DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (2014/0070474) in view of Kibler (3,878,921) and Black (2,325,362).
Regarding Claim 1, Gray teaches A clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) applicable to a tyre of a vehicle wheel (Ref. 205, Fig. 2a, [0027]) and comprising:
a body (Ref. 220, Fig. 2E, [0027]) including a plurality of arms (Ref. 225a-c, Fig. 2E, [0027]) extending radially from a central axis (Ref. C, Fig. 2C) and angularly distributed about the central axis (Fig. 2B&2E);
a plurality of sliders (Ref. 260, Fig. 2E, [0033]), each slidably coupled to a respective arm to move radially between a retracted position (Fig. 2B, [0033] describes the sliders are slidably positioned and locked in multiple positions), where it is at a first distance (Fig. 2b shows a retracted position where the arms are fully enclosed) from the central axis, and an extracted position (Fig. 2A shows an extended state around the tire), where it is at a second distance from the central axis (Fig. 2A), greater than the first distance, each slider including a side abutment surface (Ref. 230, Fig. 2A, [0027]) configured to abut against a tread of the tire (Fig. 2A, [0027]);
a maneuvering member (Ref. 246, Fig. 2D, [0028]) movably connected to the clamp body (Fig. 2D-E, [0028]);
a plurality of connecting levers (Ref. 248, Fig. 2D, [0028]), each connecting lever having a first end (Ref. 248a, Fig. 2D, [0029]) that is articulated to the maneuvering member (Fig. 2D, [0029]) and a second end (Ref. 248b, Fig. 2D, [0029]) that is articulated to a corresponding slider of the plurality of sliders (Fig. 2D, [0029]) to allow the sliders to move simultaneously so that a movement of the maneuvering member in a first direction corresponds to a movement of the sliders towards the retracted position and a movement of the maneuvering member in a second rotation direction, opposite to the first direction, corresponds to a movement of the sliders towards the extracted position ([0029] describes the levers transferring movements to the extendable arms from one position to another);
wherein the maneuvering member is rotatably connected to the clamp body to rotate solely about the central axis (Fig. 2B-D, [0028] describes the maneuvering member rotatably mounted about a central axis (A)), and
wherein the maneuvering member includes a disc (Ref. 246, Fig. 2 shows a disc), the disc having a peripheral portion (Fig. 2D, Ref. 246 the outer edge of the disk) extending along an arc (Fig. 2D), wherein the clamp (200) comprises an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to the clamp body at one of the arms thereof (Fig. 1, examiner notes connected to the clamp body at one of the arms is interpreted as near one of the arms).
Gray teaches a handgrip (Ref. 250, Fig. 2C, [0035]) wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([0029]) by rotating the maneuvering member clockwise or counterclockwise (fig. 2D). Gray fails to explicitly teach wherein the handgrip comprises a rod having a first end, integral with the maneuvering member so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element. Black teaches a clamp for a tire with a maneuvering member and arms and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Black further teaches a handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) integral with the maneuvering member (Fig. 1-3), wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lines 17-22] describes gripping the handgrip to move the maneuvering member (disc) directly);
wherein the handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) comprises a rod (Fig. 1 shows a rod) having a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below), integral with the maneuvering member (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) and the rod form a rigid element (Fig. 1), and a second end (See annotated Fig. 1 below) that extends outwardly from the maneuvering member, away from the central axis (Fig. 1&2 shows the rod extending away from the central axis). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handgrip and maneuvering member, as taught by Gray, with the handgrip comprising a rod and to be integral with the maneuvering member, as taught by Black, to simplify the structure of the rotating maneuvering member for ease of manufacturing and since such a limitation is merely an alternate equivalent structure to rotate a maneuvering member and to yield the predictable result of rotating the maneuvering member.
