DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. On pg. 8 of Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that in the cited portion, specifically, 3GPP TR 24.811 explains that, when a PLMN (A) capable of providing a disaster roaming service exists for a PLMN (D) to which a disaster situation applies, such information is indicated through broadcast information of an NG-RAN cell (e.g., a disaster roaming PLMN list), and the UE determines, based on the broadcast information, whether the corresponding PLMN accepts the disaster inbound roaming. In other words, 3GPP TR24.811 merely states the conditions and the determination criteria for determining whether the disaster roaming service is provided. However, this does not disclose an operation of the UE in a situation where an instruction indicating the provision of the disaster roaming service, which is already being provided, is discontinued or changed as recited in the amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 36, sect. 6.13.1.2, “A UE determines that PLMN A without Disaster Condition can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from PLMN D with Disaster Condition if: a) PLMN A's NG-RAN cell broadcasts "disaster roaming PLMN list" including PLMN ID of PLMN D (~indicates provision of the disaster roaming service for PLMN D)”), wherein the presence of PLMN ID for PLMN D indicates the disaster roaming service for PLMN D is provisioned. The presence or removal of the PLMN ID (~indicates discontinued or changed) in the disaster roaming PLMN list indicates the provision status of the PLMN D.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 73, sect. 6.46.2, “Upon being notified that a Disaster Condition no longer applies (either by detecting that the serving PLMN has turned off the indication that a Disaster Condition in PLMN D applies”.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 54, sect. 6.28.2, “the indication (e.g. SIB flag) broadcast by PLMN A that a Disaster Condition applies in PLMN D has been turned off … the UE shall remove the stored indication that a Disaster Condition applies to PLMN D, enter 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH and perform PLMN selection”.
4. On pg. 9 of Applicant’s Response applicant argues that the amended claim 1 recites that, while the UE is camping on a cell of a first PLMN, the UE identifies the disaster roaming service provision state information for a second PLMN broadcast by the cell, and when an indication of the service provision state is discontinued, the UE determines that the disaster roaming service provision has ended. Based on these operations, the UE stops a disaster roaming-related waiting timer that is running and performs a PLMN selection procedure with respect to available PLMNs as recited in the amended claim 1. This configuration enables the UE to detect a dynamic change in the provision state of the disaster roaming service at the RAN broadcast level and to proactively control the PLMN selection behavior of the UE as recited in the amened claim 1. Therefore, this configuration is clearly distinguished from the disclosure of 3GPP TR 24.811, which merely addresses determining whether disaster roaming can be provided or responding to a rejection from the network.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 36, sect. 6.13.1.2, “A UE determines that PLMN A without Disaster Condition can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from PLMN D with Disaster Condition (~UE identifies the disaster roaming service provision state information for a second PLMN broadcast by the cell) if: a) PLMN A (~first PLMN)'s NG-RAN cell (~while the UE is camping on a cell of a first PLMN) broadcasts "disaster roaming PLMN list" including PLMN ID of PLMN D (~indicates provision of the disaster roaming service for PLMN D)”), wherein the presence of PLMN ID for PLMN D indicates the disaster roaming service for PLMN D is provisioned. The presence or removal of the PLMN ID (~indicates discontinued or changed) in the disaster roaming PLMN list indicates the provision status of the PLMN D.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 71, sect. 6.43.2, “In addition to the PLMN IDs of the PLMN, there can be a timer associated which indicates a ‘minimum wait time’ that the UE should wait to perform registration on the PLMN following a disaster condition”, wherein the timer is associated with the PLMN ID of the PLMN and is stopped when the PLMN ID is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list - UE stops a disaster roaming-related waiting timer that is running when the PLMN ID is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 61, sect. 6.33.1.2, “UE roams using disaster roaming due to a previously selected PLMN with Disaster Condition (called PLMN D), then when the AMF determines that Disaster Condition no longer applies for PLMN D (~PLMN ID of PLMN D is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list) in the area served by NG-RAN node serving the UE: ... The indication triggers the UE to remove stored determination that Disaster Condition applies for PLMN D (~when an indication of the service provision state is discontinued - UE determines that the disaster roaming service provision has ended) ... If the UE removes stored determination that Disaster Condition applies ... the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH, perform PLMN selection (~performs PLMN selection procedure with respect to available PLMNs)”
5. On pg. 10 of Applicant’s Response, applicant argues that Claim 1 however discloses that the UE performs the PLMN selection procedure with available PLMNs in response to the discontinuation of the service provision indication contrary to 3GPP TR24.811.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument.
