DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 5 are amended.
Claims 1-5 are considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12/30/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 20100233521 A1) in view of Murashi et al. (JP2016085910A). Reference is made to applicant provided translation of Murashi.
Regarding claim 1, Byun teaches a secondary battery including: an exterior body having a pair of first side walls arranged to face each other in parallel and a pair of second side walls arranged to face each other in parallel (Figs. 1-2, annotated below; [0034]): and a flat electrode body which includes a strip-like positive electrode plate, a strip-like negative electrode plate, and a strip-like separator, the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate being wound with the separator interposed therebetween ([0036]; [0042]; Fig. 3), and which is housed in the exterior body with a winding axis direction of the electrode body facing a direction perpendicular to the first side walls and parallel with the second side walls (Fig. 1 and 3; [0036]), the secondary battery further comprising: a sealing plate: and terminals attached to the sealing plate, the exterior body having an opening sealed by the sealing plate ([0034]; [0037]-[0039]), current collection tabs being provided to protrude from one edge of the positive electrode plate in the winding axis direction of the electrode body and the other edge of the negative electrode plate in the winding axis direction of the electrode body ([0035]-[0036] uncoated regions protrude in opposite directions; Fig. 3), the current collection tabs and the terminals being electrically connected to each other by first current collectors and second current collectors (Fig. 2 annotated below; [0040] element 28 is considered a first current collector and element 50 considered a second current collector), the first current collectors each including a first region arranged between the sealing plate and the electrode body (Fig. 2 element 28a) and a second region bent from an end portion of the first region and arranged between one of the first side walls and the electrode body (Fig. 2 element 28b), the current collection tabs connected to the second current collectors, the second current collectors each being welded to the second region of the corresponding first current collector (Fig. 2; [0040]), each of the second current collectors overlaps the second region of the corresponding first current collector when viewed in the winding axis direction of the electrode body (see Fig. 2, annotated below; [0040]), each of the second current collectors includes: a current collector connection portion connected to the second region of the corresponding first current collector, and a tab joint portion directly connected to the corresponding current collection tab ([0040]; Fig. 2-3), wherein an entirety of the current collector connection portion is offset from an entirety of the tab joint portion in the direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and the thickness direction of the electrode body (Fig. 2 annotated below; [0040]; [0058]-[0059] attachment plate 71; Fig. 5; [0044]-[0049]). Byun teaches that an attachment plate portion of the current collector (corresponding to second current collector) has welding protrusions facilitating a welded connection in which uncoated regions can be easily bent ([0056]-[0059]).
Byun is silent as to the method of connection between each of the second current collectors and the first current collectors, specifically Byun does not teach each of the second current collectors includes: a current collector connection portion welded to the second region of the corresponding first current collector.
However, Byun specifies that element 28 (corresponding to first current collector) is connected to element 50 (corresponding to second current collector) (Fig. 2; [0040]). Byun further teaches that welding is a known method of attaching battery components together ([0025]; [0040]; [0048]; [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure taught by Byun by connect element 28b (corresponding to second region of the first current collector) to element 50 (corresponding to second current collector) by welding.
One of ordinary skill in the art could modify the structure taught by Byun by connect element 28b (corresponding to second region of the first current collector) to element 50 (corresponding to second current collector) by welding with a reasonable expectation of successful attachment because welding is an art recognized method of attaching battery components ([0048]).
Byun is silent as to the size of the electrode body, specifically Byun does not teach where W1/T1 is equal to or greater than 5, where a width of the electrode body in a direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and a thickness direction of the electrode body is W1(mm) and a thickness of the electrode body is T1 (mm).
However, Murashi teaches a secondary battery including: an exterior body having a pair of first side walls arranged to face each other in parallel and a pair of second side walls arranged to face each other in parallel ([0015] exterior can 1; Fig. 1 annotated below): and a flat electrode body which includes a strip-like positive electrode plate, a strip-like negative electrode plate, and a strip-like separator, the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate being wound with the separator interposed therebetween ([0017]), and which is housed in the exterior body with a winding axis direction of the electrode body facing a direction perpendicular to the first side walls and parallel with the second side walls ([0014]; Fig. 1 annotated below; [0018] curved portions face down), the secondary battery further comprising: a sealing plate; and terminals attached to the sealing plate, the exterior body having an opening sealed by the sealing plate ([0015] element 3 plate-shaped lid/lid/cover; Fig. 1 annotated below; [0016]), current collection tabs being provided to protrude from one edge of the positive electrode plate in the winding axis direction of the electrode body and the other edge of the negative electrode plate in the winding axis direction of the electrode body ([0018] 10C and 11C protrude in opposite directions; Fig. 2 reproduced below), the current collection tabs and the terminals being electrically connected to each other by first current collector ([0019]; Fig. 1 annotated below) the first current collectors each including a first region arranged between the sealing plate and the electrode body and a second region bent from an end portion of the first region and arranged between one of the first side walls and the electrode body ([0019] Fig. 1 annotated below) and W1/T1 is equal to or greater than 5, where a width of the electrode body in a direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and a thickness direction of the electrode body is W1(mm) and a thickness of the electrode body is T1 (mm) ([0011]-[0012] b/a is 12 or less and 6 or more; Fig. 2 reproduced below). Murashi teaches that setting b/a to 12 or less and 6 or more (corresponding to W1/T1 is equal to or greater than 5) allows for high capacity to be achieved ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electrode body taught by Byun such that W1/T1 is equal to or greater than 5, where a width of the electrode body in a direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and a thickness direction of the electrode body is W1(mm) and a thickness of the electrode body is T1 (mm) as taught by Murashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the electrode body taught by Byun such that W1/T1 is equal to or greater than 5, where a width of the electrode body in a direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and a thickness direction of the electrode body is W1(mm) and a thickness of the electrode body is T1 (mm) as taught by Murashi to achieve high capacity ([0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Byun teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Murashi further teaches wherein W1/T1 is equal to or less than 10, where the width of the electrode body in the direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and the thickness direction of the electrode body is W1(mm) and the thickness of the electrode body is T1(mm) ([0012] b/a is 12 or less and 6 or more, Fig. 2 reproduced above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify W1/T1 within the range taught by Murashi. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, Byun teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Byun teaches wherein the current collector connection portion and the tab joint portion are arranged in line in the direction perpendicular to the winding axis direction and the thickness direction of the electrode body (see Fig. 2, above; [0040]).
