DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This a final rejection in response to claims filed on 05/14/2026. Claims 1-15 are amended. Claim 16 is cancelled. Claims 17-21 are newly added. Claims 1-15, and 17-21 are pending and are examined herein.
Priority
The present application has a provisional application #63/196,505 filed on 06/03/2021, therefore the application is granted the effective filing date of 06/03/2021.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15, and 17-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture, or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-15, 17-20: A method of designing, fabricating, and shipping an article of manufacture, comprising the steps:
Claim 21: A computer system of designing, fabricating, and shipping an article of manufacture, the computer system comprising processing circuitry coupled to a memory and configured to:
Claims 1-15, 17-20 recite a method which falls under “process”. Claim 21 falls within “machine or manufacture.” Therefore the claims are potentially eligible and are to be further analyzed under step 2.
Step 2a Prong 1: Is the claim directed to a Judicial Exception (A Law of Nature, a Natural Phenomenon (Product of Nature), or An Abstract Idea?)
The claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification are analyzed herein. Representative claims 1 and 21 are marked up, isolating the abstract idea from additional elements, wherein the abstract idea is set in bold and the additional elements have been italicized as follows:
Claim 1: A method of designing, fabricating, and shipping an article of manufacture, comprising:
-providing an electronic platform, the electronic platform including at least one machine-learning model;
-prompting a user to provide one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture on said electronic platform;
-transmitting user input relating to said one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture to a designer through said electronic platform to generate a design of said article of manufacture based on said one or more design characteristics provided by said user;
- executing said at least one machine-learning model to generate a cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture, said at least one machine-learning model pretrained using said electronic platform;
- receiving a user input on said electronic platform indicating that the cost estimate is acceptable; and
recommending a fabricator for fabricating said article of manufacture based on said cost estimate and said user input;
Claim 21:
A computer system of designing, fabricating, and shipping an article of manufacture, the computer system comprising processing circuitry coupled to a memory and configured to:
provide an electronic platform, the electronic platform including at least one machine- learning model;
prompt a user to provide one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture on said electronic platform;
transmit user input relating to said one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture to a designer through the electronic platform to generate a design of said article of manufacture based on said one or more design characteristics provided by said user;
execute said at least one machine-learning model to generate a cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture, said at least one machine-learning model pretrained using said electronic platform;
receive a user input on said electronic platform indicating that the cost estimate is acceptable; and
recommend a fabricator for fabricating said article of manufacture based on said cost estimate and said user input.
When evaluating the bolded limitations of the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is clear that representative claims 1, and 21 recite the abstract idea category of certain methods of organizing human activity. This abstract idea grouping found in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) includes claims to “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.” The invention aims to solve an abstract idea-based problem which is supported by the background of the specification,
“[0003] For example, when designing new of novel industrial designs most of the steps require discussing ideas with a particular specialized individual for the various stages. Some of these stages include designing, design briefing, sketching, modeling, shop drawings, design for manufacturing, quality control, fabricating, shipping, and delivery. These stages are generally disjointed and require a great deal of coordination by a human. [0004] Similar difficulties are faced in a number of industrial design fields. The common problem is often that a single individual, or company, does not have all the skills required to take an idea all the way through from conception to delivery.”
Therefore, in light of the specification, the claims merely recite methods of organizing activity in the subcategory of “managing personal behavior or interactions between individuals.” Therefore, in view of the claims in bold, the abstract idea of “providing a platform, prompting a user to describe an article of manufacture to be designed, generate a cost estimate, assigning a designer based on the design characteristics, and assign a fabricator to fabricate the article of manufacture” is recited. Due to the generality and breadth of these claims which recite facilitating interactions between the user, designer, consultant, fabricator and deliverer, it is no more than a management of personal behavior because it merely provides teachings and instructions and relays rules and instructions between individuals.
Even when considering the amended limitations of “transmitting user input relating to said one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture to,” “executing said at least one model to generate a cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture, said at least one model pretrained using said platform;” and “receiving a user input on said electronic platform indicating that the cost estimate is acceptable;” this is no more than reciting managing interactions between individuals, even though the claims may be directed towards computer-based interactions. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) states, “Finally, the sub-groupings encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial interaction), and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping. It is noted that the number of people involved in the activity is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping. Instead, the determination should be based on whether the activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings.” Therefore, even though the claims recite “transmitting,” “executing a model,” and “receiving user input on a platform” since the activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings, it is still a recitation of “certain methods of organizing human activity.”
Furthermore, these interactions can even be considered “commercial or legal interactions,” which is another subcategory of “certain methods of organizing human behavior” as outlined in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(B). This category includes agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. The limitations in bold, especially but not limited to “recommending a fabricator for fabricating said article of manufacture based on said cost estimate and said user input;” in claim 1, or “generate a cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture” are still part of the abstract idea because they merely recite generic business relations. In the breadth of the claim language in view of the specification, the claims merely recite the instructions for another individual to perform the recommendation of a fabricator, without being directed to a specific method for manufacturing. Since the claims are more broadly reciting the business relations of assigning designers, consultants, fabricators, and deliverers, this is merely the commercial or legal interaction of facilitating business relations.
Therefore, the claims recite an abstract and are to be further analyzed under step 2a prong 2 and step 2b.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claims 1, and 21 recite the following additional elements: - electronic platform in claims 1, and 21
-machine-learning model in claims 1 and 21
- A computer system in claim 21
- processing circuitry in claim 21
- coupled to a memory and configured to: in claim 21
The additional elements are no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer on its ordinary capacity as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the abstract idea of “providing a platform, prompting a user to describe an article of manufacture to be designed, generate a cost estimate, assigning a designer based on the design characteristics, and assign a fabricator to fabricate the article of manufacture” is merely instructed to be performed on an electronic platform, machine, computer system, processing circuitry, and a memory, which is equivalent to “apply it” or instructions to perform the abstract idea on a generic computer. The recited computer in the specification is clearly generic as seen in at least [0052]-[0055],
“[0052]As will be appreciated by one skilled in the art, the methods and systems may take the form of an entirely hardware embodiment, an entirely software embodiment, or an embodiment combining software and hardware embodiments. Furthermore, the methods and systems may take the form of a computer program product on a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program instructions (e.g., computer software) embodied in the storage medium. More particularly, the present methods and systems may take the form of web-implemented computer software. Any suitable computer-readable storage medium may be utilized including hard disks, CD-ROMs, optical storage devices, or magnetic storage devices.”
As stated in MPEP 2106.05(f), “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.”
Furthermore, the use of a machine learning model to generate a cost estimate is recited at a high level of generality such that it is no more than claiming the idea of a solution or outcome without the level of detail necessary to arrive at the outcome. Even when considering that the machine learning model is “pretrained using said electronic platform” this is still no more than apply it because it merely treats “machine-learning” as a black box, providing the inputs and outputs, but not the algorithms necessary to arrive at the claimed outcome. Therefore, the additional element of machine learning is equivalent to “apply it.”
