DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 3/18/2026:
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13-14, 16-18, and 20-21 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 3 have been amended and Claims 2, 10, 12, 15, and 19 are canceled, and Claim 21 is newly added.
The rejection has been changed in light of the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Arguments directed at lengths of metal layers
Applicant argues that the teaching of Toshiya does not indicate that 109a can be longer than 109c.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against Toshiya individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Toshiya does not disclose that metal layers must be the same length so a skilled artisan is capable of deciding the lengths of the metal layers such that one is shorter than the other in light of the teachings of Blomgren. Blomgren discloses it is known in the art to use different lengths of metal layers (foils) to wind a battery and achieve a desired shape (see paragraphs [0103] and [0108]).
So, a skilled artisan may use the teaching of Blomgren of metal layers of different lengths in the battery of Toshiya to achieve the shape necessary for the battery they are manufacturing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiya et al. JP-2017073374-A (hereinafter referred to as Toshiya) in view of Blomgren et al. US-20090305120-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Blomgren) and Masaru et al. JP-2004253356-A (hereinafter referred to as Masaru).
Regarding Claim 1, Toshiya discloses an electrode body (battery element) 200 in Figs. 1, 4, and 5 (see paragraph [0016]) comprising:
a current collector (bipolar electrode collector) 109 which includes a first layer (adhesive resin layer) 109b having a first surface and a second surface facing a side opposite to the first surface and including a resin, a first metal layer (first current collector) 109a on the first surface of the first layer, and a second metal layer (second current collector) 109c on the second surface of the first layer in Figs. 2 and 4 (see annotated Fig. 2 below) (see paragraphs [0009], [0016], and [0047]);
Figure 1. Annotated Fig. 2 of Toshiya
a first active material layer (positive electrode active material layer) 113a which is laminated on the first metal layer 109a in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0010]-[0012], [0016], [0019], and [0113]);
a second active material layer (negative electrode active material layer) 111b which is laminated on the second metal layer 109c in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0010]-[0012], [0016], [0019], and [0113]); and
a solid electrolyte layer 107a/107b which comes into contact with at least one of the first active material layer 113a and the second active material layer 111b in Fig. 4 (see paragraphs [0010], [0019], and [0113]),
wherein the first surface of the first layer 109b has a first region in which the first metal layer 109a is laminated, a second region which is exposed from the first metal layer 109a when viewed in a lamination direction of the first metal layer 109a, and a third region which is exposed from the first metal layer 109a and sandwiches the first region with the second region therebetween when viewed in the lamination direction of the first metal layer 109a in Fig. 4 (see annotated Fig. 4 below) (see paragraphs [0010]-[0011], [0019], [0088], and [0113]). This layout is analogous to the disclosed layout (see paragraph [0054] and annotated Fig. 5 below of published instant specification).
Figure 2. Annotated Fig. 4 of Toshiya
Figure 3. Annotated Fig. 5 of instant application
Toshiya further discloses the area of one side of the first layer 109b is preferably greater than the area of one side of at least one of the first metal layer 109a and the second metal layer 109c (see paragraph [0088]). Since Toshiya discloses the first layer only needs to be greater than one of the first metal layer 109a and second metal layer 109c, this suggests that the first metal layer 109a and second metal layer 109c can be different sizes and a length of the first metal layer in a first direction may be shorter than a length of the second metal layer in the first direction, wherein the first direction is transverse to the lamination direction (with the length of the metal layer being in a side to side direction and the lamination direction being an up and down direction in Fig. 4).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of battery configurations (see abstract), Blomgren discloses positive and negative collector foils (metal layers) may have different lengths (which would correlate to the side to side first direction of Toshiya) (see paragraph [108]).
Blomgren further discloses varying these lengths can lead to spirally-wound electrodes with different cross-sectional shapes (see paragraphs [0103] and [0108]). It is within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose lengths for the current collectors that result in an appropriate shape for their battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode body disclosed by Toshiya wherein a length of the first metal layer in a first direction is shorter than a length of the second metal layer in the first direction, as disclosed by Blomgren, in order to obtain an appropriate shape for their battery.
Toshiya and Blomgren are silent on the electrode body further comprising an insulating layer which is laminated in at least one of the second region and the third region.
However, in the same field of endeavor of current collectors with insulating layers (see abstract), Masaru discloses including insulating parts 84 on both sides of the ends of the metal layer 83 in Figs. 11-12 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0032]). When combining this teaching with the electrode body of Toshiyo, this would lead to an insulating layer in at least of one of the second region and the third region.
