DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues Yi fails to teach MAC CE with multiple sets of parameters e.g. power control parameters that are applied to the component carrier with transmitting the repetitions.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes that Yi teaches repetitions. Specifying the MAC CE with parameters changes the scope of the invention. An updated search was a performed a new reference teaching the numbering of repetitions is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23, 31-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (“Yi”) (US 20210360616 A1) in view of Choi et al. (“Choi”) (US 20230189308 A1) and Deghel et al. (“Deghel”) (US 20220303966 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yi teaches:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively, configured to cause the UE [Figure 15A 1502 shows device] to: receive an indication of a configuration for frequency hopping across repetitions of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmitted via a plurality of component carriers [¶0347, Figure 29C, “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern, second uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2908), wherein resources shown in Figure 29A, ¶0335 for sending repetitions of PUCCH “The wireless device may send a transmission (e.g., a PUSCH transmission or a PUCCH transmission) via the first resource 2920 and the second resource 2924” see further ¶0348 Figure 29C 2954, “The uplink transmissions may correspond to repetition transmission of UCI”], wherein the plurality of component carriers includes at least a first component carrier and a second component carrier [¶0335, Figure 29A shows two carriers, configured as in ¶0347]; wherein the frequency hopping is performed based at least in part on a component carrier being configured with the frequency hopping [¶0347, Figure 29C, “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern,” thus the hopping pattern is configured on the carrier],
wherein the configuration indicates that a first quantity of the repetitions of the PUCCH are to be transmitted via the first component carrier and that a second quantity of the repetitions of the PUCCH are to be transmitted via the second component carrier [¶0266 “The base station 2404 may configure a first quantity of repetitions of the TB via the first uplink carrier 2428. The base station 2404 may configure a second quantity of repetitions of the TB via the second uplink carrier 2432. Again in ¶0302],
and transmit the repetitions of the PUCCH in accordance with the configuration [¶0348 “At step 2958, the wireless device may send uplink transmissions via the first uplink resources, the second uplink resources, the third uplink resources, and the fourth uplink resources. The uplink transmissions may correspond to repetition transmission of UCI.” See also ¶0335 Figure 29A, showing transmission on two carriers. “The wireless device may transmit a first transmission (e.g., a first PUSCH transmission or a first PUCCH transmission) via the first resource 2920 in a slot. The wireless device may transmit a second transmission (e.g., a second PUSCH transmission or a second PUCCH transmission) via the second resource 2924 in the slot. The first transmission may be a repetition of the second transmission”].
Yi teaches inter-carrier hopping for a first and second component carrier with frequency hopping configured however does not teach that an index may be configured for one of them.
Choi teaches a component carrier of multiple carriers that has a lowest component carrier index, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Figure 10, multiple UL component carriers, component carriers #0-2, thus including component carrier with lowest index.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a carrier of multiple carriers as having a lowest index. Yi teaches a first carrier of multiple carriers configured with frequency hopping. The claim does not specify how the index affects the frequency hopping, and it is not clearly recited if it is only the carrier with the lowest index that is configured with frequency hopping. The claim broadly recites that a carrier for which frequency hopping is configured is assigned an index that is lower than another carrier as “based at least in part on” can correspond to a carrier merely having a lowest index. It would have been obvious to specify that the carrier in Choi to allow for cross carrier scheduling ¶0136.
Yi teaches repetitions on an uplink but not that the repetitions are numbered.
Choi teaches wherein the first quantity of the repetitions are numbered using a range of values beginning at zero, and wherein respective frequency hop selections for respective repetitions in the first quantity of the repetitions are based on respective characteristics of respective values in the range of values [¶0452, Figure 34(A), shows repetitions across two sets of frequency resources including a first quantity of repetitions, numbered with range of values (0-3) beginning at zero, numbering based on even values in the range corresponding to characteristics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify numbering the repetitions. Yi teaches configuring quantities of repetitions and it would have been obvious to specify numbering the repetitions as in Choi who teaches ¶0368 this allows for high reliability and ¶0380 ensures diversity gain.
Yi-Choi teaches configuring a component carrier but not MAC CE.
Deghel teaches receive a media access control control element (MAC-CE) that activates two sets of communication parameters for one or more PUCCH resources of the first component carrier [¶0040, two sets of power control parameters via MAC CE for FR1]; and transmit the repetitions of the PUCCH in accordance with the configuration, wherein the first quantity of repetitions is communicated with the two sets of communication parameters [Figure 1, transmit on PUCCH FR1 ¶0039-40, using different power control parameters indicated via MAC CE].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify power control parameters for PUCCH transmission via MAC CE as in Deghel who teaches this allows for supporting PUCCH multi-TRP enhancements ¶0039.
