DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed 12/12/2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 10 and 11 are cancelled.
Claims 1-9 and 12-22 are currently pending.
Claims 4 and 12-16 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and/or species.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 17-22 are under examination.
In view of the amendments and arguments filed on 12/12/2025, the following rejections remain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the Office Action mailed on 9/15/2025. Briefly, the claims encompass a genus of polypeptides with the function of “γc chain or an intracellular region thereof” without adequate written description support in the instant specification.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 12/12/2025, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the γc chain is one specific naturally occurring protein represented by UnitProt entry P31785 (remarks filed 12/12/2025 pg. 2). Applicant further argues that this one species of polypeptide structure does not include variants, and therefore arts demonstrating sequence variability of the γc chain changes its signaling function do not apply.
This has been found to be not persuasive. UnitProt entry P31785 and SEQ ID NO: 16 and 14 represent the sequence of the wildtype γc or intracellular region, respectively, from humans.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 recite γc chains or intracellular regions thereof from any animal species. However, the instant specification only discloses one representative species from humans. It is unclear as to what species of γc chains were known in the art other than human. The identification of γc chains from unknown species is unpredictable. Thus, the written description provided in the instant specification is not commensurate with the scope of the claimed invention. In view of the aforementioned problems regarding description of the claimed invention, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed invention herein.
See The Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly and Company, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404-7 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 39 U.S.P.Q.2d 1225 (Fed. Cir. 1995) the inventors claimed a genus of DNA species encoding insulin in different vertebrates or mammals, but had only described a single species of cDNA which encoded rat insulin. The court held that only the nucleic acids species described in the specification (i.e. nucleic acids encoding rat insulin) met the description requirement and that the inventors were not entitled to a claim encompassing a genus of nucleic acids encoding insulin from other vertebrates, mammals or humans, id. at 1240. The Federal Circuit has held that if an inventor is "unable to envision the detailed constitution of a gene so as to distinguish it from other materials. . .conception has not been achieved until reduction to practice has occurred", Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co, Ltd., 18 U.S.P.Q.2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991). Attention is also directed to the decision of The Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly and Company (CAFC, July 1997) wherein is stated: The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 222 USPQ 369, 372-373 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, naming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material. T2d at 1606.
Additionally, instant claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 recite “a γc chain or intracellular signaling region thereof” and not the structural elements of the single species of wildtype human γc chain disclosed in the instant specification (i.e., amino acid sequence). Thus, it is the Examiner’s position that while the instant specification discloses one species of γc chain, the instant claims are directed to a genus of polypeptide variants of any length and sequence, and from any species, all that function as “a γc or intracellular region thereof”. For the reasons set forth in the Office Action mailed on 9/15/2025, there is inadequate written description support for this broad genus of polypeptides with the recited function.
Instant claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C 112(a) for written description.
Amending instant claim 1 to include the structure of the disclosed species of the signaling region of wildtype γc chain from humans (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 16), would resolve this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Rezvani et al. (WO2018195339). This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Applicant has amended instant claim 1 to include “wherein the chimeric antigen receptor does not contain intracellular regions of IL-2Ra, IL2Rb, IL4Ra, IL7Ra, IL9Ra, IL15Ra, and IL21Ra”, necessitating the new grounds of rejection.
Rezvani et al. teaches cells comprising chimeric antigen receptors (i.e., chimeric antigen receptors; claim 1), wherein the chimeric antigen receptor comprises an antigen binding region (claim 31), a transmembrane domain (claim 47), and one or more intracellular signaling domains (claim 43). Rezvani et al. additionally claims the intracellular signaling domains, including IL-2RG/CD132 (i.e., “a γc chain or intracellular signaling region thereof”; Rezvani et al. claim 45).
Rezvani et al. teaches the chimeric antigen receptor can comprise the following intracellular signaling regions (claim 45): 4-1BB (i.e., “a co-stimulatory domain” or the limitations of instant claim 9) CD3ζ (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 8), and IL2-RG/CD132/γc, leading to a CAR that does not contain intracellular regions of IL-2Ra, IL2Rb, IL4Ra, IL7Ra, IL9Ra, IL15Ra, or IL21Ra (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Rezvani et al. teaches the antigen binding region can be an scFv (i.e., “a monoclonal antibody”; Rezvani et al. claim 30).
Regarding claim 6, Rezvani et al. teaches the antigen binding region of the CAR can bind to CD19 (claim 32).
Regarding claim 7, Rezvani et al. teaches the TM can be a CD8 TM domain (claim 48).
