DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 8/22/25 cancelled pending claims 1-17, 19-20 and 30 and added new claims 31-52.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I (new claims 31-39 and 51-52) and species (SEQ ID NO: 17 in claim 31 and double stranded SEQ ID NO: 17 and 18 in claim 32 and 33) in the reply filed on 8/22/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 40-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/22/25.
SEQ ID NOs: 36, 39, 40, 47, and 49 in claim 31 and SEQ ID NOs: 36, 39, 40, 47, 49 in claim 32 and SEQ ID NOs: 34/36, 34/39, 17/40, 46/47, 46/49 in claim 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/22/25.
Information Disclosure Statement
The report on patentability of the IPEA and/or ISA has been considered by the examiner.
The references cited in the PCT international search report by the US have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application because they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action.
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “capital letter nucleotide = RNA nucleotide” in paragraphs 4, 39, 89 and page 40 of the as-filed specification is not correct since all of the nucleotides are capitalized, including T and thymidine (T) is not a RNA nucleotide. It appears to be a typographical error since Thymidine is not a RNA nucleotide.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 31-33 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “T = thymidine ….capital letter nucleotide = RNA nucleotide” at the end of the claim is not consistent with what is a RNA nucleotide since all of the nucleotides are capitalized and thymidine (T) is not a RNA nucleotide. It appears to be a typographical error since Thymidine is not a RNA nucleotide and one of skill in the in art commonly uses it as an overhang for a siRNA sequence (see Sharp et al. US 8853181, column 6 of ‘181). Thus, the two Ts in the sequences will be considered a DNA overhang and the limitation will be considered as “capital letter nucleotide other T = RNA nucleotide”. Claims 34-39 and 51-52 are also objected to because they depend on the claims.
Claims 31 and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities: SEQ ID NO: 40 and 47 appear to be identical sequences. Thus, SEQ ID NO: 47 is redundant.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: a comma between a wafer and a nanoparticle is missing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33-35 and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Several of the double stranded nucleic acids in claim 33 do not require the sense strand from claim 32 (SEQ ID NO: 17) from which claim 33 depends from, e.g., SEQ ID NO: 34 and 36; SEQ ID NO: 34 and 39; SEQ ID NO: 46 and 47; SEQ ID NO: 46 and 49. Claim 33 depends on claim 32 and claim 32 limits the sense strand to SEQ ID NO: 17, thus all of the claims dependent on claim 32 require that the double stranded has SEQ ID NO: 17 as the sense strand.
Claims 34-35 and 51-52 recite that the nucleic acid molecule has at least one nucleotide that is modified or further modified. The claims depend on a claim where the nucleic acid already has a modification. Thus, while the claim is further limited for the phrase ‘further modified’, the limitation ‘at least one nucleotide’ does not further limit the claims because the claims already have at least one modification. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-33 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dey (US 20210171957, priority to 10/25/19, of record).
Dey teaches a composition comprising double stranded nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 and SEQ ID NO: 18 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. These sequences are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 17 and 18 and its chemical modification pattern. For example, see pages 2 and 71.
The applied reference has a common inventor/assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 35, 37-39, and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Dey (US 20210171957, priority to 10/25/19, of record).
The rejection of claims 31-33 and 36 as being taught by Dey are incorporated herein.
Pages 2 and 9-16 of Dey teach adding nucleic acid modifications to the siRNA, including nucleic acid modifications, phosphorothioate, phosphodiester cap. Pages 26-27 teaches using a liposomal nanoparticle or PEG to assist in delivery of a siRNA to cells.
Dey does not specifically teach adding additional modifications to the double stranded nucleic acid.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to add an additional modification, including a phosphorothioate to increase stability of the nucleic acid, namely to arrive at the claimed invention. Dey teaches adding a polymer to the composition, including PEG or liposomal nanoparticle to assist in delivery of the nucleic acid to a cell.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
The applied reference has a common assignee/inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 31-33 and 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 15-22, 25, 27-34 of copending Application No. 17/802,905 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims embrace a double stranded nucleic acid (siRNA) comprising SEQ ID NOs: 17 and 18 and having the same chemical modification patterns.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 34, 35, 37-39, and 51-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 15-22, 25, 27-34 of copending Application No. 17/802,905 in view of Adami et al. (US 20170020819).
The provisional rejection of claims 31-33 and 36 as being unpatentable the claims of ‘905 is incorporated herein.
The claims form ‘905 do not encompass an additional modification to the siRNA or adding a liposomal nanoparticle or PEG to the siRNA in a composition.