Regarding claim 2, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the frequency hopping includes inter-slot frequency hopping across the repetitions of the PUCCH transmitted via the plurality of component carriers [Yi Figure 29A ¶0335 teaches inter-slot hopping for at least carrier 1 2904, as may be configured in ¶0347].
Regarding claim 3, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the frequency hopping includes inter-sub-slot frequency hopping across the repetitions of the PUCCH transmitted via the plurality of component carriers [ Yi Figure 29A ¶0335 teaches intra-sub-slot hopping for at least carrier 2 2908, as may be configured in ¶0347, which corresponds to inter-sub-slot].
Regarding claim 4, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches;
The UE of claim 1.
Yi-Han teaches repetitions on an uplink but not that the repetitions are numbered.
Choi teaches wherein the second quantity of the repetitions are numbered using a second range of values beginning at zero, and wherein second respective frequency hop selections for respective repetitions in the second quantity of the repetitions are based on respective characteristics of respective values in the second range of values [¶0452, Figure 31, 34(a), shows repetitions across two sets of frequency resources including a second quantity of repetitions, numbered with range of values beginning at zero (i.e. numbers 0-3), wherein repetitions are based on the values being odd corresponding to the characteristics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify numbering the repetitions. Yi teaches configuring quantities of repetitions and it would have been obvious to specify numbering the repetitions as in Choi who teaches ¶0368 this allows for high reliability and ¶0380 ensures diversity gain.
Regarding claim 5, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication indicates a first PUCCH resource of the first component carrier and a second PUCCH resource of the second component carrier [Yi ¶0347 Figure 29A and Figure 29C, “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern, second uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2908), and a second hopping pattern”], wherein a configuration of the first PUCCH resource or a format associated with the first PUCCH resource indicates whether to perform frequency hopping across the first quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347, first resource and hopping pattern indicated for first carrier via RRC], and wherein a configuration of the second PUCCH resource or a format associated with the second PUCCH resource indicates whether to perform frequency hopping across the second quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347, second resource and hopping pattern indicated for second carrier].
Regarding claim 6, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication indicates a PUCCH resource of the first component carrier, wherein a configuration of the PUCCH resource indicates a first frequency hop and a second frequency hop for performing frequency hopping across the first quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347 configuration parameters indicates first carrier (first frequency), second carriers, and hopping pattern for first and second carrier thus corresponding to frequency hop for first component carrier], and wherein even numbered repetitions of the first quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the first frequency hop and odd numbered repetitions of the first quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the second frequency hop [Yi ¶0240, even hops in even slots and second hops in odd slots, shown again in ¶0244].
Regarding claim 7, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication indicates a PUCCH resource of the second component carrier, wherein a configuration of the PUCCH resource indicates a first frequency hop and a second frequency hop for performing frequency hopping across the second quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347 configuration information indicating second hopping pattern being intra-slot hopping via second carrier as second hopping pattern applies to second uplink resources 2908 in Figure 29A, and thus including first and second hops in 2924, the hops in second carrier corresponding to second quantity], and wherein even numbered repetitions of the second quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the first frequency hop and odd numbered repetitions of the second quantity of the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted in the second frequency hop [Yi ¶0240, even hops in even slots and second hops in odd slots, shown again in ¶0244].
Regarding claim 8, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Yi ¶0335 “the base station may configure inter-slot hopping pattern for the first uplink carrier 2904, and intra-slot hopping pattern for the second uplink carrier 2908” wherein for repetitions see ¶0347-348 “uplink transmissions may correspond to repetition transmission of UCI”], and wherein even repetitions of the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted in a first frequency hop and odd numbered repetitions of the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted in a second frequency hop [Yi ¶0240, even hops in even slots and second hops in odd slots, shown again in ¶0244].
Regarding claim 9, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 8, wherein a location of the first frequency hop depends on whether a first repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier [YI Figure 29B, first repetition in first carrier at position shown by 2920 thus corresponding to “depends on whether a first repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier”], and wherein a location of the second frequency hop depends on whether a second repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier [Yi Figure 29B, second repetition 2924 in second carrier and in a location within second carrier thus corresponding to “depends on whether a second repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier”].
