DETAILED
Claim Status
Claim 1 is amended. Support can be found in par. [0053] of the published application.
Claim 20 is new.
Claims 9-17 were previously withdrawn.
Claims 1-8 and 18-20 are considered on the merits.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the instant application has specific differences from the cited references as follows:
Tan discloses a coated core-shell positive-electrode particle-e.g., a Ni-rich layered core with an outer lanthanide-type/oxide coating (including CeO₂ among the listed coatings) and expressly teaches coating formation/levels for such core-shell structures. Thus, Tan's teaching is to form a shell on a particle core, not to provide particles "separated or dispersed in independent phases." (Remarks pp. 9).
Ding also discloses that the cathode material includes a “core-shell structured high-nickel single-crystal ternary” structure (pp. 9).
Neither Tan nor Ding disclose a composite cathode active material that “comprises single crystal particles” and “wherein the single crystal particles comprise one-body particles that are separated or dispersed from each other in independent phases” (pp. 9-10).
In regards to arguments a-c, Tan teaches a nickel-rich core-shell structure particle, and the nickel-rich core-shell structure particle is composed of a core of lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide and a shell of lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide ([0013]-[0017]). Tan teaches that this core-shell particle further has a metal oxide layer on its surface ([0017]-[0019]; [0044]; [0016]). Ding is no longer relied upon to teach single crystal active material particles; instead, Du is relied on. Du teaches a high-nickel single-crystal lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide cathode material ([0038]-[0042] “LiNi0.75Co0.1Mn0.15O2”) with a metal oxide coating layer ([0038]; [0043]-[0044]). Ding teaches wherein the particle size of the cathode material is 2-5µm ([0048]; [0052]). Du teaches that the single crystal or quasi-single crystal particles are in close contact with each other and have small voids after being made into the positive electrode plate ([0035]). Single crystal particles in close contact with each other meets the limitation of “one-body particles that are separated”. Substituting the core-shell structured nickel-based material in the composite active material taught by Tan for the high-nickel single-crystal lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide particles with a particle size of 2-5µm as taught by Du, while maintaining the metal oxide coating taught by Tan, results in a material comprising single crystal nickel-based active material coated with a metal oxide such as CeO2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (CN106784798A) hereinafter "Tan" in view of Du et al. (US20220077464A1) hereinafter "Du". Reference is made to the previously provided machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Tan teaches a composite cathode active material comprising: a nickel-based active material comprising about 60 mol% or more of nickel ([0013]-[0017]; [0182] “the core…the molar ratio of the three elements Ni, Co and Mn is 6:2:2”, “the outer shell of the nickel-rich core-shell structure particle is LiNi0.8Co0.15Al0.15O2”); and a coating layer on a surface of the nickel-based active material ([0017]; [0064]; [0042]-[0044]; [0116]), the coating layer comprising a lanthanide composite ([0019] the case where the coating is CeO2), wherein an amount of the lanthanide composite is about 0.001 parts by weight or more and less than 6 parts by weight, based on 100 parts by weight of the nickel-based active material ([0021]-[0022]; [0116]).
Tan discloses the use of a variety of coatings including CeO2 at a mass % of 0.001-6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known coating, such as CeO2 , at known mass % as taught by Tan. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Tan is silent as to the particle size of the active material.
However, Du teaches a high-nickel single-crystal lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide cathode material ([0038]-[0042] “LiNi0.75Co0.1Mn0.15O2”) with a metal oxide coating layer ([0038]; [0043]-[0044]). Ding teaches wherein the particle size of the cathode material is 2-5µm ([0048]; [0052]). Du teaches that there are no voids inside the single crystal or quasi-single crystal particles, the particles are in close contact increasing the compaction density of a positive electrode plate and enhancing the electrochemical energy storage apparatus ([0035]). Du further teaches that using coated single crystal particles accelerates a migration rate of the lithium ions during the charging and discharging process and therefore the cycle performance and rate performance of the electrochemical energy storage apparatus is improved ([0035]-[0038]). Du teaches that the single crystal or quasi-single crystal particles are in close contact with each other and have small voids after being made into the positive electrode plate ([0035]; single crystal particles in close contact with each other with small voids meets the limitation of “one-body particles that are separated” because the particles are individual).