3GPP TR 24.811 states on pg. 61, sect. 6.33.1.2, “UE roams using disaster roaming due to a previously selected PLMN with Disaster Condition (called PLMN D), then when the AMF determines that Disaster Condition no longer applies for PLMN D (~PLMN ID of PLMN D is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list) in the area served by NG-RAN node serving the UE: ... The indication triggers the UE to remove stored determination that Disaster Condition applies for PLMN D (~in response to the discontinuation of the service provision indication) ... If the UE removes stored determination that Disaster Condition applies ... the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH, perform PLMN selection (~performs PLMN selection procedure with available PLMNs)”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 12, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPPTR24.811 ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; Study on the support for minimization of service interruption; (Release 17)", 3GPP TR 24.811 V1.1.0, pub. date 2021-04).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (pg. 85 sect. 6.58.2, “the AMF will inform the UE of possible disaster condition in PLMN D when the UE is in 5GMM-CONNECTED Mode over non-3GPP access”; pg. 85 sect 6.58.1, “UE is registered in the PLMN D over both 3GPP and non-3GPP Accesses”; pg. 65, “UE can be provisioned with disaster roaming assistance information, which the UE will use to select a PLMN upon being notified that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN”), the method comprising:
identifying a first public land mobile network (PLMN) for a disaster roaming if a disaster condition applies to a second PLMN (pg. 65 sect. 6.39.2.1, “UE can be provisioned with disaster roaming assistance information, which the UE will use to select a PLMN (~first PLMN) upon being notified that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN (~second PLMN)”; pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.1, “b) a weighted list of PLMNs. In this case, the UE performs a weighted random draw among the available PLMNs from the list; or NOTE 2: The weight assigned to each PLMN can be commensurate to the size of the PLMN or the capacity of the PLMN to accommodate Disaster Inbound Roamers”, UE identifies a first public land mobile network (PLMN) from a weighted list of PLMNs);
starting a timer when the UE identified the first PLMN (pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.2, “Upon selecting a candidate PLMN following a notification that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN, the UE shall generate a random number within the disaster roaming wait range by applying a hash function to its IMSI and start a timer set to the generated random number. While the timer is running, the UE shall not initiate registration. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE shall initiate registration on the selected PLMN”),
wherein a registration procedure for the first PLMN is not initiated while the timer is running (pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.2, “While the timer is running, the UE shall not initiate registration. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE shall initiate registration on the selected PLMN”);
identifying information indicating a provision status of the disaster roaming service for the second PLMN broadcast by a cell selected for camping of the first PLMN (pg. 36, sect. 6.13.1.2, “A UE determines that PLMN A without Disaster Condition can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from PLMN D with Disaster Condition if: a) PLMN A's NG-RAN cell broadcasts "disaster roaming PLMN list" including PLMN ID of PLMN D (~indicates provision status of the disaster roaming service for PLMN D)”), wherein the presence of PLMN ID for PLMN D indicates that the disaster roaming service for PLMN D is provisioned. The presence or removal of the PLMN ID (~indicates discontinued or changed provision status) in the disaster roaming PLMN list indicates the provision status of the PLMN D; pg. 73, sect. 6.46.2, “Upon being notified that a Disaster Condition no longer applies (either by detecting that the serving PLMN has turned off the indication that a Disaster Condition in PLMN D applies”; pg. 54, sect. 6.28.2, “the indication (e.g. SIB flag) broadcast by PLMN A that a Disaster Condition applies in PLMN D has been turned off … the UE shall remove the stored indication that a Disaster Condition applies to PLMN D, enter 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH and perform PLMN selection”).
