DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
The Amendment filed on 01Jul2026 is acknowledged in which claim(s) 2-4, 9-11, 18-19, 27-28, and 35 were canceled, and claim(s) 48-63 are new.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I (claims 1-31, 36-37, 39-46) in the reply filed on 27Oct2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 32-34, 38, 47, 54, 63 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27Oct2025.
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 are presented for examination on the merits.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
All previous objection(s) have been withdrawn in view of the Amendment filed on 01Jul2026.
All previous rejections and/or objections of claim(s) 2-4, 9-11, 18-19, 27-28 are moot in view of claim cancelation.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, 31, 39-41, 45-46 under 35 U.S.C. § 101, and of claim(s) 1, 31, 39-41, 45-56 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been maintained in modified form in view of the recent claim amendment filed on 01Jul2026, which added new limitations not previously considered. The rejections are maintained for reasons provided in response to arguments below.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 26, 29; 5-7, 12-13, 17, 20-25, 30 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), of claim(s) 5-7, 13-17, 20-21, 29-30, 36-37 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), and of claim(s) 17, 20-26, 29-30, under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d), under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the recent claim amendment filed on 01Jul2026.
The previous rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 49-46, 48-53, 55-62 under nonstatutory double patenting have been maintained in modified form for reasons provided in response to arguments below.
New rejection(s) and/or objections were necessitated by claim amendments filed on 01Jul2026 (see below for details).
MAINTAINED & NEW REJECTIONS/OBJECTIONS AS NECESSITATED BY CLAIM AMENDMENTS
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 recite(s) the limitation "…is capable of presenting the antigen on the T-cell costimulatory molecule outside membrane…" in lines 4-5 of claim 1(A) and “…is capable of presenting the antigen-presenting MHC molecule and the T-cell stimulatory cytokine outside membrane…” in lines 12-13 of claim 17. The instant specification does not define which molecule(s) are capable of presenting the antigen (e.g., claim 1) and/or antigen-presenting MHC molecule and T cell stimulatory cytokine (e.g., claim 17) on the respective T-cell outside membrane. The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the above phrases are considered to mean any fusion protein or protein complex comprising an MHC molecule (e.g., claims 1, 17) and/or any T cell stimulatory cytokine (claim 17).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: “…or transmembrane domains thereof…” should be “…or transmembrane domain[[s]] thereof…” in lines 2-3 of claim 1(A), and line 9 of claim 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 17, 20-26, 29-30, 49-53, 55-62, is/are objected to because of the following informalities: “…comprises (D) a fusion protein which comprises…” should be “…comprises [[(D)]] a fusion protein which comprises…” in line 5 because there is/are no (A)-(C). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1, 8, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature (natural phenomenon) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48 is/are evaluated using the “Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes” flow chart as shown in MPEP § 2106 (III).