Regarding claim 10, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the indication indicates a first PUCCH resource associated with the first component carrier and a second PUCCH resource associated with the second component carrier [Yi ¶0347 “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern, second uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2908), and a second hopping pattern”], and wherein the configuration indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier based at least in part on: a configuration of the first PUCCH resource or a format associated with the first PUCCH resource, and a configuration of the second PUCCH resource or a format associated with the second PUCCH resource [Yi ¶0335 configuration for both carriers indicates sending repetitions across hopping patterns for both carriers, “The configuration parameters may indicate/comprise a first hopping pattern applied for the first resource 2920 of the first uplink carrier. The configuration parameters may indicate/comprise a second hopping pattern applied for the second resource 2924 of the second uplink carrier 2908. As shown in FIG. 29A, the base station may configure inter-slot hopping pattern for the first uplink carrier 2904, and intra-slot hopping pattern for the second uplink carrier 2908” and ¶0348 wherein transmissions are repetitions of UCI, thus the configuration indicates hopping based in part on a configuration of the first PUCCH resource and a configuration of the second PUCCH resource].
Regarding claim 11, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 10, wherein the indication indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier based at least in part on one or more of: the configuration of the first PUCCH resource or the format associated with the first PUCCH resource indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Yi ¶0316 RRC with configuration for first PUCCH indicating repetitions indicating inter-carrier hopping], or the configuration of the second PUCCH resource or the format associated with the second PUCCH resource indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier.
Regarding claim 12, Yi-Choi-Deghel i teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier when a configuration of a PUCCH resource of the first component carrier or a format associated with the PUCCH resource of the component carrier indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Yi ¶0328 indicate inter-carrier hopping].
Yi teaches inter-carrier hopping for a first and second component carrier wherein the first may be considered a reference carrier however this is not expressly taught.
Han teaches multiple carriers wherein one of the first component carrier or the second component carrier corresponds to a reference component carrier [page 26-28 “In this case, the uplink reference carrier may be defined as an uplink component carrier having the lowest index among the uplink component carriers” thus one uplink carrier denoted as the reference for the other carriers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the first carrier is a reference carrier as in Han who teaches this as part of conventional multicarrier techniques which allow for providing a bandwidth greater than the normally supported bandwidths, see “By using to support a bandwidth greater than 20MHz. Alternatively, a new bandwidth can be defined to support carrier aggregation regardless of the bandwidth used by the existing system.”
Regarding claim 13, Yi-Choi-Deghel i teaches:
The UE of claim 12, wherein the first component carrier corresponds to the reference component carrier when a component carrier index associated with the first component carrier is lower than a component carrier index associated with the second component carrier [See Han page 26-28, “In this case, the uplink reference carrier may be defined as an uplink component carrier having the lowest index among the uplink component carriers” see rationale for combination as in claim 1].
Regarding claim 14, Yi teaches:
A network node for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to [Figure 15A 1504]: transmit an indication of a configuration for frequency hopping across repetitions of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmitted via a plurality of component carriers [¶0347, Figure 29C, “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern, second uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2908), wherein resources shown in Figure 29A, ¶0335 for sending repetitions of PUCCH “The wireless device may send a transmission (e.g., a PUSCH transmission or a PUCCH transmission) via the first resource 2920 and the second resource 2924” see further ¶0348 Figure 29C 2954, “The uplink transmissions may correspond to repetition transmission of UC”], wherein the plurality of component carriers includes at least a first component carrier and a second component carrier [¶0335, Figure 29A shows two carriers, configured as in ¶0347]; wherein the frequency hopping is performed based at least in part on a component carrier being configured with the frequency hopping [¶0347, Figure 29C, “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern,” thus the hopping pattern is configured on the carrier]
wherein the configuration indicates that a first quantity of the repetitions of the PUCCH are to be transmitted via the first component carrier and that a second quantity of the repetitions of the PUCCH are to be transmitted via the second component carrier [¶0266 “The base station 2404 may configure a first quantity of repetitions of the TB via the first uplink carrier 2428. The base station 2404 may configure a second quantity of repetitions of the TB via the second uplink carrier 2432. Again in ¶0302],
and receive the repetitions of the PUCCH in accordance with the configuration [¶0348 “At step 2958, the wireless device may send uplink transmissions via the first uplink resources, the second uplink resources, the third uplink resources, and the fourth uplink resources. The uplink transmissions may correspond to repetition transmission of UCI.” See also ¶0335 Figure 29A, showing transmission on two carriers. “The wireless device may transmit a first transmission (e.g., a first PUSCH transmission or a first PUCCH transmission) via the first resource 2920 in a slot. The wireless device may transmit a second transmission (e.g., a second PUSCH transmission or a second PUCCH transmission) via the second resource 2924 in the slot. The first transmission may be a repetition of the second transmission”].
