DETAILED ACTION
Pro Se
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Drawings
Figure 6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. Furthermore, portions of Figures 11 and 12 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated.
See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the distal opening must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because Figure 12 is missing reference numbers as there are drawn lines on the image without a corresponding number.
Claim Interpretation
Referring to claim 1 of “energy source means” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses the recitation “means’ coupled with functional language “energy source” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
However, a review of the specification shows that the specification does not disclose sufficient structure to perform the claimed function. See the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) set forth in detail below.
As it concerns each of the claims discussed above, if applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the energy source means” in line 5 of the claim.
As previously noted, the recitation of “the energy source means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the specification does not disclose sufficient structure to perform the claimed function of the 112(f) limitation of “energy source”. More particularly, the written description never links or associates a particular structure with the function of energy source. Since the specification does not disclose sufficient structure to performed the claimed function of the 112(f) limitation of “energy source means”, the specification does not convey with reasonable clarify to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited. It is not clear what is attempting to be claimed. Furthermore, it is not clear whether or not “the energy source means” and “the energy point of contact” are positively required.
Claims 1-4 include many recitations that have insufficient antecedent basis including but not limited to “said distal opening” in line 3 of claim 1, “the energy source means” in line 4 of claim 1, “the energy point of contact” in line 4 of claim 1, “a distal end configuration” in line 1 of claims 2 and 3, “at least one non-obstructing cutout” in line 1 of claim 2 and “said non-obstructing cutout” in line 2 of claim four.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO/97/14364 (Monson et al).
Referring to claim 1, Monson et al teaches a distal end configuration of a smoke evacuating surgical device comprised of: a distal port having at least one non-obstructing cutout, emanating away from said distal opening, to allow surgeon visibility at acute angles, of the energy source means and the energy point of contact (page 8, lines 11-36 and page 11, line 23 through page 12, line 3; Figures 1-3).
Referring to claim 2, Monson et al teaches having at least one non-obstructing cutout as a surface change lowering the distal port horizon allowing said surgeon visibility at said acute angles (page 8, lines 11-36 and page 11, line 23 through page 12, line 3; Figures 1-3).
Referring to claim 3, Monson et al teaches wherein said at least one non-obstructing cutout is the material removal of said distal port allowing said surgeon visibility at said acute angles (page 8, lines 11-36 and page 11, line 23 through page 12, line 3; Figures 1-3). It is noted that this is a product-by-process claim and therefore the patentability is based on the product itself (See MPEP 2113).
Referring to claim 4, Monson et al teaches having a selectively rotatable distal port to orient said non-obstructing cutout to align with said surgeons' line of sight of said energy source means and the energy point of contact (page 8, lines 11-36 and page 11, line 23 through page 12, line 3; Figures 1-3). It is noted that since the device is able to be rotated it meets the claim. The claim does not require that the distal port is rotatable relative to another claimed structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: PG Publication 2022/0273360.
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/ Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794