Masaru additionally discloses the insulating parts 84 greatly reduce the possibility of occurrence of an internal short circuit (see paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode body disclosed by Toshiya and Blomgren wherein the electrode body further comprises an insulating layer which is laminated in at least one of the second region and the third region, as disclosed by Masaru, in order to greatly reduce the possibility of occurrence of an internal short circuit.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Toshiya further discloses the first layer (the layer containing a resin and substrate) includes any one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), and polypropylene (PP) (see paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claims 1 and 5 (see rejection of claims 1 and 5 above). Toshiya further discloses the first metal layer 109a and the second metal layer 109c is any one selected from aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper (see paragraph [0049]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Toshiya further discloses using aluminum for the positive electrode current collector (which 109a functions as, since it is a current collector with a positive electrode active material layer 113a) and using copper for the negative electrode current collector (which 109c functions as, since it is a current collector with a negative electrode active material layer 111b) (see paragraphs [0022] and [0042]). As such, a skilled artisan would obtain an electrode body wherein the first metal layer 109a and the second metal layer 109c include metals or alloys different from each other.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Toshiya further discloses a power storage element (unit cell) comprising the aforementioned electrode body according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0001]-[0002] and [0007]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Toshiya discloses the power storage element according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Toshiya further discloses a power storage module (bipolar lithium ion battery) comprising: the power storage element according to the aforementioned claim 8 (see paragraphs [0001]-[0002] and [0007]).
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torata et al. JP-2010040488-A (hereinafter referred to as Torata) in view of Masaru and Blomgren.
Regarding Claim 1, Torata discloses an electrode body (wound body) in Figs. 2 and 4-5 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0034], [0037], [0043], and [0046]) comprising:
a current collector 11 which includes a first layer (resin film) 11x having a first surface and a second surface facing a side opposite to the first surface and including a resin, a first metal layer top 11z on the first surface of the first layer 11x, and a second metal layer bottom 11z on the second surface of the first layer 11x in Figs. 2 and 4-5 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0034], [0037], [0043], and [0046]);
a first active material layer top 11z which is laminated on the first metal layer top 11y in Figs. 2 and 4-5 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0034], [0037], [0043], and [0046]);
a second active material layer bottom 11z which is laminated on the second metal layer bottom 11y in Figs. 2 and 4-5 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0034], [0037], [0043], and [0046]); and
a separator 13 which comes into contact with at least one of the first active material layer and the second active material layer 11z in Figs. 2 and 4-5 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0034], [0037], [0043], and [0046]),
wherein the first surface of the first layer 11x has a first region (section a-b) in which the first metal layer top 11y is laminated and a second region (section b-c) which is exposed from the first metal layer top 11y when viewed in a lamination direction of the first metal layer top 11y in Fig. 2 (see Fig. 2 below) (see paragraphs [0032]-[0034], [0037], [0043], and [0046]).
Figure 4. Fig. 2 of Torata
Torata is silent on a third region which is exposed from the first metal layer and sandwiches the first region with the second region therebetween when viewed in the lamination direction of the first metal layer and an insulating layer which is laminated in at least one of the second region and the third region.
However, Masaru discloses an electrode body comprising a first layer (insulating sheet) 53, metal layers (conductive layers) 54, active material layers (electrode mixtures) 55, and exposed portions 61 on both sides of the metal layers 54 and active material layers 55 in Fig. 8(b) (see paragraphs [0021]-[0022]). This is analogous to the claimed electrode body of the first layer having a first region in which the first metal layer is laminated, a second region which is exposed from the first metal layer when viewed in a lamination direction of the first metal layer and a third region which is exposed from the first metal layer and sandwiches the first region with the second region therebetween when viewed in the lamination direction of the first metal layer (see Fig. 8 (b) of Masaru and annotated Fig. 5 of published instant specification below).
Figure 5. Figure 8(b) of Masaru
Figure 6. Annotated Fig. 5 of instant application
Masaru additionally discloses including exposed portions of the insulating sheet greatly reduces the possibility of occurrence of an internal short circuit (see paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode body disclosed by Torata by including a third region which is exposed from the first metal layer and sandwiches the first region with the second region therebetween when viewed in the lamination direction of the first metal layer, as disclosed by Masaru, in order to greatly reduce the possibility of occurrence of an internal short circuit.
Masaru also discloses including insulating parts 84 on both sides of the ends of the metal layer 83 in Figs. 11-12 (see paragraphs [0031]-[0032]). When combining this teaching with the electrode body of Torata, this would lead to an insulating layer in at least of one of the second region and the third region.
Masaru additionally discloses the insulating parts 84 greatly reduce the possibility of occurrence of an internal short circuit (see paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode body disclosed by Torata wherein the electrode body further comprises an insulating layer which is laminated in at least one of the second region and the third region, as disclosed by Masaru, in order to greatly reduce the possibility of occurrence of an internal short circuit.
Torata and Masaru are silent on wherein a length of the first metal layer in a first direction is shorter than a length of the second metal layer in the first direction.
However, Blomgren discloses positive and negative collector foils (metal layers) may have different lengths (which would correlate to the side to side first direction transverse to the lamination direction of Torata) (see paragraph [108]).