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes. The claim(s) is/are drawn to a composition which is one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes. The claim(s) is/are directed towards a natural phenomenon because the claims require an antigen-presenting extracellular vesicle (EV) presenting an antigen-presenting MHC molecule, a T cell stimulatory cytokine, and a T cell costimulatory molecule outside of the EV membrane (e.g., extracellular T cell costimulatory molecule; see 112b rejection above for details). As previously discussed in the Office Action mailed on 03Mar2026, Viaud et al. 2009 (PloS one, 4(3), e4942; reference of record) teaches that naturally occurring exosomes produced by dendritic cells comprise functional MHC/peptide complexes as well as functional IL-15Ra [e.g., abstract] capable of binding and trans-presenting the cytokine IL-15 [e.g., fig. 3], which is naturally present in abundance in vivo [e.g., pg. 8, last ¶ ]. Dimitris et al. 2002 (Molecular immunology, 38(16-18), 1359-1362; reference of record) and Shelke et al. 2019 (Journal of extracellular vesicles, 8(1), 1650458; reference of record), respectively, teach that naturally occurring exosomes produced by mast cells contain MHC/peptide complexes and TGF-β. Further, Levy and Shoham 2005 (Nature Reviews Immunology, 5(2), 136-148; reference of record) teaches that exosomes can further comprise the costimulatory molecules CD80 or CD86 alongside MHC class II in complex with tetraspanin CD81. Accordingly, an exosome (e.g., a type of extracellular vesicle) comprising an antigen-presenting MHC molecule (e.g. MHC/peptide) and a T-cell stimulatory cytokine (e.g. IL-15 or TGF-β) and a costimulatory protein (e.g. CD80, CD86) wherein the cytokine is presented outside the membrane of the vesicle and capable of interacting with T cells (as would be the case in for membrane-bound IL-15Ra in complex with and trans-presenting naturally occurring IL-15) is the natural phenomenon.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No. Specifically, claim 1 does not recite any additional structural elements sufficient to differentiate the claimed EVs from their naturally occurring counterparts and therefore do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. The judicial exception recite in claim 1 is recited without additional limitations (e.g., additional elements) amounting to significantly more than the exception. Specifically, claim 1 is drawn to a naturally occurring EV and characteristics thereof (e.g., MHC/peptide, mbIL15, CD80; see above for details). A skilled artisan, as evidenced by the prior art recited above, would understand how to identify said naturally occurring EV population of the instant invention, and it is noted that well-understood, routine and conventional limitations are not enough to qualify as reciting something "significantly more" than the judicial exception(s) (see MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Claim(s) 8, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48, which depend from claim 1, act to further limit the cytokine species; EV species; membrane protein and membrane binding protein species; process for obtaining EVs; pharmaceutical compositions comprising the EVs; and/or pharmaceutical compositions comprising the EVs for treating one of a variety of indication(s). Well-understood, routine and conventional limitations are not enough to qualify the claimed method as reciting something "significantly more" than the judicial exception(s) (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). In the instant case, a "pharmaceutical composition" - examples of which according to ¶0198 of the instant specification include a solvent or buffer - does not convey any structural or functional difference to the claimed exosomes relative to their natural counterpart. Indeed, dendritic cell derived exosomes containing MHC II molecules and costimulatory proteins are already in use in clinical trials (Besse et al. 2016, Oncoimmunology, 5(4), e1071008; reference of record), and their preparation as a "pharmaceutical composition" would be routine and conventional to one of ordinary skill in the art. The limitations do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As the instant claim(s) 1, 8, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48 recite judicial exceptions not integrated into a practical application, and no elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception are recited, the claims were found not to be drawn to eligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, in summary, that the amended claims are directed to patent-eligible subject matter because the claims recite that the extracellular vesicles comprise either (1) components (A), (B), and (C) or (2) component (D), wherein at least components (A), (B), and (D) are artificial fusion proteins. The artificial fusion proteins are structurally different from the naturally occurring exosome components described by the Office, and, as such, claims 1, 8, 31, 39-41, 45, and 46 are directed to significantly more than a product of nature. Accordingly, the section 101 rejection should be withdrawn.
In response, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of instant claim 1 does not require artificial fusion proteins. For example, the BRI of ‘(A)’ includes a complex comprising (1) MHC and an extracellular vesicle (EV) membrane protein or transmembrane domain thereof, or (2) an EV membrane binding protein or a membrane binding domain thereof; the BRI of ‘(B)’ includes (1) a fusion protein comprising a T cell stimulatory cytokine or submit thereof and an EV membrane protein or transmembrane domain thereof, or (2) an EV membrane binding protein or a membrane binding domain thereof; and the BR of ‘(C)’ includes any protein comprising a T cell costimulatory molecule capable of presenting said molecule on the outside membrane (e.g., including MHC/peptide complexes, see claim interpretation above). Therefore, the BRI of instant claim 1 is not considered to require ‘artificial fusion proteins’. Lastly, Applicant recited ‘(D)’ is not recited in independent claim 1, rather only applicant claim 17, and claims dependent therefrom recite ‘(D)’, and it is noted that those claim(s) requiring ‘(D)’ are not included in the current 101 rejections (see above for details).