Both Tan and Du teach nickel-rich cathode materials coated with a metal oxide. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the core-shell structure nickel-based material in the composite active material taught by Tan for the high-nickel single-crystal lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide particles with a particle size of 2-5µm as taught by Du.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the core-shell structure nickel-based material in the composite active material taught by Tan for the high-nickel single-crystal lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide particles with a particle size of 2-5µm as taught by Du to enhance the compaction density of an electrode and improve cycle performance ([0035]-[0038]). Further, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
The material taught by modified Tan includes single crystal nickel-based active material coated with a metal oxide such as CeO2.
Regarding claim 2, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Tan further teaches wherein a lanthanide in the lanthanide composite is Ce ([0019] CeO2; [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Tan further teaches wherein the lanthanide composite is: i) an oxide comprising La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Lu, or a combination thereof ([0019] CeO2; [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Tan further teaches wherein the lanthanide composite is a compound represented by Formula 1: Formula 1 LixCeyO2, and wherein, in Formula 1, 0≤x≤1.05 and 0.95≤y≤1.05 ([0019] CeO2; [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Tan further teaches wherein the lanthanide composite is CeO2, LiCeO2, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 6, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Du further teaches wherein the nickel- based active material is a compound represented by Formula 2: Formula 2 Lia(Ni1-x-y-zCoxMnyMz)O2±a1, and wherein, in Formula 2, M is an element selected from the group consisting of boron (B), magnesium (Mg), calcium (Ca), strontium (Sr), barium (Ba), titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), copper (Cu), zirconium (Zr), aluminum (Al), and cerium (Ce), and
(Du [0040]-[0042]; [0028] “LiNi0.75Co0.1Mn0.15O2”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Tan further teaches a cathode for a lithium secondary battery ([0011]; [0069]; [0080]; [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Tan further teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising: a cathode; an anode; and an electrolyte between the cathode and the anode ([0082]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (CN106784798A) in view of Du (US20220077464A1), as applied above, in further view of Song et al. (US20180151865A1) hereinafter “Song”. Reference is made to previously provided machine translations.
Regarding claim 7, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim1.
Modified Tan does not teach wherein the coating layer is in a form of discontinuous islands.
However, Song teaches a coated lithium transition metal oxide cathode active material ([0028]; [0061 ]-[0065]) wherein the coating layer is in a form of discontinuous islands ([0028]). Song teaches that coatings in the form of discontinuous islands protects the active material while suppressing a resistance increase of a composite cathode active material ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the composite cathode active material coating layer taught by modified Tan such that it is in the form of discontinuous islands as taught by Song.
A coating layer of a composite cathode active material discontinuously disposed in the shape of an island on a core is known in the art as a method of coating transition metal oxide cathode active materials ([0028]).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the composite cathode active material coating layer taught by modified Tan such that it is in the form of discontinuous islands as taught by Song to achieve the predictable result of a coated composite active material. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to applied the composite cathode active material coating layer taught by modified Tan such that it is in the form of discontinuous islands as taught by Song to protect the active material while suppressing a resistance increase of a composite cathode active material ([0028]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (CN106784798A) in view of Du (US20220077464A1), as applied above, in further view of Wu et al. (Use of Ce to Reinforce the Interface of Ni-Rich LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 Cathode Materials for Lithium-Ion Batteries under High Operating Voltage) hereinafter “Wu”. Reference is made to previously provided copy of Wu.
Regarding claim 8, modified Tan teaches the composite cathode active material of claim1.