stopping the timer, if the cell selected for camping of the first PLMN stops indicating the provision status of the disaster roaming service for the second PLMN (pg. 71, sect. 6.43.2, “In addition to the PLMN IDs of the PLMN, there can be a timer associated which indicates a ‘minimum wait time’ that the UE should wait to perform registration on the PLMN following a disaster condition”, wherein the timer is associated with the PLMN ID of the PLMN and is stopped when the PLMN ID is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list - UE stops a disaster roaming-related waiting timer that is running when the PLMN ID is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list; pg. 36, sect. 6.13.1.2, “A UE determines that PLMN A without Disaster Condition can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from PLMN D with Disaster Condition (~UE identifies the disaster roaming service provision state information for a second PLMN broadcast by the cell) if: a) PLMN A (~first PLMN)'s NG-RAN cell (~while the UE is camping on a cell of a first PLMN) broadcasts "disaster roaming PLMN list" including PLMN ID of PLMN D (~indicates provision of the disaster roaming service for PLMN D)”), wherein the presence of PLMN ID for PLMN D indicates the disaster roaming service for PLMN D is provisioned. The presence or removal of the PLMN ID (~indicates discontinued or changed) in the disaster roaming PLMN list indicates the provision status of the PLMN D ; pg. 61, sect. 6.33.1.2, “UE roams using disaster roaming due to a previously selected PLMN with Disaster Condition (called PLMN D), then when the AMF determines that Disaster Condition no longer applies for PLMN D (~PLMN ID of PLMN D is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list) in the area served by NG-RAN node serving the UE: ... The indication triggers the UE to remove stored determination that Disaster Condition applies for PLMN D (~when an indication of the service provision state is discontinued - UE determines that the disaster roaming service provision has ended) ... If the UE removes stored determination that Disaster Condition applies ... the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH, perform PLMN selection (~performs PLMN selection procedure with respect to available PLMNs)”); and
performing a PLMN selection procedure among available PLMNs (pg. 61, sect. 6.33.1.2, “UE roams using disaster roaming due to a previously selected PLMN with Disaster Condition (called PLMN D), then when the AMF determines that Disaster Condition no longer applies for PLMN D (~PLMN ID of PLMN D is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list) in the area served by NG-RAN node serving the UE: ... The indication triggers the UE to remove stored determination that Disaster Condition applies for PLMN D (~when an indication of the service provision state is discontinued - UE determines that the disaster roaming service provision has ended) ... If the UE removes stored determination that Disaster Condition applies ... the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH, perform PLMN selection (~performs PLMN selection procedure with respect to available PLMNs)”).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing the registration procedure on a selected PLMN, based on the PLMN selection procedure (3GPPTR24.811 pg. 21 sect. 6.1.1.2, “If the UE determines to register to a PLMN (without a disaster condition) over the 3GPP access, the UE uses the list of PLMN (~selected from the list), if received from the network, to register on a target PLMN. Additionally, if a “wait timer” is received from the network, the UE starts a timer based on the received “wait timer” value and attempts to registers to a target PLMN (without a disaster condition) after this timer expires. Otherwise if no “wait timer” was received, the UE can immediately attempt to register on a target PLMN”).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (pg. 85 sect. 6.58.2, “UE needs to transition to 5GMM-CONNECTED Mode in order for the network to communicate with it”), the UE (pg. 85 sect. 6.58.2, “UE”) comprising:
at least one transceiver (pg. 85 sect. 6.58.2, “UE needs to transition to 5GMM-CONNECTED Mode in order for the network to communicate with it”, wherein the UE comprises a transceiver for communicating with a network);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to: (pg. 85 sect. 6.58.2, “UE needs to transition to 5GMM-CONNECTED Mode in order for the network to communicate with it”, wherein UE comprises at least one processor communicatively coupled to at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination):