Yi teaches inter-carrier hopping for a first and second component carrier with frequency hopping configured however does not teach that an index may be configured for one of them.
Choi teaches a component carrier of multiple carriers that has a lowest component carrier index, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Figure 10, multiple UL component carriers, component carriers #0-2, thus including component carrier with lowest index.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a carrier of multiple carriers as having a lowest index. Yi teaches a first carrier of multiple carriers configured with frequency hopping. The claim does not specify how the index affects the frequency hopping, and it is not clearly recited if it is only the carrier with the lowest index that is configured with frequency hopping. The claim broadly recites that a carrier for which frequency hopping is configured is assigned an index that is lower than another carrier as “based at least in part on” can correspond to a carrier merely having a lowest index. It would have been obvious to specify that the carrier in Choi to allow for cross carrier scheduling ¶0136.
Yi teaches repetitions on an uplink but not that the repetitions are numbered.
Choi teaches wherein the first quantity of the repetitions are numbered using a range of values beginning at zero, and wherein respective frequency hop selections for respective repetitions in the first quantity of the repetitions are based on respective characteristics of respective values in the range of values [¶0452, Figure 34(A), shows repetitions across two sets of frequency resources including a first quantity of repetitions, numbered with range of values (0-3) beginning at zero, numbering based on even values in the range corresponding to characteristics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify numbering the repetitions. Yi teaches configuring quantities of repetitions and it would have been obvious to specify numbering the repetitions as in Choi who teaches ¶0368 this allows for high reliability and ¶0380 ensures diversity gain.
Yi-Choi teaches configuring a component carrier but not MAC CE.
Deghel teaches receive a media access control control element (MAC-CE) that activates two sets of communication parameters for one or more PUCCH resources of the first component carrier [¶0040, two sets of power control parameters via MAC CE for FR1]; and transmit the repetitions of the PUCCH in accordance with the configuration, wherein the first quantity of repetitions is communicated with the two sets of communication parameters [Figure 1, transmit on PUCCH FR1 ¶0039-40, using different power control parameters indicated via MAC CE].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify power control parameters for PUCCH transmission via MAC CE as in Deghel who teaches this allows for supporting PUCCH multi-TRP enhancements ¶0039.
Regarding claim 15, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 14.
Yi-Han teaches repetitions on an uplink but not that the repetitions are numbered.
Choi teaches wherein the second quantity of the repetitions are numbered using a second range of values beginning at zero, and wherein second respective frequency hop selections for respective repetitions in the second quantity of the repetitions are based on respective characteristics of respective values in the second range of values [¶0452, Figure 34, shows repetitions across two sets of frequency resources including a second quantity of repetitions, numbered with range of values beginning at zero (i.e. numbers 0-3), wherein repetitions are based on the values being odd corresponding to the characteristics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify numbering the repetitions. Yi teaches configuring quantities of repetitions and it would have been obvious to specify numbering the repetitions as in Choi who teaches ¶0368 this allows for high reliability and ¶0380 ensures diversity gain.
Regarding claim 16, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 14, wherein the indication indicates a first PUCCH resource of the first component carrier and a second PUCCH resource of the second component carrier [Yi ¶0347 Figure 29A and Figure 29C, “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern, second uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2908), and a second hopping pattern”], wherein a configuration of the first PUCCH resource or a format associated with the first PUCCH resource indicates whether to perform frequency hopping across the first quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347, first resource and hopping pattern indicated for first carrier], and wherein a configuration of the second PUCCH resource or a format associated with the second PUCCH resource indicates whether to perform frequency hopping across the second quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347, second resource and hopping pattern indicated for second carrier 2908 in Figure 29A].
Regarding claim 17, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 14, wherein the indication indicates a PUCCH resource of the first component carrier, wherein a configuration of the PUCCH resource indicates a first frequency hop and a second frequency hop for performing frequency hopping across the first quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347 configuration parameters indicates first carrier (first frequency), second carriers, and hopping pattern for first and second carrier thus corresponding to frequency hop for first component carrier], and wherein even numbered repetitions of the first quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the first frequency hop and odd numbered repetitions of the first quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the second frequency hop [Yi ¶0240, even hops in even slots and second hops in odd slots, shown again in ¶0244].
Regarding claim 18, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 14, wherein the indication indicates a PUCCH resource of the second component carrier, wherein a configuration of the PUCCH resource indicates a first frequency hop and a second frequency hop for performing frequency hopping across the second quantity of the repetitions [Yi ¶0347 configuration information indicating second hopping pattern being intra-slot hopping via second carrier as second hopping pattern applies to second uplink resources 2908 in Figure 29A, and thus including first and second hops in 2924], and wherein even numbered repetitions of t the first quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the first frequency hop and odd numbered repetitions of the first quantity of the repetitions are transmitted in the second frequency hop [Yi ¶0240, even hops in even slots and second hops in odd slots, shown again in ¶0244].