Modified Tan does not teach wherein the composite cathode active material has X-ray diffraction peaks in a range of about 30.50 to about 32.490 and about 32.500 to about 34.50°.
However, the material taught by modified Tan teaches all aspect of the composite cathode active material of claim 1. Given that the composite cathode active material in modified Tan, has the same structure and compositions as claimed, it is the Examiner’s position that said composite cathode active material, would inherently possess the same properties, including X-ray diffraction peaks in a range of about 30.50 to about 32.490 and about 32.500 to about 34.50° (See MPEP 2112.01). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255,195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990).
This conclusion is supported by Wu. Wu teaches a composite cathode active material comprising: a CeO2 coated nickel-based active material comprising about 60 mol% or more of nickel (pg. 935 — Introduction “Ni-rich cathode materials LiNixCoyMn,O2 (x+y+z=1, x+0.6)”; pg. 936 — Introduction “CeO2 can be formed on the particle surface”). Fig. 2 of Wu shows XRD data where samples synthesized above 500°C show two impure peaks corresponding to a CeO2 coating between about 30°-35° (pg. 936 — Results and Discussion; pg. 938 — Results and Discussion). Du teaches that XRD can be used to identify the formation of a CeO2 coating versus CeO2 doping, and clearly indicates the material taught has a CeO2 coating (pg. 938 — Results and Discussion).
Therefore, the composite cathode active material taught by modified Tan, which has a CeO2 coating, meets the limitation of claim 8.
Note, in light of the instant specification, the use of the language “about 30.50 to about 32.490 and about 32.500 to about 34.50°” is interpreted as including +30% of the stated value, or one or more standard deviations ([00210]).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 20220320575 A1) hereinafter "Yoo" in view of Tan (CN106784798A).
Regarding claim 20, Yoo teaches a composite cathode active material comprising: a nickel-based active material comprising about 60 mol% or more of nickel ([0027]; [0058]-[0059]); and a coating layer on a surface of the nickel-based active material, the coating layer comprising a lanthanide composite ([0064]-[0066] “La-Zr-O”; [0021]), wherein the composite cathode active material comprises single crystal particles ([0063]; [0065]) having an average particle diameter in a range of about 2 µm to 2.9 µm ([0077]-[0079]).
Yoo is silent as to the amount of lanthanide composite in the final material based on 100parts by weight of the nickel-based active material.
However, Tan teaches a composite cathode active material comprising: a nickel-based active material comprising about 60 mol% or more of nickel ([0013]-[0017]; [0182]); and a coating layer on a surface of the nickel-based active material ([0017]; [0064]; [0042]-[0044]; [0116]), the coating layer comprising a lanthanide composite ([0019] the case where the coating is CeO2), wherein an amount of the lanthanide composite is about 0.001 parts by weight or more and less than 6 parts by weight, based on 100 parts by weight of the nickel-based active material ([0021]-[0022]; [0116]).
Yoo teaches a single crystal nickel-rich material with a metal oxide coating. Tan teaches the use of a variety of metal oxide coatings at a mass % of 0.001-6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known coating metal oxide coating , at known mass % as taught by Tan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have set the coating amount to a mass % of 0.001-6 to achieve the predictable result of a metal oxide coated single crystal nickel-rich active material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have done this with a reasonable expectation of success because metal oxide coatings at various mass % are known in the art. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.05).
Yoo in view of Tan does not explicitly teach wherein the single crystal particles are separated or dispersed from each other in independent phases and are free of core-shell structures.
However, the material taught by Yoo in view of Tan is a single particle shape with a first coating layer formed on the surface of the single particle ([0050]; [0077]-[0078]). Yoo teaches that a single particle shape excludes a secondary particle formed by aggregation of a plurality of primary particles ([0051]). Yoo does not teach core-shell particles.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the material taught by Yoo in view of Tan to have single crystal particles dispersed from each other in independent phases and be free of core-shell structures.
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728