DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/31/2026 in which claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 were amended, and claims 6 and 8 were canceled, has been entered. Claims 15-28 were previously canceled.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 are currently under examination on the merits.
Drawings
(Previous objection, withdrawn) Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/01/2025.
Specification
(Previous objection, withdrawn) Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/01/2025.
Claim Objections
(Previous objections, withdrawn as to claims 1-14) Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-14 have overcome previous objections to those claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 1-14) Claims 1-14 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims 1-14 as submitted on 03/31/2026.
The previous rejections of claims 6 and 8 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
Applicant’s amendment to the instant claims filed on 03/31/2026 has overcome the previous rejection to the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 6, 8, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claims 1-5, 7, 9-14) Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al., in view of Lamphear, et al. Prior art of record.
See claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 as submitted on 03/31/2026.
The previous rejections of claims 6 and 8 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
Regarding claims 1-3, it is noted that all of the amendments were made to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/01/2025. No new limitations were introduced in the amendment filed on 03/31/2026. As previously explained, Howard et al. teach a method of producing a protective response (providing passive immunity protection, as recited in claim 1) to an animal against a Porcine Epidemic Diarrhea Virus (PEDV), a member of the Coronaviridae virus family, comprising oral administration of a composition of a plant or plant product comprising a Spike (S1) protein of PEDV (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶¶ [0009], [0018], [0031]-[0033], [0090], Example 1, Fig.1).
Howard et al. do not teach the limitation of administering the composition prior to farrowing.
However, Lamphear et al. teach a method of administering a viral antigen expressed in corn seed for oral delivery to gilts before farrowing, wherein the method can boost neutralizing antibody levels in the animals’ serum, colostrum and milk thereby effectively boosting lactogenic immunity to the offspring (Abstract, pages 2-4). Lamphear et al. further teach such method is appropriate for large-scale field trials preceding commercialization (Abstract, page 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the PEDV plant composition of Howard et al. into the method of boosting lactogenic immunity to swine offspring taught by Lamphear et al. (administering a viral antigen before farrowing) for the benefit of implementing large-scale field trials followed by commercialization. See MPEP 2144.07. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in incorporating the PEDV plant composition of Howard et al. into the method of boosting lactogenic immunity to swine offspring taught by Lamphear et al. given that the methods of lactogenic immunity in pigs by administering plant-based vaccines are well known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that all of the amendments were made to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/01/2025. No new limitations were introduced in the amendment filed on 03/31/2026. As previously explained, Howard et al. teach the use of chimeric and fusion proteins comprise a variant protein fused in-frame to a heterologous protein having an amino acid sequence not substantially homologous to the variant protein (¶¶ [0031-0033]). For example, one embodiment of Howard et al. provides the spike polypeptide fused to a dendritic cell targeting 5 sequence, (DC3), and/or a heat labile enterotoxin B subunit (LtB) peptide (Example 1, ¶ [0090], Fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that all of the amendments were made to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/01/2025. No new limitations were introduced in the amendment filed on 03/31/2026. As previously explained, Howard et al. teach the use of a PEDV protein SEQ ID NO: 3 which shares 100% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 3 which is expressed at levels of at least 10 mg/kg (Abstract) (alignment provided below, Qy is Howard et al.’s SEQ ID NO:3; Db is instant SEQ ID NO: 3). With respect to the recitation of “so that inflammatory cytokine levels are altered to reduce inflammation prior to infection” in claim 5, please see a detailed explanation below.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, it is noted that all of the amendments were made to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/01/2025. No new limitations were introduced in the amendment filed on 03/31/2026. As previously explained, Lamphear et al. further teach administering booster treatments prior to furrowing (Table 1, page 3). Group of animals A-C and E in Lamphear et al.’s teachings received an initial dose and two blocks of booster administration for a total of 3 times (Table 1, page 5).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Howard et al. teach a composition of a plant or plant product comprising a Spike (S1) protein of PEDV, wherein the plant product is a maize seed which expresses the S1 protein and is administered with animal feed as ground meal (Claim 1, ¶¶ [0129], [0135], [0136]).
Regarding claims 5, 12-14, Lamphear et al. teach that many plant-based oral vaccines tested in animal studies can cause altered cytokine levels (page 3). It is noted that the recitations of “so that inflammatory cytokine levels are altered to reduce inflammation prior to infection”, “decreases cytokine inflammatory response by altering cytokine levels”, “said cytokine level that is altered includes one or more of GM-CSF, IFN gamma, IL-lalpha, IL-lbeta, IL-Ira, IL-2, IL-4, IL-6, IL-8, IL-10,IL- 12, IL18, or TNF alpha”, and “said cytokine level is one or more of GN- CSF, IFN gamma, and/or TNF alpha” in claims 5, 12, 13, and 14 respectively, do not impart additional method steps to be performed to the method of claim 1, but rather, these recitations refer to intended results of practicing the method of claim 1. Therefore, these recitations are considered to flow from the step of “administering” already present in the method of claim 1. Further, the indicated recitations in claims 5, 12-14 which merely state additional intended results of practicing the method of claim 1, do not add any distinct meaning or purpose to the manipulative step of “administering”. It is noted that the method recites “providing passive immunity protection” which does not require alterations in cytokine levels. In other words, the method as claimed refers to the introduction of antibodies to an animal’s offspring, and not to alterations in cytokine levels which are additional responses observed with plant-based oral vaccines of pigs (Lamphear et al. page 3). Accordingly, alterations of cytokine levels in response to an oral plant-based vaccine are not considered to add meaning or purpose to the claimed method of providing passive immunity protection as recited in claim 1. Further, it is noted that any method of providing passive immunity protection in the prior art having the all of the limitations recited in claim 1 would be capable of decreasing a cytokine inflammatory response by altering a cytokine level in an animal, wherein said cytokine level is one or more of GN- CSF, IFN gamma, and/or TNF alpha.