Regarding claim 19, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 14, wherein the configuration indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Yi ¶0335 “the base station may configure inter-slot hopping pattern for the first uplink carrier 2904, and intra-slot hopping pattern for the second uplink carrier 2908” wherein for repetitions see ¶0347-348 “uplink transmissions may correspond to repetition transmission of UCI”], and wherein even repetitions of the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted in a first frequency hop and odd numbered repetitions of the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted in a second frequency hop [ Yi ¶0240, even hops in even slots and second hops in odd slots, shown again in ¶0244].
Regarding claim 20, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 19, wherein a location of the first frequency hop depends on whether a first repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier [Yi Figure 29B, first repetition 2920 in first carrier thus corresponding to “depends on whether a first repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier”], and wherein a location of the second frequency hop depends on whether a second repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier [Yi Figure 29B, second repetition 2924 in second carrier and in a location within second carrier thus corresponding to “depends on whether a second repetition of the repetitions of the PUCCH is transmitted via the first component carrier or the second component carrier”].
Regarding claim 21, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 19, wherein the indication indicates a first PUCCH resource associated with the first component carrier and a second PUCCH resource associated with the second component carrier [Yi ¶0347 “The configuration parameters may indicate first uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2920), a first hopping pattern, second uplink resources (e.g., uplink resources 2908), and a second hopping pattern” corresponding to first and second PUCCH resource], and wherein the configuration indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier based at least in part on: a configuration of the first PUCCH resource or a format associated with the first PUCCH resource, and a configuration of the second PUCCH resource or a format associated with the second PUCCH resource [Yi ¶0335 configuration for both carriers indicates sending repetitions across hopping patterns for both carriers, “The configuration parameters may indicate/comprise a first hopping pattern applied for the first resource 2920 of the first uplink carrier. The configuration parameters may indicate/comprise a second hopping pattern applied for the second resource 2924 of the second uplink carrier 2908. As shown in FIG. 29A, the base station may configure inter-slot hopping pattern for the first uplink carrier 2904, and intra-slot hopping pattern for the second uplink carrier 2908” and ¶0348 wherein transmissions are repetitions of UCI].
Regarding claim 22, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 21, wherein the indication indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier based at least in part on one or more of: the configuration of the first PUCCH resource or the format associated with the first PUCCH resource indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier [Yi ¶0316 RRC with configuration for first PUCCH indicating repetitions indicating inter-carrier hopping], or the configuration of the second PUCCH resource or the format associated with the second PUCCH resource indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier.
Regarding claim 23, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The network node of claim 21, wherein the configuration indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier when a configuration of a PUCCH resource of the first component carrier or a format associated with the PUCCH resource of the component carrier indicates that the repetitions of the PUCCH are transmitted with frequency hopping across the repetitions in the first component carrier and the second component carrier [ ¶0328 indicate inter-carrier hopping].
Yi teaches inter-carrier hopping for a first and second component carrier wherein the first may be considered a reference carrier however this is not expressly taught.
Han teaches multiple carriers wherein one of the first component carrier or the second component carrier corresponds to a reference component carrier [page 26-28 “In this case, the uplink reference carrier may be defined as an uplink component carrier having the lowest index among the uplink component carriers” thus one uplink carrier denoted as the reference for the other carriers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the first carrier is a reference carrier as in Han who teaches this as part of conventional multicarrier techniques which allow for providing a bandwidth greater than the normally supported bandwidths, see “By using to support a bandwidth greater than 20MHz. Alternatively, a new bandwidth can be defined to support carrier aggregation regardless of the bandwidth used by the existing system.”
Regarding claim 31, see similar rejection for claim 1 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding functions.
Regarding claim 32, see similar rejection for claim 2 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding functions.
Regarding claim 33, see similar rejection for claim 3 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding functions.
Regarding claim 34, see similar rejection for claim 14 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding functions.
Regarding claim 35, see similar rejection for claim 14 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding functions.
Regarding claim 36, see similar rejection for claim 15 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding functions.
Regarding claim 37, Yi-Choi-Deghel teaches:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the two sets of communication parameters comprise two sets of spatial relation information, two uplink beams, or two sets of power control parameters [Deghel ¶0040 power control parameters two sets see rationale for combination claim 1].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478