Even when considering the additional elements individually or as an ordered combination, and even when viewing the claims as a whole, the claims merely use computers/devices to perform the abstract idea or generate outputs such as instructions to a person, therefore the claims are directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?Claims 1, and 21 recite the following additional elements:- electronic platform in claims 1, and 21
-machine-learning model in claims 1 and 21
- A computer system in claim 21
- processing circuitry in claim 21
- coupled to a memory and configured to: in claim 21
The additional elements have also not been found to include significantly more in order to consider it an inventive concept for the same reasons set forth in Prong 2. The additional elements are no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer on its ordinary capacity as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). More specifically, the use of a computer, processing circuitry, and memory to electronically perform the abstract idea of ““providing a platform, prompting a user to describe an article of manufacture to be designed, generate a cost estimate, assigning a designer based on the design characteristics, and assign a fabricator to fabricate the article of manufacture”” does not provide significantly more, because the additional element does not meaningfully limit the use of the field on the abstract idea. Furthermore, improvements to the technology or technical field have not been purported. Please review MPEP 2106.05(a) for more information regarding improvements to computing devices(Section I), or technological fields(Section II). Furthermore, the use of a machine learning model to generate a cost estimate is recited at a high level of generality such that it is no more than claiming the idea of a solution or outcome without the level of detail necessary to arrive at the outcome. Even when considering that the machine learning model is “pretrained using said electronic platform” this is still no more than apply it because it merely treats “machine-learning” as a black box, providing the inputs and outputs, but not the algorithms necessary to arrive at the claimed outcome. Therefore, the additional element of machine learning is equivalent to “apply it.”
Therefore, the claims do not include additional elements even when considered separately and as an ordered combination, that provide significantly more in order to be considered as an inventive concept. Therefore the claims are directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application or significantly more and are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2-15, and 17-20 are also given the full two-part analysis, individually and in combination with the claims they depend on, in the following analysis:
Claims 2-8 recite more of the same abstract idea because they merely further limit the inputted “design characteristics” to “design briefs, sketch, budget, dimensions, and one or more comments,” and the impressions are merely “existing constructs, free hand sketches, and marked up illustrations.” All of these further limitations are more of the same abstract idea because they merely relay instructions in various forms to the designer, which still falls under the same abstract idea of “certain methods of organizing human activity.” Since there are no further additional elements to consider, and even when considering the previous additional element of “electronic” platform, the abstract idea is still not integrated into a practical application nor has significantly more been found, even when viewing the claims as a whole.
Claims 9-13 recite more of the same abstract idea because they merely indicate that the designer, consultant, fabricator, and deliverer are selected based on the compatibility between the requirements of the design and the attributes of the designer, consultant, fabricator, and deliverer. In the breadth of the current claim language, this is merely more of the same abstract idea of “managing personal behavior or interactions or relationships” as it merely recites instructions to select individuals based on compatibility. Since there are no further additional elements to consider, and even when considering the previous additional element of “electronic” platform, the abstract idea is still not integrated into a practical application nor has significantly more been found, even when viewing the claims as a whole.
Claim 14 recites more of the same abstract idea because it requires the step of “delivering the article of manufacture to the user.” Since this is merely an instruction to the deliverer to perform the delivery and not a particular practical application, it is still more of the same abstract idea of “managing personal behavior.” Since there are no further additional elements to consider, and even when considering the previous additional element of “electronic” platform, the abstract idea is still not integrated into a practical application nor has significantly more been found, even when viewing the claims as a whole.
Claim 15 claims the article of manufacture designed pursuant the method of claim 1, thereby the claim does pass step one because an “article of manufacture” is included in the four statutory categories. However, because the process in which is the article of manufacture is made is directed to an abstract idea, claim 15 is still directed to an abstract idea. Furthermore, the claims tie up any sort of article of manufacture created in the process, which is a drafting effort to monopolize the judicial exception. Claim 15 does not include any further additional elements, and even when considering the previous additional element of “electronic” platform, the abstract idea is still not integrated into a practical application nor has significantly more been found, even when viewing the claims as a whole.
Claim 17 further limits the abstract idea by merely limiting the machine learning model to a particular type of machine learning model, whilst being directed to the same abstract idea. The additional element of using a “artificial intelligence sherpa model,” “augmented design model,” or “generative design model” is still equivalent to “apply it” because it merely names a type of technique without the necessary algorithms or details to arrive at the intended outcome. In this manner, it is still a black box use of machine learning, wherein the only level of detail is the technique being used. In addition, this is a “general link” to a particular type of technology or field of use as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(h). Even when considered individually or as an ordered combination, the additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, because even collectively, they are still no more than “apply it.” Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the abstract idea such that the claims are significantly more than the abstract idea (an inventive concept). Therefore, claim 17 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 18 further limits the abstract idea by adding the type of pretraining data to include “designs of three-dimensional structures and associated fabrication costs” based on at least one thousand data received through the electronic platform. The use of particular types of data is still part of the abstract idea, because it merely recites the format or type of data being used. The fact that this is training data for a machine learning model is still no more than “apply it,” because it is still using machine learning as a black box to arrive at the intended outcome, however, no further detail is added to how the model itself operates, it is merely a recitation of the types of inputs being used for the model. Furthermore, the number of data points being used, also does not remove the “apply it” categorization, because the amount of data points does not add any further detail to how the outcome is achieved. Therefore, even when considered individually or as an ordered combination, the additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, because even collectively, they are still no more than “apply it.” Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the abstract idea such that the claims are significantly more than the abstract idea (an inventive concept). Therefore, claim 18 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 19 further limits the abstract idea by generating a sustainability recommendation or value engineering recommendation, however, this is more of the same abstract idea because providing a recommendation is at best, an output to a user to manage their personal behavior, or a commercial or legal interactions. There are no further additional elements to consider, and even when considering the steps with the previous additional elements, it is still no more than “apply it” because the machine learning model is still used as a black box. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the abstract idea such that the claims are significantly more than the abstract idea (an inventive concept). Therefore, claim 19 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 20 further limits the abstract idea by indicating that the cost estimate has a “root-mean-square-error rate of less than 10%,” however, this is more of the same abstract idea because it merely adds a threshold to the error levels in the mathematical steps, however, it does not add any level of detail on how that level of error is achieved. The functions of the claims still recite “certain methods of organizing human activity,” therefore, the claims are still reciting an abstract idea. There are no further additional elements to consider, and even when considering the steps with the previous additional elements, it is still no more than “apply it” because the machine learning model is still used as a black box. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing meaningfully limits the abstract idea such that the claims are significantly more than the abstract idea (an inventive concept). Therefore, claim 20 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmeling et al. (US 11716211 B2) hereinafter Schmeling in view of Pail et al. (US 20200293024 A1) hereinafter Pail.
Regarding Claims 1 and 21:
Schmeling discloses a distributed manufacturing platform that connects designers, manufacturers, shippers and other entities. Schmeling teaches:
Claim 1 Preamble - A method of designing, fabricating, and shipping an article of manufacture, comprising the steps: providing an electronic platform; (Schmeling [Col. 4 Lines 5-23] Distributed manufacturing refers to a manufacturing approach in which, instead of having a company design and manufacture a product and then have the product shipped to a customer, products are designed, manufactured, finished, assembled, and/or shipped by one or more entities based on a variety of factors including, for example, product requirements, manufacturing capabilities and availability, location of parties, and the like. For example, one or more customers, designers, manufacturers may be linked and coordinated via a software platform such that orders, plans, designs, and other order details can be input and items can be created, packaged ready for shipment by common carrier or individual contractors...)