Regarding claim 9, Rezvani additionally explicitly teaches that the 4-1BB intracellular signaling region is a co-stimulatory domain (Fig. 7A and ¶[0030]): “[t]he antigenic receptor construct (TCR or CAR) can further include co-stimulatory molecules such as CD3ζ, 4-1BB-L…”.
Regarding claim 17, Rezvani et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the CAR (claim 49), as well as these compositions comprising the CAR and an acceptable carrier/excipient (¶[00232]-[00233]).
Claim 18 is included because a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Rezvani et al. teaches the same structure encompassed by claim 18, and is therefore capable of performing the intended use recited in instant claim 18, meeting the claim limitations.
Rezvani et al. anticipates the invention of instant claims 1, 5-9, 17, and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezvani et al. (WO2018195339, supra). This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Rezvani et al. teaches cells comprising chimeric antigen receptors (i.e., chimeric antigen receptors; claim 1), wherein the chimeric antigen receptor comprises an antigen binding region (claim 31), a transmembrane domain (claim 47), and one or more intracellular signaling domains (claim 43). Rezvani et al. additionally claims the intracellular signaling domains, including IL-2RG/CD132 (i.e., “a γc chain or intracellular signaling region thereof”; Rezvani et al. claim 45).
Rezvani et al. teaches the chimeric antigen receptor can comprise the following intracellular signaling regions (claim 45): 4-1BB (i.e., “a co-stimulatory domain” or the limitations of instant claim 9) CD3ζ (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 8), and IL2-RG/CD132/γc, leading to a CAR that does not contain intracellular regions of IL-2Ra, IL2Rb, IL4Ra, IL7Ra, IL9Ra, IL15Ra, or IL21Ra (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 1).
Rezvani et al. teaches the antigen binding region can be an scFv (i.e., “a monoclonal antibody” or the limitations of instant claim 5; Rezvani et al. claim 30). Rezvani et al. additionally teaches the antigen binding region of the CAR can bind to CD19 (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 6; Rezvani et al. claim 32), teaches the TM can be a CD8 TM domain (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 7; Rezvani et al. claim 48).
Rezvani additionally explicitly teaches that the 4-1BB intracellular signaling region is a co-stimulatory domain (Fig. 7A and ¶[0030]): “[t]he antigenic receptor construct (TCR or CAR) can further include co-stimulatory molecules such as CD3ζ, 4-1BB-L…”. Rezvani et al. further teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising the CAR (claim 49), as well as these compositions comprising the CAR and an acceptable carrier/excipient (¶[00232]-[00233]).
Rezvani et al. does not explicitly teach that the arrangement of the 4-1BB, CD3ζ, and IL-2RG/γc signaling domains in this arrangement, from near to far away from the cell membrane (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 2).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the teachings of Rezvani et al. to make variants of the taught CAR that have different arrangements of the 4-1BB, CD3ζ, and γc signaling domains using routine experimentation, leading to the arrangement of 4-1BB, CD3ζ, and γc, with 4-1BB being closest to the cell membrane (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 2) with a reasonable expectation of success, as Rezvani et al. teaches all three of these signaling domains can be incorporated in to a CAR. One would have been motivated to make this change to rearrange the intracellular signaling domain parts of the CAR taught by Rezvani et al. through routine experimentation. Also see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 18 is included because a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Rezvani et al. teaches the same structure encompassed by claim 18, and is therefore capable of performing the intended use recited in instant claim 18, meeting the claim limitations.
Claims 19-22 are included because, as discussed supra, Rezvani et al. teaches the CAR can have an anti-CD19 antigen binding domain (claim 32), a CD8 TM domain (claim 48), a CD3ζ signaling domain (claim 45), and a 4-1BB co-stimulatory domain (claim 45), meeting these claim limitations.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rezvani et al (supra) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5-9, and 17-22 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (WO2019242339, in Office Action mailed 9/15/2025). This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
The teachings of Rezvani et al. have been discussed supra. Rezvani et al. does not teach the specific γc sequence recited in instant claim 3.