Gray as modified further teaches a locking device (Ref. 247, Fig. 2D, [0028&0033], Gray) but fails to explicitly teach a locking device comprises a braking element which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice, wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element. Kibler teaches a maneuvering member with a locking device that is activated by an actuation member and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to apply a locking device to stop the rotation of the maneuvering member (disc). Kibler further teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2) that is movable between a locked position ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), where it acts on the maneuvering member (Ref. 33, Fig. 2) to prevent it from moving in the second rotation direction ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), and an unlocked position (Fig. 2), where it allows the maneuvering member to move in the first and second rotation directions ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving with the rear of wheel in any direction when not being engaged by the locking device);
wherein the locking device (20) comprises a braking element (Ref. 60&64) which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice (Ref. 20, Fig. 2, [Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation and would be capable of applying a locking pressure), wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element (Fig. 2 shows the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the locking device with a braking element configured to apply pressure on the disc, as taught by Kibler, to achieve the predictable result of preventing rotation of the maneuvering member.
Regarding Claim 3, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Black further teaches wherein the handgrip (27) is disposed eccentrically relative to the central axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Gray further teaches wherein the additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B) positioned in a plane containing one of the arms and the central axis (See annotated Fig. 2B below).
Regarding Claim 10, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Kibler further teaches an actuating mechanism (Ref. 37&39, fig. 1, [Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device), connected to the locking device and operable by the user to move the locking device between the locked position and the unlocked position (Fig. 1-2, [Col. 2, Line 10-25]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the actuator on a handle, as taught by Kibler, to allow the locking device to be easily activated by the user when placed on a handle and ensure the locking device is only activated when required by the user.
Regarding Claim 11, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and Gray further teaches an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to clamp body (Fig. 2B). Given the teachings of the locking device and actuator, Kibler further teaches wherein the actuating mechanism includes a control member (ref. 39, Fig. 1) that is operable manually by the user operatively holding the additional handgrip ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device via the control member (39)).
Regarding Claim 12, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Gray further teaches a level (Ref. 270, Fig. 2C, [0035]), associated with the clamp body and configured to indicate the slope of the clamp body relative to a reference plane ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 13, Gray teaches A method for applying a clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) to a vehicle wheel (Ref. 205, Fig. 2a, [0027]), the method comprising the following steps:
preparing a clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) comprising:
a clamp body (Ref. 220, Fig. 2E, [0027]) including a plurality of arms (Ref. 225a-c, Fig. 2E, [0027]) disposed radially around a central axis (Ref. C, Fig. 2C);
a plurality of sliders (Ref. 260, Fig. 2E, [0033]) slidably coupled to the arms to move radially between a retracted position(Fig. 2B, [0033] describes the sliders are slidably positioned and locked in multiple positions), where they are proximal to the central axis (Fig. 2A-C), and an extracted position (Fig. 2A shows an extended state around the tire), where they are distal from the central axis (Fig. 2A);
a maneuvering member (Ref. 246, Fig. 2D, [0028]) connected to the sliders by a plurality of connecting levers (Ref. 248, Fig. 2D, [0028]) and movably connected to the clamp body (Fig. 2D-E, [0028]) to move in a first direction to bring the sliders towards the retracted position and in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, to bring the sliders towards the extracted position ([0029] describes the levers transferring movements to the extendable arms from one position to another), wherein the maneuvering member includes a disc (Ref. 246, Fig. 2 shows a disc), the disc having a peripheral portion (Fig. 2D, Ref. 246 the outer edge of the disk) extending along an arc (Fig. 2D),
wherein the clamp (200) comprises an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to the clamp body at one of the arms thereof (Fig. 1, examiner notes connected to the clamp body at one of the arms is interpreted as near one of the arms),
the maneuvering member (246) being rotatably connected to the clamp body to rotate solely about the central axis (Fig. 2B-D, [0028] describes the maneuvering member rotatably mounted about a central axis (A)).
