DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13, 15-18, 20, 24 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki; Sina et al. US PGPUB 20240373253 A1, supported by provisional application 63237542 (hereinafter ‘542), in view of Elkotby; Hussain et al. US PGPUB 20230057994 A1, previously cited, further in view of REN; QIANYAO et al. US PGPUB 20200374072 A1
Regarding claim 1. Maleki teaches A method for wireless communication by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity, an indication of ([0097] In this Action 1203, the wireless device 130 may send a second indication to the network node 110. The second indication may indicate the determined profile. See ‘542, Fig. 12) a preferred configuration for transmission of an energy signal to power one or more components of the first UE; ([0091] In this Action 1202, the wireless device 130 may determine a profile of parameters for energy harvesting. See ‘542, Fig. 12) and
It does not teach
receiving an indication of a selected configuration for the energy signal from the network entity, wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) used in generating a modulation sequence of the energy signal; and
receiving the energy signal from the network entity based, at least in part, on the selected configuration.
However, Elkotby teaches
receiving an indication of a selected configuration for the energy signal from the network entity, ([0178] The BS/eNB/gNB serving the EH device should utilize the served devices’ capability information to figure out the optimal resource efficient allocation of sub-bands to deliver the EH signal to the served devices. The BS needs then to signal the selected configuration parameters to the EH devices. The BS’s EH signaling information may be conveyed using any of the options )
receiving the energy signal from the network entity based, at least in part, on the selected configuration. ([0200] In one embodiment, a WTRU equipped with an EH device utilizes, in a first step, the Uu air interface to receive configuration parameters pertaining to serving beam detection over the ZE air interface. In a second step, the WTRU utilizes its ZE receiver and operate over the ZE air interface to harvest energy and/or perform IDLE/INACTIVE mode operations.)
in order to improving the energy harvesting efficiency (EH) without degrading the information transfer performance utilizing beamformed energy harvesting signal transmissions and introducing per-beam frequency resources randomization. ([0003])
Farhadi and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Farhadi with the technique in Elkotby in order to improve the energy harvesting efficiency without degrading the information transfer performance.
Farhadi and Elkotby do not teach
wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) used in generating a modulation sequence of the energy signal;
wherein the scrambling ID is associated with one or more demodulations reference signals (DMRSs).
However, Ren teaches
wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) ([0053] When the high-layer indication information includes the information representing whether the scrambling identifier has been configured and the information indicates that the scrambling identifier has been configured, the one or more first parameters may include, e.g., the RNTI and the scrambling identifier.) used in generating a modulation sequence of the energy signal; ([0212] In a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the sequence generation unit 501 is further configured to: calculate c.sub.init.sup.DMRS through a formula c.sub.init.sup.DMRS=n.sub.ID [32], where c.sub.init.sup.DMRS represents a binary number for initializing the DMRS sequence, and n.sub.ID represents the scrambling identifier, and generate the DMRS sequence in accordance with c.sub.init.sup.DMRS acquired through calculation.)
wherein the scrambling ID is associated with one or more demodulations reference signals (DMRSs). (see above at [0212] … the sequence generation unit 501 is further configured to: calculate c.sub.init.sup.DMRS through a formula c.sub.init.sup.DMRS=n.sub.ID [32], where c.sub.init.sup.DMRS represents a binary number for initializing the DMRS sequence, and n.sub.ID represents the scrambling identifier, and generate the DMRS sequence in accordance with c.sub.init.sup.DMRS acquired through calculation.”)
in order to reduce the delay for data transmission ([0082])
Maleki and Ren are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Ren with the technique of scrambling id configuration in Ren in order to reduce the delay for data transmission.
