DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim(s) 1-19 in the reply filed on 7/8/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 15 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12150627. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims are addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muse (US 20190328370 A1).
For claim(s) 1 and 15, Muse teaches A bone biopsy device, [100/400] comprising:
a handle housing; [472]
a powertrain assembly; [470]
a tissue sampling assembly [404] configured to be rotated about a longitudinal axis by the powertrain assembly;
a coax assembly [402] selectively couplable to the handle housing;
and a spacer [412, 422, 442] longitudinally disposed between the handle housing and the coax assembly and selectively coupleable to the handle housing and the coax assembly.
For claim 2, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 1,
wherein the tissue sampling assembly comprises:
an intermediate cannula [424] configured to cut a hole in a tissue;
an inner cannula [444] coaxially disposed within the intermediate cannula and configured to receive a tissue sample;
a trocar [414] coaxially disposed within the inner cannula;
and a trocar displacement member [proximal end of 412 per ¶224] coupled to the trocar and configured to longitudinally displace the trocar relative to the inner cannula.
For claim 3, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 2,
wherein the inner cannula comprises at least one slot extending through a wall of a distal portion, and wherein the at least one slot is configured to allow radial expansion of the distal portion. [¶129]
For claim 4, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 2,
wherein the tissue sampling assembly further comprises an inner cannula displacement member [442] operably coupled to the trocar displacement member, [via 449 in ¶243] and
wherein the inner cannula displacement member is configured to longitudinally displace the inner cannula relative to the intermediate cannula. [¶¶175-179]
For claim 6, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 2,
wherein the trocar displacement member comprises:
a guide track comprising a plurality of segments; [ribs/crenellations of 412 shown in Fig. 10A]
and a proximal recess and a distal recess for engagement with an inner cannula displacement member. [either one or more of 482]
For claim 7, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 6,
further comprising a track arm [484] coupleable to the guide track and configured to control longitudinal movement of the trocar. [¶¶186-187]
For claim 8, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 7,
wherein the plurality of segments of the guide track comprise:
a first segment;
a second segment;
a third segment;
and a fourth segment; [any four protrusions of crenellations in Fig. 10A]
wherein when the track arm is disposed in the first segment, the trocar is in a first extended position; wherein when the track arm is disposed in the second segment, the trocar is in a first retracted position; wherein when the track arm is disposed in the third segment, the trocar is in a second retracted position; and wherein when the track arm is disposed in the fourth segment, the trocar is in a second extended position. [the use of ‘when’ as a transitional term makes this limitation a conditional limitation; as such, Muse teaches the limitation because the hub 412 of Saporito is capable of operated / arranged to perform the conditional limitation under BRI; see MPEP § 2111.04]
For claim 9, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 2, further comprising an inner cannula displacement member,
wherein the trocar displacement member comprises a proximal recess and a distal recess configured to engage with the inner cannula displacement member, [either one or more of 482]
wherein the inner cannula displacement member distally displaces the inner cannula to an extended position when the inner cannula displacement member is engaged with the distal recess, and wherein the inner cannula displacement member proximally displaces the inner cannula to a retracted position when the inner cannula displacement member is engaged with the proximal recess. [the use of ‘when’ as a transitional term makes this limitation a conditional limitation; as such, Muse teaches the limitation because the hub 412 of Muse is capable of operated / arranged to perform the conditional limitation under BRI; see MPEP § 2111.04]
For claim 10, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 8, further comprising a slider comprising a proximally facing ramp,
wherein the track arm comprises a distally facing ramp, [shape of 484 which has a triangular detent tooth and thus a type of ramp under BRI] and
wherein the track arm is displaced from the first track segment to the second track segment when the slider is displaced proximally causing the proximally facing ramp to slidingly engage with the distally facing ramp. [the use of ‘when’ as a transitional term makes this limitation a conditional limitation; as such, Muse teaches the limitation because the hub 412 of Muse is capable of operated / arranged to perform the conditional limitation under BRI; see MPEP § 2111.04]
For claim 14, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 1,
wherein the coax assembly comprises:
a connector; [412]
and a coax cannula [424] coupled to the connector and comprising a trephine tip.
For claim(s) 18, Muse teaches The bone biopsy system of claim 15, further comprising a trocar assembly [402] comprising:
a handle [412] configured to be gripped by a user;
and a trocar [414] coupled to the handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims are addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muse in view of Faciszewski (US 20030083592 A1).
For claim(s) 5, Muse teaches
The trocar comprising a multi-faceted penetrating tip. [Fig. 15A]
Muse fails to teach the trocar comprising a groove to receive a guidewire.
Faciszewski teaches a biopsy trocar grooved to receive a guidewire. [¶42]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the trocar of Muse to incorporate the guidewire groove of Faciszewski in order to aid in proper placement of the device. As motivated by Faciszewski ¶42.
Claim(s) 11-13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muse in view of Vetter (US 20140180302 A1).
For claim 11, Muse teaches The bone biopsy device of claim 1,
wherein the powertrain assembly comprises a reusable component comprising:
a motor; [472]
a power source. [¶210]
For claim(s) 11-13 and 16-17, Muse fails to teach the powertrain assembly comprising a controller and a clutch.
Vetter teaches a biopsy device comprising a motor [31-32] and controller [11] housed together; [Fig. 14] the powertrain comprising a clutch [35] and driver assembly [Fig. 15] with a ramped sleeve [42] to rotate and displace the components of the device. [¶¶81-84]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the motor of Muse to incorporate the motor of Vetter in order to aid in effective sampling with minimal tissue disruption. As motivated by Vetter ¶99
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muse in view of Jamshidi (US 5807275 A).
For claim(s) 19, Muse fails to teach an aspiration device utilizing male and female luer fittings.
Jamshidi teaches a biopsy aspiration device utilizing male and female luer fittings. [col. 5 ll. 40-50]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Muse to incorporate the aspiration arrangement of Jamshidi in order to permit sample acquisition with minimal to no losses. As motivated by Jamshidi col. 1 ll. 35-50.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791