Claim 21 Preamble: A computer system of designing, fabricating, and shipping an article of manufacture, the computer system comprising processing circuitry coupled to a memory and configured to:(Schmeling [Col. 29 Lines 23-33] The data stores 106, 206, and 306, and memory 404, 504, and any other memory discussed herein are examples of computer-readable media and may take the form of volatile memory, such as random access memory (RAM) and/or non-volatile memory, such as read only memory (ROM) or flash RAM. Computer-readable media includes volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules, or other data for execution by one or more processors or circuits of a computing device)
Body of claim 1(also representative of the body of claim 21): providing an electronic platform;(Schmeling [Col. 4 Lines 41-49] Orders can be placed directly via the platform, or the platform can operate as a white-label/back-end component to an otherwise independent business (e.g., marketplace or merchant). In some examples, designers may design products and offer them for sale to customers via the platform.)
-the electronic platform including at least one machine-learning model(Schmeling [Col. 21 Lines 53-67] In addition to or instead of using matching algorithm, in some examples the platform 304 may use a machine learning model to categorize orders and/or match orders with printer owners or other manufacturers. By way of example and not limitation, deep learning techniques, neural language models, convolutional neural networks, or other machine learning models may be used alone or in combination with one or more traditional classification approaches.)
- prompting a user to provide one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture on said electronic platform; (Schmeling [Col. 23 Lines 36-42] In a variation of the previous example, the platform 304 may assist the customer 302(2) to locate one or more appropriate designers 302(1), to assist in the design of a new product for the customer 302(2). The customer 302(2) may submit a product specification 308 to the platform 304, which may be processed and uploaded to the data store 306.)
-transmitting user input relating to said one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture to a designer through said electronic platform; (Schmeling [Col. 22 Lines 17-41] After selecting one or more printer owners or other manufacturers to produce the item, the process proceeds to operation (E) in which the platform 304 sends instructions to the selected manufacturer, in this case printer owner 302(3). In this example, printer owner 302(3) was selected during the matching process at least in part because it was able to perform multiple required operations at a single location. Specifically, in this example, the printer owner 302(3) is capable of not only printing the item, but also finishing the item (e.g., removing support structures, sanding, polishing, machining, etc.), post processing the item (e.g., priming, painting, plating, powder coating, heat treating, etc.), assembling the item (e.g., assembling the item from multiple disparate 3D printed and/or traditionally manufactured parts), and packaging the item in a 3D printed packaging and/or traditional package. Details of 3D printed packaging techniques can be found in U.S. Pat. No. 9,248,611 (Divine et al.), which is incorporated herein by reference. Thus, in this example, the printer owner 302(3) can, at operation (F) print the item, at operation (G) finish the item, at operation (H) post process the item, at operation (I) assembly the item from multiple parts, and at operation (J) package the item. In some examples, packaging the item may include printing a 3D printed package customized based on the item, the designer, the customer, the shipper, and/or other factors.)
- to generate a design of said article of manufacture based on said one or more design characteristics provided by said user; (Schmeling [Col. 23 Lines 42-48] In this example, the platform 304 may match the product specification 308 with one or more designers by taking into consideration the job difficulty, designer skill level, designer pay level, designer specialty, designer reputation or rating, and/or other factors, and applying matching algorithms, machine learning models, or invoking a third-party matching service as described in the preceding example. The designer(s) 302(1) may create data file(s) appropriate for input to 3D printer(s) and/or other manufacturing equipment and may upload them to the data store 306 for review and approval by the customer 302(2).)
-executing said at least one machine-learning model, said at least one machine-learning model pretrained using said electronic platform; (Schmeling [Col. 21 Lines 53-67] In addition to or instead of using matching algorithm, in some examples the platform 304 may use a machine learning model to categorize orders and/or match orders with printer owners or other manufacturers. By way of example and not limitation, deep learning techniques, neural language models, convolutional neural networks, or other machine learning models may be used alone or in combination with one or more traditional classification approaches. The machine learning model may be trained offline using existing classified corpuses of data such as product catalogs and/or item detail pages of e-commerce merchant websites, repositories of labeled product designs/models (e.g., Shapeways™, Turbosquid™, CG Trader™, Sculpteo™, 3D Warehouse™, SolidWorks™ CAD Library, etc.), or the like.)
- recommending a fabricator for fabricating said article of manufacture based on cost. (Schmeling [Col. 20 Lines 32-39] At operation (D), the platform 304 selects (or recommends) the printer owner 302(3), from among multiple available printer owners (not shown in this figure), to print the item using a matching algorithm or machine learning model that matches product requirements and/or customer criteria with the capabilities of multiple possible printer owners. In some examples, the matching of entities may be performed autonomously by the platform 304. [Col. 23 Lines 55-62] The platform 304 may also assist the customer 302(2) to locate one or more appropriate 3D printer owners 302(3) having one or more 3D printers or other machines to create an appropriate quantity of the product(s). The platform 304 may help the customer 302(2) to locate the 3D printer owners 302(3) based upon geographic location, print job cost, quality of output, printer or media characteristics, or other criteria.)
However, Schmeling fails to teach:
-that the machine-learning model is used to generate a cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture
-receiving a user input on said electronic platform indicating that the cost estimate is acceptable; and
-that recommending a fabricator is also based on “said cost estimate and said user input”
Alternatively, Pail discloses an on-demand digital manufacturing platform which receives digital design files and analyzes the producibility of the files by the whether the attributes satisfies the manufacturing technology requirements. Pail teaches:
-that the artificial intelligence model is used to generate a cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture(Pail [0061] As shown in FIG. 5A, the platform 110 can perform a basic estimation of a product's complexity 516 using one or more of design parameters 502 (such as overall size, number of features in the design, or size or tolerance of features in the design), machine parameters 504, manufacturer-related parameters 506, reliability parameters 508, time-related parameters 510, material parameters 512, or technology parameters 514. The platform 110 can also receive one or more of these parameters for actual fabricated products. The actual parameters can be fed into a self-learning AI pricing module 520 that improves the basic complexity estimation over time. For example, the AI pricing module 520 uses past prices charged by manufacturers to learn, over time, to calculate an amount of material that will be used to manufacture a product with more precision. This improved precision improves the ability of the platform 110 to predict the material amount that will be required for a given design, which in turn improves the accuracy with which the platform 110 can predict how much a manufacturer will charge the platform to fabricate a product. As another example, the AI module 520 learns over time to predict the reliability of machines more accurately by analyzing information about the machines' past reliability as they fabricated products. [0062] FIG. 5B shows that the platform 110 can use a complexity estimation 530 to calculate a price 534 for a product. The platform 110 can calculate the price by applying a price bias 532 to the complexity 516 (calculated, for example, using one or more of design parameters 502, machine parameters 504, manufacturer-related parameters 506, reliability parameters 508, time-related parameters 510, material parameters 512, or technology parameters 514). ) Pail’s AI pricing module, generates a cost estimate for fabricating.