Applicant arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are not persuasive. The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48 are maintained in modified form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-16, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48, recite(s) “…a T-cell costimulatory molecule outside membrane…” in line(s) 2-4 of claim 1, rendering the claim(s) indefinite. The instant specification does not provide a definition of the phrase above, and it is not grammatically clear. Specifically, it is unclear if the phrase above (1) is missing one or more words between “a T-cell costimulatory molecule” and “outside membrane”; (2) means the EV membrane comprises T-cell costimulatory molecules; (3) means T-cell costimulatory molecules that exist outside of the EV (e.g., in the interstitial space, TME, etc.); or (4) something else. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the phrase will be considered to mean any T cell costimulatory factor outside of the EV. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim(s) 1 as recited above or to otherwise clearly recite the limitation(s) of the instant invention. Claim(s) 5-8, 12-16, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48 can overcome this rejection by amending claim(s) 1 as recited above.
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-16, 31, 36-37, 39-46, 48, recites the limitation "…the antigen on the T-cell…" in lines 4-5 of claim 1(A). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claim 1 recites ‘an antigen-presenting extracellular vesicle’ in line 1 and ‘an antigen-presenting MHC molecule” in line 2, respectively; but fails to provide antecedent basis for ‘the antigen’ in the phrase recited above. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the phrase "… the antigen on the T-cell…" is considered to mean any antigen.
Claim(s) 17, 20-26, 29-30, 49-53, 55-62, recite(s) “…a T-cell costimulatory molecule outside membrane…” in line(s) 2-4 of claim 1, rendering the claim(s) indefinite. The instant specification does not provide a definition of the phrase above, and it is not grammatically clear. Specifically, it is unclear if the phrase above (1) is missing one or more words between “a T-cell costimulatory molecule” and “outside membrane”; (2) means the EV membrane comprises T-cell costimulatory molecules; (3) means T-cell costimulatory molecules that exist outside of the EV (e.g., in the interstitial space, TME, etc.); or (4) something else. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the phrase will be considered to mean any T cell costimulatory factor outside of the EV. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim(s) 1 as recited above or to otherwise clearly recite the limitation(s) of the instant invention. Claim(s) 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 can overcome this rejection by amending claim(s) 1 as recited above.
Claim(s) 36-37, recites “A culture supernatant obtained by culturing the cell according to claim 34.” in claim 36, and “An antigen-presenting extracellular vesicle obtained from the culture supernatant according to claim 36.” in claim 37, rendering the claim(s) indefinite. Specifically, claim 34 has been withdrawn for being drawn to the unelected invention and is not examined on the merits herein. Further, the elected invention is a product, and claims 36-37 are the product of claim 1 as produced by a specific process. Therefore, for the purposes of compact prosecution, claims 36-37 will be considered product by process type claims relative to the product of claim 1 (see MPEP 2113). This rejection may be overcome by amending claim(s) 36-37 to depend from a claim of the elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 31, 36-37, 39-41, 45-46, 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. 2018 (WO 2018/101782 A1; IDS dated 8/26/2022). Note: US 2020/0071668 A1 is used as the English translation for WO 2018/101782 A1, and all references made herein are to US 2020/0071668 A1.
Regarding instant claims 1, 31, 48, Kim teaches exosomes expressing the cytokine 4-1BBL [e.g., abstract; ¶ 0004, 0006, 0020, 0023-0025, 0032] as well as (A) membrane bound peptide-MHC complex (e.g., an antigen-presenting MHC molecule; an extracellular protein complex comprising MHC and a membrane protein; see 112b rejection above for details) [e.g., title, abstract; ¶ 0002, 0025]; (B) ICAM (e.g., an extracellular vesicle membrane binding protein) [e.g., ¶ 0036, 0091-0092]; and (C) T cell costimulatory proteins including CD32, CD80, and CD83 [e.g., abstract; ¶ 0023-0031, 0081; fig. 1c;].
