DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo (KR 101845532) in view of Hudak (US 6177516). Koo has been cited in a prior Office Action.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 9, and 13, Koo teaches a non-toxic, flame-retardant composition for forming a coated insulated wire (Abstract). Koo’s composition contains 20-40 parts by weight of a polyolefin or ethylene copolymer resin, 10-40 parts by weight of thermoplastic elastomer, 20-50 parts by weight of maleic anhydride graftmer, 100-180 parts by weight of silane surface-treated inorganic flame retardant, and 0.1-2 parts by weight of an organic peroxide, as well as a crosslinking catalyst (Abstract). Specifically, Koo teaches polyethylene ethyl acrylate (p. 4, [0034]), polyolefin thermoplastic elastomer (p. 4, [0035]), and an ethylene-maleic anhydride graft copolymer (p. 4, [0036]; p. 8, Table 1). Koo also teaches use of magnesium hydroxide as the inorganic flame retardant (p. 4, [0037] and p. 6, [0057]). Koo further teaches that vinyltrimethoxysilane may be used in amounts between 0.5 parts by weight and 3 parts by weight (p. 5, [0042]), and that dicumyl peroxide may be used in amounts from 0.1 part by weight to 2 parts by weight.
However, Koo is silent as to use of linear low-density polyethylene grafted with maleic anhydride (MAH-g-LLDPE) (Abstract).
In the same field of endeavor, Hudak teaches a composition suitable for use as jacketing materials in wire and cable products (col. 9, lines 61-66). The composition includes LLDPE grafted with 0.5-4 wt% of maleic anhydride and having a melt index of 1-20 g/10 min (col. 6, lines 3-10). The composition may be prepared using strand cutting (col. 10, line 42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Koo with the MAH-g-LLDPE and strand-cutting preparation of Hudak, in the amounts taught by Hudak, to arrive at the claimed invention and to achieve a composition that exhibits enhanced resistance to delamination, as taught by Hudak (col. 1, lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 3, Koo in view of Hudak stands as applied to claims 1-2 above. Koo further teaches that ethylene-butene or ethylene-octene rubbers may be used (p. 4, [0034]).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 10-11, Koo in view of Hudak stands as applied to claims 1-4 above. Koo further teaches formation of the composition in a single-screw or melt extrusion process using a twin-screw extruder, and formation of an electric wire by feeding the mixed composition through a heated cylinder to insulate the wire (p. 7, [0061] and [0065]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 13 February 2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Koo and Hudak.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762