DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “ a through hole in communication with the counterbore” towards the beginning of the recitation. The communication between the hole and the counterbore is unclear and is not defined in the specification.
The claim has been examined as “a through hole with a counterbore through which liquid is injected into the accommodating cavity”.
Appropriate changes are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng (EP 3 920 298 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses
a cover assembly (see Fig. 1, [item 10 – case]) adapted for a battery (Fig. 2, [item 20 batteries])
whose housing having an accommodating cavity (Fig. 1, item 1101, [containing cavity]),
the cover assembly comprising: a top cover connected to the housing (Fig. 2, shows the top cover [made of items 102 and 202] connected to the housing – item 101 – bottom shell) and
covering the accommodating cavity (Fig. 2, the top cover covers the accommodating cavity [item 1011]), the top cover having a top surface away from the accommodating cavity (Fig. 2, the top surface of item [102] which faces away from the accommodating cavity),
and the top surface being recessed towards the accommodating cavity to form a counterbore (Fig. 2, the flat-bottom surface formed by items [102 and 202 of the top cover])
and an anode piece provided on the top cover and accommodated in the counterbore (Fig. 2, [anode piece is made of items [304 + 302+ 30] makes contact with the top cover [item 102 +202] as shown in Fig. 3 [item 30 contacts 202]). The anode is accommodated in the counterbore as seen in Fig. 3])
the anode piece having an upper surface away from the accommodating cavity (see Fig. 2 the anode piece [301 + 302 + 30] has an upper surface that faces away from the accommodating cavity) and the upper surface being closer to the accommodating cavity with respect to the top surface (upper surface is closer to the cavity in a radial direction).
Regarding claim 2, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 1, wherein the top cover comprises a substrate portion (Fig. 2 and 3 [the inside surface 102]) and a recessed portion (Fig. 2 and 3, [inside surface of item 202]), the top surface is located on the substrate portion (See Fig. 2, the top surface [the surface of item 102] contacts the substrate portion [the inside surface of 102]), the recessed portion protrudes from the substrate portion (Fig. 3, item 202 protrudes/extends into the cavity] based on the exploded image of Fig. 2, parts 102 and 202 make contact and item 202 extends into the accommodating cavity as shown in Fig. 3), and the substrate portion and the recessed portion cooperatively enclose the counterbore (See Fig. 2 – the counterbore is the flat surface formed by parts 102 and 202 which contain the substrate and recessed portions).
Regarding claim 3, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 1, wherein the top cover is provided with a through hole in communication with the counterbore and through which liquid is injected into the accommodating cavity (Fig. 2, the top cover [items 102 and 202] contain a through-hole)(para. 0040, [a liquid injection port for injecting an electrolyte solution into the accommodating cavity]), the anode piece comprises a bottom plate portion (Fig. 2 and 3 [item 30]) and a descending portion protruding from the bottom plate portion (Fig. 2 [inside surface of item 30 that descends from the bottom plate [item 30]), the bottom plate portion is accommodated in the counterbore (see Fig. 2 and 3 the bottom plate is accommodated in the counterbore [formed by items 102 and 202]), and the descending portion is accommodated in the through hole (inside surface of item 30 is accommodated in the injection hole that is contained by the top cover [items 102 and 202]).
Regarding claim 4, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 3, wherein in a thickness direction of the cover assembly, the top cover [items 102 and 202] has a first surface farthest from the top surface (See annotation of Fig. 3 below), the descending portion has a second surface farthest from the upper surface (See annotation of Fig. 3 below), and the first surface is coplanar with the second surface (See annotation of Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a sealing member connected to the anode piece (Fig. 2, item 40), wherein the upper surface of the anode piece is recessed to form a recessed hole (Fig. 2 item 302 is recessed), the anode piece has a bottom wall surface defining part of a boundary of the recessed hole (Fig. 2, [flat portion of item 301]), the bottom wall surface is provided with a penetration hole through which liquid is injected into the accommodating cavity (Fig. 2, [penetration hole of item 301]), the sealing member is capable of sealing the penetration hole and has an outer surface away from the accommodating cavity (See Fig. 2 and 3, item 40 seals pentation hole of item 301 and has an outer surface that faces away from the penetration hole), and the outer surface is coplanar with the upper surface (See Fig. 2 and 3, item 40 and items [301 +302 + 30] are coplanar).