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 6, 8, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claims 1-5, 7, 9-14) Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 10 of US Patent No. 11,566,255 B2 to Howard et al., in view of Lamphear et al. (previously cited).
See claims 1-5, 7, 9-14 as submitted on 03/31/2026.
The previous rejections of claims 6 and 8 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
It is noted that all of the amendments to the instant claims were made to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/01/2025. No new limitations were introduced in the amendment filed on 03/31/2026. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a method of producing a protective response (providing passive immunity protection, as recited in claim 1) to an animal against a Porcine Epidemic Diarrhea Virus (PEDV), a member of the Coronaviridae virus family, comprising oral administration of a composition of a plant or plant product comprising a Spike (S1) protein of PEDV (Abstract, Claim 1, ¶¶ [0009], [0018], [0031]-[0033], [0090], Example 1, Fig.1).
The patented claims do not include the limitations of administering the composition to an animal prior to farrowing and of administering the composition 3 times.
However, Lamphear et al. teach those precise limitations. As indicated above, Lamphear et al. teach a method of administering a viral antigen expressed in corn seed for oral delivery to gilts before farrowing, wherein the method can boost neutralizing antibody levels in the animals’ serum, colostrum and milk thereby effectively boosting lactogenic immunity to the offspring (Abstract, pages 2-4). Further, Lamphear et al. teach administering booster treatments prior to furrowing (Table 1, page 3). Group of animals A-C and E in Lamphear et al.’s teachings received an initial dose and two blocks of booster administration for a total of 3 times (Table 1, page 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated with reasonable expectation of success the teachings of Lamphear et al. to the patented claims for the benefit of implementing large-scale field trials followed by commercialization.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends on page 8 of the Remarks submitted on 03/31/2026:
“Howard et al. does not demonstrate that an administered plant-produced PDEV S1 protein can increase levels of neutralizing antibodies in the colostrum or milk in a female pig to sufficient levels to confer immunity to suckling piglets.
While Lamphear et al. shows that an oral corn-based TGEV vaccine when administered as a booster to gilts results in increased levels of neutralizing antibodies in the colostrum and early milk, Lamphear et al. does not demonstrate that the levels of neutralizing antibodies in the milk were sufficient to confer immunity when administered to piglets. In fact, at the end of Lamphear et al., it states that future studies "will include an assessment of whether the lactogenic immunity observed here results in protection being conferred to piglets." (p. 2424, second column of Lamphear et al.).
In the instant case, Applicant submits that a prima facie case of obviousness has not been made at least on the basis that it was not predictable that the administration of a plant-produced PDEV Si protein such as one taught by Howard et al. would have resulted in sufficient levels of neutralizing antibodies in a female pig's milk to confer immunity when administered to piglets, particularly given that Lamphear et al. notes that one must assess whether the level of antibodies within milk are sufficient to confer protection to piglets.
In contrast with the cited references, the instant inventors have demonstrated in Example 1 that 53% of the piglets nursing on dams that were administered a plant-produced PDEV Si protein survived a challenge with PEDV, whereas greater than 90% of the piglets that nursed on dams that were not vaccinated died following challenge. The plant-produced PDEV Si protein was even more effective than the commercially available killed virus vaccine that was parenterally administered. Only 37% of the piglets nursing on dams that were administered the killed virus vaccine survived the PEDV challenge.”
In response:
Applicant's arguments against the references individually are not persuasive because one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As explained above and previously, Howard et al. were cited for teaching a method of producing a protective response to an animal against PEDV comprising oral administration of a composition of a plant or plant product comprising a Spike (S1) protein of PEDV; and Lamphear et al. were cited for teaching a method of administering a viral antigen expressed in corn seed for oral delivery to gilts before farrowing, wherein the method can boost neutralizing antibody levels in the animals’ serum, colostrum and milk thereby effectively boosting lactogenic immunity to the offspring. All of the limitations of the claimed invention are clearly taught by the cited prior art, as explained above in detail. Further, The instant rejection is in view of instant claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claimed method only requires administering to a dam prior to farrowing a plant or plant product comprising the spike protein from a coronavirus and then feeding the dam’s milk to the piglet. As outlined above, the cited prior art teaches the claimed method.
It is noted that the instant claims do not require nor recite limitations with respect to sufficient levels of neutralizing antibodies in a female pig's milk to confer immunity when administered to piglets. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments in reference to the alleged efficacy of the claimed method are of no relevance to overcome the rejections of record.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas J. Visone can be reached on (571)270-0684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARLENE V BUCKMASTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672