DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner Ramos has been assigned to act on the present application which has received actions on merit by Examiner Trujillo, who is no longer at the Office. Accordingly, Examiner Ramos will continue with the entire prosecution of this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fins are distributed radially at an identical angle” as in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “spring element” in claim 1 and “holder element” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitations “a deformability of each of the fins also enables a diagonal arrangement of the stop relative to the longitudinal axis of the flex adapter” on lines 3-4 of claim 9, have not been described in the specification as filed. The specification as filed is silent as to any deformability of each of the fins enabling a diagonal of the stop relative to the longitudinal axis of the flex adapter.
Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 8 “wherein each of the at least two fins from a spring element which is closed”, which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how exactly each of the at least two fins “form a spring element which is closed”. Closed how? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites in lines 9-10 “the extent of the respective variable wall thickness of the corresponding pipe dimension of standardize pipe diameters” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what exactly is the extent of the respective variable wall thickness of the corresponding “pipe dimension of standardize pipe diameters”. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in line 1 “comprising at least three”. However, it is unclear what exactly comprises “at least three”. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 9 recites in lines 3-4 “a deformability of each of the fins also enables a diagonal arrangement of the stop relative to the longitudinal axis of the flex adapter”. The way these limitations have been set forth renders the claim indefinite. What exactly delimits this “diagonal arrangement”? Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3 456 448 (hereafter—EP’448--).
In regards to claim 1, EP’448 discloses (in Figures 1-7) a flex adapter (6) for a stripping tool for treating plastic pipes or pipes coated with plastic, comprising: a base body (refer to the body of adapter 6); at least two fins (13), arranged along the outer contour of the base body (see Figures 1-6); at least one respective stop (refer to stop flanged contact surface 14) arranged radially outside on the at least two fins (see Figures 1-6); and a plurality of tensioning elements (17), that are arranged integrally on a front region of the base body (see Figures 1-7); wherein each of the at least two fins (13) form a spring element which is closed, providing a radial spring deflection path (radially inwardly/outwardly) in the extent of the respective variable wall thickness of the corresponding pipe dimension of standardized pipe diameters. Regarding the intended use limitations “providing a radial spring deflection path in the extent of the respective variable wall thickness of the corresponding pipe dimension of standardized pipe diameters” it is noted that the prior art used in the rejection is capable of being used for this function. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations”, if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) See MPEP 2114. The flex adapter 6 of EP’448 is provides a radial spring deflection path (radially inwardly/outwardly), due to the resilience of spring element formed by fins 13 in the extent of the respective variable wall thickness of the corresponding pipe dimension of standardized pipe diameters.
In regards to claim 2, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses at least three (in view of the 112 above, note that there are 6 fins 13, meeting the “at least three” claimed limitation).
In regards to claim 3, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses that the fins (13) are distributed radially at an identical angle over the circumference of a rear region of the base body (in the same way as presented by Applicant’s identical angle, see Figures 1-7 of EP’448).
In regards to claim 6, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses that at least one fin, has a deformability in the radial direction that is higher than a deformability in other directions (since fins 13 deflect radially more than they do in other directions based on configuration of spring elements being that 13 is at the end of the lever arm created by 17 and given the circular form of the device is unlikely to deform laterally more readily than radially).
In regards to claim 7, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses that at least one fin, has a different flexibility than one of a plurality of tensioning elements (as in Figure 4, fins 13 have a different flexibility than the much thinner spring elements 16).
In regards to claim 9, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses that a deformability of at least one fin, also enables a diagonal arrangement of the stop relative to the longitudinal axis of the flex adapter (as in Figure 4, fins 13 can move side to side in relation to each other along spring elements 17 and radially towards and away from the center, the combination of these movements would constitute a diagonal movement) and a deformability of each of the fins also enables a diagonal arrangement of the stop relative to the longitudinal axis of the flex adapter (as in Figure 4, since the stop 14 is on fins 13, any radial movement of the fins will enable a diagonal movement of the stop and as consequence a diagonal arrangement of the stop relative to the longitudinal axis of the flex adapter).
In regards to claim 11, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses three to six fins (note that there are 6 fins 13, meeting the “three to six fins” claimed limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 456 448 (hereafter—EP’448--) in view of CN 109047806 (hereafter—CN’806--).
In regards to claims 5, 12 and 13, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, EP’448 also discloses the at least one fin (13) having an axial dimension.
However, EP’448 fails to disclose that the axial dimension of the at least one fin is in the range from 2mm to 40mm, or in which each of the at least two fins has an axial dimension in the range from 2mm to 40mm (claim 5); in the range from 2mm to 20mm, or in which each of the at least two fins has an axial dimension in the range from 2mm to 20mm (claim 12); and in the range from 2mm to 10mm or in which each of the at least two fins has an axial dimension in the range from 2mm to 10mm (claim 13).
However, CN’806 teaches in Figures 4 and 8, that it is well known in the art to have a flex adapter (2) that includes fins (202) having an axial dimension. As per translation, the axial dimension of the fins is in the range of 1.8-3.0 mm. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the extent of the axial dimension of the fins will depend on the size/dimensions of the device they are being applied to.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the axial dimensions of the fins of EP’448 to be in the range from 2mm to 40mm, or in which each of the at least two fins has an axial dimension in the range from 2mm to 40mm (claim 5); in the range from 2mm to 20mm, or in which each of the at least two fins has an axial dimension in the range from 2mm to 20mm (claim 12); and in the range from 2mm to 10mm or in which each of the at least two fins has an axial dimension in the range from 2mm to 10mm (claim 13), based on the teachings of CN’806 since as per MPEP section 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range). The dimensions will depend upon the dimensions of the device they are being applied to.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 456 448 (hereafter—EP’448--) in view of WO 2010/025881 (hereafter—WO’881--).
In regards to claim 8, EP’448 discloses the flex adapter according to claim 1, however, fails to disclose a respective holder element integrally arranged with the stop.
WO’881 teaches (in Figure 4) that it is well known in the art to have a flex adapter with a holder element integrally arranged with the stop (39). WO’881 teaches in Figure 1, that the holder element allows the device to grip the flex adapter (4) and per translation, prevents the flex adapter from moving too far into a bore it is inserted into.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to modify EP’448’s flex adapter with a respective holder element arranged with the stop, based on the teachings of WO’881 to grip the flex adapter and prevent the flex adapter from moving too far.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 regarding the WO’881 reference that “segment element 13 are not spring elements which are closed but are segments only. Although this argument is not necessarily clear, the Examiner notes that fins 13 are resilient and move radially inwardly/outwardly which as such, form a spring element which as a whole form a closed loop as seen on Figure 5 of WO’881. Thus, the Examiner’s interpretation is not precluded.
In response to applicant's argument on page 7, that the teachings of WO’881 “are not concerned with the problem of inserting the flex adapter to the differing wall thicknesses of a standardized pipe but is concerned with load reduction”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations”, if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) See MPEP 2114. The flex adapter 6 of EP’448 is provides a radial spring deflection path (radially inwardly/outwardly), due to the resilience of spring element formed by fins 13 in the extent of the respective variable wall thickness of the corresponding pipe dimension of standardized pipe diameters.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722