CTNF 17/802,645 CTNF 87017 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 27 Jan 2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5-9, 13, 16-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shao et al. (US 2020/0313196) . As to claim 1, Shao et al. discloses a current collector comprising: a resin layer that has a first surface, and a second surface facing a side opposite to the first surface (see e.g. polymer layer 11 , which has a top surface and a bottom surface, [0035] and Fig. 3); a first metal layer that is provided on the first surface of the resin layer (see e.g. first metallic layer 12 , [0035], Fig. 3); and a second metal layer that is provided on the second surface of the resin layer (see e.g. second metallic layer 13 , [0044], Fig. 3), wherein: the first metal layer has a first opening (see e.g. blank area 14 in metallic layer 12 , [0047] and Fig. 1), and the first opening does not extend through the resin layer (see e.g. Fig. 3, the blank area 14 exposes second metallic layer 12 and not polymer layer 11 ), the second metal layer includes a second opening (see e.g. blank area 14 in metallic layer 13 , [0047] and Fig. 2) that does not extend through the resin layer (see e.g. [0047], the blank area 14 is a part of second metallic layer 13 and not polymer layer 11 ), and the second opening does not overlap the first opening in a lamination direction that extends from the first metal laver toward the second metal layer (see e.g. Figs. 1-3 and Illustration 1 below, there are two adjacent openings spaced laterally apart on the x-axis and as such do not overlap). PNG media_image1.png 593 576 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 611 579 media_image2.png Greyscale Illustration 1: reproduction with annotation of Figs. 1 and 2 of Shao et al.. Note that the x-axis has been inverted between Figs. 1 and 2. As to claim 2, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the first opening is at a position facing a location that reads on a metal plate bonding location of the second metal layer for bonding a metal plate implementing electrical connection to an external device (see e.g. Illustration 1 and Fig. 3, the first opening is location opposite a portion of the second metal layer 13 and can thereby reasonably be said to face a metal plate bonding location of the second metal layer. Further regarding claim 2, the phrase “for bonding a metal plate implementing electrical connection to an external device” is a recitation of intended use and does not therefore patentably limit the structure of the claimed invention). As to claim 3, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1 wherein the first metal layer has a first region and a second region (see e.g. Figs. 1 and 3 and Illustration 2, the indicated regions of first metallic layer 12 located beneath first active material layer 20 can reasonably be said to be first and second regions of the first metal layer), and wherein the first region and the second region are separated from each other by the first opening (see e.g. Illustration 2, the first and second regions are separated laterally from each other by the first opening). PNG media_image3.png 524 866 media_image3.png Greyscale Illustration 2: reproduction with annotation of Fig. 1 of Shao et al.. As to claim 5, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the second opening is at a position facing a location that reads on a metal plate bonding location of the first metal layer for bonding a metal plate implementing electrical connection to an external device (see e.g. Illustration 1 and Fig. 3, the second opening is location opposite a portion of the first metal layer 12 and can thereby reasonably be said to face a metal plate bonding location of the first metal layer. Further regarding claim 5, the phrase “for bonding a metal plate implementing electrical connection to an external device” is a recitation of intended use and does not therefore patentably limit the structure of the claimed invention). As to claim 6, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1 wherein the second metal layer has a third region and a fourth region (see e.g. Figs. 2 and 3 and Illustration 2, the indicated regions of second metallic layer 13 located beneath second active material layer 50 can reasonably be said to be third and fourth regions of the second metal layer), and wherein the third region and the fourth region are separated from each other by the second opening (see e.g. Illustration 3, the third and fourth regions are separated laterally from each other by the second opening). PNG media_image4.png 518 906 media_image4.png Greyscale Illustration 3: reproduction with annotation of Fig. 2 of Shao et al.. As to claim 7, Shao et al. discloses the current collector of claim 1, wherein the resin layer is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W *cm or higher (see e.g. [0037], polymer layer 11 may be polyethylene terephthalate (PET), which is the same polymer as the polymer disclosed in para [0032] of the specification of the instant application and therefore also is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W* cm or higher). As to claim 8, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1wherein the resin layer includes any one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), polyamide imide (PAI), polypropylene (PP), and polyethylene (PE) (see e.g. [0037], polymer layer 11 may be polyethylene terephthalate (PET) or polyimide (PI)). As to claim 9, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1 wherein each of the first metal layer and the second metal layer is any one selected from aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, copper, platinum, and gold (see e.g. [0039], first metallic layer 12 may be copper aluminum or nickel). As to claim 13, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 2, wherein the first opening is at a position facing a location that reads on a metal plate bonding location of the second metal layer for bonding a metal plate implementing electrical connection to an external device (see e.g. Illustration 1 and Fig. 3, the first opening is location opposite a portion of the second metal layer 13 and can thereby reasonably be said to face a metal plate bonding location of the second metal layer. Further regarding claim 2, the phrase “for bonding a metal plate implementing electrical connection to an external device” is a recitation of intended use and does not therefore patentably limit the structure of the claimed invention). As to claim 16, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 5 wherein the second metal layer has a third region and a fourth region (see e.g. Figs. 2 and 3 and Illustration 2, the indicated regions of second metallic layer 13 located beneath second active material layer 50 can reasonably be said to be third and fourth regions of the second metal layer), and wherein the third region and the fourth region are separated from each other by the second opening (see e.g. Illustration 3, the third and fourth regions are separated laterally from each other by the second opening). As to claim 17, Shao et al. discloses the current collector of claim 2, wherein the resin layer is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W *cm or higher (see e.g. [0037], polymer layer 11 may be polyethylene terephthalate (PET), which is the same polymer as the polymer disclosed in para [0032] of the specification of the instant application and therefore also is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W* cm or higher). As to claim 18, Shao et al. discloses the current collector of claim 3, wherein the resin layer is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W *cm or higher (see