Regarding claim 2. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, and Maleki teaches further comprising harvesting energy from the energy signal to power the one or more components of the first UE. ([0115] an active wireless power harvesting may receive a wireless power which may have been intentionally transmitted to be harvested by the UEs with such a capability)
Regarding claim 4. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, but Maleki doesn’t teach wherein the preferred configuration comprises a set of parameters indicating at least one of: a multiplexing type for the energy signal with data; a waveform type for the energy signal; or a modulation type for the energy signal.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein the preferred configuration comprises a set of parameters indicating ([0201] one or combination of the following parameters may be used as configuration to assist the WTRU in beam detection) at least one of: a multiplexing type for the energy signal with data; a waveform type for the energy signal; or a modulation type for the energy signal. ([0208] Multiplexing option, i.e., whether the considered EH sub-band (or defined common signaling channel band) is dedicated for common ZE signaling only or shared between common ZE signaling and default EH signaling.
[0209] Multiplexing method, e.g., time multiplexed, frequency multiplexed, code multiplexed, or frequency and modulation type multiplexed.
[0210] Modulation type(s), coding type(s))
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 5. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 4, but Maleki doesn’t teach wherein the modulation type for the energy signal comprises one of: a reference signal (RS)-based modulation type; a circularly symmetric complex Gaussian (CSCG) modulation type; an improper complex Gaussian modulation type; an optimized sequence-based modulation type; an amplitude shift keying (ASK)-based modulation type; a phase shift keying (PSK)-based modulation type; a frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation type; a pulse position modulation (PPM)-based modulation type; a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM)-based modulation type; an on-off keying (OOK)-based modulation type; a Zadoff Chu-based modulation type; or a Bernoulli sequence-based modulation type.
However, Elkotby teaches
the modulation type for the energy signal comprises one of:
a reference signal (RS)-based modulation type; a circularly symmetric complex Gaussian (CSCG) modulation type; an improper complex Gaussian modulation type; an optimized sequence-based modulation type; an amplitude shift keying (ASK)-based modulation type;
a phase shift keying (PSK)-based modulation type; ([0163] It is noted that the PAPR enhancement gain relationship among different codebook sizes in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 is not consistent between QPSK and 16-QAM modulation scenarios due to the random generation of codebooks as described above.)
a frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation type; a pulse position modulation (PPM)-based modulation type;
a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM)-based modulation type; ([0163] It is noted that the PAPR enhancement gain relationship among different codebook sizes in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 is not consistent between QPSK and 16-QAM modulation scenarios due to the random generation of codebooks as described above.)
an on-off keying (OOK)-based modulation type; ([0130] OOK is considered for default EH signaling channel)
a Zadoff Chu-based modulation type; or a Bernoulli sequence-based modulation type.
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 6. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 4, but Maleki does not teach wherein the waveform type for the energy signal comprises one of: a single tone continuous wave waveform type; a multi-tone continuous wave waveform type; a cyclic prefix—orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform type; single carrier quadrature amplitude modulation (SC-QAM) waveform type; or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform type.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein the waveform type for the energy signal comprises one of: a single tone continuous wave waveform type; a multi-tone continuous wave waveform type; a cyclic prefix—orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform type; single carrier quadrature amplitude modulation (SC-QAM) waveform type; or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform type. ([0042] the communications systems 100 may employ one or more channel access methods, such as code division multiple access (CDMA), time division multiple access (TDMA), frequency division multiple access (FDMA), orthogonal FDMA (OFDMA), single-carrier FDMA (SC-FDMA), zero-tail unique-word OFT-Spread OFDM (ZT UW OTS-s OFDM), unique word OFDM (UW-OFDM), resource block-filtered OFDM, filter bank multicarrier (FBMC), and the like.)
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 7. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, Maleki does not teach further comprising determining the preferred configuration for transmitting an energy signal based on at least one of: a charging rate associated with the first UE; channel conditions associated with a channel for transmitting the energy signal; or a frequency range for transmitting the energy signal.