identify a first public land mobile network (PLMN) for a disaster roaming in case that a disaster condition applies to a second PLMN (pg. 65 sect. 6.39.2.1, “UE can be provisioned with disaster roaming assistance information, which the UE will use to select a PLMN (~first PLMN) upon being notified that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN (~second PLMN)”; pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.1, “b) a weighted list of PLMNs. In this case, the UE performs a weighted random draw among the available PLMNs from the list; or NOTE 2: The weight assigned to each PLMN can be commensurate to the size of the PLMN or the capacity of the PLMN to accommodate Disaster Inbound Roamers”, UE identifies a first public land mobile network (PLMN) from a weighted list of PLMNs),
start a timer when the UE identified the first PLMN (pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.2, “Upon selecting a candidate PLMN following a notification that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN, the UE shall generate a random number within the disaster roaming wait range by applying a hash function to its IMSI and start a timer set to the generated random number. While the timer is running, the UE shall not initiate registration. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE shall initiate registration on the selected PLMN”),
wherein a registration procedure for the first PLMN is not performed while the timer is running (pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.2, “While the timer is running, the UE shall not initiate registration. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE shall initiate registration on the selected PLMN”),
identify information indicating a provision status of the disaster roaming service for the second PLMN broadcast by a cell selected for camping of the first PLMN (pg. 36, sect. 6.13.1.2, “A UE determines that PLMN A without Disaster Condition can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from PLMN D with Disaster Condition if: a) PLMN A's NG-RAN cell broadcasts "disaster roaming PLMN list" including PLMN ID of PLMN D (~indicates provision status of the disaster roaming service for PLMN D)”), wherein the presence of PLMN ID for PLMN D indicates that the disaster roaming service for PLMN D is provisioned. The presence or removal of the PLMN ID (~indicates discontinued or changed provision status) in the disaster roaming PLMN list indicates the provision status of the PLMN D; pg. 73, sect. 6.46.2, “Upon being notified that a Disaster Condition no longer applies (either by detecting that the serving PLMN has turned off the indication that a Disaster Condition in PLMN D applies”; pg. 54, sect. 6.28.2, “the indication (e.g. SIB flag) broadcast by PLMN A that a Disaster Condition applies in PLMN D has been turned off … the UE shall remove the stored indication that a Disaster Condition applies to PLMN D, enter 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH and perform PLMN selection”).
stop the timer, if the cell selected for camping of the first PLN stops indicating the provision status of the disaster roaming service for the second PLMN (pg. 71, sect. 6.43.2, “In addition to the PLMN IDs of the PLMN, there can be a timer associated which indicates a ‘minimum wait time’ that the UE should wait to perform registration on the PLMN following a disaster condition”, wherein the timer is associated with the PLMN ID of the PLMN and is stopped when the PLMN ID is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list - UE stops a disaster roaming-related waiting timer that is running when the PLMN ID is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list; pg. 36, sect. 6.13.1.2, “A UE determines that PLMN A without Disaster Condition can accept Disaster Inbound Roamers from PLMN D with Disaster Condition (~UE identifies the disaster roaming service provision state information for a second PLMN broadcast by the cell) if: a) PLMN A (~first PLMN)'s NG-RAN cell (~while the UE is camping on a cell of a first PLMN) broadcasts "disaster roaming PLMN list" including PLMN ID of PLMN D (~indicates provision of the disaster roaming service for PLMN D)”), wherein the presence of PLMN ID for PLMN D indicates the disaster roaming service for PLMN D is provisioned. The presence or removal of the PLMN ID (~indicates discontinued or changed) in the disaster roaming PLMN list indicates the provision status of the PLMN D ; pg. 61, sect. 6.33.1.2, “UE roams using disaster roaming due to a previously selected PLMN with Disaster Condition (called PLMN D), then when the AMF determines that Disaster Condition no longer applies for PLMN D (~PLMN ID of PLMN D is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list) in the area served by NG-RAN node serving the UE: ... The indication triggers the UE to remove stored determination that Disaster Condition applies for PLMN D (~when an indication of the service provision state is discontinued - UE determines that the disaster roaming service provision has ended) ... If the UE removes stored determination that Disaster Condition applies ... the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH, perform PLMN selection (~performs PLMN selection procedure with respect to available PLMNs)”), and