-receiving a user input on said electronic platform indicating that the cost estimate is acceptable; and(Pail [0075] The customer can then, at step 642, review a price calculated based on the design, design customizations, manufacturer, production speed, and delivery preference. If desired, the customer can change the selections to change the price at step 644; otherwise, the customer can place the order at step 646. [0076] The platform 110 can calculate a price for the design based on the customization selections. At step 664, the customer can either accept the calculated price or change the customization selections to change the price. )
-that recommending a fabricator is also based on “said cost estimate and said user input”(Pail [0072] The platform 110 can select a recommended manufacturer from the set of available manufacturers, for example selecting a manufacturer that is closest to the customer's location or that is able to fabricate the product for the lowest price. [0073] If at step 612 the customer accepts the manufacturer recommended by the platform 110, the customer can proceed to select a payment method (received by the platform at step 614) and place an order (at step 616). [0076] A similar process can be used if the customer is manufacturing a product using digital fabrication technologies other than 3D printing. As shown in FIG. 6C, the customer can browse designs in the platform marketplace at step 660, filtering for example by design title or category. The customer can customize the design at step 662, manually selecting parameters or using parameters recommended by the platform 110. The platform 110 can calculate a price for the design based on the customization selections. At step 664, the customer can either accept the calculated price or change the customization selections to change the price.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by adding Pail’s teachings including the use of AI(simply substitute ML) to generate a cost estimate, allowing a user to input acceptance of the cost estimate, and recommending a fabricator based on the input and estimate. By combining the references the claims would arrive at the claimed limitation, because Schmeling’s system using machine-learning models, and Pail uses AI models to generate the cost estimate, in which a combination would reasonably expect to successfully arrive at the limitation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by Pail’s benefit of connecting customers and manufacturer’s based on proximity and other compatibility measures. (Pail [0072] The platform 110 can select a recommended manufacturer from the set of available manufacturers, for example selecting a manufacturer that is closest to the customer's location or that is able to fabricate the product for the lowest price. The platform 110 may use other criteria to select manufacturers, for example selecting a manufacturer based on a load balancing analysis of designs previously sent to a set of candidate manufacturers.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- wherein said one or more design characteristics comprise a design brief, a sketch, a budget, dimensions, and one or more comments to generate a design brief of said article of manufacture on said electronic platform. (Schmeling [Col. 15 Lines 57 – Col. 16 Line 2] In some examples, product specifications 108 may include a description of features, characteristics, and requirements of a product that a customer desires to have designed and/or manufactured. In some examples, product specifications 108 may additionally or alternatively include engineering drawings, renderings, sketches, blue prints, material specifications, or other information related to the design and/or manufacture of the product. (66) Part or item models 110 may include computer generated drawings or models of individual parts, assemblies, and/or whole items or products. The item models 110 may include 2D and/or 3D models including, without limitation, computer aided design (CAD) files [Col. 4 Line 49] Customers may specify budgets,) In Schmeling, the “description of features, characteristics, and requires that a customer desires to have designed or manufactured” satisfies the “design brief”, and “one or more comments to generate a design brief of said article of manufacture on said platform” limitations. The “part or item models” satisfies the “dimensions” limitation, since it is information that includes dimensions. Therefore, since Schmeling teaches all of the above, the entire limitation has been met.
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 2:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- wherein said one or more comments comprise guidance as to one or more desired features of said article of manufacture. (Schmeling [Col. 15 Lines 57-60] In some examples, product specifications 108 may include a description of features, characteristics, and requirements of a product that a customer desires to have designed and/or manufactured. [Col. 8 Lines 8-11] In other examples, customers may place orders or request quotes for custom products that are not yet in existence, and the designers may create and upload the designs responsive to customer order or request for quote.)
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- wherein transmitting said user input relating to said one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture to said designer through said electronic platform includes comparing said one or more design characteristics of said article of manufacture to one or more attributes of said designer to determine compatibility. (Schmeling [Col. 40 Lines 54-67] At block 1608, responsive to receiving the request from the customer for the item, and (in some instances) prior to determining capabilities needed to manufacture the item, one or more candidates designers having the ability and capability to design the item may be identified. The identification process may consider the designers skill, and also experience with printers available at different manufacturers that are compatible with the manufacture of the item. At block 1610, one or more designers are selected from the candidate designers based on the one or more criteria. Criteria may include design skill level, design approval by past customers, designer experience with 3D printers capable of manufacturing the item, design fees, designer location and other criteria.)
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
While Schmeling does teach:
- recommending a (designer) by comparing said design with one or more attributes of said designer to determine compatibility. (Schmeling [Col. 23 Lines 36-48] In a variation of the previous example, the platform 304 may assist the customer 302(2) to locate one or more appropriate designers 302(1), to assist in the design of a new product for the customer 302(2). The customer 302(2) may submit a product specification 308 to the platform 304, which may be processed and uploaded to the data store 306. In this example, the platform 304 may match the product specification 308 with one or more designers by taking into consideration the job difficulty, designer skill level, designer pay level, designer specialty, designer reputation or rating, and/or other factors, and applying matching algorithms, machine learning models, or invoking a third-party matching service as described in the preceding example.) While the claims require “wherein said consultant is assigned by comparing said design with one or more attributes of said consultant to determine compatibility,” Schmeling does not explicitly teach “consultants.” However, Schmeling does teach the process of assigning by comparing said design with attributes of a designer to determine compatibility.
However, Schmeling fails to teach:
- specifically that a “consultant” is being recommended instead of a designer.
- recommending a consultant to modify said design to improve a potential fabrication process of said design
Alternatively, Pail teaches:
- that the consultant is assigned (Pail [0048] If possible content or license violations are detected, the platform 110 can perform a manual check at step 324. For example, the platform 110 can flag the design for review by a human reviewer, who can mark the design as acceptable or identify a particular policy violated by the design. The results of the manual check can be fed back into the AI module to improve the module's accuracy. A design that is determined to violate a content license or policy can, in some cases, be modified to comply with the rules. These changes may include, for example, adapting content of the design, making overall changes to meet an expected quality of the design, or generally optimizing the design to achieve a specified price or producibility. In some cases, the platform 110 may automatically modify the design. In other cases, the platform 110 may require the designer to modify the design, or may push the design to an in-house designer to make any modifications necessary to comply with licenses or policies.) An “in-house reviewer” falls within the scope of a consultant.
- recommending a consultant to modify said design to improve a potential fabrication process of said design(Pail [0048] In other cases, the platform 110 may require the designer to modify the design, or may push the design to an in-house designer to make any modifications necessary to comply with licenses or policies. [0058] The platform 110 can also request a test object from the manufacturer. FIG. 4H shows that the platform 110 can provide the manufacturer with a test object to print and mail to an administrator of the platform for review and approval. FIGS. 4I-4K illustrate views of an example test object. The test object can be used, for example, to verify that the printer is capable of producing a design with sufficient quality, of a certain resolution, or satisfying other criteria. In some cases, the platform 110 may send a manufacturer a unique design to be printed on each machine registered by the manufacturer, allowing the platform 110 to verify that a test object was printed by a particular machine. [0048] A design that is determined to violate a content license or policy can, in some cases, be modified to comply with the rules. These changes may include, for example, adapting content of the design, making overall changes to meet an expected quality of the design, or generally optimizing the design to achieve a specified price or producibility. In some cases, the platform 110 may automatically modify the design. In other cases, the platform 110 may require the designer to modify the design, or may push the design to an in-house designer to make any modifications necessary to comply with licenses or policies.) In this case the administrator falls within the scope of “consultant,”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by performing the search for the consultant in Pail (the human reviewer, or in-house designer) using the same matching methods taught in Schmeling to find a designer. By combining the references by substituting Pail’s consultant/reviewer into Schmeling’s designer assigning method, it would yield the predictable outcome of “recommending a consultant to modify said design to improve a potential fabrication process of said design.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination as it would provide the benefit of ensuring the quality of designs to be passed to a manufacturer. (Pail [0058] The platform 110 can also request a test object from the manufacturer. FIG. 4H shows that the platform 110 can provide the manufacturer with a test object to print and mail to an administrator of the platform for review and approval. FIGS. 4I-4K illustrate views of an example test object. The test object can be used, for example, to verify that the printer is capable of producing a design with sufficient quality, of a certain resolution, or satisfying other criteria. In some cases, the platform 110 may send a manufacturer a unique design to be printed on each machine registered by the manufacturer, allowing the platform 110 to verify that a test object was printed by a particular machine.)