However, Elkotby teaches determining the preferred configuration for transmitting an energy signal based on at least one of: a charging rate associated with the first UE; channel conditions associated with a channel for transmitting the energy signal; or a frequency range for transmitting the energy signal. ([0174] The device’s EH capability information may be signaled/provided to the serving BS/eNB/gNB using one of the following options:… [0175] and dedicating/allocating e.g. K.sub.EHbw = 3 UCI bits to convey information about supported EH sub-band bandwidth in terms of equivalent RBs for a total number of UCI bits in the PUCCH of K.sub.UCI = K.sub.EHbw + K.sub.SRs + K.sub.CSI.
… [0178] The BS/eNB/gNB serving the EH device should utilize the served devices’ capability information to figure out the optimal resource efficient allocation of sub-bands to deliver the EH signal to the served devices.)
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique in Elkotby in order to improve the energy harvesting efficiency without degrading the information transfer performance.
Regarding claim 8. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, Maleki does not teach wherein transmitting the indication of the preferred configuration to the network entity comprises transmitting the indication of the preferred configuration to the network entity in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) message; a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message; a sidelink message; or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) message or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message.
However, Elkotby teaches
transmitting the indication of the preferred configuration to the network entity comprises transmitting the indication of the preferred configuration to the network entity in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) message; a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message; a sidelink message; or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) message or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message. ([0260] the WTRU in a step 2710 transmits a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam where the control message may include additional information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested.)
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 9. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, and Maleki does not teach the selected configuration for the energy signal is based, at least in part, on the preferred configuration transmitted to the network entity.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein: the selected configuration for the energy signal is based, at least in part, on the preferred configuration transmitted to the network entity, ([0178] The BS/eNB/gNB serving the EH device should utilize the served devices’ capability information to figure out the optimal resource efficient allocation of sub-bands to deliver the EH signal to the served devices.)
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique in Elkotby in order to improve the energy harvesting efficiency without degrading the information transfer performance.
Regarding claim 10. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 9, Maleki does not teach further comprising: receiving one or more data signals; and performing an interference cancellation procedure based on the selected configuration for the energy signal to remove interference caused by the energy signal to the one or more data signals.
However Elkotby teaches
receiving one or more data signals; and performing an interference cancellation procedure based on the selected configuration for the energy signal to remove interference caused by the energy signal to the one or more data signals. ([0191] For the information receiver to efficiently decode the received information signal, it needs to obtain assisting information from the serving BS/eNB/gNB on how to effectively eliminate/cancel the source of interference. The assisting information may be the sub-band hopping pattern, delivered using any of the options described in previous section “EH Device Configuration”, in addition to any considered auxiliary signal(s) that get introduced to the information signal frequency spectrum.)
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique in Elkotby in order to improve the energy harvesting efficiency without degrading the information transfer performance.
Regarding claim 11. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, Maleki does not teach wherein the indication of the selected configuration is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein the indication of the selected configuration is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message. ([0274] In an exemplary embodiment describing the fourth technical realization above and depicted in the simplified flow chart in FIG. 31, a WTRU: [0275] initiating (3100) RRC Connected state, reporting capability, and receiving beam measurement & reporting configuration and mappings to default EH signaling configuration information)
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 13. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, and Maleki teaches wherein the first UE comprises one of: a semi-passive or semi-active low-power communication device; an active communication device; a passive internet of things (PIoT) device; or a backscattering-based communication device. ([0115] see discussion of passive or active energy harvesting type).
Regarding claim 15. Maleki teaches A method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
receiving, from a first use equipment (UE), an indication of ([0097] In this Action 1203, the wireless device 130 may send a second indication to the network node 110. The second indication may indicate the determined profile. See ‘542, Fig. 12) a preferred configuration for transmission of an energy signal to power one or more components of the first UE; ([0091] In this Action 1202, the wireless device 130 may determine a profile of parameters for energy harvesting. See ‘542, Fig. 12) and
It does not teach
transmitting, to the first UE, an indication of a selected configuration for the energy signal, wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) used in generating a modulation sequence of the energy signal; and transmitting the energy signal based, at least in part, on the selected configuration.
