Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks filed on January 27th, 2026. Claims 1-5, 9-13,16-18, and 20-22. Claims 6-8, 14, 15, and 19 are canceled. Claims 21 and 22 are newly added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The article “a” preceding “phosphonic” should be removed so as to provide a grammatically correct recitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-13, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims read on the fluorescent probe in naturally occurring compositions of calcium and HAP.
Further, the claimed “composition” is not a composition as the fluorescent probe is not substance and claiming calcium does not fall within the composition of matter requirements, and thus the claims are not drawn to a statutory category of invention. This likewise follows in dependent claims 10-13, 20, and 21.
See also MPEP 2106.03-
A composition of matter is a "combination of two or more substances and includes all composite articles." Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348-49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (citation omitted). This category includes all compositions of two or more substances and all composite articles, "'whether they be the results of chemical union or of mechanical mixture, or whether they be gases, fluids, powders or solids.'" Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 308, 206 USPQ at 197 (quoting Shell Dev. Co. v. Watson, 149 F. Supp. 279, 280 (D.D.C. 1957); id. at 310 holding genetically modified microorganism to be a manufacture or composition of matter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the sought fluorescent probe and the fluorescent core provided herein is indefinitely defined.
Claim 1, as amended, provides a conditionally-defined fluorescent core by way of the metal binding functional group (1. Phosphonic acid diesters, 2. Arsonic acid group), and including a particular Markush group connected to choice 2 and the fluorescent core.
By this, the metes and bounds of the fluorescent core sought in claims 2 and 5 are indefinitely defined, and also appear to be potentially drawn to an improperly further limiting recitation to that of claim 1.
The initial claim construction of claim 1 in which the fluorescent core is provided in a conditional fashion does not itself to clear metes and bound as in claim 5, and wherein a particular choosing of the metal binding functional group among choices 1., 2. is not particularly set forth to then correlate and assign its particular fluorescent core therewith.
Further, the Markush group provided as it pertains to the arsonic acid group appear to be all drawn to organic fluorescent compounds (and noting the “consisting of” language excludes moieties, combinations of compound and moiety).
Likewise issues of clarity pervade into claims 16-18 which appear both redundant to that provided by the proviso of claim 1 and also is incongruent with the claims themselves that have been set-up for the cited conditionally-provided fluorescent core.
The claims present interfering and cross-contaminated hybrid-type embodiments and combinations/multiples of fluorescent cores to the probe itself that are indefinitely understood herein and in view of the specification.
Clarification is required.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the fluorescent probe and the number and type of metal binding functional groups are indefinitely defined herein.
Claim 4 presents these “at least two, three…” metal binding functional groups as a further element to the probe of claim 1.
Claim 1 establishes one or more metal binding functional groups and being covalently linked sp2-carbon atom of the fluorescent core.
By this, the previous recitation provided the added stipulation to those metal binding groups as in claim 1 that were drawn to one or more to be further specified as two or more.
Herein, as amended, the recited two or more metal binding functional groups in cl. 4 are further elements to that of the probe of claim 1, and thereby the structural/functional relationship of such two more metal binding functional groups is indefinitely defined.
For example, are these two or more metal binding functional groups bound to another particular carbon atom of the fluorescent core?
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of the sought composition are indefinitely defined herein. Clam 10 presents that added element of a “fluorophore that exhibits…” to that of the probe, however, such fluorophore is absent any structural/functional relationship within the fluorescent probe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 16-18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mayer-Cumblidge et al (US 2008/0254546), hereafter Mayer
With regard to claim 1, Mayer discloses a fluorescent probe comprising one or more metal binding functional group, including preferably as in arsonic acid group (linked in a pi-system (i.e. sp2-system), a fluorescent core (as in indocyanine dye-based and being an organic fluorescent compound, or as in xanthene-based fluorophore moiety as in cls. 1/2), and wherein the one or more functional group (and as in at least two…as in cl. 4) is covalently linked to the sp2-carbon atom of the fluorescent core (abstract, pars.[0007-0010,0018-0022,0033,0044],claims 1-15, for example).
With regard to claims 16 and 17, as best understood, Mayer discloses biarsenical probes with indocyanine dye-based (i.e. cyanine derivative) which are tetrapyrrole derivatives. Further, as in cl. 18, as best understood, as discussed above, Mayer discloses the fluorescent core as an organic fluorescent compound as in a xanthene-derivative. Further, as in cl. 22, as best understood, Mayer discloses fluorescein based fluorophore moieties (par.[0019], for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer in view of by Odobel et al. (Porphyrin dyes for TiO2 sensitization, Royal Society of Chemistry, 2003, Vol. 13, pg. 502-510), hereafter Odobel.
Mayer has been discussed above.
Mayer does not specifically disclose wherein the fluorescent core is selected from the group consisting of BODIPY-PPA, p-H8TPPA, m-H8TPPA as in cl. 5.
With regard to claim 1, Odobel discloses a fluorescent probe comprising one or more metal binding functional group, and, a fluorescent core as in cl. 5 p-H8TPPA, or m-H8TPPA (abstract, Table 1, page 507, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mayer to utilize a fluorescent core as in p-H8TPPA, or m-H8TPPA such as taught by the analogous prior art of Odobel to a similar fluorescent probe wherein utilizing p-H8TPPA, or m-H8TPPA representative an obvious to try analogue as another and suitable form of a fluorescent core to that of the cyanine or xanthene-based fluorescent core that would have a reasonable expectation of success therein for a likewise desired fluorescent probe functionality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, namely Odobel and Mayer, does not teach or fairly suggest wherein the one or more metal binding functional group is the phosphonic acid diesters containing -PO(OR)2 groups, where R is alkyl or aryl. Odobel discloses a fluorescent probe comprising phosphonic acid groups, but which does not teach or suggest phosphonic acid diesters containing -PO(OR)2 groups, where R is alkyl or aryl. Mayer is drawn to a fluorescent probe comprising an arsonic acid group, and does not teach or suggest phosphonic acid diesters containing -PO(OR)2 groups, where R is alkyl or aryl.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims have been amended to obviate the prior rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112 b, 2nd paragraph.
Examiner asserts that this is partially found, however, claims 2, 5, 16-18, and 22, 4, and 10, as amended, are indefinitely defined for the particular reasons discussed above in the body of the action.
With regards to claims 1-5, 9-13, 16, 17, 19, and 20 rejected under 35 USC 102a1 as being anticipated by Odobel, Applicant traverses the rejection.
The rejection has been removed in view of the amendments to the claims.
With regards to claims 1, 2, 4, 9-13, 16-18, and 20 under 35 USC 102a1 as being anticipated by Mayer, Applicant traverses the rejection.
Applicant assert that Mayer does not teach or suggest the amended recitation of claim to “with the proviso…” and Mayer is wholly silent as to the arsonic acid group constituents recited herein.
Examiner asserts that Mayer remains to disclose one or more arsonic acid groups and “with the proviso…and xanthene and derivatives thereof” in which Mayer commensurately discloses as in a xanthene-based fluorophore moiety (par.[0019], for example).
As discussed above, claims 1, 2, 4, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 USC 102a1 as being anticipated by Mayer.
Further, as discussed above, and as best understood herein (see above-discussed rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112 b/2nd), claim 5 is herein rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer in view of Odobel for those reasons discussed above in the body of the action.
Further, in view of the amendments to the claims, claims 9-13, 20, and 21are rejected under 35 USC 101 for the reasons discussed above in the body of the action.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798