Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s reply filed 1/20/26 is acknowledged. Claim 16 was added. Claims 1-16 are pending and are under examination.
Response to Reply
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the second pattern includes microchannels” should be amended to “the second patterns include microchannels”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second pattern includes microchannels (claims 1 and 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, is modified, and a new rejection follows.
Claims 1-6, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because “wherein the second patterns are formed to at least partially extend into the first region to overlap an edge portion of the first pattern” does not appear to be supported by the originally filed disclosure. In e.g., [0012] and [0071] of applicant’s PGPub., it appears the second patterns are overlapped with an edge portion of the first patterns. Thus, it appears the first patterns overlap the second patterns.
Claim 16 is rejected because there appears to be no support for the newly amended claim language, the first region is one of a plurality of first regions, and wherein the second region is disposed to connect the plurality of first regions.
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejections
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior art rejections are maintained except for the rejection over Alikhani in view of Baek, which is modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alikhani et al. (“Alikhani,” An interesting route using electron‑beam lithography and photolithography to pattern submicron interdigitated electrodes array for sensing applications, published online 8/19/2019, previously cited) in view of Baek et al. (“Baek,” US Pub. No. 2009/0152598, previously cited and cited in IDS).
As to claims 1, 2, 8 and 14, Alikhani teaches a method for manufacturing a medical diagnostic chip using a mixed lithography method (e.g., abstract et seq. on p. 187), comprising: forming first patterns in a first region by performing a first lithography (e.g., lithography the nanometric interdigitated electrodes with EBL technology on p. 188); and forming second patterns in a second region by performing a second lithography (photolithography should be used for lithographing the connecting parts and pads on p. 188 et seq.).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, while Alikhani teaches the first patterns connect to the second patterns in fig. 3a-d and 5, Alikhani does not specifically teach the second patterns include microchannels, and the second patterns at least partially extend into the first region to overlap an edge portion of the first pattern. Baek teaches in [0036] a fluid pipe 31 (“microchannels”); and in [0047] and FIG. 5E, forming a protection resist pattern 17 for protecting the silicon nanowire patterns 16A and 16B by a photolithography process. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have microchannels because it would be desirable to allow fluid to flow through the chip. Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have second patterns partially overlap the first patterns because it would protect the first patterns ([0047] of Baek).
As to claims 6 and 12, Alikhani teaches applying a positive or negative photoresist during the second lithography to form second patterns on p. 188 in “Methods” section et seq.
As to claims 7 and 15, the combination of Alikhani and Baek teach forming first patterns, forming second patterns, and forming photo patterns in a portion wider than the first region on p. 187 et seq. of Alikhani; and teach the photo patterns cover and protect the first patterns formed in the first region in [0047] of Baek. Regarding claim 7, Alikhani does not specifically teach the second patterns include microchannels. Baek teaches in [0036] a fluid pipe 31 (“microchannels”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have microchannels because it would be desirable to allow fluid to flow through the chip.
As to claim 11, the combination of Alikhani and Baek teach forming photo patterns to cover and protect; and to extend laterally beyond boundaries of the first region and cover an entire surface of the first patterns, such that the first patterns are shielded from exposure or etching during the second lithography (p. 188 et seq. of Alikhani; and [0048] of Baek).
As to claim 16, the combination of Alikhani and Baek teach the first region is one of a plurality of first regions, and the second region is disposed to connect the plurality of first regions. See figs. 3a-d and 5 of Alikhani, and [0036] et seq. of Baek.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alikhani in view of Baek, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Astier et al. (“Astier,” US Pub. No. 2016/0144405, previously cited).
See Alikhani and Baek above.
As to claim 3, the combination of Alikhani, Baek and Astier teach the resist pattern 308 is formed into resist pillars in the pattern of the future nanopillar array in e.g., [0065] of Astier. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form nanopillar pattern because it would allow the device to separate entities ([0002] of Astier).
As to claim 4, Alikhani teaches applying a positive electron beam resist during EBL to form first patterns on p. 191 et seq.
As to claim 5, the combination of Alikhani and Baek teach forming the second patterns to overlap the edge portion of the first patterns in e.g., [0047] of Baek.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alikhani in view of Baek, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Stolovitzky et al. (“Stolovitzky,” US Pub. No. 2017/0212098, previously cited).
See Alikhani and Baek above.
As to claims 9-10, while Alikhani teaches performing the EBL with an electron beam resist to form the first patterns, Alikhani does not specifically teach forming nanoholes. Stolovitzky teaches in [0100] et seq., FIG. 9A is a scanning electron microscope image of a nanopillar array (such as nanopillar array 100), which shows nanopillars and nanochannels (“nanoholes”). FIG. 9B is a scanning electron image of nanochannels in the nanochannel region. The channels are 5 μm long, 50 nm deep, and 500 nm in pitch. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have nanoholes to allow the fluid to pass through the fluidic device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Alikhani in view of Baek, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Koesdjojo et al. (“Koesdjojo,” US Pub. No. 2013/0064713, previously cited).
See Alikhani and Baek above.
As to claim 13, Alikhani does not specifically teach pouring a polymer material into the formed chip; waiting for a predetermined time until the polymer material is hardened; and inverting the hardened polymeric material. Koesdjojo teaches in e.g., [0090] et seq., the bonding agent is allowed to cool at room temperature until it becomes hard; typically the bonding agent will harden at room temperature in less than 5 minutes, more typically less than about 3 minutes, even more typically, less than about 1 minute. A disclosed working embodiment is illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the pouring, waiting and inverting steps because versatile and robust fabrication methods are needed both to make microfluidic devices more available to the research lab and the commercial market. ([0003] of Koesdjojo).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments on p. 6-10 of the reply, the Office respectfully disagrees. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Here, the modified combination of Alikhani and Baek teach the claimed microchannels, and the second patterns at least partially extend into the first region to overlap an edge portion of the first pattern, as explained above.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
3/7/2026