However, Elkotby teaches
transmitting, to the first UE, an indication of a selected configuration for the energy signal, ([0178] The BS/eNB/gNB serving the EH device should utilize the served devices’ capability information to figure out the optimal resource efficient allocation of sub-bands to deliver the EH signal to the served devices. The BS needs then to signal the selected configuration parameters to the EH devices. The BS’s EH signaling information may be conveyed using any of the options ) wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) used in generating the energy signal; ([0186] A seed to a random sequence generator and the corresponding sequence type. ) and transmitting the energy signal based, at least in part, on the selected configuration. ([0200] In one embodiment, a WTRU equipped with an EH device utilizes, in a first step, the Uu air interface to receive configuration parameters pertaining to serving beam detection over the ZE air interface. In a second step, the WTRU utilizes its ZE receiver and operate over the ZE air interface to harvest energy and/or perform IDLE/INACTIVE mode operations.)
in order to improving the energy harvesting efficiency (EH) without degrading the information transfer performance utilizing beamformed energy harvesting signal transmissions and introducing per-beam frequency resources randomization. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Farhadi with the technique in Elkotby in order to improve the energy harvesting efficiency without degrading the information transfer performance.
Farhadi and Elkotby do not teach
wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) used in generating a modulation sequence of the energy signal;
wherein the scrambling ID is associated with one or more demodulations reference signals (DMRSs).
However, Oh teaches
wherein the selected configuration includes an indication of a seed or a scrambling identifier (ID) ([0053] When the high-layer indication information includes the information representing whether the scrambling identifier has been configured and the information indicates that the scrambling identifier has been configured, the one or more first parameters may include, e.g., the RNTI and the scrambling identifier.) used in generating a modulation sequence of the energy signal; ([0212] In a possible embodiment of the present disclosure, the sequence generation unit 501 is further configured to: calculate c.sub.init.sup.DMRS through a formula c.sub.init.sup.DMRS=n.sub.ID [32], where c.sub.init.sup.DMRS represents a binary number for initializing the DMRS sequence, and n.sub.ID represents the scrambling identifier, and generate the DMRS sequence in accordance with c.sub.init.sup.DMRS acquired through calculation.)
wherein the scrambling ID is associated with one or more demodulations reference signals (DMRSs). (see above at [0212] … the sequence generation unit 501 is further configured to: calculate c.sub.init.sup.DMRS through a formula c.sub.init.sup.DMRS=n.sub.ID [32], where c.sub.init.sup.DMRS represents a binary number for initializing the DMRS sequence, and n.sub.ID represents the scrambling identifier, and generate the DMRS sequence in accordance with c.sub.init.sup.DMRS acquired through calculation.”)
in order to reduce the delay for data transmission ([0082])
Maleki and Ren are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Ren with the technique of scrambling id configuration in Ren in order to reduce the delay for data transmission.
Regarding claim 16. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 15, but Maleki doesn’t teach wherein the preferred configuration comprises a set of parameters indicating at least one of: a multiplexing type for the energy signal with data; a waveform type for the energy signal; or a modulation type for the energy signal.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein the preferred configuration comprises a set of parameters indicating ([0201] one or combination of the following parameters may be used as configuration to assist the WTRU in beam detection) at least one of: a multiplexing type for the energy signal with data; a waveform type for the energy signal; or a modulation type for the energy signal. ([0208] Multiplexing option, i.e., whether the considered EH sub-band (or defined common signaling channel band) is dedicated for common ZE signaling only or shared between common ZE signaling and default EH signaling.
[0209] Multiplexing method, e.g., time multiplexed, frequency multiplexed, code multiplexed, or frequency and modulation type multiplexed.