However, ‘819 teaches a siRNA formulated in a liposomal nanoparticle comprising PEG to deliver the siRNA to cells (paragraphs 294-333).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the claims of ‘905 taken with ‘819 to formulate the siRNA in a composition comprising a liposomal nanoparticle comprising PEG to assist in delivery of the siRNA to cells. In addition, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to add an additional modification to the siRNA, including a phosphorothioate to increase stability of the nucleic acid, namely to arrive at the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
See attached PTO-326 for disposition of claims.
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sharp (US 20230203495, priority to 2/27/20, of record). Sharp teaches a composition comprising double stranded nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO: 17 and SEQ ID NO: 18 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. These sequences are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 17 and 18 and their chemical modification patterns. For example, see pages 7 and 43-44.
A 102(a)(2) rejection is not applicable because the 102(b)(2)(a) exception applies because the Sharp reference does not name another inventor
While 19 nucleotides of the RNA sequences of instant claims 31 and 32 read on a region of Fidgetin-like 2 nucleotide sequence (Sharp, US 8853181) and pages 22-23 of the specification, the claimed nucleic acid are not found in nature because they are chemically modified sequences and/or are a RNA sequence or a double stranded RNA having TT.
Sharp et al. also discloses an unmodified siRNA comprising nucleotides of 19/21 nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 17 (Qy). The sequence taught by Sharp is a 21-mer. See SEQ ID NO: 3 (Db).
Qy 1 UUACACAGUAUUAAAGCGATT 21
Db 1 UUACACAGUAUUAAAGCGAUU 21
‘171 also teaches a complement of the sequence (See SEQ ID NO: 4, Db). SEQ ID NO: 4 would read on 19/21 nucleotides of the antisense strand, SEQ ID NO: 18 (Qy), 21-mer, except for the last two nucleotides.
Qy 1 TTAAUGUGUCAUAAUUUCGCU 21
Db 1 UUAAUGUGUCAUAAUUUCGCU 21
‘171 does not teach or suggest that the 3’ end of the sense and antisense strand each have a TT overhang.
In addition, ‘171 does not teach or suggest adding a phosphate cap to the antisense strand (SEQ ID NO: 18).
Pages 51-52 of the specification of the instant disclosure provide working examples that display SEQ ID NOs: 17 and 18 improve outcome of radical prostatectomy and wound healing.
One of ordinary skill in the art could substitute UU for TT, since they are both overhangs (see column 6 of ‘181), which are commonly used as an overhang when making siRNA having an overhang on the sense and/or antisense strand.
However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the specific nucleotide sequence for the sense and/or the chemical medication for the sense strand in claims 31 and 32. Thus, it would not have been a simple substitution for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the chemical modification pattern for the instant nucleic acid or double stranded nucleic acid.
Furthermore, while ‘181 contemplates chemically modifying the siRNA with at least one nucleotide modification, including 2’-O-methyl and 2-fluorodeoxy nucleotides, ‘171 does not teach or suggest the specific modifications of only the first six nucleotides of the sense strand of the siRNA to arrive at the specific chemical modification pattern in instant SEQ ID NO: 17. While each chemical modification used in the oligonucleotide was known in the prior art, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of chemical modifications and possible chemical modifications patterns for an antisense and/or a sense strand using these modifications. See Dar et al. (Scientific Reports 6, 20031, pages 1-8, 2016). Dar et al. teaches a databank for chemically modified siRNAs, including 4894 chemically modified siRNA sequences comprising 128 unique chemical modifications in different positions with various permutations and combinations. Modifications on sense and antisense strands need to be investigated thoroughly before further investigation of using the siRNA having a particular chemical modification pattern (page 2). The prior art and currently indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art that there was not a reasonable expectation of success for one of ordinary skill in the art to identify chemically modified siRNA with drug-like properties because it requires empirically screening due to intricate interdependence of siRNA sequence and chemistry (see Kluchnikov et al. Molecular Therapy Nucleic Acids, Vol. 36, 2025). Unless the prior art teaches the instant chemically modified siRNA, there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to select specific chemical modifications and/or a pattern of modifications over another chemical modification or chemical modification pattern and reasonably expect to arrive at the chemically modified nucleic acid recited in the instant claims. See MPEP 2143(I)E. Thus, there is not a finite number of identified and predictable chemical modifications patterns for one of ordinary skill in the art to try to make the chemically modified siRNA set forth in the instant claims 31-33 and claims dependent therefrom based on the teaching of ‘181.
/BRIAN WHITEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636