DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 7/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 remain pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the snap-fit feature in claims 1, 10-11, and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “between a pair or sidewalls” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 depends from claim 12 which has been canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant has amended claims 1, 11, 5 and 15 to link a singular “snap-fit feature” which performs the dual function of holding the steps in the retracted and deployed position. Applicant’s original disclosure does not disclose what the snap-fit feature actually is but merely discusses that the steps snap into place when deployed and when retracted. Therefore, Applicant’s amended claim is more limited than what was originally disclosed and constitutes new matter in the Examiner’s position. It is suggested that the Applicant amend the claims to reflect the specification to overcome this issue. .
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 1, 10-11 and 20, the limitation “snap-fit feature” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Applicant’s amended claims now require a particular structure (i.e. feature) which performs the function of holding the shutter steps in retracted (ang deployed) position. Applicant does not specifically set forth what the feature is since they only mention the steps snapping into the deployed and retracted positions in the specification and no particular feature is illustrated in the drawings. Therefore, it is unclear what the structure is and how it would perform the specific functions, rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rorke US 9380760 (hereinafter Rorke) in view of Frick US 2011/0139544 (hereinafter Frick).
Re. Cl. 1, Rorke discloses: A ladder/ramp (100), comprising: a pair of siderails (102s, Fig. 1a-b); a plurality of shutter-steps (106, Fig. 1a-3) each rotatably coupled between the pair of siderails so that each shutter-step is rotatable between a deployed position extending outwardly from alignment with the pair of siderails to define a step surface (see Fig. 1a), and a retracted position aligned between the pair of siderails to define a continuous ramp surface (see Fig. 2a); each shutter step having a snap-fit feature (Col. 6, Lines 44-49 and Lines 52-58) configured to hold the shutter step in the retracted position (Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Re. Cl. 11, Rorke discloses: A method of forming a ladder/ramp (see Fig. 1a-3) comprising: rotatably coupling a plurality of shutter-steps (106, Fig. 1-3) between the pair of siderails (102, Fig. 1a-b) so that each shutter-step is rotatable between a deployed position extending outwardly from alignment with the pair of siderails to define a step surface (see Fig. 1a), and a retracted position aligned between the pair of siderails to define a continuous ramp surface (see Fig. 2a), each shutter step having a snap-fit feature (Col. 6, Lines 44-49 and Lines 52-58) configured to hold the shutter step in the retracted position (Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Re. Cls. 3 and 13, Rorke discloses: the continuous ramp surface comprises a continuous and smooth non-slip surface (Col. 7, Lines 14-20).
Re. Cls. 5 and 15, Rorke discloses: each snap-fit feature is also configured to hold the shutter-step in the deployed position (Col. 6, Lines 52-58).
Re. Cls. 8 and 18, Rorke discloses: first ends of each of the pair of siderails form a support for engaging an adjacent portion of a vehicle when the ladder/ramp is used as a ladder and when the ladder/ramp is used as a ramp (see Fig. 1a-b, top ends of rails 102 where 118 and 132 are located form supports for engaging a vehicle as shown by 142).
Re. Cls. 1 and 11, Rorke discloses that the shutter steps are attached to the frame using runner hinges (128) and does not disclose a plurality of crossbars fixedly coupled between the pair of siderails and extending along a length of the pair of siderails; the shutter-steps rotatably coupled to a corresponding crossbar and in the retracted position the continuous ramp surface is defined with the plurality of crossbars. Frick discloses a ladder/ramp (Fig. 1) which includes a plurality of siderails (15a, b, Fig. 1); a plurality of crossbars (25, Fig. 3) fixedly coupled between the pair of siderails and extending along a length of the pair of siderails (see Fig. 1-3); the shutter-steps (20) rotatably coupled to a corresponding crossbar and in the retracted position the continuous ramp surface is defined with the plurality of crossbars (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the runner hinges (128) of Rorke with the crossbars of Frick with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve the predictable result of rotatably fixing the steps between siderails. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rorke in view of Frick as applied above, and in further view of Islava US 4867275 (hereinafter Islava).
Re. Cls. 6 and 16, Rorke discloses that each shitter-step is configured to support at least 150 pounds when in the deployed position (Col. 5, Lines 5-10) and that various adjustments can be made to increase the resiliency or rigidity of the device (Cl. 5, Lines 10-16). Islava discloses a ladder (Fig. 1) which includes panels (14-16, Fig. 1) that are configured to support at least 250 pounds (Col. 3, Lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Rorke device to have its panels configured to support 250 pounds as disclosed by Islava since Rorke discloses that adjustments can be made to increase the resiliency or rigidity of the device from supporting 150 pounds (Col. 5, Lines 10-16) and Islava discloses that it is known to enable the panels to support 250 pounds (Col. 3, Lines 1-4). Such a modification would enable the device to support larger animals or even people.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rorke in view of Frick in view of Levi US 2003/0175101 (hereinafter Levi).