Blomgren further discloses varying these lengths can lead to spirally-wound electrodes with different cross-sectional shapes (see paragraphs [0103] and [0108]). It is within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to choose lengths for the current collectors that result in an appropriate shape for their battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode body disclosed by Torata and Masaru wherein a length of the first metal layer in a first direction is shorter than a length of the second metal layer in the first direction, as disclosed by Blomgren, in order to obtain an appropriate shape for their battery.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Torata discloses the electrode body according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Torata further discloses the length of the metal layer 12y may either contain an exposed region or not contain an exposed region in Figs. 2 and 4-5 (see paragraphs [0032]-[0034] and [0055]-[0057]), and as such a skilled artisan is capable of varying the length of the metal layer so that a length of the second metal layer in the first direction is equal to a length of the first layer in the first direction (i.e., there is no exposed region as shown in Fig. 2).
Claims 3, 13, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiya in view of Blomgren and Masaru, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kusukawa et al. US-20120244423-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kusukawa).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Toshiya, Blomgren, and Masaru are silent on the electrode body further comprising an insulating layer which is laminated in at least one of the second region and the third region wherein the insulating layer includes an insulator having a ceramic as a main component.
However, in the same field of endeavor of insulating layers on current collectors (see paragraph [0036]), Kusukawa discloses using an insulating layer 21 containing ceramic particles in the amount of 85 mass % to 98 mass % with respect to the total amount of the insulating layer on the fore-end regions of current collectors (see paragraphs [0037]-[0039]).
Kusukawa further discloses using a ceramic insulating layer results in a battery with a higher level of safety (see paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode body disclosed by Toshiya, Blomgren, and Masaru wherein the electrode body further comprises an insulating layer which is laminated in at least one of the second region and the third region and the insulating layer includes an insulator having a ceramic as a main component, as disclosed by Kusukawa, in order to achieve a battery with a higher level of safety.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above). Toshiya further discloses the first layer (the layer containing a resin and substrate) includes any one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), and polypropylene (PP) (see paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above). Toshiya further discloses the first metal layer 109a and the second metal layer 109c is any one selected from aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper (see paragraph [0049]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim (see rejection of claim 3 above). Toshiya further discloses using aluminum for the positive electrode current collector (which 109a functions as, since it is a current collector with a positive electrode active material layer 113a) and using copper for the negative electrode current collector (which 109c functions as, since it is a current collector with a negative electrode active material layer 111b) (see paragraphs [0022] and [0042]). As such, a skilled artisan would obtain an electrode body wherein the first metal layer 109a and the second metal layer 109c include metals or alloys different from each other.
Claims 4, 11, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiya in view of Blomgren, Masaru, and Kusukawa as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Miyamae et al. US-20190372153-A1 (hereinafter referred to as Miyamae).
Regarding Claim 4 and 11, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claims 1 and 3 (see rejection of claims 1 and 3 above). Toshiya further discloses the first layer 109b is an insulating layer, and that this layer helps suppress short circuits between unit cells (see paragraph [0088]).
Toshiya, Blomgren, Masaru, and Kusukawa are silent on the first layer being an insulating layer of 1.0x109 Ω∙cm or higher.
However, in the same field of endeavor of electrodes and insulating material (see abstract), Miyamae discloses an insulating material with a volume resistivity, which is the resistance of the flow of electric current, of 6.0x1012 Ω∙cm and 5.2x1012 Ω∙cm used on a surface of a current collector (see paragraphs [0018], [0125], and [0133] and Table 1). A skilled artisan would recognize that volume resistivity is an equivalent measurement for the disclosed parameter of 1.0x109 Ω∙cm.
The values of 6.0x1012 Ω∙cm and 5.2x1012 Ω∙cm fall within and therefore anticipate the claimed range of an insulating layer of 1.0x109 Ω∙cm or higher.
Miyamae further discloses using an insulation material with an appropriate volume resistivity decreases the change in volume of the negative electrode (see paragraphs [0020]-[0021] and [0133]). As such, combined with the teaching of Toshiya of an insulating layer suppressing short circuits (i.e., resisting flow of electric current), the volume resistivity is seen as a result effective variable. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to ensure that the insulating layer of Toshiya, Blomgren, Masaru, and Kusukawa is 1.0x109 Ω∙cm or higher, as disclosed by Miyamae, in order to decrease the change in volume of the negative electrode and suppress short circuits.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Toshiya further discloses the first layer (the layer containing a resin and substrate) includes any one selected from the group consisting of polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyimide (PI), and polypropylene (PP) (see paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Toshiya discloses the electrode body according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Toshiya further discloses the first metal layer 109a and the second metal layer 109c is any one selected from aluminum, nickel, stainless steel, and copper (see paragraph [0049]).
Conclusion
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729