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 10:
However, Schmeling fails to teach:
- further comprising the step: improving said design of said article of manufacturer from a fabrication standpoint by said consultant.
Alternatively, Pail teaches:
- improving said design of said article of manufacturer from a fabrication standpoint by said consultant. (Pail [0048] These changes may include, for example, adapting content of the design, making overall changes to meet an expected quality of the design, or generally optimizing the design to achieve a specified price or producibility. In some cases, the platform 110 may automatically modify the design. In other cases, the platform 110 may require the designer to modify the design, or may push the design to an in-house designer to make any modifications necessary to comply with licenses or policies. [0050] FIG. 3B shows a variation of the design upload process shown in FIG. 3A, including steps that are similar to the process in FIG. 3A. A discussion of the steps also appearing in FIG. 3A is omitted here. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3B, if the design is determined to not be producible, the platform 110 can repair the design to make the design producible. At step 328 in FIG. 3B, the platform 110 performs a general producibility repair on the design if the design is found to not be producible by one or more fabrication technologies at step 306.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by adding the improving of the design from a fabrication standpoint as taught by Pail in the form of optimizing the design to achieve a specified producibility. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform this combination as it would provide the benefit of ensuring the quality of designs to be passed to a manufacturer. (Pail [0058] The platform 110 can also request a test object from the manufacturer. FIG. 4H shows that the platform 110 can provide the manufacturer with a test object to print and mail to an administrator of the platform for review and approval. FIGS. 4I-4K illustrate views of an example test object. The test object can be used, for example, to verify that the printer is capable of producing a design with sufficient quality, of a certain resolution, or satisfying other criteria. In some cases, the platform 110 may send a manufacturer a unique design to be printed on each machine registered by the manufacturer, allowing the platform 110 to verify that a test object was printed by a particular machine.)
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- wherein said fabricator is assigned by comparing said design with one or more attributes of said fabricator to determine compatibility. (Schmeling [Col. 39 Lines 26-31] locks 1302 through 1310 show example techniques for selecting one or more manufacturers from among the candidate manufacturers based on one or more criteria of block 1108 of FIG. 11. At block 1302, the one or more candidate manufacturers may consist of a manufacturer having 3D printers capable of printing the item. [Col. 41 Lines 8-30] . At block 1702, information regarding and/or describing an item to be printed is received... In the example of block 1704, the information of the item to be printed may include at least one of: a computer model of the item, a bit price to print the item; a quantity of the item to be printed; and/or a material of the item to be printed. At block 1706, one or multiple 3D printers, from among a network or group of available 3D printers, are identified. The identified printers are among those capable of printing the item. At block 1708, one or more 3D printers are selected from among the identified 3D printers. The identified and selected printers are consistent with the criteria of the item to be printed.[Col. 21 Lines 53-56] In addition to or instead of using matching algorithm, in some examples the platform 304 may use a machine learning model to categorize orders and/or match orders with printer owners or other manufacturers.)
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- further comprising: causing said article of manufacture to be fabricated by said fabricator such that one or more fabricated articles of manufacture are created; and(Schmeling [Col. 38 Lines 44-54] At block 1110, instructions may be sent, such as by network connection, to the one or more selected manufacturers. Block 1112 shows example techniques for sending instructions, such as by network connection, to the one or more manufacturers selected to manufacture the item of block 1110. At block 1112, the instructions that are sent may include: sending the first manufacturer instructions to manufacture a first portion of the quantity of the item, and sending a second manufacturer instructions to manufacture a second portion of the quantity of the item. [Col. 22 Lines 18-32] After selecting one or more printer owners or other manufacturers to produce the item, the process proceeds to operation (E) in which the platform 304 sends instructions to the selected manufacturer, in this case printer owner 302(3). In this example, printer owner 302(3) was selected during the matching process at least in part because it was able to perform multiple required operations at a single location. Specifically, in this example, the printer owner 302(3) is capable of not only printing the item, but also finishing the item (e.g., removing support structures, sanding, polishing, machining, etc.), post processing the item (e.g., priming, painting, plating, powder coating, heat treating, etc.), assembling the item (e.g., assembling the item from multiple disparate 3D printed and/or traditionally manufactured parts), and packaging the item in a 3D printed packaging and/or traditional package.)
- recommending a deliverer; (Schmeling [Col. 38 Lines 54-58] At block 1114, one or more candidate shippers that are capable of shipping the item may be identified. At block 1116, one or more shippers may be selected from among the one or more candidate shippers based at least in part on one or more shipping criteria.)
- including comparing said one or more fabricated articles of manufacture with one or more attributes of said deliverer to determine compatibility. (Schmeling [Col. 38 Line 59 – Col. 39 Line 3] Blocks 1118-1122 describe techniques that may be utilized to selected shippers. At block 1118, a shipping time (e.g., departure time, transit time, arrival time, etc.) from one or more of the manufacturers may be use in the selection process of block 1116. At block 1120, available shipping mode(s) to ship the item from the one or more manufacturers to the recipient may be considered. At block 1122, the cost to ship the item from the one or more manufacturers to the recipient may be determined, calculated and/or obtained. At block 1124, instructions may be sent to the one or more shippers to ship the item from the one or more manufacturers to a recipient. [Col. 6 Lines 24-36] Additional matching criteria could be based on pricing, number of items ordered, activity level of required printers (i.e. how busy is the needed machine), print materials or final quality. In a further example, a reverse-auction style selection system would allow printer owners, designers and/or shippers to bid on jobs. Other example criteria include a maximum distance from the final location, a minimum rating (e.g., job quality reputation) for the printer owner, a minimum quality level for the individual printer, etc. These and/or numerous other criteria may be used individually or in combination to match parties on the distributed manufacturing platform. Various non-limiting examples are provided throughout this application.)
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 13:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
-causing said one or more fabricated articles of manufacture to be delivered to said user by said deliverer. (Schmeling [Col. 22 Line 51- Col. 23 Line 4] At operation (K) the packaged item may be transferred to the shipper 302(4). In some examples, the shipper 302(4) may pick up packaged item from the printer owner 304(3), while in some examples the printer owner 302(3) may deliver the packaged item to the shipper 302(4), and in still other examples another delivery service (e.g., a local delivery service) may transfer the packaged item from the printer owner 302(3) to the shipper 302(4). The shipper 302(4) may load the packaged item onto a land vehicle 316 (e.g., car, truck, bus, train, etc.), aircraft 318 (airplane, helicopter, drone, etc.), watercraft 320 (e.g., ship, boat, barge, ferry, etc.), or couriers 322 (e.g., on foot or bicycle) for delivery to the customer 302(2). In some examples, the packaged item may be transferred from one vehicle/aircraft/watercraft/courier to another directly or via one or more transfer stations. Each time the packaged item is transferred, the location and/or custody of the package may be tracked and recorded to the ledger 314 (e.g., by sensors in the package and/or sensors at the transfer site). At operation (L) the shipper 302(4) delivers the packaged item to customer 302(2).)
