10.12 = 0.02 + 0.1 + 10 and 60 = 100 - 40), wherein each of the ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymer, the ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer and polyethylene reads on polyolefin. Given that Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. disclose the heat seal layer comprises 100 wt% of polyolefin and the reclaim layer comprises 10.12 to 60 wt%, it is clear that the total amount of polyolefin in the multilayer film will necessarily overlap with that presently claimed.
Regarding claim 34, Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. disclose the multi-layer film structure as set forth above. The bulk layer (heat seal layer) comprises 100 wt% of polyolefin as noted above. That is, the heat seal layer contains 0 wt% polyamide. The microlayer (reclaim layer) comprises 0.08 to 40 wt% of polyamide as noted above. Accordingly, the amount of polyamide in the multilayer structure is 0.08 to 40 wt%.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2014/0154477 A1 cited in IDS) in view of Szala et al. (US 2020/0317896 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Shi et al. (US 2016/0288475 A1 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 20, Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. disclose the multi-layer film structure as set forth above. While Chu et al. disclose bulk layer (heat seal layer) can comprise 100 wt% of polyolefin, Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. do not disclose heat seal layer has a total polyolefin content from 90 to 99 wt% based on the total composition of the heat seal layer.
Shi et al. disclose a bulk layer made of polyolefin such as polyethylenes (see paragraph 0027). The bulk layer can comprise about 100 to about 10,000 ppm of antiblock additives that aid in controlling friction and/or adhesion of adjacent film surfaces (see paragraphs 0025 and 0029). Accordingly, the amount of antiblock additives is 0.01 to 1 wt%.
In light of motivation for using 0.01 to 1 wt% of antiblock additives disclosed by Shi et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use 0.01 to 1 wt% of antiblock additives in the bulk layer of Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. in order to aid in controlling friction and/or adhesion of adjacent film surfaces, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Chu et al. in view of Szala et al. disclose the bulk layer (heat seal layer) comprising polyolefin and 0.01 to 1 wt% of antiblock additives. Therefore, amount of polyolefin is necessarily 99 to 99.99 wt% in the bulk layer (heat seal layer).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejections are set forth above. All arguments except as set forth below are moot in light of new grounds of rejections.
Applicants argue that the Office Action dated April 22, 2026 further asserts that the bulk layer of Chu is "identical to the heat seal layer as presently claimed" and, therefore, "will necessarily function as [a] heat seal layer." The Office Action dated April 22, 2026 concludes that the bulk layer necessarily possesses the claimed seal initiation temperature. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Chu merely discloses that the bulk layer may comprise polymers such as VLDPE, LLDPE, LDPE, polypropylene, and the like. The fact that the presently claimed heat seal layer and Chu's bulk layer may both include one or more polyolefins does not render the two layers compositionally identical. The claims employ the open-ended transitional term "comprising," and therefore do not exclude the presence of additional materials, additives, modifiers, processing aids, recycled content, or other constituents that may materially influence sealing performance. Accordingly, the disclosure of overlapping classes of polymers does not establish that Chu's bulk layer is identical to the claimed heat seal layer, as asserted in the Office Action dated April 22, 2026.