[0210] Modulation type(s), coding type(s))
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 17. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 16, but Maleki doesn’t teach wherein modulation type for the energy signal comprises one of: a reference signal (RS)-based modulation type; a circularly symmetric complex Gaussian (CSCG) modulation type; an improper complex Gaussian modulation type; an optimized sequence-based modulation type; an amplitude shift keying (ASK)-based modulation type; a phase shift keying (PSK)-based modulation type; a frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation type; a pulse position modulation (PPM)-based modulation type; a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM)-based modulation type; an on-off keying (OOK)-based modulation type; a Zadoff Chu-based modulation type; or a Bernoulli sequence-based modulation type.
However, Elkotby teaches
the modulation type for the energy signal comprises one of:
a reference signal (RS)-based modulation type; a circularly symmetric complex Gaussian (CSCG) modulation type; an improper complex Gaussian modulation type; an optimized sequence-based modulation type; an amplitude shift keying (ASK)-based modulation type;
a phase shift keying (PSK)-based modulation type; ([0163] It is noted that the PAPR enhancement gain relationship among different codebook sizes in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 is not consistent between QPSK and 16-QAM modulation scenarios due to the random generation of codebooks as described above.)
a frequency shift keying (FSK) modulation type; a pulse position modulation (PPM)-based modulation type;
a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM)-based modulation type; ([0163] It is noted that the PAPR enhancement gain relationship among different codebook sizes in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 is not consistent between QPSK and 16-QAM modulation scenarios due to the random generation of codebooks as described above.)
an on-off keying (OOK)-based modulation type; ([0130] OOK is considered for default EH signaling channel)
a Zadoff Chu-based modulation type; or a Bernoulli sequence-based modulation type.
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 18. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 16, Maleki does not teach wherein the waveform type for the energy signal comprises one of: a single tone continuous wave waveform type; a multi-tone continuous wave waveform type; a cyclic prefix—orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform type; single carrier quadrature amplitude modulation (SC-QAM) waveform type; or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform type.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein the waveform type for the energy signal comprises one of: a single tone continuous wave waveform type; a multi-tone continuous wave waveform type; a cyclic prefix—orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (CP-OFDM) waveform type; single carrier quadrature amplitude modulation (SC-QAM) waveform type; or a discrete Fourier transform-spread orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (DFT-s-OFDM) waveform type. ([0042] the communications systems 100 may employ one or more channel access methods, such as code division multiple access (CDMA), time division multiple access (TDMA), frequency division multiple access (FDMA), orthogonal FDMA (OFDMA), single-carrier FDMA (SC-FDMA), zero-tail unique-word OFT-Spread OFDM (ZT UW OTS-s OFDM), unique word OFDM (UW-OFDM), resource block-filtered OFDM, filter bank multicarrier (FBMC), and the like.)
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 20. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 15, but Maleki does not teach wherein receiving the indication of the preferred configuration from the first UE comprises receiving the indication of the preferred configuration from the first UE in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) message; a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message; a sidelink message; or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) message or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein receiving the indication of the preferred configuration from the first UE comprises receiving the indication of the preferred configuration from the first UE in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) message; a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message; a sidelink message; or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) message or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) message. ([0260] the WTRU in a step 2710 transmits a control message over PUCCH requesting dedicated EH signaling configuration over the serving transmit beam where the control message may include additional information/measurements such as current received signal strength for the transmit/receive beam pair, current battery state/level, a considered power splitting ratio, and/or current experienced average energy harvested.)
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 24. Maleki Elkotby and and Ren teach The method of claim 21, but Maleki and don’t teach wherein the set of parameters indicate at least one of: a multiplexing type of the energy signal; a type of waveform of the energy signal; or a modulation type of the energy signal.
However, Elkotby teaches
wherein the preferred configuration comprises a set of parameters indicating ([0201] one or combination of the following parameters may be used as configuration to assist the WTRU in beam detection) at least one of: a multiplexing type for the energy signal with data; a waveform type for the energy signal; or a modulation type for the energy signal. ([0208] Multiplexing option, i.e., whether the considered EH sub-band (or defined common signaling channel band) is dedicated for common ZE signaling only or shared between common ZE signaling and default EH signaling.
