DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 6, 13-14, 16-19, 22-23, 29, 32, 37, 40, 44 (specifically, dietary supplement or food), 47, and 61, corresponding to Group I, in the reply filed on 5/8/2024 is acknowledged.
Therefore, claims 2-5, 7-12, 15, 20, 21, 24-28, 30, 31, 33-36, 38, 39, 41-43, 45, 46, 48-60, 62 and 63 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Therefore, the restriction/election is hereby made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 14, 22, 23, 29, 32, 40, 44, 47, 61, and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by CA 2001898.
CA teaches that chebulinic acid is used to treat HIV, see pages 1, 5, 8, 10, 24, and the claims. Clearly a therapeutically effective amount of the chebulinic acid is used since it is used to effectively treat HIV. Note that the chebulinic acid is isolated since on page 10 it is made very clear that the tannin samples were isolated from the plant materials and chebulinic acid is a tannin, see table 1, where it is also disclosed that chebulinic acid inhibits HIV at 94%. The activities of claims 32 and 65 are inherent since the chebulinic acid is used as claimed. See tablets (eternal) on page 20. Clearly someone who has SARS will inherently have the claimed symptoms. Note that fatigue is a symptom that reads on anyone since we ALL get tired and clearly SARS patients get tired and fatigued.
The claims do not require the “subject” to have SARS or MERS only the symptoms which are the same as in HIV thus the claims are met.
Claims 1, 13, 14, 22, 23, 29, 32, 40, 44, 47, 61, and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by CN 101057953.
CN teaches that Terminalia chebula (which inherently contains chebulinic acid) is used to treat SARS, see pages 2, 3, and the claims. Clearly a therapeutically effective amount of the chebulinic acid is used since it is used to effectively treat SARS. Note that the chebulinic acid is isolated since it is extracted. The activities of claims 32 and 65 are inherent since the chebulinic acid is used as claimed. See “topical preparation”. Clearly someone who has SARS will inherently have the claimed symptoms. Note that fatigue is a symptom that reads on anyone since we ALL get tired and clearly SARS patients get tired and fatigued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13-14, 17, 18, 22-23, 29, 32, 40, 44, 47, 61 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2001898 in view of JP 01-313433 and IN 195060.
CA teaches that chebulinic acid is used to treat HIV, see pages 1, 5, 8, 10, 24, and the claims. Clearly a therapeutically effective amount of the chebulinic acid is used since it is used to effectively treat HIV. Note that the chebulinic acid is isolated since on page 10 it is made very clear that the tannin samples were isolated from the plant materials and chebulinic acid is a tannin, see table 1, where it is also disclosed that chebulinic acid inhibits HIV at 94%. The activities of claims 32 and 65 are inherent since the chebulinic acid is used as claimed. See tablets (eternal) on page 20. Clearly someone who has SARS will inherently have the claimed symptoms. Note that fatigue is a symptom that reads on anyone since we ALL get tired and clearly SARS patients get tired and fatigued.
The claims do not require the “subject” to have SARS or MERS only the symptoms which are the same as in HIV thus the claims are met.
CA does not teach embilica or fucus.
JP teaches that fucus is known in the prior art to be used to treat HIV, see entire reference, especially the abstract, the examples.
IN teaches that Terminalia chebula and Embilica officinalis are both used to treat HIV, see entire reference, especially, the abstract, pages 2, 3, the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the instant ingredients for their known benefit since each is well known in the art for the same purpose and for the following reasons: In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton."). The Supreme Court thus implicitly endorsed the principle, stated in In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted), that: It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to use a Terminalia chebula (chebulinic acid), Fucus (extract) and Embilica (extract) in the same composition since they were each individually known in the prior art to be used for the same purpose, namely to treat HIV.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
To purify the “isolated compound” (in the event applicant does not feel that the reference teaches 80 %-which is NOT being admitted) further from the Terminalia chebula is obvious as stated above and to purify the compound to the claimed amounts is clearly obvious since the compounds are clearly result effective variables and through routine optimization it clearly would have been obvious to use such amounts in an effort to optimize the desired results.