However, the present claim recites heat seal layer comprises at least 90 wt% of polyolefin such as LLDPE, LDPE, etc. (see claim 1). That is, the heat seal layer is made of 90 up to 100 wt% polyolefin. Given that Chu discloses a bulk layer comprises polyolefin such as LLDPE or LDPE and there is no disclosure of any additives in the bulk layer, the bulk layer of Chu is the same as the present claim. Further, while applicant argues that claim 1 is open to additional materials in light of “comprising” language, no other materials are claimed. Also, in addition to encompassing additional materials, the claim also encompasses having no additional materials. Therefore, the bulk layer of Chu reads on the heat seal layer, absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicants argue that moreover, the present specification defines seal initiation temperature by a particular testing methodology. Specifically, seal initiation temperature is defined as the temperature at which a seal achieves "a seal strength of at least 22.6 N/cm when sealed with a dwell time of one second and a sealing pressure of 50 N/cm²," followed by aging and testing under specified conditions. Thus, whether a layer possesses the claimed seal initiation temperature depends upon measured sealing performance under a particular test protocol and not merely upon the presence of a particular class of polymers. The Office Action dated April 22, 2026 does not identify any seal strength data for Chu, any sealing-pressure data for Chu, any seal-initiation-temperature measurements for Chu, or any analysis demonstrating that Chu's bulk layer necessarily achieves a seal strength of at least 22.6 N/cm when sealed under the conditions required by Applicant's specification. Rather, the Office Action dated April 22, 2026 assumes that the claimed seal initiation temperature is inherently present because Chu discloses certain polyolefin materials. However, polymer sealing performance is influenced by numerous compositional and processing variables. Accordingly, the mere disclosure of a broad class of polymers does not establish that the claimed sealing performance necessarily flows from the cited disclosure.
As noted above, given that bulk layer of Chu is made of same type of polyolefin used for heat seal layer, the bulk layer of Chu will necessarily inherently have seal strength as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Further, regarding “polymer sealing performance is influenced by numerous compositional and processing variables”, applicants have provided no evidence (i.e. data) to support their position.
Applicants argue that thus, the conclusion set forth in the Office Action dated April 22, 2026 that Chu's bulk layer "will necessarily function as heat seal layer" and, thus, possesses the claimed seal initiation temperature and calculated composite melt index is unsupported. This inherency analysis is inconsistent with MPEP § 2112. As explained by the MPEP, "the examiner must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art," (MPEP § 2112 (IV)). The Office Action dated April 22, 2026 does not provide factual findings or technical reasoning demonstrating that Chu's bulk layer necessarily possesses the claimed seal initiation temperature or the claimed calculated composite melt index. Accordingly, the inherency finding is unsupported. Furthermore, inherency "may not be established by probabilities or possibilities. The mere fact that a certain thing may result from a given set of circumstances is not sufficient." In re Oelrich, 666 2d 578, 581-82, 212 USPQ 323, 326 (CCPA 1981). At most, the Office Action dated April 22, 2026 suggests that certain embodiments of Chu could possess the alleged properties. However, a showing that a property may be present does not establish that the property necessarily flows from the cited disclosure and therefore does not establish inherency.
As noted above, given that bulk layer of Chu is made of same type of polyolefin used for heat seal layer, the bulk layer of Chu will necessarily inherently have properties as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Further, the basis for inherency is not based on mere possibility or probability but based on the fact that the prior art references explicitly meet all the claim limitations. It is the examiner’s position that a sound basis has been set forth for believing that the product of the prior art is the same as that claimed. The Office realizes that the claimed properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed components. Therefore, the claimed properties would be inherently necessarily be capable of being achieved by the prior art. If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) persuasive evidence would need to be provided to support this position; and (2) it would be the Office's position that the application contains inadequate disclosure in that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed components. Given that it is the examiner’s position that a sound basis has been provided in the rejections of record for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, one would expect the claimed properties to necessarily be present (i.e. naturally flow from the prior art), and thus, the burden is properly shifted back to applicant to show that they are not.
Applicants argue that Shi does not cure the deficiencies of Chu, Shimo, and Dobreski with respect to independent claim 1.
However, note that while Shi do not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Shi is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely antiblock additives, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mason et al. (WO 88/02764 A1) disclose a blend of polyamide, polyolefin and ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer (see Abstract).
Cooper et al. (WO 2020/154167 A1) disclose a barrier coating comprising a blend of ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer and ethylene acrylic acid copolymer (see Abstract).
Subraminan (4,444,817) disclose a blend of polyolefin, polyamide and alkylcarboxy-substituted polyolefin (see page 12, claims 1-3).
Conclusion
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787