e.g. [0037], polymer layer 11 may be polyethylene terephthalate (PET), which is the same polymer as the polymer disclosed in para [0032] of the specification of the instant application and therefore also is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W* cm or higher). As to claim 20, Shao et al. discloses the current collector of claim 5, wherein the resin layer is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W *cm or higher (see e.g. [0037], polymer layer 11 may be polyethylene terephthalate (PET), which is the same polymer as the polymer disclosed in para [0032] of the specification of the instant application and therefore also is an insulating layer of 1.0x10 9 W* cm or higher). As to claim 21, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the current collector is configured to be electrically connected to an external device via at least a metal tab (see e.g. fourth electrode tab 80 , [0035] and Fig. 2) provided on a surface of the second metal layer on a side opposite to the resin layer (see e.g. Figs. 2-3, fourth electrode tab 80 is provided on a side of second metal layer 13 on a side opposite to polymer layer 11 ), and the first opening is arranged at a position overlapping the metal tab in the lamination direction (see e.g. Illustration 1 and Figs 1-2, the first opening and fourth electrode tab 80 are arranged at positions that are analogous to those depicted in Fig. 4 of the instant specification, and thereby can reasonably be said to read on a first opening arranged at a position overlapping the metal tab in the lamination direction). As to claim 22, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein the resin layer is exposed at a position of the first opening (see e.g. slot 141 , which reads on the claimed position and which is a slot that passes through metallic layer 12 and therefore exposes polymer layer 11 , which reads on a resin layer and which is beneath metallic layer 12 , see [0048], and Figs. 3 and 8). As to claim 23, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the current collector that includes the first opening and the second opening is not covered by an electrode active material layer (see e.g. slot 141 , which reads on the claimed portion of the current collector and which is a slot that passes through metallic layer 12 and therefore is not covered by an electrode active material layer, see [0048], and Figs. 3 and 8) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2020/0313196) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2010/0310912) . As to claim 10, Shao et al. discloses the current collector according claim 1 wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer both include metals (see e.g. [0037], stating that the first metallic layer 12 may be copper, aluminum, or nickel. [0044] states that the second metallic layer 13 can be made from the same material as 12 ). Shao et al. states that the first and second metallic layers can be the same material (see e.g. [0044]), but does not explicitly state that the first metal layer and the second metal layer include metals or alloys that are different from each other. Kim et al. teaches an analogous current collector structure (see e.g. Kim et al.: [0037] and Fig. 4, showing a collector comprising metallic layers 21 and 25 on opposing faces of a resin layer 23 ) comprising analogous first and second metal layers that are composed of metals that are different from each other in that one is copper and the other is aluminum (see e.g. Kim et al.: [0047], an aluminum plate is used as a positive current collector while the negative current collector is copper). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to select different metals for the first metal layer and the second metal layer in the current collector of Shao et al., in the manner suggested by Kim et al.. This is because Kim et al. teaches an analogous structure in which the first metal layer and the second metal layer are made of different metals, and the use of different metals would therefore fail to produce any new benefit that would not have been reasonably expected by one of ordinary skill in the art . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11-12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (US 2020/0313196) . As to claim 11, Shao et al. discloses a power storage element (see e.g. battery cell, [0060], which reads on a power storage element) comprising: the current collector according to claim 1 (see e.g. the battery cell [0060] of Shao et al. comprises a positive electrode plate, which comprises the current collector of [0005], which reads on the instantly-claimed current collector, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above); a first active material layer that is formed on a first surface of the current collector (see e.g. first active material layer 20 formed on the surface of first metallic layer 12 , [0039] and Fig. 3); a second active material layer that is formed on a second surface on a side opposite to the first surface of the current collector (see e.g. second active material layer 50 formed on the surface of second metallic layer 13 that is on the opposite side of 12 , [0044] and Fig. 3); a separator or a solid electrolyte layer that is laminated on one surface of the first active material layer or the second active material layer (see e.g. separator, which is wound with the positive electrode plate. While Shao et al. does not explicitly disclose that the separator is laminated on one surface of the first active material layer or the second active material layer, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would have understood that the battery cell would fail to function as intended if the separator was not laminated to one of either the first or second active material layer, as otherwise ions would not be able to transport from the first active material layer to the second active material layer and/or the battery cell would become electrically shorted). As to claim 12, Shao et al. teaches a power storage module comprising the power storage element according to claim 11 (see e.g. battery, [0060], which reads on a power storage module and which comprises the battery cell of [0060], which in turn reads on the power storage element of claim 11 as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above). As to claim 24, Shao et al. teaches the power storage element according to claim 11, wherein a portion of the current collector that includes the first opening and the second opening is not covered by the first active material layer or the second active material layer (see e.g. slot 141 , which reads on the claimed portion of the current collector and which is a slot that passes through metallic layers 12 and 13 and therefore is not covered by an electrode active material layer, see [0048], and Figs. 3 and 8). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALBERT HILTON whose telephone number is (571)272-4068. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tong Guo can be reached at (571)-272-3066. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 06/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 2 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 3 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 4 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 5 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 6 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 7 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 8 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 9 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 10 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 11 Art Unit: 1723 Application/Control Number: 17/802,645 Page 12 Art Unit: 1723