Gray teaches a handgrip (Ref. 250, Fig. 2C, [0035]) wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([0029]) by rotating the maneuvering member clockwise or counterclockwise (fig. 2D). Gray fails to explicitly teach wherein the handgrip comprises a rod having a first end, integral with the maneuvering member so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element. Black teaches a clamp for a tire with a maneuvering member and arms and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Black further teaches a handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) which is integral with the maneuvering member (Fig. 1-3) and which can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member around the central axis ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lines 17-22] describes gripping the handgrip to move the maneuvering member (disc) directly);
the handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) comprises a rod (Fig. 1 shows a rod) having a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below), integral with the maneuvering member (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) and the rod form a rigid element (Fig. 1), and a second end (See annotated Fig. 1 below) that extending away from the central axis (Fig. 1&2 shows the rod extending away from the central axis);
directly moving the maneuvering member in the second direction by using the handgrip, to move the sliders towards the extracted position, with the locking device at the unlocked position ([Pg. 2 , Col. 2, Line17-20] describes allowing the arms to be moved outward when moved counter clockwise);
moving the clamp close to the vehicle wheel so that each slider, with a corresponding side abutment surface, abuts up against a part of the tread of the tire (Fig. 2A); and
actuating the maneuvering member in the first direction, using the handgrip, in order to move the sliders simultaneously towards the retracted position ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Line 32-36] describes moving the lever in a clockwise direction to actuate the maneuvering member to a retracted position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handgrip and maneuvering member, as taught by Gray, with the handgrip comprising a rod and to be integral with the maneuvering member, as taught by Black, to simplify the structure of the rotating maneuvering member for ease of manufacturing and since such a limitation is merely an alternate equivalent structure to rotate a maneuvering member and to yield the predictable result of rotating the maneuvering member.
Gray as modified further teaches a locking device (Ref. 247, Fig. 2D, [0028&0033], Gray) but fails to explicitly teach a locking device that is movable between a locked position where it acts on the maneuvering member to prevent it from moving in a second direction and an unlocked position, where it allows the locking device comprises a braking element which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice, wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element. Kibler teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2), movable between a locked position ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), where it prevents the maneuvering member (Ref. 33, Fig. 2) from rotating in the second rotation direction ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), and an unlocked position (Fig. 2), wherein the locking device comprises a braking element (Ref. 60&64, Fig. 2) which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice (Ref. 20, Fig. 2, [Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation and would be capable of applying a locking pressure), wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element (Fig. 2 shows the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element),
moving the locking device from the unlocked position to the locked position ([Col. 3, Line 7-15] describes the braking elements applying pressure on the maneuvering member like a vice to stop disc rotation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the locking device with a braking element configured to apply pressure on the disc, as taught by Kibler, to achieve the predictable result of preventing rotation of the maneuvering member.
Regarding Claim 17, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and Kibler further teaches wherein moving the locking device between the unlocked position (Fig. 2) and the locked position is accomplished by acting on an actuating mechanism (Ref. 37&39, fig. 1) that is connected to the locking device ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the actuator on a handle, as taught by Kibler, to allow the locking device to be easily activated by the user when placed on a handle and ensure the locking device is only activated when required by the user.
Regarding Claim 18, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and Gray further teaches a second handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B). Kibler further teaches wherein the actuating mechanism is controlled by a control member (ref. 39, Fig. 1) which is activated manually by the user with the hand that is operatively holding the additional handgrip ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device via the control member (39))
Regarding Claim 19, Gray teaches A clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) applicable to a tire of a vehicle wheel (Ref. 205, Fig. 2a, [0027]) and comprising:
a body (Ref. 220, Fig. 2E, [0027]) including a plurality of arms (Ref. 225a-c, Fig. 2E, [0027]) extending radially from a central axis (Ref. C, Fig. 2C) and angularly distributed about the central axis (Fig. 2C);
a plurality of sliders (Ref. 260, Fig. 2E, [0033]), each slidably coupled to a respective arm to move radially between a retracted position (Fig. 2B, [0033] describes the sliders are slidably positioned and locked in multiple positions), where it is at a first distance (Fig. 2b shows a retracted position where the arms are fully enclosed) from the central axis (Fig. 2B), and an extracted position (Fig. 2A shows an extended state around the tire), where it is at a second distance (Fig. 2, [0037] teaches the sliders can extend and retract at different distances) from the central axis (Fig. 2), greater than the first distance, each slider including a side abutment surface (Ref. 230, Fig. 2A, [0027]), configured to abut against a tread of the tire (Fig. 2A, [0027]);
a maneuvering member (Ref. 246, Fig. 2D, [0028]) movably connected to the clamp body (Fig. 2D-E, [0028]);
a mechanism (Ref. 248, Fig. 2D, [0033]) configured to connect the plurality of sliders to the maneuvering member (Fig. 2D, [0033]), so that the sliders move simultaneously towards the retracted position, responsive to a movement of the maneuvering member in a first direction ([0033] describes rotating the maneuvering member in either a clockwise or counterclockwise direction), and move simultaneously towards the extracted position, responsive to a movement of the maneuvering member in a second rotation direction ([0033] describes rotating the maneuvering member in either a clockwise or counterclockwise direction), opposite to the first direction ([0033] describes the levers transferring movements to the extendable arms from one position to another); wherein the maneuvering member is rotatably connected to the clamp body to rotate solely about the central axis (Fig. 2B-D, [0028] describes the maneuvering member rotatably mounted about a central axis (A)), and
wherein the maneuvering member includes a disc (Ref. 246, Fig. 2 shows a disc), the disc having a peripheral portion (Fig. 2D, Ref. 246 the outer edge of the disk) extending along an arc (Fig. 2D), and
wherein the clamp (200) comprises an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to the clamp body at one of the arms thereof (Fig. 1, examiner notes connected to the clamp body at one of the arms is interpreted as near one of the arms).
