DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of aluminum trihydrate and expanded perlite as species (corresponding to claims 1-4, 12-16 and 19-20) still applies and claims 5-11, 17-18 remain withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 07/13/26 has been entered. Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive and the previous rejection(s) are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (U.S. 4,822,659) in view of von Bonin et al. (U.S. 4,992,481, hereinafter Bonin) in view of Annemaier et al. (U.S. 6,010,763).
Regarding claims 1-4, 12-16 and 19-20, Anderson teaches a multilayer composite having thermal insulation and fire blocking properties (see abstract) comprising a barrier layer 13 and a silicone foam layer 12, wherein the silicone foam may be platinum catalyzed (addition cured) silicone foam (see claim 8) as in claims 2 and 14, with an overall thickness overlapping the claimed ranges (col. 3, line 60-col. 4, line 5, ¼ inch corresponds to approximately 6.35 mm), and wherein the foam may include metal (aluminum) trihydrate as in the elected species and claims 3-4, 15-16, and 20, and renders obvious the amount of such filler in the present application (see below regarding result effective variable).
Anderson does not disclose expanded perlite as in the elected species but does seek thermal insulation and fire blocking properties. However, Bonin is also directed to fire retardant compositions of silicone foam (see claim 2) and teaches that perlites were a known flameproofing filler (col. 6, line 55-col. 7, line 10). Furthermore, Annemaier is also directed to fireproofing foam materials (see abstract) and teaches that expanded perlite is a preferred heat insulating material with high heat resistance and may be used at amounts overlapping the amounts in the present application (col. 3, lines 45-60). Thus, it would have been obvious to have included general perlite filler in the silicone foam layer of Anderson as suggested by Bonin to provide flameproof properties, which Anderson seeks, and it would have further been obvious to have include expanded perlite more specifically (as in the elected species and claim 12) as taught by Annemaier because it provide heat insulating properties with high heat resistance, which Anderson also seeks.
The claimed HBF and self ignition properties are not disclosed, however, modified Anderson renders obvious an overlapping type of barrier layer, type of silicone foam material, thickness, and also the elected species of foam fillers (aluminum trihydrate and expanded perlite) as compared to the present application. The prior art also provides an art-recognized result effective variable relationship for the amount of both fillers in terms of providing flame-proofing properties (via releasing water from aluminum hydrate) and heat insulation (via heat insulating properties from expanded perlite). Thus, it would have additionally been obvious to have optimized the amount of both aluminum trihydrate and expanded perlite in the silicone foam layer of modified Anderson (for the respective flame proofing and heat insulating properties discussed above), with such optimized amounts include the amounts used in the present application. Because the prior art renders obvious a composition with just silicone, aluminum trihydrate and expanded perlite, optimizing the amount of aluminum trihydrate and expanded perlite will necessarily result in a corresponding optimization of the remaining amount of silicone in the overall composition.
Accordingly, the composition of modified Anderson renders obvious an overlapping composition and structure of the composite compared to the composite of the present invention and therefore these overlapping embodiments in the prior art will inherently have the same HBF and self ignition properties as the overlapped embodiments in the present application. Furthermore, since Anderson explicitly seeks flame proofing properties generally, it would have also been obvious to have optimized the degree of flame proofing properties in general (including flammability and self ignition properties) to within the claimed ranges.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12-14, 16, 18-19 of copending Application No. 17/804,127 (reference application) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. 4,822,659). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed barrier layer is obvious to use in the copending application to improve support as taught by Anderson (col. 3, lines 60-65).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Anderson teaches away from the claimed amount of aluminum trihydrate but the reference says nothing negative about values outside the disclosed range and therefore is not teaching away.
The rest of Applicant’s remarks are improper piecemeal analysis and fail to address the result effective variable rationale in the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787