Regarding instant claim 8, 36-37, Kim further teaches extravesicular IL2 (e.g., T cell stimulatory cytokine outside of the exosome) for exosome and T cell co-culture (e.g., supernatant comprising the exosome) [e.g., ¶ 0061, 0063, 0077, 0085], and the collection of the exosome pellets therefrom (e.g., extracellular vesicles obtained from supernatant [e.g., ¶ 0077].
Regarding Claims 39-41, 45, Kim teaches “...the present invention provides a vaccine for preventing tumors, pathogen infections or autoimmune diseases, or a pharmaceutical composition for treating tumors, pathogen infections, or autoimmune diseases including the exosome” [e.g., ¶ 0050].
Regarding Claims 46, the limitation recited in the preamble (e.g. “...for treating or preventing an allergic disease...”) is directed to an intended use and does not require additional structural elements that differentiate the claimed pharmaceutical composition from that of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, in summary, that the features of claim 10 (not previously rejected under 102) has been incorporated into claim 1 and therefore claim 1 should now overcome the 102.
In response, claims 10 of the previously examined claim set filed on 08/26/2022 recited “The antigen-presenting extracellular vesicle according claim 1, the member of which contains a fusion protein which contains a T-cell costimulatory molecule, and a membrane protein capable of being expressed…”, wherein amended claim 1 under consideration in this Office Action recites “…(A) a fusion protein or a protein complex…(B) a fusion protein which comprises… or transmembrane protein thereof; or an extracellular vesicle membrane binding protein….(C) a protein…”. Therefore the BRI of claim 10 that was canceled by Applicant specifically required a fusion protein, whereas the amended claim 1 as written does not require a fusion protein for any of the instant limitations. Accordingly, the 102 rejection has been re-written to meet the new limitations of the currently amended claim set.
Applicant arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are not persuasive. The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 31, 36-37, 39-41, 45-46, 48 are maintained in modified form.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31, 36-37, 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-38 of copending Application No. 17/802,871
claims 1-57 of copending Application No. 18/687,485
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claims of ‘871 and ‘485 are drawn to polynucleotides encoding fusion proteins comprising antigen-presenting MHC molecules, T cell stimulatory cytokines, and/or T-cell costimulatory molecules wherein the fusion proteins are expressed “outside membrane of an extracellular vesicle”.
The claims of ‘871 and ‘485 are further drawn to each of the particular fusion protein architectures of the instant claims (e.g. ‘871 claims 5, 7, 10, 12, 18, 21-24; ‘485 claims 8-15, 20-23, 28, 32-35), the particular species of cytokines (‘871 claim 15; ‘485 claim 24), and pharmaceutical compositions (‘871 claims 33-37; ‘485 claims 52-56).
‘871 claim 38 and ‘485 claim 57 are drawn in part to a method of producing antigen-presenting extracellular vesicles comprising introducing the claimed polynucleotides into cells.
The claims of ‘871 and ‘485 are not drawn directly to the extracellular vesicles themselves, however, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the claims of ‘871 and ‘485 could further comprise extracellular vesicles comprising the fusion proteins expressed by the claimed polynucleotides. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because the claims of ‘871 and ‘485 are drawn to a method of producing such extracellular vesicles.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, in summary, that the obviousness-type double patenting rejections are provisional in nature because the '871 application and the '485 application remain pending. Applicant requests that the obviousness-type double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the present application otherwise is in condition for allowance.
In response, MPEP 804(I)(B)(1) “A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional…”. Applicant did not show that the claims are patentably distinct, nor file a terminal disclaimer (e.g., the two options provided by the MPEP as recited above).
Applicant did not provide any specific arguments and therefore are not persuasive. The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-17, 20-26, 29-31 ,36-37 , 39-46, 48-53, 55-62 are maintained in modified form.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY M. CHATTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/GARY B NICKOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643