Gray teaches a handgrip (Ref. 250, Fig. 2C, [0035]) wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([0029]) by rotating the maneuvering member clockwise or counterclockwise (fig. 2D). Gray fails to explicitly teach wherein the handgrip comprises a rod having a first end, integral with the maneuvering member so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element. Black teaches a clamp for a tire with a maneuvering member and arms and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Black further teaches a handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1), wherein the handgrip includes a rod (Fig. 1 shows a rod having a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below), integral with the maneuvering member (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element (Fig. 1), and a second end that extends outwardly from the maneuvering member, away from the central axis (Fig. 1&2 shows the rod extending away from the central axis), wherein the handgrip is grippable by a user at the second end to rotate the maneuvering member ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lines 17-22] describes gripping the handgrip to move the maneuvering member (disc) directly). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handgrip and maneuvering member, as taught by Gray, with the handgrip comprising a rod and to be integral with the maneuvering member, as taught by Black, to simplify the structure of the rotating maneuvering member for ease of manufacturing and since such a limitation is merely an alternate equivalent structure to rotate a maneuvering member and to yield the predictable result of rotating the maneuvering member.
Gray as modified further teaches a locking device (Ref. 247, Fig. 2D, [0028&0033], Gray) but fails to explicitly teach a locking device comprises a braking element which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice, wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element. Kibler teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2) comprises a braking element (Ref. 60&64, Fig. 2) which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice (Ref. 20, Fig. 2, [Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation and would be capable of applying a locking pressure), wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element (Fig. 2 shows the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the locking device with the slit so that the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit, as taught by Kibler, to achieve the predictable result of preventing rotation of the maneuvering member.
Regarding Claim 20, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19, as described above, and Gray further teaches an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to clamp body ([0039] describes the handle can be formed on the clamp body). Black further teaches wherein the handgrip describes an angle of rotation less than 90° about the additional handgrip (Fig. 1 shows the handgrip is capable of moving an angle of rotation less than 90 degrees about the handgrip), so that, when the sliders are at the extracted position, the handgrip is inclined by a first angle less than 900 relative to the additional handgrip ([Pg. 2 , Col. 2, Line17-20] describes allowing the arms to be moved outward when moved counter clockwise in an extraction position), and, when the sliders are in the retracted position, the handgrip is inclined to the additional handgrip by a second angle, different from the first angle (examiner notes, Fig. 1 shows the maneuvering member would be capable of moving to one angle relative to the second handgrip when rotated both clockwise and counterclockwise, [Pg. 2, Col. 2, Line 32-36] describes moving the lever in a clockwise direction to actuate the maneuvering member to a retracted position). Kibler further teaches wherein the actuating mechanism (Ref. 37&39, fig. 1, [Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device) includes a control member (ref. 39, Fig. 1) that is operable manually by the user operatively holding the additional handgrip ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device via the control member (39)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the actuator on a handle, as taught by Kibler, to allow the locking device to be easily activated by the user when placed on a handle and ensure the locking device is only activated when required by the user.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray (2014/0070474) in view of Kibler (3,878,921) and Black (2,325,362).
