DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6,7, 9-14, and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al (USP2021/0001524) in view of Momono et al (USPN 9636856) and DE102007013966 (English machine translation provided herewith).
Regarding claim 1, Fuchs et al teach:
1. A method for decorating an injection-molded part comprising the following steps:
a) providing a transfer film in the form of a roll (Fuchs et al: paras. 0049,0057, 0108-0127; figs 1-7)
b) cutting the transfer film to size to form at least one label (Fuchs et al: paras. 0083 and 0147; figs 1-7)
c) laying the at least one label in an injection-molding apparatus (Fuchs et al: paras. 0148-0152; figs 1-7)
d) closing the injection-molding apparatus Fuchs et al: paras. 0148-0152; figs 1-7)
e) back-injection molding the at least one label by means of an injection- molding compound (Fuchs et al: paras. 0148-0152; figs 1-7)
f) opening the injection-molding apparatus and removing the injection-molded part, wherein the transfer film has at least one carrier film and at least one transfer ply (Fuchs et al: paras. 0148-0152; figs 1-7).
However, Fuchs et al do not teach laying by means of a robot arm; after removing the injection molded part from the mold, peeling the carrier film off the injection molded part; and after b), placing the at least one label in at least one pre-centering device and/or at least in a specific depositing location for an individual label.
Regarding laying by means of a robot arm, Momono et al teach an insert molding process including using a holding mechanism 230 comprising a position adjusting mechanism 231 and a holding hand 232 at an end of the position adjusting mechanism to lay a sheet S into an injection mold (col 5:9-30; fig 3). This holding mechanism constitutes a robot arm since the position adjusting mechanism positions the holding hand to grab and hold the sheet and then lowers the holding hand while holding the sheet into an injection mold. Since Fuchs et al and Momono et al are analogous with respect to laying an insert into an injection mold, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the robotic means taught by Momono et al to lay the transfer film of Fuchs et al in the injection mold of Fuchs et al in order to enhance precision and efficiency.
Regarding after removing the injection molded part from the mold, peeling the carrier film off the injection molded part, DE102007013966 teaches peeling off a carrier film from a transfer film-decorated injection molded part after the part is removed from the mold so that the transfer film decoration is not thinned or crack during the molding step (short specification; figs 7-9). Also, DE102007013966 teaches keeping the carrier film on the transfer film before and during injection molding in order to facilitate and make easy the transportation of the transfer film (short specification; figs 7-9). Since Fuchs et al and DE102007013966 are analogous with respect to insert molding using transfer and carrier films, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to peel off the carrier film of Fuchs et al after injection molding as taught by DE102007013966 in order to protect the transfer film from thinning and cracking during injection molding.
Regarding placing the at least one label in at least one pre-centering device and/or at least in a specific depositing location for an individual label, Momono et al teach moving sheets to a sheet supply position 21 where a transfer robot 500 picks up a sheet S to deliver the sheet to a holding hand 232 of a holding mechanism 230 (col 5:9-13; figs 1-3; the sheet supply position 21 constitutes the specific depositing location). Since Fuchs et al and Momono et al are analogous with respect to insert molding including laying an insert into an injection mold, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position sheets of Fuchs et al at a sheet supply position sheets as taught by Momono et al in order to reduce cycle time by facilitating the pick up of a sheet.
Regarding claims 3, and 4, such is taught by Fuchs et al Fuchs et al: paras. 0049,0057, 0108-0127; figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 6, Fuchs et al do not teach the claimed thickness of the detachment layer. Since detachment layers having the claimed thickness are well-known in the transfer film art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to set thickness of the detachment layer of Fuchs et al at the claimed value in order to ensure a strong enough bond.
Regarding claim 7, such is taught by Fuchs et al (para. 0113).
Regarding claim 9, Fuchs et al do not teach a registration mark or register mark or motif, which is detectable by means of at least one sensor. Since registration marks or motifs observable by sensor are well-known in the insert molding art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a mark or motif on the transfer film of Fuchs et al in order to enhance accuracy.
Regarding claim 10, such is taught by the combination of Fuchs et al and Momono et al since the transfer robot 500 of Momono et al uses a vacuum (col 4:57-64; figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Fuchs et al (modified) do not teach a suction tool having at least one centering device. Since positioning tools with centering devices are well-known in the insert molding art for improving accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the suction tool of Fuchs et al (modified) with a centering device in order to improve accuracy while reducing cycle time.
Regarding claim 12, such is taught by Fuchs et al (para. 0083).
Regarding claim 13, such is inherently taught by Fuchs et al since Fuchs et al teach cutting the transfer film by laser or punching.
Regarding claim 14, Fuchs et al do not teach the claimed cutting accuracy. Since the claimed cutting tolerance is well-known in the insert molding and transfer film arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to set the cutting tolerance of Fuchs et al to the claimed values in order to ensure a high-quality product having the desired shape and design.
Regarding claim 16, such is taught by the combination of Fuchs et al and Momono et al since the transfer robot 500 of Momono et al picks up the insert/film from the sheet supply position 21 and then holding mechanism 240 picks up the insert/film from the transfer robot (col 4:57-col 5:24; figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 17, such is inherently taught by Fuchs et al Fuchs et al: paras. 0049,0057, 0108-0127; figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 18, Fuchs et al do not teach the claimed positioning accuracy. Since the claimed positioning tolerance is well-known in the insert molding and transfer film arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to set the positioning tolerance of Fuchs et al to the claimed values in order to ensure a high-quality product having the desired appearance and design.
Regarding claim 19, Fuchs et al do not teach using a vacuum to hold the label within the injection mold. Since it is well-known in the insert molding and transfer film arts to hold an insert within a mold via vacuum in order to maintain accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the injection mold of Fuchs et al to vacuum hold the transfer film of Fuchs et al in order to maintain the films position during injection molding.
Regarding claim 20, such is taught by the combination of Fuchs et al and Momono et al since the injection gate of Momono et al is directed towards the other half of the injection mold (figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 21, such is taught by Fuchs et al Fuchs et al: paras. 0049,0057, 0108-0127; figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 22, such is taught by Fuchs et al Fuchs et al: paras. 0049,0057, 0108-0127; figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 23, Fuchs et al teach an injection pressure is dependent on the geometry of the molded part and the plastic material (para. 0152), but does not teach the claimed pressure. Injection pressure is well-known in the molding art as an important molding parameter and the desired pressure would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Further, the claimed pressure is generally well-known in the molding art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to injection mold the product of Fuchs et al at the claimed pressure in order to produce high quality products while reducing molding time.
Regarding claim 24, such is inherently taught by Fuchs et al in order to allow for storage of the products (Fuchs et al: paras. 0049,0057, 0108-0127; figs 1-7).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the transfer robot of Momono et al does not place the label in the injection molding apparatus. The transfer robot of Momono et al does not place the label in the injection molding apparatus; however, Momono et al teach using a holding mechanism 230 comprising a position adjusting mechanism 231 and a holding hand 232 at an end of the position adjusting mechanism to lay a sheet S into an injection mold (col 5:9-30; fig 3). This holding mechanism constitutes a robot arm since the position adjusting mechanism positions the holding hand to grab and hold the sheet and then lowers the holding hand while holding the sheet into an injection mold.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPNs 6251333 and 6673296 teach transfer films positioned within an injection mold via a robot. WO2005002305 teaches transfer films with registration marks. Both JP2000-263672 and EP3481632 teach removing a carrier film after an injection molding process and removal of the injection molded part from the mold.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744