DETAILED ACTION
Status
This instant application No. 17/802879 has claims 1-8 pending.
Priority /Filing Date
Current application-filed on 08/26/2022 is 371 (National stage) entry for the International application PCT/JP2020/009006, filed on 03/03/2020. The priority filing date of this application is March 3, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the Applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated August 26, 2022 is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of each of the PTOL-1449s initialed and dated by the Examiner is attached to the instant Office action.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
* Where it recites different ‘Math’ statement in the claim such as Math 1, Math 2 …. etc. are redundant and create confusion in the understanding of the claim language and should be removed.
* The nomenclatures used in these claims are confusing. Some examples of these are
- it appears that the following statements are repeated twice in the claim 3
θi is a phase of an i-th spin, where i is a natural number,
θj is a phase of a j-th spin, where j is a natural number,
Also the term Jvw is lacking nomenclature in the claim 3 and claim 4.
Careful consideration is sought in providing correct and accurate nomenclature in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder (such as “configured to”) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a resonator unit,
a measurement unit,
a feedback configuration,
in Claim 1.
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ingaki et al. hereafter Ingaki (Pub. No.: US 2018/0246393 A1), in view of Kanao et al. hereafter Kanao (Patent No.: US 10,027,334 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Inagaki disclose an XY model calculation apparatus, comprising:
a resonator unit configured to amplify a plurality of optical pulses (Inagaki: [0021]: ring resonator; [0038], [0117], [0120]: with time, the amplification intensity in the phase sensitive amplifier in the degenerate optical parametric oscillator 1 is stabilized, so that the oscillation intensities of the plurality of dummy pulses are maximized to a predetermined intensity);
a measurement unit configured to measure phases and amplitudes of the plurality of optical pulses to obtain a measurement result (Inagaki: [0021]-[0025], [0029]: a computer which computes interactions in the Ising model on the basis of coupling coefficients in the Ising model and the measured phases of the laser pulses is arranged. Further, a modulator which controls the amplitudes and phases of light injected to the laser pulses, on the basis of the computed interactions in the Ising model, is arranged at the joining position to the ring resonator; Also see [0043], [0093], [0095]); and
a feedback configuration configured to calculate and feed back an interaction related to a certain optical pulse of the plurality of optical pulses by using a coupling coefficient of an Ising model in response to the measurement result (Inagaki: Figures 6-8, [0138]-[0147]: Compensating Coupling Coefficient by Feedback Delay of L Round Trips) and, wherein the feedback configuration is configured to perform a feedback input of a correlation to be determined by a coupling coefficient of two optical pulses of the plurality of optical pulses result (Inagaki: Figures 6-8, [0138]-[0147]: Compensating Coupling Coefficient by Feedback Delay of L Round Trips; [0011], [0012]: a network of lasers or laser pulses, in a pair of lasers or laser pulses interacting with each other), and
configured so that only one component of pulsed light is to be measured (Inagaki: [0145]-[0147]: I-component intensity measurement).
Inagaki do not explicitly disclose XY model calculation.
Kanao disclose XY model calculation (Kanao: column 3 lines 38-65: the solution of a corresponding Ising model can be estimated from a solution that minimizes the energy of the XY model; Also see column 9 lines 25-30: the model to be solved may be, for example, an XY model).
Inagaki and Kanao are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They both relate to quantum computing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above ISING model quantum computation application, as taught by Inagaki, and incorporating the use of XY model calculation, as taught by Kanao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to solve combinational optimization problem at a high speed., as suggested by Kanao (Kanao: column 1 lines 33-35).
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites the same substantive limitations as claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings.
Regarding Claim 2, the combinations of Inagaki and Kanao further disclose the XY model calculation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the component of the pulsed light is an in-phase component (Inagaki: [0145]-[0147]: I-component intensity measurement).
Regarding Claim 6, the claim recites the same substantive limitations as claim 2 and is rejected using the same teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of prior art of record teaches at least:
a)
(Claim 3)
wherein by satisfying, in a Hamiltonian equation (1) of an XY model,
a coupling matrix
Jij of Equation (6),
where
θi is a phase of an i-th spin, where i is a natural number,
θj is a phase of a j-th spin, where j is a natural number, and
Kij is a real symmetric matrix, and
θi is a phase of an i-th spin, where i is a natural number i,
θj is a phase of a j-th spin, where j is a natural number, and
Kij is a Hermitian matrix, and by satisfying, in a Hamiltonian equation (2) of a complex (numerical system) XY model,
a
coupling matrix of Equation (11),
RKij: Real part of Kij
JKij: imaginary part of Kij
where
θj is a phase of a j-th spin, where j is a natural number, and
Kij is a Hermitian matrix,
a real number θ is given as an argument in a plane having amplitudes of the two optical pulses as axes, and the argument changes continuously to rotate from 0 to 2π.
b)
(Claim 4)
wherein a feedback signal αi to be used for the feedback input is determined so that a relationship
.
is satisfied by αi .
where i and j are natural numbers, vj is an amplitude of an optical pulse v at a j-th site of one of the two optical pulses, wj is an amplitude of an optical pulse w at a j-th site of the other of the two optical pulses, a matrix Kij of complex numbers is a coupling coefficient,
RKij: is a real part of Kij, and.
JKij: is an imaginary part of Kij.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inaba et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0279062 A1) teaches a Potts model computing device capable of computing a Potts problem that is a multivalued spin problem and includes an Ising model which store a value of a spin of the Ising model obtained in a case where a coupling coefficient is set in the Ising model computing device and to determine whether a computation is finished;
Ikuta et al. (Patent No. US 11662647 B2) provides an optical phase synchronization method characterized by involving applying a small phase modulation signal (dither signal) to local oscillator light, acquiring an error signal that is dependent on a phase shift, and controlling the phase shift.
INAGAKI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20180246393 A1) conceptually presents a quantum computation device capable of easily solving the Ising model to easily solve an NP-complete problem or the like mapped into the Ising model.
Takeda et al. (Boltzmann sampling for an XY model using a non-degenerate optical parametric oscillator network, Quantum Sci. Technol. 3 (2018), pp 1-11) present an experimental scheme of implementing multiple spins in a classical XY model using a non-degenerate optical parametric oscillator (NOPO) network.
Tamate et al. (Simulating the classical XY model with a laser network, arXiv (2016), pp 1-6) propose a physical implementation of a Boltzmann sampler for the classical XY model by using a laser network.
9. Examiner’s Remarks: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Correspondence Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IFTEKHAR A KHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-5699. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9:00AM-6:00PM (CST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Emerson Puente can be reached on (571)272-3652. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IFTEKHAR A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2187