Regarding Claim 1, Gray teaches A clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) applicable to a tyre of a vehicle wheel (Ref. 205, Fig. 2a, [0027]) and comprising:
a body (Ref. 220, Fig. 2E, [0027]) including a plurality of arms (Ref. 225a-c, Fig. 2E, [0027]) extending radially from a central axis (Ref. C, Fig. 2C) and angularly distributed about the central axis (Fig. 2B&2E);
a plurality of sliders (Ref. 260, Fig. 2E, [0033]), each slidably coupled to a respective arm to move radially between a retracted position (Fig. 2B, [0033] describes the sliders are slidably positioned and locked in multiple positions), where it is at a first distance (Fig. 2b shows a retracted position where the arms are fully enclosed) from the central axis, and an extracted position (Fig. 2A shows an extended state around the tire), where it is at a second distance from the central axis (Fig. 2A), greater than the first distance, each slider including a side abutment surface (Ref. 230, Fig. 2A, [0027]) configured to abut against a tread of the tire (Fig. 2A, [0027]);
a maneuvering member (Ref. 246, Fig. 2D, [0028]) movably connected to the clamp body (Fig. 2D-E, [0028]);
a plurality of connecting levers (Ref. 248, Fig. 2D, [0028]), each connecting lever having a first end (Ref. 248a, Fig. 2D, [0029]) that is articulated to the maneuvering member (Fig. 2D, [0029]) and a second end (Ref. 248b, Fig. 2D, [0029]) that is articulated to a corresponding slider of the plurality of sliders (Fig. 2D, [0029]) to allow the sliders to move simultaneously so that a movement of the maneuvering member in a first direction corresponds to a movement of the sliders towards the retracted position and a movement of the maneuvering member in a second rotation direction, opposite to the first direction, corresponds to a movement of the sliders towards the extracted position ([0029] describes the levers transferring movements to the extendable arms from one position to another);
wherein the maneuvering member is rotatably connected to the clamp body to rotate solely about the central axis (Fig. 2B-D, [0028] describes the maneuvering member rotatably mounted about a central axis (A)), and
wherein the maneuvering member includes a disc (Ref. 246, Fig. 2 shows a disc), the disc having a peripheral portion (Fig. 2D, Ref. 246 the outer edge of the disk) extending along an arc (Fig. 2D).
Gray teaches a handgrip (Ref. 250, Fig. 2C, [0035]) wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([0029]) by rotating the maneuvering member clockwise or counterclockwise (fig. 2D). Gray fails to explicitly teach wherein the handgrip comprises a rod having a first end, integral with the maneuvering member so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element. Black teaches a clamp for a tire with a maneuvering member and arms and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Black further teaches a handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) integral with the maneuvering member (Fig. 1-3), wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lines 17-22] describes gripping the handgrip to move the maneuvering member (disc) directly);
wherein the handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) comprises a rod (Fig. 1 shows a rod) having a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below), integral with the maneuvering member (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) and the rod form a rigid element (Fig. 1), and a second end (See annotated Fig. 1 below) that extends outwardly from the maneuvering member, away from the central axis (Fig. 1&2 shows the rod extending away from the central axis). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handgrip and maneuvering member, as taught by Gray, with the handgrip comprising a rod and to be integral with the maneuvering member, as taught by Black, to simplify the structure of the rotating maneuvering member for ease of manufacturing and since such a limitation is merely an alternate equivalent structure to rotate a maneuvering member and to yield the predictable result of rotating the maneuvering member.
Gray as modified further teaches a locking device (Ref. 247, Fig. 2D, [0028&0033])) but fails to explicitly teach a locking device that is movable between a locked position where it acts on the maneuvering member to prevent it from moving in a second direction and an unlocked position where it allows the maneuvering member to move in the first and second rotation direction and the locking device defines a slit. Kibler teaches a maneuvering member with a locking device that is activated by an actuation member and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to apply a locking device to stop the rotation of the maneuvering member (disc). Kibler further teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2) that is movable between a locked position ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), where it acts on the maneuvering member (Ref. 33, Fig. 2) to prevent it from moving in the second rotation direction ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), and an unlocked position (Fig. 2), where it allows the maneuvering member to move in the first and second rotation directions ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving with the rear of wheel in any direction when not being engaged by the locking device);
wherein the locking device defines a slit (Fig. 2 shows a slot where the disc can sit), the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit (Fig. 1-2, [Col. 2, Line, 7-9]), so that, upon acting in the handgrip, the disc is rotated about the central axis (Ref. 30, Fig. 1) and the peripheral portion of the disc slides within the slit of the locking device ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving freely within the slot and would be capable of rotating within the slot of the locking device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the locking device with the slit so that the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit, as taught by Kibler, to the maneuvering member, as taught by Gray as modified, to allow for stronger locking power and resistance against accidental release of the clamping device.