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 20100233521 A1) in view of Murashi et al. (JP2016085910A), as applied above, in further view of Kwak (US 20190067728 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Byun teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Byun teaches wherein at one edge of the positive electrode plate in the winding axis direction of the electrode body, a positive electrode tab is provided to protrude from one edge, at the other edge of the negative electrode plate in the winding axis direction of the electrode body, a negative electrode tab is provided to protrude from the other edge ([0035]-[0036] uncoated region; [0040]-[0043]).
Modified Byun does not explicitly teach where (DP + DN)/DI1 is equal to or less than 1/10, where an interval between a region of an end surface of the electrode body where the positive electrode tab does not protrude on one side of the winding axis direction and the first side wall on a positive electrode tab side is DP (mm), an interval between a region of an end surface of the electrode body where the negative electrode tab does not protrude on the other side of the winding axis direction and the first side wall on a negative electrode tab side is DN (mm), and an interval in a direction in which the first side walls of the exterior body face each other is DI1 (mm).
However, Kwak teaches an electrode assembly, a case for receiving the electrode assembly, a cap portion sealing the case, a current collector, and an electrode connector ([0006]-[0011]). Kwak teaches where current collection tabs and terminals are electrically connected to each other by first current collectors and second current collectors (Fig. 2, annotated below, elements 120, 126, 130, 136; Figs. 6A-6B; [0041]-[0043] auxiliary tab meets the limitation of second current collector as it is part of the current collecting portion 120; [0046]), the current collection tabs (Fig. 2 element 111; [0036]; [0038]) connected to the second current collectors with being bent (Fig. 7; [0048]-[0050]), the second current collectors each being welded to the second region of the corresponding first current collector ([0046]; Figs. 6A-6B; [0046]-[0049]). Kwak teaches that the use of the current collecting portion having a first region, a second region protruded towards the electrode assembly, an auxiliary tab for connecting the second region to the electrode uncoated portion, and portions for coupling to an insulation portion reduces the product size of a secondary battery or increases the capacity of an electrode assembly with a given dimension by increasing space utilization efficiency ([0071]; [0019]).
Modified Byun teaches all aspects of the structure of the secondary battery of claim 1, while Kwak teaches a similar structure battery and teaches an amount of interval between a region of an end surface of the electrode body and the first side wall on each side of the battery (Kwak [0004];). Kwak further teaches modifying space utilization (Kwak [0019]; [0071]).
Therefore, in view of Kwak it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the secondary battery taught by modified Byun such that (DP+DN)/DI1 is equal 1/10. Changes in size are within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 4, modified Byun teaches the secondary battery of claim 1. Byun teaches current collection tabs that are bent in a direction ([0059]).
Byun does not teach wherein the electrode body includes multiple electrode bodies, and current collection tabs of the multiple electrode bodies and the terminals are electrically connected to each other by one first current collector and multiple second current collectors corresponding to the respective electrode bodies and does not specify the direction in which current collection tabs are bent.
However, Murashi teaches multiple electrodes bodies wherein the electrode body includes multiple electrode bodies, and current collection tabs of the multiple electrode bodies and the terminals are electrically connected to each other by one first current collector (Fig. 1-2 reproduced above, [0008]-[0009]; [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the structure taught by modified Byun to include multiple electrodes bodies wherein the electrode body includes multiple electrode bodies, and current collection tabs of the multiple electrode bodies and the terminals are electrically connected to each other by one first current collector as taught by Murashi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the structure taught by modified Byun to include multiple electrodes bodies wherein the electrode body includes multiple electrode bodies, and current collection tabs of the multiple electrode bodies and the terminals are electrically connected to each other by one first current collector as taught by Murashi to increase battery capacity.
The electrode tabs taught by modified Byun can each be bent in a finite number of directions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a configuration where a distal end region of the current collection tabs of a same polarity of the multiple electrode bodies are bent in a same direction.
One of ordinary skill in the art could select a configuration where a distal end region of the current collection tabs of a same polarity of the multiple electrode bodies are bent in a same direction with a reasonable expectation of success with a reasonable expectation of success because it is known in the art to bend electrode tabs when connecting to a current collector and there is a finite number of directions in which the electrode tabs can be bent.
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728