[0209] Multiplexing method, e.g., time multiplexed, frequency multiplexed, code multiplexed, or frequency and modulation type multiplexed.
[0210] Modulation type(s), coding type(s))
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 29. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach An apparatus, comprising: a memory comprising executable instructions (Maleki Fig. 15, 1507 Memory) ; and a processor (Maleki Fig. 15, 1506 Processing circuitry) configured to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: perform the method in claim 1, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Regarding claim 30. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach An apparatus, comprising: a memory comprising executable instructions (Maleki Fig. 16, 1607 Memory) ; and a processor (Maleki Fig. 16, 1606 Processing Circuitry) configured to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to perform the method in claim 15. It is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 3, 19, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki and Elkotby and Ren as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of FARHADI; Hamed et al. US PGPUB 20240283297 A1.
Regarding claim 3. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 2, Maleki does no teach further comprising storing a portion of the harvested energy from the energy signal in a power storage component of the first UE.
However, Farhadi teaches storing a portion of the harvested energy from the energy signal in a power storage component of the first UE. ([0005] For example, a typical energy-harvester in a wireless device may comprise a rectifying circuit, a low-pass filter and a storage device (such as capacitors) that converts received RF power to stored energy.)
in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device by receiving preferred configuration such as time frequency resources ([0007])
Maleki and Farhadi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of energy signal transmission in Farhadi in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device.
Regarding claim 19. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 15, Maleki does not teach wherein the preferred configuration for transmitting an energy signal based on at least one of: a charging rate associated with the UE; channel conditions associated with a channel for transmitting the energy signal; or a frequency range for transmitting the energy signal.
However, Farhadi teaches determining the preferred configuration for transmitting an energy signal based on at least one of: a charging rate associated with the first UE; channel conditions associated with a channel for transmitting the energy signal; or a frequency range for transmitting the energy signal. ([0037] In some embodiments, the information requesting a first subset of the set of time-frequency resources may comprise information indicating one or more capabilities of the first wireless device 121 for obtaining background RF energy from background RF signals received on the set of time-frequency resources.)
in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device by receiving preferred configuration such as time frequency resources ([0007])
Maleki and Farhadi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of energy signal transmission in Farhadi in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device.
Regarding claim 21. Maleki and Elktoby and Ren teach The method of claim 15, Malek and Elktoby i does not teach further comprising: selecting a configuration for transmitting the energy signal to the first UE based, at least in part, on the preferred configuration received from the first UE; and transmitting an indication of selected configuration to the first UE and a second UE including a set of parameters associated with the energy signal.
However, Farhadi teaches
selecting a configuration for transmitting the energy signal to the first UE (Fig. 2, 207 Determining a first subset of time frequency resources) based, at least in part, on the preferred configuration received from the first UE; (Fig. 2, 201, receiving information requesting first subset of time frequency resources) and transmitting an indication of selected configuration to the first UE and a second UE including a set of parameters associated with the energy signal. (Fig. 2, 208)
in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device by receiving preferred configuration such as time frequency resources ([0007])
Maleki and Farhadi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of energy signal transmission in Farhadi in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device.
Regarding claim 22. Maleki, Elkotby and Farhadi and Ren teach The method of claim 21, Maleki and Elkotby does not teach wherein selecting the configuration for transmitting the energy signal to the first UE is based further on at least one of: a charging rate associated with the first UE; channel conditions associated with a channel for transmitting the energy signal; a block error ratio (BLER) associated data transmissions to a second UE; a data rate associated with transmissions to a second UE; or a frequency range for transmitting the energy signal.
However, Farhadi teaches
wherein selecting the configuration for transmitting the energy signal to the first UE is based further on at least one of: a charging rate associated with the first UE; channel conditions associated with a channel for transmitting the energy signal; a block error ratio (BLER) associated data transmissions to a second UE; a data rate associated with transmissions to a second UE; or a frequency range for transmitting the energy signal. ([0037] In some embodiments, the information requesting a first subset of the set of time-frequency resources may comprise information indicating one or more capabilities of the first wireless device 121 for obtaining background RF energy from background RF signals received on the set of time-frequency resources.)
in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device by receiving preferred configuration such as time frequency resources ([0007])
Maleki and Farhadi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of energy signal transmission in Farhadi in order to increase the efficiency of energy harvesting in each wireless device.
