DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/28/2026 is entered and fully considered.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment new art and new rejections are made. The arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 depends from claim 16 and states, comprising “processing by cutting…” It is not clear if this claim is comprising an additional processing step or if it is further limiting the processing of claim 16.
Claim 20 similarly is unclear if there is a second “adjusting” porosity step or if the limitation is intended to limit the adjusting of claim 16.
Claim 21 requires “rolling” along different directions which could refer to a separate rolling step (transporting and correcting meander), calendaring by wrapping rollers in different directions, or could be simply referring to the top and bottom rollers of the calendaring device rolling in different directions.
Claims 22 and 23 comprise “moving” which is likely an additional new step added to claim 16 (“further comprising”).
Claim 24 is rejected because it refers to a “recutting” step without requiring a first cutting step.
Generally, the examiner recommends using the language “further comprising” when adding a step, and using a “wherein” clause when further limiting a previous limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 20, 21, and 24-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BENSLER et al. (WO 2013/079570; citations to machine translation).
Regarding claim 16,
BENSLER teaches a method of making batteries by coating and calendaring (adjusting porosity) abstract. The method includes perforation lines 304a-d around the leads that are left uncoated, see Fig. 3. The processing step for formation of perforation lines (which help resist deformation/buckling during calendaring) should occur before calendaring and preferably occurs before coating as well page 3 in paragraph 3. The reference notes that the processing step could be a mechanical perforation, laser cut or embossing page 3 in paragraph 8. Accordingly, BENSLER teaches processing (perforating) an uncoated collector (sheet) to form perforations for at least one “sheet”, prior to coating electrode material and calendaring (adjusting porosity).
Regarding claims 17 and 24,
BENSLER teaches cutting the uncoated area between electrode strips, for example by laser (thermal cutting) page 2 in paragraph 5.
Regarding claims 20 and 21,
BENSLER teaches calendaring the deposited electrode material. calendaring refers to pressurization by two rolls page 2 in paragraph 6. When rolling between two rollers, each roller must be rolling in opposite (different) directions (clockwise and counter-clockwise).
Regarding claim 25,
BENSLER teaches applying electrode paste which is considered to be a wet coating page 2 in paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 26-29,
BENSLER teaches laminating a battery of electrode material and separator. When using the laminated electrodes in BENSLER the resulting cell stack has coated current collector (carrier) with an uncoated and uncompacted lead.
The product by process limitations in these claims are not particularly limiting because the product is only limited to feature necessitated by the process. In this instance, the required method steps do not necessitate additional structural limitations.
Regarding claims 27 and 28,
BENSLER specifically teaches a bicell (double-cell stack) structure is frequently used page 2 in paragraph 1.
Regarding claim 29,
BENSLER teaches batteries (energy storage unit) can be composed of several cell stacks page 2 in paragraph 1.
Regarding claim 30,
BENSLER teaches using the cells in a battery but does not expressly teach a traction battery. However, a traction battery is simply an intended use for the battery and does not further limit the structure of the battery itself. Accordingly, the battery of BENSLER is interpreted to mee the limitations of a “traction battery”.
Regarding claim 31,
BENSLER teaches strip coating the collector material such that the edge sides are uncoated, Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 32,
BENSLER teaches calendaring (handling) the coated collector. Although the lead area is not pressed, it is still “handled” by the rollers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENSLER et al. (WO 2013/079570; citations to machine translation) in view of UEDA (US 2013/0000458) .
Regarding claims 22-23,
BENSLER teaches a coating and calendaring process for electrode material and further teaches forming cells by laminating electrodes and separators generally page 2 in paragraph 3. However, the reference does not teach using a suction pad or transport film during moving. However, UEDA teaches a method of forming electrode plate with a die cutter that includes a support surface 35 with suction holes 36 [0065] and a sheet (transport film) 90 onto which the original/electrode plate is placed [0045]. A cutting blade then cuts (recuts) the sheet into electrodes which can be laminated into cell stacks [0040]-[0041]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to cut and laminate the sheet material of BENSLER into desired electrode/battery shapes as a known method of forming cell stacks.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712