Yang et al., in the same field of endeavor teaches the IL2Rg sequences that can be successfully incorporated into CARs (Figure 1), including SEQ ID NO: 7, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 3):
Qy 1 ERTMPRIPTLKNLEDLVTEYHGNFSAWSGVSKGLAESLQPDYSERLCLVSEIPPKGGALG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ERTMPRIPTLKNLEDLVTEYHGNFSAWSGVSKGLAESLQPDYSERLCLVSEIPPKGGALG 60
Qy 61 EGPGASPCNQHSPYWAPPCYTLKPET 86
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 EGPGASPCNQHSPYWAPPCYTLKPET 86
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have modified the CAR taught by Rezvani et al. in view of Yang et al. to use the IL2Rg/γc chain taught by Yang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, as Yang et al. teaches that this sequence can be successfully incorporated into CARs. The IL2-Rg signaling domains taught by Rezvani et al. and Yang et al. are considered art-recognized equivalent structures with the function of “γc chain”, and it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to swap these art-recognized γc chain regions to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (supra). This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Yang et al. teaches (Abstract): “a chimeric antigen receptor having a structure of scFv(X)-(Y)CD3zeta-MN”. Yang et al. teaches that X is the target of the scFv (i.e., “a monoclonal antibody” or the limitations of instant claim 5; Yang et al. Abstract), and can be targeting CD19 (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 6 and 19; Yang et al. pg. 11, ¶6): “…X is selected from the group consisting of an anti-CD19 antibody…”
Yang et al. teaches that Y is a co-stimulatory region (Abstract), and can be 4-1BB (i.e., instant claim s 9 and 22; Yang et al. pg. 5, Step 2): “Y is an intracellular region of a co-stimulatory receptor selected from ICOS, … 4-1BB…”. Yang et al. additionally teaches (pg. 5, Step 2): “M is the intracellular region of the gamma chain family cytokine receptor selected from IL2Ra, IL2Rb, IL4Ra, IL7Ra, IL9Ra, IL15Ra, IL21Ra ; N is the intracellular region of IL2Rg”. Also see Figure 1:
Yang et al. teaches that the CAR additionally comprises a CD8 TM region (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 7 and 20; Yang et al. pg. 5): “the transmembrane region of the chimeric antigen receptor is selected from one of CD8a…”.
Yang et al. teaches a CAR in the following format: CD19scFv–4-1BB–CD3ζ–(gamma chain family cytokine receptor)–IL2Rg with a CD8 TM region. IL2Rg is a γc chain intracellular region. The arrangement of the 4-1BB co-stimulatory domain, CD3ζ intracellular signaling domain (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 8 and 21), and γc chain are in sequence from near to far away from the cell membrane when expressed in a cell (i.e., the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2).
Yang et al. additionally teaches a IL2Rg sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 16 (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 3):
Qy 1 ERTMPRIPTLKNLEDLVTEYHGNFSAWSGVSKGLAESLQPDYSERLCLVSEIPPKGGALG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ERTMPRIPTLKNLEDLVTEYHGNFSAWSGVSKGLAESLQPDYSERLCLVSEIPPKGGALG 60
Qy 61 EGPGASPCNQHSPYWAPPCYTLKPET 86
||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 EGPGASPCNQHSPYWAPPCYTLKPET 86
Yang et al. teaches pharmaceutical compositions containing the CAR (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 17; Yang et al. pg. 6): “[a] fifth object of the present invention is to provide a preparation containing the above CAR-T cells or a CAR-T cell prepared by the above mentioned preparation method; further, the preparation further includes a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent or excipient”.
Yang et al. does not specifically teach CARs comprising all of the elements discussed supra without the only the 4-1BB, CD3ζ, and γc signaling domains (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 1). However, Yang et al. teaches that all of these elements all function as signaling domains that can be used in a CAR. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have rearranged the CAR signaling elements taught by Yang et al. to produce CARs with different combinations of the signaling elements through optimization via routine optimization, including CARs comprising the 4-1BB, CD3ζ, and γc signaling domains only (i.e., the limitations of instant claim 1). For example, one with ordinary skill in the art would be able to add a γc signaling chain to the BBZ CAR taught by Yang et al. in Figure 1, or remove the IL2Rg signaling domain from the BBZIL2RbIL2Rg CAR in Figure 1, all for the purposes of routine experimentation to optimize the efficacy of the produced CARs.
Claim 18 is included because a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, Yang et al. teaches the same structure encompassed by the instant claims, and therefore is capable of performing the intended use recited in instant claim 18, meeting the claim limitations.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 17-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7-12, 15, 18-20, 23-26, and 29-31 of copending Application No. 18/263,439 (herein App '439, in Office Action mailed 9/15/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
The invention claimed by App ‘439 is a prima facie obvious variant of the instant claimed invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicants amendments and remarks, filed 12/12/2025, have been fully considered, but have been found to be not convincing.
The amendments to the instant claims do not overcome the rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed on 9/15/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEC JON PETERS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MAHER M HADDAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641