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest the method of claim 1:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- An article of manufacture, wherein said article of manufacture is designed using the method of claim 1.(Schmeling [Col. 3 Lines 27-34] Unless otherwise specified, the terms “item” and “product” are used synonymously herein to refer to any physical object made by one or more parties. The item or object may be comprised of a single part or multiple parts, and may be made by additive manufacturing and/or traditional manufacturing techniques. The term “unit” refers to a single instance of an item or product, and the term “units” refers to multiple instances of the item or product. )
Claims 3-7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmeling (US 11716211 B2) in view of Pail (US 20200293024 A1), further in view of Alex Weinberg (US 20220197248 A1) hereinafter Weinberg.
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 2:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches: -wherein said design brief allows said user to enter information relating to how many copies of said article of manufacture is desired by said user. (Schmeling [Col. 9 Lines 43-45] The platform may assist the customer with issues of how many product items are needed, [Col. 19 Lines 57-67] At operation (C), the customer 302(2) logs on or otherwise accesses the platform 304 and places an order for a quantity of an item corresponding to the item model 310. In some examples, the customer 302(2) accesses the platform 304 via an interface 316. The interface 316 may include controls by which the designer 302(1) may be prompted (or given the option) to specify conditions or criteria associated with the order. By way of example and not limitation, the conditions or criteria about the order may include a quantity of the item desired, whether the customer is willing to accept less than all of the specified quantity)
However, neither Schmeling nor Pail teach or suggest:
- wherein said design brief allows said user to enter information relating to... where said article of manufacture is intended to be placed, what said article of manufacture will be, for what said article of manufacture will be used,
Alternatively, Weinberg discloses . Weinberg teaches:
-wherein said design brief allows said user to enter information relating to...(Weinberg [0065] For example, if the user of client device 120 provided input indicating they wished to have purple, square mugs with curved handles produced, and processor 132 has determined that purple, round mugs with square handles have been performing better with customers of digital platform 130 than the mug as indicated by the user, processor 132 can provide a recommendation to the user to make a physical change to the mugs to provide square handles, as the user has indicated that the shape of the handles is easier to change than the shape of mug itself. [0067] The user of client device 120 can provide input through a user interface in response to the request for additional data. ) The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation above is that a design brief in view of the specification is any short set of information, sketches, drawings, or instructions that dictate the intended design as inputted by the user. Therefore, the example above is an example of a design brief. Furthermore, the information below, such as where the item is placed and the purpose of the article of manufacture are also inputted by the user and fall within the BRI of “design brief.”
-where said article of manufacture is intended to be placed, (Weinberg [0070] For example, if a user enlarges a prototype bookshelf within an augmented reality interface that corresponds to a real space in which the bookshelf will be used, client device 120 can provide the enlargement interaction data to digital platform 130. Processor 132 can then use the enlargement interaction data to determine, based on information such as dimensions of the augmented reality interface and the dimensions of the enlarged bookshelf with respect to the augmented reality interface, new dimension values for the bookshelf to be provided to the manufacturer 110.)
- what said article of manufacture will be, for what said article of manufacture will be used,
(Weinberg [0068] The flow 200 continues with stage (D), in which client device 120 provides additional data to digital platform 130. Digital platform 130 can receive the additional data from client device 120 through communications interface 134. The additional data includes, for example, a response to the set of attributes for which further information is to be requested from the user of client device 120. For example, if the attribute data indicated that the item to be manufactured is nursery furniture, processor 132 can generate a set of questions tailored to nursery furniture, including what type of nursery furniture it is (e.g., crib, changing table, rocker, etc.); what types of non-toxic, child-safe materials to use; whether the furniture can be adjustable, etc. The user can provide multiple values for each attribute.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by adding the context of where the article of manufacture is intended to be placed, what it will be, and what the function of the article of manufacture is, as taught by Weinberg. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine by the fact that such contextual information allows the machine learning models in Weinberg to more accurately create the desired customized piece of furniture. (Weinberg [0009] This allows product requestors (e.g., r-members) and manufacturers (e.g., m-members) to connect and adapt their production process to most efficiently meet consumer needs/desires for goods having specific physical attributes. )
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Schmeling, Pail, and Weinberg teach or suggest The method of claim 3:
However, Schmeling fails to teach:
- wherein said sketch allows said user to provide one or more impressions of what said article of manufacture will look like when completed.
Alternatively, Pail teaches: - wherein said sketch allows said user to provide one or more impressions of what said article of manufacture will look like when completed. (Pail [0039] FIG. 3E shows that the designer can preview a rendered version of the design. Optionally, the designer can also use the rendered version of the design to define areas on the design that can be personalized by customers. FIG. 3F shows that the designer can enter information such as a title and description of the design to enable customers to find the design on the platform. Optionally, in the enter product details interface, the designer can also use a dropdown list to switch to provide title and descriptions of the design in another language to improve searchability.) The broadest reasonable interpretation of “impressions” is any rendering/simulation of what the item will look like after being manufacturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by adding the feature of Pail in which a sketch is provided that is an impression of what the article of manufacture will look like when completed. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated by the benefit of allowing the visualization of the item to allow a user to perform personalization before manufacturing the object. (Pail [0040] The materials and colors can be selected from a set of available materials and colors for each technology by which the design can be produced. In some cases, the designer can also identify portions or other parameters of the design that can be personalized by the customer. For example, the designer can identify one or more surfaces of the design that can be fabricated using different textures and adding text and/or image overlays, and can specify textures available for the customer's selection.)
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Schmeling, Pail, and Weinberg teach or suggest The method of claim 4:
However, Schmeling fails to teach:
wherein said one or more impressions comprise at least one of one or more existing constructs, one or more free-hand sketches, one or more marked up illustrations, and combinations thereof.
Alternatively, Pail teaches:
-wherein said one or more impressions comprise at least one of one or more existing constructs, one or more free-hand sketches, one or more marked up illustrations, and combinations thereof. (Pail [0035] Referring to FIG. 3A, the platform 110 receives, at step 302, an upload of one or more files with designs for digital fabrication. The platform 110 can allow a designer to upload designs currently supported by the platform 110, as well as versions supported at a later stage through flexible file handling. [0042] As shown in FIG. 3I, the designer can preview a render of the design generated by the platform 110. The designer can interact with the preview shown in FIG. 3I, moving the design around or rotating the design to different angles, to select an appearance of the rendered design that will be displayed to customers in the marketplace. FIG. 3J shows that the platform 110 can render the design in all available materials and colors, which can be displayed in the marketplace to allow customers to view a customized product.) Since “upload designs currently supported by the platform” satisfies the “one or more existing constructs” limitation, and the claim only requires at least of the list, then the limitation has been satisfied. In addition, marked up illustrations are also taught by Pail in [0042], meeting at least two of the limitations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by adding impressions in the form of existing constructs, or marked up illustrations. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated by the benefit of allowing the visualization of the item to allow a user to perform personalization before manufacturing the object. (Pail [0040] The materials and colors can be selected from a set of available materials and colors for each technology by which the design can be produced. In some cases, the designer can also identify portions or other parameters of the design that can be personalized by the customer. For example, the designer can identify one or more surfaces of the design that can be fabricated using different textures and adding text and/or image overlays, and can specify textures available for the customer's selection.)