perform a PLMN selection procedure among available PLMNs (pg. 61, sect. 6.33.1.2, “UE roams using disaster roaming due to a previously selected PLMN with Disaster Condition (called PLMN D), then when the AMF determines that Disaster Condition no longer applies for PLMN D (~PLMN ID of PLMN D is removed from the disaster roaming PLMN list) in the area served by NG-RAN node serving the UE: ... The indication triggers the UE to remove stored determination that Disaster Condition applies for PLMN D (~when an indication of the service provision state is discontinued - UE determines that the disaster roaming service provision has ended) ... If the UE removes stored determination that Disaster Condition applies ... the UE enters the state 5GMM-REGISTERED.PLMN-SEARCH, perform PLMN selection (~performs PLMN selection procedure with respect to available PLMNs)”).
Regarding claim 19, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein the controller (pg. 85 sect. 6.58.2, “UE needs to transition to 5GMM-CONNECTED Mode in order for the network to communicate with it”, wherein the UE comprises a controller which is coupled with its transceiver) is further configured to: perform the registration procedure on a selected PLMN, based on the PLMN selection procedure (3GPPTR24.811 pg. 21 sect. 6.1.1.2, “If the UE determines to register to a PLMN (without a disaster condition) over the 3GPP access, the UE uses the list of PLMN (~selected from the list), if received from the network, to register on a target PLMN. Additionally, if a “wait timer” is received from the network, the UE starts a timer based on the received “wait timer” value and attempts to registers to a target PLMN (without a disaster condition) after this timer expires. Otherwise if no “wait timer” was received, the UE can immediately attempt to register on a target PLMN”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPPTR24.811 in view of Tiwari (US 2015/0140948 A1).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches the method of claim 1.
3GPPTR24.811 does not explicitly teach wherein a selected PLMN in the PLMN selection procedure is one PLMN that is not the first PLMN.
However, Tiwari further teaches wherein a selected PLMN in a PLMN selection procedure is one PLMN that is not a first PLMN ([0041], “mobile communication device 110 may perform the PLMN selection procedure, the Routing Area Update procedure, or Tracking Area Update procedure, to register with another PLMN, RA, or TA”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tiwari with the teaching of 3GPPTR24.811 in order to select a PLMN that is not under a disaster condition having widespread network disruptions.
Regarding claim 15, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches the UE of claim 14.
3GPPTR24.811 does not explicitly teach wherein a selected PLMN in the PLMN selection procedure is one PLMN that is not the first PLMN.
However, Tiwari further teaches wherein a selected PLMN in a PLMN selection procedure is one PLMN that is not a first PLMN ([0041], “mobile communication device 110 may perform the PLMN selection procedure, the Routing Area Update procedure, or Tracking Area Update procedure, to register with another PLMN, RA, or TA”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tiwari with the teaching of 3GPPTR24.811 in order to select a PLMN that is not under a disaster condition having widespread network disruptions.
12. Claims 10-11, 13, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPPTR24.811 in view of Jiang (US 2020/0252863 A1).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the timer stops if the UE is registered to another PLMN over a non-3rd generation partnership project (non-3GPP) access (pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.2, “Upon selecting a candidate PLMN following a notification that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN, the UE shall generate a random number within the disaster roaming wait range by applying a hash function to its IMSI and start a timer set to the generated random number. While the timer is running, the UE shall not initiate registration. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE shall initiate registration on the selected PLMN”, since the timer is running when the registration is initiated, the timer stops or is not running when the registration is initiated; pg. 53 sect. 6.27.1.2, “the UE registers over the non-3GPP access with another PLMN that is offering disaster roaming services”)
3GPPTR24.811 does not explicitly teach that the other PLMN is a third PLMN.