Regarding claim 23. Maleki, Elktokby and Farhadi and Ren teach The method of claim 21, Maleki and Farhadi and Elkotby ‘402 do not teach wherein the set of parameters include a configuration index indicating the selected configuration among a plurality of configurations for transmitting the energy signal.
However, Eltokby teaches
wherein the set of parameters include a configuration index indicating the selected configuration among a plurality of configurations for transmitting the energy signal. ([0180] b. List of the sub-bands considered for EH signal transmissions, e.g., as a list of center frequencies or a list of indices associated with a set of pre-configurations. For example, a BS signaling a reference subcarrier/PRB number such as PRB#0 and an index to a set of preconfigured parameters such as a 2 PRB sub-band bandwidth and an 18 PRB spacing between allocated sub-bands for EH. Alternatively, a BS signaling a list of indices, a first index corresponds to a sub-band starting at subcarrier #0 and has a 1 PRB equivalent bandwidth, a second index corresponds )
in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions. ([0003])
Maleki and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of Elkotby in order to optimize the energy harvesting efficiency based on real-time information signal transmissions.
Regarding claim 25. Maleki, Elkotby and Farhadi and Ren teach The method of claim 21, Maleki and Farhadi and Elkotby ‘402 do not teach wherein: the set of parameters indicates the seed or the scrambling ID used in generating the energy signal; and the seed or scrambling ID included in the set of parameters is transmitted in a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message.
However, Elkotby teaches
the set of parameters indicates the seed or the scrambling ID used in generating the energy signal; ([0178] The BS/eNB/gNB serving the EH device should utilize the served devices’ capability information to figure out the optimal resource efficient allocation of sub-bands to deliver the EH signal to the served devices. The BS needs then to signal the selected configuration parameters to the EH devices. The BS’s EH signaling information may be conveyed using any of the options )
is transmitted in a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message. ([0079]) At the receiver of the receiving STA, the above described operation for the 80+80 configuration may be reversed, and the combined data may be sent to the Medium Access Control (MAC).)
in order to improving the energy harvesting efficiency (EH) without degrading the information transfer performance utilizing beamformed energy harvesting signal transmissions and introducing per-beam frequency resources randomization. ([0003])
Farhadi and Elkotby are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Farhadi with the technique in Elkotby in order to improve the energy harvesting efficiency without degrading the information transfer performance.
Claims 12, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki and Elkotby and Ren as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Elkotby; Hussain et al. US PGPUB 20230076409 A1, (hereinafter Elkotby’ 409)
Regarding claim 12. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 11, but they don’t teach further comprising: receiving an indication of an updated configuration for the energy signal in downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI), wherein receiving the energy signal is further based on the updated configuration.
However, Elkotby ‘409 teaches further comprising: receiving an indication of an updated configuration for the energy signal in downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI), wherein receiving the energy signal is further based on the updated configuration. ([0160] a WTRU may determine any of: (1) activation of (e.g., default, certain, configured, signaled, etc.) EH opportunities; and (2) configuration of (e.g., information indicating) (e.g., corresponding) EH opportunities, for example, based on any of a (e.g., received) DCI and a (e.g., configured) ZE class.)
In order to reduce network load and use radio resources more efficiently ([0107])
Maleki and Elkotby ‘409 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of DCI configuration for energy harvesting in Elkotby in order to reduce network load and use radio resources more efficiently.
Regarding claim 26. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 21, but they don’t teach further comprising transmitting a set of energy signal sequences in a radio resource control (RRC) or a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message to the second UE, wherein: the indication of the selected configuration is transmitted in downlink control information (DCI) and includes an indication of an energy signal sequence selected from the set of energy signal sequences.
