DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 (all pending claims) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakrout et al (US 2022/0259371) in view of (a) Gann et al (US 2014/0343183) and (b) Zheng et al (US 2009/0155603).
Lakrout teaches a multilayer composite (abstract) comprising a first foam layer comprising a polyurethane-based matrix component (abstract), and a flame retardant filler component (0061), and a second layer (herein understood to read on the claimed first barrier layer) comprising a material selected from the group consisting of non-woven glass fabric (0072) or other fibers described in the reference (0072) including silica fiber (0052). The fibers may be in the form of a fabric (0072).
Lakrout teaches the second material may comprise glass fiber, but does not teach said layer should comprise mica. However, Zheng teaches a fire resistant glass matt having enhanced flame and fire resistance properties (abstract) wherein the mat may comprise up to 30wt% mica (0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the mica containing glass matt of Zheng in place of the glass fiber fabric disclosed in Lakrout because Zheng teaches said materials exhibit excellent flame and fire resistance.
Lakrout also does not teach the foam composition should have a HBF flammability rating as measured according to ASTM D4986. However, Gann teaches a highly flame retardant and thermally stable polyurethane foam composition (abstract) and a flame retardant filler (see claims). Gann further teaches said foam has a HBF flammability rating as measured using ASTM D4986 (Table 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the polyurethane foam of Gann in place of the polyurethane foam taught in Lakrout; the motivation for doing so would have been to improve the flame and fire resistance of the composite.
With regards to claim 2, Gann teaches the polyurethane-based matrix component comprises a flexible polyurethane (0036) reacted from isocyanate and polyol (0157).
With regards to claim 3, Gann teaches the foam may comprise expanded graphite or phosphorous compounds (see claim 11).
With regards to claim 4, Gann teaches the first foam layer comprises a polyurethane-based matrix component content of at least about 40 wt.% and not greater than about 95 wt.% for a total weight of the first foam layer (see claims 10 and 11).
With regards to claim 5, Gann teaches the first foam layer comprises a flame retardant filler component content of at least about 5 wt.% and not greater than about 60 wt.% for a total weight of the first foam layer (see claims 10 and 11).
With regards to claim 6, Gann teaches the first foam layer comprises a HBF flammability rating as measured according to ASTM D4986 (see Table 6).
With regards to claim 7, it is known in the art that the heat barrier properties of a composite is increases with thickness. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the thickness of the foam in order to achieve the desired barrier properties, including obtaining a cold side temperature of not greater than about 300 °C as measured at 5 minutes when exposed to a hotplate test at 650 °C.
With regards to claim 8, Lakrout teaches the thickness of the foam may have a thickness of 0.125-1 inch (102)-herein understood to read on the claimed “at least about 0.5 mm and not greater than about 10 mm.”
With regards to claim 9, Lakrout teaches thickness of the composite is less than 2inches (claim 59-herein understood to read on the claimed “thickness of at least about 0.5 mm and not greater than about 10 mm.”
With regards to claim 11, Lakrout teaches the first barrier layer has a thickness of 0.01-0.05 inches (0074)-herein understood to read on the claimed thickness of “0.05 mm and not greater than about 7 mm.”
With regards to claim 12, Lakrout teaches the multilayer composite may further comprises a second barrier layer and wherein the first foam layer is between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer (0071).
With regards to claim 13, Lakrout does not teach the multilayer composite may further comprises a second foam layer and a second barrier layer, wherein the second for a layer comprises a polyurethane-based matrix component and a flame retardant filler component, and wherein the first foam layer and the second foam layer are both between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer. However, the courts have held that he mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787