Re. Cl. 10, Rorke discloses: A vehicle (Col. 7, Lines 64-65; car) comprising: a chassis; wheels mounted to the chassis; a vehicle body mounted to the chassis (it is the Examiner’s position that the car discussed in Col. 7, Lines 64-65 would have a chassis, wheels, motor and body as claimed; further, Levi as seen in Figs. 2-6 and Paragraph 0003 supports the Examiner’s position); a ladder/ramp (Fig. 1a) comprising: a pair of siderails (102s, Fig. 1a-b); a plurality of shutter-steps (106, Fig. 1a-3) each rotatably coupled between the pair of siderails so that each shutter-step is rotatable between a deployed position extending outwardly from alignment with the pair of siderails to define a step surface (see Fig. 1a), and a retracted position aligned between the pair of siderails to define a continuous ramp surface (see Fig. 2a); each shutter step having a snap-fit feature (Col. 6, Lines 44-49 and Lines 52-58) configured to hold the shutter step in the retracted position (Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Re. Cl. 20, Rorke discloses: A method for adapting a vehicle for use with a ladder/ramp (see Fig. 1b), the method comprising: providing the vehicle comprising a chassis, wheels mounted to the chassis, a motor mounted to the chassis and a vehicle body mounted to the chassis (Col. 7, Lines 64-65; car; it is the Examiner’s position that the car discussed in Col. 7, Lines 64-65 would have a chassis, wheels, motor and body as claimed; further, Levi as seen in Figs. 2-6 and Paragraph 0003 supports the Examiner’s position); providing a ladder/ramp (Fig. 1a) comprising a pair of siderails (102s, Fig. 1a-b); a plurality of shutter-steps (106, Fig. 1a-3) each rotatably coupled between the pair of siderails so that each shutter-step is rotatable between a deployed position extending outwardly from alignment with the pair of siderails to define a step surface (see Fig. 1a), and a retracted position aligned between the pair of siderails to define a continuous ramp surface (see Fig. 2a); each shutter step having a snap-fit feature (Col. 6, Lines 44-49 and Lines 52-58) configured to hold the shutter step in the retracted position (Col. 6, Lines 44-49).
Re. Cls. 10 and 20, Rorke discloses that the shutter steps are attached to the frame using runner hinges (128) and does not disclose a plurality of crossbars fixedly coupled between the pair of siderails and extending along a length of the pair of siderails; the shutter-steps rotatably coupled to a corresponding crossbar and in the retracted position the continuous ramp surface is defined with the plurality of crossbars or a storage rack on top of the vehicle body and the ladder ramp carried by the storage rack (Cl. 11) or mounting a storage rack on a top of the vehicle body to hold the ladder ramp (Cl. 20). Frick discloses a ladder/ramp (Fig. 1) which includes a plurality of siderails (15a, b, Fig. 1); a plurality of crossbars (25, Fig. 3) fixedly coupled between the pair of siderails and extending along a length of the pair of siderails (see Fig. 1-3); the shutter-steps (20) rotatably coupled to a corresponding crossbar and in the retracted position the continuous ramp surface is defined with the plurality of crossbars (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the runner hinges (128) of Rorke with the crossbars of Frick with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve the predictable result of rotatably fixing the steps between siderails. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Re. Cls. 10 and 20, Rorke does not disclose a storage rack on top of the vehicle body and the ladder ramp carried by the storage rack (Cl. 11) or mounting a storage rack on a top of the vehicle body to hold the ladder ramp (Cl. 20). Levi discloses a vehicle (see Fig. 2-6 and discussed in Paragraph 0003 as being a motor vehicle such as a truck or van) configured for use with the ladder/ramp (see Fig. 2-6, the vehicle is configured for use with the ladder/ramp according to claim 1 in the same manner as it is shown used with the ladder shown in phantom lines), the vehicle further comprising: a chassis; wheels mounted to the chassis; a motor mounted to the chassis; a vehicle body mounted to the chassis (see Fig. 2-6 and Paragraph 0003; it is the Examiner’s position that the vehicle is shown as having wheels and the motor vehicle (truck or van) discussed in the disclosure would inherently include a chassis, wheels mounted on the chassis, a motor mounted to the chassis and a vehicle body mounted to the chassis); and a storage rack (10, Fig. 7a) on top of the vehicle body (see Fig. 2-6), the storage rack including a portion (see 19 and 41, Fig. 7a) configured to hold the ladder/ramp (see Fig. 2-6 in the same manner as shown holding the ladder in phantom lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle disclosed in Rorke to include the rack as disclosed by Levi with reasonable expectation of success since Levi states that such a modification provides a movable ladder rack which can be used to readily raise and lower a ladder onto and from the roof of a motor vehicle (Paragraph 0003). Such a modification would enable the user to transport the ladder and more easily use/deploy it when required to be used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-16, 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Austin US 524661, Sprague US 1791330, Smart US 2024/0426130, Wang US 2023/0323698, Frick US 2011/0139544, Deakin US 2003/0178456, and Wurth US 8776947 disclose other known ladder assemblies which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632