However, Elkotby ‘409 teaches
further comprising transmitting a set of energy signal sequences in a radio resource control (RRC) or a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message to the second UE, ([0130] (2) the content of the initial WTRU message in the RRCSetupComplete message to indicate a request to transition from RRC operation over the Uu to ZE air interface,) wherein: the indication of the selected configuration is transmitted in downlink control information (DCI) and includes an indication of an energy signal sequence selected from the set of energy signal sequences. ([0160] a WTRU may determine any of: (1) activation of (e.g., default, certain, configured, signaled, etc.) EH opportunities; and (2) configuration of (e.g., information indicating) (e.g., corresponding) EH opportunities, for example, based on any of a (e.g., received) DCI and a (e.g., configured) ZE class.)
In order to reduce network load and use radio resources more efficiently ([0107])
Maleki and Elkotby ‘409 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of DCI configuration for energy harvesting in Elkotby in order to reduce network load and use radio resources more efficiently.
Regarding claim 28. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 21, but it does not teach wherein: the indication of the selected configuration is transmitted in a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message, the method further comprises transmitting an indication of an updated configuration for the energy signal in downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI), and transmitting the energy signal is further based on the updated configuration.
However, Elkotby ‘409 teaches
wherein: the indication of the selected configuration is transmitted in a radio resource control (RRC) message or a media access control—control element (MAC-CE) message, ([0130] (2) the content of the initial WTRU message in the RRCSetupComplete message to indicate a request to transition from RRC operation over the Uu to ZE air interface,) the method further comprises transmitting an indication of an updated configuration for the energy signal in downlink control information (DCI) or sidelink control information (SCI), and transmitting the energy signal is further based on the updated configuration. . ([0160] a WTRU may determine any of: (1) activation of (e.g., default, certain, configured, signaled, etc.) EH opportunities; and (2) configuration of (e.g., information indicating) (e.g., corresponding) EH opportunities, for example, based on any of a (e.g., received) DCI and a (e.g., configured) ZE class.)
In order to reduce network load and use radio resources more efficiently ([0107])
Maleki and Elkotby ‘409 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of DCI configuration for energy harvesting in Elkotby in order to reduce network load and use radio resources more efficiently.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki and Elkotby and Ren as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FARHADI; Hamed et al. US PGPUG 20230412003 A1, hereinafter Farhadi ‘003
Regarding claim 14. Maleki and Elkotby and Ren teach The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein: the energy signal and one or more data signals are beamformed using same precoder; and the method further comprises using the energy signal to perform channel estimation associated with the one or more data signals.
However, Farhadi ‘003 teaches
the energy signal and one or more data signals are beamformed using same precoder; ([0005] the energy transmitter device may determine the CSI and transmit additional signals to the energy receiver device based on the CSI. For example, the energy transmitter device may transmit additional probing signals for the communication of additional CSI, additional energy signals, or data, among other signals, where the transmission characteristics of the additional signals are based on the CSI (e.g., transmitted using a beam or a set of precoding parameters that are based on the CSI). and the method further comprises using the energy signal to perform channel estimation associated with the one or more data signals. ([0099] Alternatively, the query signal 230-a may indicate for the energy receiver to provide the CSI by modulating and reflecting an energy signal 220 received after the probing signal 235-a. For example, in accordance with the configuration indicated by the query signal 230-a, the energy receiver 210 may receive the probing signal 235-a and determine (e.g., estimate) the CSI based on one or more measurements of the probing signal 235-a.)
in order to improve power harvesting by enabling beamforming and improved precoding parameter selection for communications between the energy transmitter device and the energy receiver device.
Maleki and Farhadi ‘003 are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Maleki with the technique of beamforming energy signals with data signals in order to improve power harvesting by enabling beamforming and improved precoding parameter selection for communications between the energy transmitter device and the energy receiver device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468