Regarding claim 6, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 5, and further discloses wherein the sealing member has a base portion [top surface of item 40] and a boss portion protruding from the base portion [bottom surface of item 40 the extends from the base portion], the base portion is accommodated in the recessed hole [the base portion fits within the hole of 302 as shown in Fig. 2], the boss portion is accommodated in the penetration hole, and the outer surface is located on the base portion [See annotated Fig. 3, the boss portion defines the beginning of the penetration hole and therefore is accommodated within the hole].
Regarding claim 8, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 5, wherein the anode piece [items 301 + 302 + 30] is welded to the sealing member [item 40] (para. 0046, [the sealing member 40 can be welded to the liquid injection port 301]).
Regarding claim 10, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 1, wherein the housing [item 101 (item 101 is a part of item 10)], the top cover [item 102 + 202 (item 102 that is part of item 10), and the anode piece [items 301 + 302 + 30] (item 30) (para. 0036).
Regarding claim 11, The cover assembly according to claim 1, wherein the top cover is welded to the housing (para. 0063, [the bottom shell [101] (part of case item 10) is welded to the top cover [102]].
Regarding claim 12, Peng discloses a battery, comprising a housing ([101] bottom shell) and the cover assembly (item 10) according to claim 1, wherein the housing is provided with the accommodating cavity (Fig. 2, [shows item 101 provided with item 1011]), the top cover is connected to the housing (Fig. 1, the top cover containing item 102 is connected to the housing) and covers the accommodating cavity (Fig. 2, the top cover [101 and 102] covers the accommodating cavity [Fig. 2 1011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (EP 3 920 298 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Peng teaches the cover assembly according to claim 1. Peng does not teach wherein a recessed depth of the counterbore that is analogous to the instant specification is from 0.20 mm to 0.30 mm.
Peng does provide an exemplary teaching of the counterbore depth, and teaches that the exemplarily depth of the counterbore may be 0.01-0.5 mm (para. 0045).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed Peng’s counterbore depth to be 0.01-0.5 mm, as taught within the example of Peng, in order to improve the sealing performance. Peng teaches that a counterbore is arranged in order to improve the sealing performance between two members that are to be sealed (para. 0045) and towards the end of para. 0045, Peng provides an exemplary depth measurement.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (EP 3 920 298 A1) in view of Tse (US 20200403210 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Peng discloses the cover assembly according to claim 6. Peng does not teach wherein a gap is form[ed] between the base portion and the anode piece in a direction perpendicular to a central axis of the housing.
Tse, in the same field of endeavor, batteries teaches wherein a gap is form[ed] between one member of the cover [item 108] and another member of the cover [item 110] (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed a gap between the base portion and the anode portion of Peng’s cover assembly, as taught by Tse, in order to minimize the use of space within the enclosure of the battery cell thereby increasing energy capacity of the battery cell by eliminating the need to allot space within the enclosure, as taught by Tse (abstract).
Appendix
Structure
Peng’s cell
Cover assembly
Item 10
Top cover
Items [102 + 202]
Housing
Item 101
Top surface
Top surface of item 102
Counterbore
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Anode piece
Items [301 + 302 + 30]
Substrate portion
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Recessed portion
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Sealing member
40
Base portion
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Boss portion
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Accommodating cavity
Item 1011
Recessed hole
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Penetration hole
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Bottom plate portion
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Descending portion
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
First surface
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Upper surface
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Second surface
Refer to annotated Fig. 3
Bottom wall surface
Flat portion of item 301
Other Pertinent References
US 20200403210 A1
a cover assembly for a battery, a housing having an accommodating cavity, a top cover, a counterbore, an anode piece, and a feedthrough for liquid electrolyte
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721