However, Jiang further teaches a third PLMN (claim 2, “register the third PLMN when the third PLMN is found”; [0072], “user equipment determines that it successfully registers with the found PLMN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jiang with the teaching of 3GPPTR24.811 in order to select a network with a most reliable connection to avoid disruption of services.
Regarding claim 11, 3GPPTR24.811 in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 10, wherein another PLMN is an allowable PLMN (3GPPTR24.811 sect. 5.1.1, “If a UE has no coverage of its HPLMN, then obtains information that a Disaster Condition applies to the UE's HPLMN, the UE can register with a PLMN offering Disaster Roaming service (~allowable PLMN)”).
3GPPTR24.811 does not explicitly teach that the other PLMN is a third PLMN.
However, Jiang further teaches a third PLMN (claim 2, “register the third PLMN when the third PLMN is found”; [0072], “user equipment determines that it successfully registers with the found PLMN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jiang with the teaching of 3GPPTR24.811 as modified by Jiang in order to in order to select a network with a most reliable connection to avoid disruption of services.
Regarding claim 13, 3GPPTR24.811 in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the allowable PLMN is available and not included in forbidden PLMN list stored in the UE (3GPPTR24.811 pg. 95 sect. 7.9, “PLMNs that support disaster roaming as not in the list of forbidden PLMNs”).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPPTR24.811 teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein the timer stops if the UE is registered to another PLMN over the other PLMN is a non-3rd generation partnership project (non-3GPP) access (pg. 66 sect. 6.39.2.2, “Upon selecting a candidate PLMN following a notification that a Disaster Condition applies to the registered PLMN, the UE shall generate a random number within the disaster roaming wait range by applying a hash function to its IMSI and start a timer set to the generated random number. While the timer is running, the UE shall not initiate registration. Upon expiration of the timer, the UE shall initiate registration on the selected PLMN”, since the timer is running when the registration is initiated, the timer stops or is not running when the registration is initiated; pg. 53 sect. 6.27.1.2, “the UE registers over the non-3GPP access with another PLMN that is offering disaster roaming services”).
3GPPTR24.811 does not explicitly teach that the other PLMN is a third PLMN.
However, Jiang further teaches a third PLMN (claim 2, “register the third PLMN when the third PLMN is found”; [0072], “user equipment determines that it successfully registers with the found PLMN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jiang with the teaching of 3GPPTR24.811 in order to select a network with a most reliable connection to avoid disruption of services.
Regarding claim 18, 3GPPTR24.811 in view of Jiang teaches the UE of claim 17, wherein another PLMN is an allowable PLMN (3GPPTR24.811 sect. 5.1.1, “If a UE has no coverage of its HPLMN, then obtains information that a Disaster Condition applies to the UE's HPLMN, the UE can register with a PLMN offering Disaster Roaming service (~allowable PLMN)”).
3GPPTR24.811 does not explicitly teach that the other PLMN is a third PLMN.
However, Jiang further teaches a third PLMN (claim 2, “register the third PLMN when the third PLMN is found”; [0072], “user equipment determines that it successfully registers with the found PLMN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jiang with the teaching of 3GPPTR24.811 as modified by Jiang in order to in order to select a network with a most reliable connection to avoid disruption of services.
Regarding claim 20, 3GPPTR24.811 in view of Jiang teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the allowable PLMN is available and not included in forbidden PLMN list stored in the UE (3GPPTR24.811 pg. 95 sect. 7.9, “PLMNs that support disaster roaming as not in the list of forbidden PLMNs”).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER YI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643