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Schmeling, Pail, and Weinberg teach or suggest The method of claim 4:
Furthermore, Schmeling teaches:
- wherein said budget comprises one or more monetary figures. (Schmeling [Col. 19 Line 64 – Col. 20 Line 3] By way of example and not limitation, the conditions or criteria about the order may include... price the customer is willing to pay for each item or for the quantity of items, [Col. 5 Lines 36-49] The platform may facilitate automated and appropriate payments to and/or from the various buyers, sellers, manufacturers, designers, shippers and/or other actors. In some example, the purchase price of an item may be calculated to cover any license and/or use fee(s) for the designer plus an appropriate margin, the materials and wear costs for the owner of a 3-D printer used in the manufacture, plus an appropriate margin, the actual shipping costs based on the individual item and final shipment location, as well as a margin paid to the platform for facilitating the transaction and any other required payments. These payments may be made in fiat currency, cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin, Ethereum, or other altcoins), tokens, credits, commodities, points, or any other store or transfer of value.)
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Schmeling, Pail, and Weinberg teach or suggest The method of claim 6:
However, Schmeling fails to teach:
-wherein said dimensions comprise a length, a width, and a height of said article of manufacture.
Alternatively, Pail teaches:
-wherein said dimensions comprise a length, a width, and a height of said article of manufacture. (Pail [0056] As shown in FIG. 4B, the manufacturer can register one or more 3D printing or laser cutting machines 132 to the platform 110. FIG. 4C illustrates an example form the manufacturer can fill out to register a 3D printer to the platform 110. As shown in FIG. 4C, the manufacturer provides information about manufacturing capabilities of the machine, such as the 3D printing technology used by the machine (e.g., SLS, SLA, MJF, or FDM), minimum and maximum object sizes the machine can print, feature resolution, or failure rate of the machine. ) Upon viewing Fig. 4C in the drawings, it is clear that the systems allows the user to input a maximum length, width, and height of the article of manufacture.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Schmeling by allowing the user to specify dimensions particularly in the form of a length, width, and height as taught by Pail. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform this combination as it would provide the benefit of ensuring that the item fits within the manufacturing capabilities of particular printers. (Pail [0057] FIG. 4D illustrates that the manufacturer can be required to print an example object from the platform 110 to demonstrate that the manufacturer is able to meet specified 3D printing parameters in a high complexity design.)
Regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
However, neither Schmeling nor Pail teach or suggest:
- further comprising executing said at least one machine- learning model to provide a sustainability recommendation and/or a value engineering recommendation.
However, Weinberg teaches:
- further comprising executing said at least one machine- learning model to provide a sustainability recommendation and/or a value engineering recommendation.(Weinberg [0044] Processor 132 can apply machine learning techniques such as reinforcement learning to optimize against a cost value—either an incurred cost or a budgeted cost. Because an incurred cost cannot be determined until an action is taken, processor 132 can apply inference methods (e.g., expectation of value, deep Q-learning, or other techniques) to a budgeted cost model to optimize a recommendation provided to a user of client device 120. [0065] In some implementations, processor 132 can provide a recommendation that requires the least amount of change from the current physical attributes of the physical items that the user of client device 120 provides. For example, if the user of client device 120 provided input indicating they wished to have purple, square mugs with curved handles produced, and processor 132 has determined that purple, round mugs with square handles have been performing better with customers of digital platform 130 than the mug as indicated by the user, processor 132 can provide a recommendation to the user to make a physical change to the mugs to provide square handles, as the user has indicated that the shape of the handles is easier to change than the shape of mug itself) The broadest reasonable interpretation of “value engineering” based on the term of the art is any method used to improve the value of a product without sacrificing function or quality, but improving value or reducing cost. [0065] provides an example of a recommendation made to a user that increases value without increasing cost. The limitation only requires either sustainability recommendations or value engineering recommendations, therefore, the limitation is satisfied.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to further modify the teachings of Schmeling by adding Weinberg’s value engineering recommendations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide this combination as it would yield the benefit of minimizing the total cost of collaboration and thus increasing the profitability of specific items. (Weinberg [0044] Processor 132 can analyze a cost function and use the results to make marketing suggestions to a user of client device 120. For example, processor 132 can apply a negative cost function, such that each time an action is taken, a cost is incurred, and processor 132 can minimize the total cost of collaboration with a manufacturer to produce an item and distribution of the item for the requesting user. The actions can include, for example, providing separate instances of distribution content, providing separate targeted offers, etc.)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmeling (US 11716211 B2) in view of Pail (US 20200293024 A1), further in view of Behandish et al. (US 20220113689 A1) hereinafter Behandish.
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
However, neither Schmeling nor Pail teach or suggest:
- wherein said at least one machine-learning model includes at least one of an Artificial Intelligence Sherpa model, an Augmented Design model, or a Generative Design model.
Behandish discloses a specialized computing system with capabilities of additive and subtractive generative manufacturing generation that checks for necessary and sufficient conditions for manufacturability and feasibility, with cost estimation. Behandish teaches:
- wherein said at least one machine-learning model includes at least one of an Artificial Intelligence Sherpa model, an Augmented Design model, or a Generative Design model.(Behandish [0048] In FIG. 1, a functional mechanical part (e.g., a bracket 100) is shown, for which using AM-only or SM-only processes would yield suboptimal results. AM is good for scaffolding a near-net shape that can be subsequently finished by SM, resulting in less material waste compared to traditional manufacturing in which the SM starts from a raw stock. AM is also great for generating complex structures and material layout obtained by generative design (e.g., shape, topology, and material optimization) algorithms. [0095] The most cost-effective, optimal, or near-optimal HM process plans may be found by various different combinatorial search, discrete/continuous-variable optimization, machine learning, or heuristic exploration techniques.) Since the limitation only requires one of the types of models, and Behandish teaches generative design, then the limitation is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to further modify Schmeling by adding Behandish’s teachings regarding Hybrid Manufacturing (HM) processes obtained by generative design algorithms. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine by the benefit of HM providing superior surface finishes, and providing the best of both additive and subtractive modalities. (Behandish [0048] AM is also great for generating complex structures and material layout obtained by generative design (e.g., shape, topology, and material optimization) algorithms. However, some AM processes have limited material options and need support structures. SM, on the other hand, provides superior surface finish that is important for functional features such as interfaces between parts in assemblies (e.g., the holes in this bracket). In spite of the precision and surface quality, SM is far more limited in generating complex shapes due to accessibility constraints and would be wasteful to start from a raw stock. HM offers the best of both worlds by combining AM and SM modalities in a single process plan.)
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmeling (US 11716211 B2) in view of Pail (US 20200293024 A1), further in view of Ning et al. (Ning et al, 2020, Manufacturing Cost Estimation Based on a Deep Learning Model, Journal of Manufacturing Systems (Year: 2020)) hereinafter Ning.
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
However, neither Schmeling nor Pail teach or suggest:
- wherein executing said at least one machine-learning model to generate said cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture includes pretraining said at least one machine-learning model using designs of three-dimensional structures and associated fabrication costs based on at least one thousand data points received through the electronic platform.
However, Ning discloses a manufacturing cost estimation CNN model based on training images. Ning teaches:
- wherein executing said at least one machine-learning model to generate said cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture(Ning [Pg. 188] In this study, a part manufacturing cost estimation was investigated through a deep-learning technology. The rest of this paper is constructed as follows. Firstly, CNN methods are reviewed in Section 2. Next, the generation of image data, voxel data, and a data enhancement method are shown Section 3. In Section 4, methods for training images and voxel data of the parts in a 2D CNN and a 3D CNN are presented. For a 2D CNN, the effect of freezing different convolution layers on the training network is studied by fine-tuning the network method. For a 3D CNN, the influence of training a CNN by different resolutions of the voxel data is investigated. In Section 5, cost estimation methods based on a 2D CNN and a 3D CNN are discussed, and their advantages and disadvantages are compared.)
