Status of Claims
This is a FINAL Rejection to Amendments and Arguments filed by Applicant on 09/27/2025. Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 12, 14, and 15 have been amended. Currently pending for review are Claims 1-16.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the Drawing and Claim Objections made in the Office Action filed on 03/25/2025. Amendments/Remarks & Arguments filed by Applicant on 09/27/2025 correct the objection/rejection and/or are persuasive. Therefore, the Drawing and Claim Objections made in the Office Action filed on 03/25/2025 has been withdrawn unless otherwise indicated below.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection made in the Office Action filed on 03/25/2025. Amendments/Remarks & Arguments filed by Applicant on 09/27/2025 correct the rejection and/or are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection made in the Office Action filed on 03/25/2025 has been withdrawn unless otherwise indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dauben (US 7955226 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Dauben teaches a swim trainer comprising: an elongated cylindrical body 18,25,36 in an orientation perpendicular to a long axis of the body; having two ends and two float mounts penetrating through the body 18 (Refer to annotated Fig. 4 below & Fig. 3..The Office takes the position that Applicant indicates that the “mounts” may be holes or voids in Applicants paragraph [0037] and therefore the Office takes the position that the void/holes through the ends of member 36 considered to be part of the elongated cylindrical body are considered the mounts); and
an elongated float 20,38,40,42 coupled to the body at each of the two float mounts 36, wherein the elongated float penetrates the body in an orientation perpendicular to long axis of the body at each of the two float mounts 36, wherein the body 18 constrains the float 20 in a U-shaped configuration coplanar with the body, and wherein the body separates the float into a head section 20 and two flank sections 40.
Regarding Claim 2, Dauben continues to teach wherein the two float mounts 36 are oriented perpendicular to a long axis of the body 18.
Regarding Claim 3, Dauben continues to teach wherein the elongated float 20,38,40,42 is removably coupled to the body 18 (Refer to Figs 3&4).
Regarding Claim 4, Dauben continues to teach wherein the elongated float is adjustably positioned with respect to the body 18 such that a head section 20 length and a flank section 40 length are adjustable (Refer to Figs. 3&4 the Office takes the position that the length are adjustable based on how much they are slid onto member 38&42).
Regarding Claim 5, Dauben continues to teach wherein the body 20 comprises a central support surface 18 disposed between the two float mounts 36.
Regarding Claim 6, Dauben continues to teach wherein the body comprises an arm support surface 25 formed between each of the float mounts 36 and the ends (Refer to Fig. 4 below).
Regarding Claim 7, Dauben continues to teach further comprising a grip 16 formed at each end of the body 18 (Refer to Fig.2 to depict the grips are indirectly formed on the end of the body 18).
Regarding Claim 8, Dauben continues to teach wherein each grip comprises a step 30.
Regarding Claim 9, Dauben continues to teach wherein each grip comprises a plurality of steps 30,32 (Refer to Figs2-4..The Office takes the position that the members 30,32 are considered steps since they are raised surfaces to form steps)
Regarding Claim 10, Dauben teaches swim trainer comprising: an elongated cylindrical body 18 having a long axis; two float mounts 36, each float mount comprising a hole penetrating through the body in a direction perpendicular to the long axis of the body 18 (Refer to annotated Fig. 4 above & Fig. 3..The Office takes the position that Applicant indicates that the “mounts” may be holes or voids in Applicants paragraph [0037] and therefore the Office takes the position that the void/holes through the ends of member 36 considered to be part of the elongated cylindrical body are considered the mounts); wherein each of the two float mounts 36 is configured to receive a float 20,42, and wherein the float 40,42 is retained by the float mounts 36 in a configuration coplanar with the body (Refer to Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Dauben continues to teach wherein the elongated float 20,42 adjustably coupled to the body 18.
Regarding Claim 12, Dauben teaches a method of using a swim trainer an elongated cylindrical body 18,25,36 having two ends and two float mounts penetrating through the body 18 in an orientation perpendicular to a long axis of the body (Refer to annotated Fig. 4 below & Fig. 3..The Office takes the position that Applicant indicates that the “mounts” may be holes or voids in Applicants paragraph [0037] and therefore the Office takes the position that the void/holes through the ends of member 36 considered to be part of the elongated cylindrical body are considered the mounts); and
an elongated float 20,38,40,42 coupled to the body at each of the two float mounts 36, wherein the elongated float penetrates the body in an orientation perpendicular to long axis of the body at each of the two float mounts 36, wherein the body 18 constrains the float 20 in a U-shaped configuration coplanar with the body, comprising: entering a body of water holding a swim trainer 10 (Refer to Figs. 1&2); grasping the swim trainer 10; and rolling onto the swim trainer wherein the buoyancy of the swim trainer facilitates support of the user in a horizontal position with respect to a surface of the body of water (Refer to Figs 1&2).
Regarding Claim 13, Dauben continues to teach wherein the grasping step comprises grasping each of two flank sections 16 of the float 18 with a body 20 of the swim trainer 10 against the back of the shoulders; and the rolling step comprises lying supine on the swim trainer to float face-upward (Refer to Figs. 1&2).
Regarding Claim 14, Dauben continues to teach further comprising resting the head on a central support surface 22 disposed on the body 20 of the swim trainer 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dauben (US 7955226 B2) in view of Greenan et al (US 20150298780 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Dauben teaches the claimed method as noted above but fails to expressly disclose wherein the horizontal position is a prone position. Greenan teaches a floatation device in which a user may use the device in a body of water in a variety of positioned in which a horizontal position is a prone position (Refer to Figs. 5A-C). Greenan et al is from the same field of endeavor as Applicants invention and therefore it would have been obvious to modify the method of Dauben to be in view of Greenan et al such that there is a horizontal position being a prone position seen Greenan et al teaches that such position is common in swimming and therefore does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts.
Regarding Claim 16, Dauben in view of Greenan et al teaches the claimed method as noted above but fails to teach a step resting the forehead on a central support surface disposed on a body of the swim trainer. The Office takes the position that it would have been obvious to provide the step of resting the forehead on a central support surface disposed on a body of the swim trainer since resting and/or facedown swimming would have been capable since the device comprises a central support surface disposed on the end of the body 102 after member 106 and therefore such method step does not patentably distinguish the invention over prior arts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Wherein Applicant argues that the mounts of Dauben lacks two float mounts penetrating through an elongated cylindrical body perpendicular to a long axis of a body. The Office respectfully disagrees with Applicants arguments that Dauben does not teach such limitation since Applicant indicates that the “mounts” may be holes or voids in Applicants paragraph [0037] and therefore the Office takes the position that the void/holes through the ends of member 36 considered to be part of the elongated cylindrical body are considered the mounts, and therefore Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784