In the event it is seen by applicants that the chebulinic acid was not isolated from chebula extract (which is NOT being admitted) then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to isolate chebulinic acid from a chebula extract, since IN teaches using both emblica and terminalia chebula in the same composition and clearly these are result effective variables as shown by table 1, see claim 1 of IN.
The claims do not require the “subject” to have SARS or MERS only the symptoms which are the same as in HIV thus the claims are met.
Claims 1, 13-14, 17, 18, 22-23, 29, 32, 40, 44, 47, 61 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 101057953 in view of Alam et al. (herein cited) and WO 2020/186258.
CN teaches that Terminalia chebula (which inherently contains chebulinic acid) is used to treat SARS, see pages 2, 3, and the claims. Clearly a therapeutically effective amount of the chebulinic acid is used since it is used to effectively treat SARS. Note that the chebulinic acid is isolated since it is extracted. The activities of claims 32 and 65 are inherent since the chebulinic acid is used as claimed. See “topical preparation”. Clearly someone who has SARS will inherently have the claimed symptoms. Note that fatigue is a symptom that reads on anyone since we ALL get tired and clearly SARS patients get tired and fatigued.
CN does not teach embilica or fucus.
Alam teaches that fucus is known in the prior art to be used to treat SARS, see entire reference, especially the abstract, the examples.
WO teaches that Indian gooseberry (embilica) is known to be used to treat SARS, see entire reference, especially, the abstract, pages 7-8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the instant ingredients for their known benefit since each is well known in the art for the same purpose and for the following reasons: In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton."). The Supreme Court thus implicitly endorsed the principle, stated in In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted), that: It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition which is to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to use a Terminalia chebula (chebulinic acid), Fucus (extract) and Embilica (extract) in the same composition since they were each individually known in the prior art to be used for the same purpose, namely to treat SARS.
MPEP 2144.05, subsection II.
II. ROUTINE OPTIMIZATION
A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").
B. There Must Be an Articulated Rationale Supporting the Rejection
In order to properly support a rejection on the basis that an invention is the result of "routine optimization", the examiner must make findings of relevant facts, and present the underpinning reasoning in sufficient detail. The articulated rationale must include an explanation of why it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention and why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range. See In re Stepan, 868 F.3d 1342, 1346, 123 USPQ2d 1838, 1841 (Fed. Cir. 2017). See also In re Van Os, 844 F.3d 1359,1361,121 USPQ2d 1209, 1211 (Fed. Cir. 2017 ("Absent some articulated rationale, a finding that a combination of prior art would have been ‘common sense’ or ‘intuitive’ is no different than merely stating the combination ‘would have been obvious.’"); Arendi S.A.R.L. v. Apple Inc., 832 F.3d 1355, 1362, 119 USPQ2d 1822 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[R]eferences to ‘common sense’ … cannot be used as a wholesale substitute for reasoned analysis and evidentiary support … .").
The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. However, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" was a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. 550 U.S. at 421 ("The same constricted analysis led the Court of Appeals to conclude, in error, that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was ‘[o]bvious to try.’ ... When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103."). Thus, after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.
To purify the “isolated compound” (in the event applicant does not feel that the reference teaches 80 %-which is NOT being admitted) further from the Terminalia chebula is obvious as stated above and to purify the compound to the claimed amounts is clearly obvious since the compounds are clearly result effective variables and through routine optimization it clearly would have been obvious to use such amounts in an effort to optimize the desired results.
In the event it is seen by applicants that the chebulinic acid was not isolated from chebula extract (which is NOT being admitted) then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to isolate chebulinic acid from the chebula extract since chebulinic acid is the active component in chebula and clearly these are result effective variables.
MICHAEL V. MELLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1655
/MICHAEL V MELLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655