- includes pretraining said at least one machine-learning model using designs of three-dimensional structures and(Ning [Page. 190, 3.2 Voxel Data] Voxelisation involves transforming the geometric representation of the model into the voxel representation closest to the model and generating voxel datasets. The voxel datasets not only contain the surface information of the model, they also describe the internal attributes of the model. The spatial voxels of the model are similar to the 2D pixels of the image, except that they are 3D cubic units rather than 2D points. [Page. 191 4. Experiments] The image files and voxel data were input into the 2D CNN and 3D CNN as training data for estimating the part manufacturing costs.)
- associated fabrication costs based on at least one thousand data points received through the electronic platform. (Ning [Page. 192] Mean absolute percentage error MAPE = 100%/n nSUMi=1 |(y^i – yi)/yi|Here, Y; represents the real price of the parts, and J1 indicates the predicted price of the trained model. [Page. 193] In addition, a larger training data volume yielded a smaller MAPE. When the number of training data reached 400,000, the MAPE of the model was 6.34 %.) As seen in the MAPE calculation, which includes the real price of the parts, and the training data greater than 400,000, then the limitation is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to further modify Schmeling by adding the specific model training steps as taught by Ning in regards to cost estimation for manufacturing using training data greater than a thousand, which includes the actual fabrication cost. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include this algorithm as it would provide the benefit of optimizing cost estimation using voxel data (3d data) over 2D data, because it provides more internal information and allows the model to learn all the features. (Ning [5. Conclusions] After training, with the improvement in the voxel resolution, the MAPE of the cost estimation of the parts obtained using the model was small. When the number of training data reached 400,000, the accuracy of part estimation of the 3D CNN model was higher than when 72,594 training data were applied. This method achieves an accurate part manufacturing cost estimation. Finally, a comparison of the two schemes presented in this paper revealed that the accuracy of the 2D CNN learning of the part images used to estimate the manufacturing cost was significantly lower than that of the 3D CNN learning using voxel data of the part. Because the images only contain 2D surface information of the parts and a lack internal information, 2D CNN cannot learn all feature information of the parts. Voxel data contain all types of feature information of the parts; thus, the features can be easily learned using a 3D CNN.)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmeling (US 11716211 B2) in view of Pail (US 20200293024 A1), further in view of Ning et al. (Ning et al, 2020, Manufacturing Cost Estimation Based on a Deep Learning Model, Journal of Manufacturing Systems (Year: 2020)), further in view of Jason Brownlee(NPL, Brownlee, How to Develop Convolutional Neural Networks for Multi-Step Time Series Forecasting, Machine Learning Mastery, 2019) hereinafter Brownlee.
Regarding Claim 20:
The combination of Schmeling and Pail teach or suggest The method of claim 1:
However, neither Schmeling nor Pail teach or suggest:
- wherein executing said at least one machine-learning model to generate said cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture has a root-mean-square error rate of less than 10%.
Alternatively, Ning teaches:
- wherein executing said at least one machine-learning model to generate said cost estimate for fabricating said article of manufacture has a (Mean Absolute Percentage Error) rate of less than 10%.(Ning [Page 192] To measure the accuracy, the mean absolute percentage error (MAPE) was adopted, which avoids the problem of a mutual cancellation of errors. Thus, it can accurately reflect the magnitude of the actual prediction errors, as shown in Fig. 14. The errors shown in the figure were calculated from the testing dataset. [Page 193] However, an increase in the voxel resolution made the data processing and 3D CNN network training more difficult. In addition, a larger training data volume yielded a smaller MAPE. When the number of training data reached 400,000, the MAPE of the model was 6.34 %. The model was less accurate when the amount of training data was 72,594.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to further modify Schmeling by adding the executing of a model with a less than 10% error, such as the model taught by Ning as it would provide the benefit of increasing the accuracy of cost estimation, and avoid the problem of mutual cancellation of error. (Ning [Page 192-193])
However, Ning fails to teach this that this error is:
-root mean square error
Alternatively, Brownlee discloses the use of CNN to forecast metering operations, with the suggestion to use RMSE over MAPE. Brownlee teaches: -root mean square error(Brownlee [Page 6 Evaluation Metric]The units of the total power are kilowatts and it would be useful to have an error metric that was also in the same units. Both Root Mean Squared Error (RMSE) and Mean Absolute Error (MAE) fit this bill, although RMSE is more commonly used and will be adopted in this tutorial. Unlike MAE, RMSE is more punishing of forecast errors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to further modify Schmeling by adding the use of root mean square error instead of MAPE as the performance metric. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use RMSE as it is more punishing of forecasting errors, thus leading to a more accurate model. (Brownlee [Page 6 Evaluation Metrics])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments over rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, the applicant asserts that claim 1 is clearly not directed to an abstract idea pursuant to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) in view of “executing said at least one machine-learning model to generate a cost estimate..., said at least one machine-learning model pretrained using said electronic platform.” The applicant alleges that the limitation above is not “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people,” however, in the present rejection the machine learning model and its training are additional elements that fall under “apply it.” However, the function itself, “generate a cost estimate” and “receiving a user input indicating that the cost estimate is acceptable,” fall squarely within “certain methods of organizing human activity” including “commercial or legal interactions” or “managing personal behavior.” Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because merely reciting the use of “machine learning” as a black box to carry out the abstract idea, is equivalent to “apply it” or mere instructions to perform the abstract idea on a general purpose computer. Since the claim merely recites the idea of the outcome or solution of using machine learning to generate a cost estimate, and training the machine learning model, it is equivalent to “apply it” because it lacks the specificity required to be more than “apply it.”
Furthermore, the applicant asserts that neither “executing said at least one-machine learning model to generate a cost estimate” nor “transmitting user input... through said electronic platform” is not a mental process. However, this argument does not lead to eligibility, because the present rejection does not rely on an assertion that the claims are reciting mental processes, because they are labeled as an abstract idea under “certain methods of organizing human activity.” The applicant does not present any further arguments under Step 2A Prong 2 or Step 2B, therefore, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. In view of dependent claim 18, the applicant asserts that “pretraining at least one machine-learning model based on at least one thousand data points received through the electronic platform” clearly cannot be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. However, this argument does not lend itself to eligibility because the present rejection does not rely on such an assertion. The use of a thousand data points to train the machine learning model still does not recite the amount specificity needed to be more than “apply it.” Furthermore, the claim does not recite enough detail to convince one of ordinary skill in the art that the claims are directed to an improvement to a particular technological environment. (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Therefore, claims 2-15 and 17-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding applicant’s arguments over rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the applicant asserts, that there is no teaching in Schmeling disclosing “executing... at least one machine-learning model to generate a cost estimate...” and that Schmeling does not discuss generating a cost estimate at all. However, this argument is not persuasive because in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Pail does teach an “AI pricing module” satisfies the “cost estimation” limitations when considered in combination with Schmeling’s trained machine learning models. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and claims 1-7, and 8-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for being obvious over the prior art.
The new claims 17-21 have been fully considered and are still rejected under both 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
-Beaver et al. (US 20210266352 A1) discloses generation customized products in collaboration with live designers and agents with algorithms to generate a designer match based on a database search using a machine learning model to find whose profiles meet the requirements set forth in the request from the customer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICO L PADUA/Junior Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626