Regarding Claim 3, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Black further teaches wherein the handgrip (27) is disposed eccentrically relative to the central axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Gray further teaches an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to the clamp body and positioned in a plane containing one of the arms and the central axis (See annotated Fig. 2B below).
Regarding Claim 10, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Kibler further teaches an actuating mechanism (Ref. 37&39, fig. 1, [Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device), connected to the locking device and operable by the user to move the locking device between the locked position and the unlocked position (Fig. 1-2, [Col. 2, Line 10-25]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the actuator on a handle, as taught by Kibler, to allow the locking device to be easily activated by the user when placed on a handle and ensure the locking device is only activated when required by the user.
Regarding Claim 11, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and Gray further teaches an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to clamp body (Fig. 2B). Given the teachings of the locking device and actuator, Kibler further teaches wherein the actuating mechanism includes a control member (ref. 39, Fig. 1) that is operable manually by the user operatively holding the additional handgrip ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device via the control member (39)).
Regarding Claim 12, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and Gray further teaches a level (Ref. 270, Fig. 2C, [0035]), associated with the clamp body and configured to indicate the slope of the clamp body relative to a reference plane ([0035]).
Regarding Claim 13, Gray teaches A method for applying a clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) to a vehicle wheel (Ref. 205, Fig. 2a, [0027]), the method comprising the following steps:
preparing a clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) comprising:
a clamp body (Ref. 220, Fig. 2E, [0027]) including a plurality of arms (Ref. 225a-c, Fig. 2E, [0027]) disposed radially around a central axis (Ref. C, Fig. 2C);
a plurality of sliders (Ref. 260, Fig. 2E, [0033]) slidably coupled to the arms to move radially between a retracted position(Fig. 2B, [0033] describes the sliders are slidably positioned and locked in multiple positions), where they are proximal to the central axis (Fig. 2A-C), and an extracted position (Fig. 2A shows an extended state around the tire), where they are distal from the central axis (Fig. 2A);
a maneuvering member (Ref. 246, Fig. 2D, [0028]) connected to the sliders by a plurality of connecting levers (Ref. 248, Fig. 2D, [0028]) and movably connected to the clamp body (Fig. 2D-E, [0028]) to move in a first direction to bring the sliders towards the retracted position and in a second direction, opposite to the first direction, to bring the sliders towards the extracted position ([0029] describes the levers transferring movements to the extendable arms from one position to another), wherein the maneuvering member includes a disc (Ref. 246, Fig. 2 shows a disc), the disc having a peripheral portion (Fig. 2D, Ref. 246 the outer edge of the disk) extending along an arc (Fig. 2D),
the maneuvering member (246) being rotatably connected to the clamp body to rotate solely about the central axis (Fig. 2B-D, [0028] describes the maneuvering member rotatably mounted about a central axis (A)).
Gray teaches a handgrip (Ref. 250, Fig. 2C, [0035]) wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([0029]) by rotating the maneuvering member clockwise or counterclockwise (fig. 2D). Gray fails to explicitly teach wherein the handgrip comprises a rod having a first end, integral with the maneuvering member so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element. Black teaches a clamp for a tire with a maneuvering member and arms and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Black further teaches a handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) which is integral with the maneuvering member (Fig. 1-3) and which can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member around the central axis ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lines 17-22] describes gripping the handgrip to move the maneuvering member (disc) directly);
the handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1) comprises a rod (Fig. 1 shows a rod) having a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below), integral with the maneuvering member (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) and the rod form a rigid element (Fig. 1), and a second end (See annotated Fig. 1 below) that extending away from the central axis (Fig. 1&2 shows the rod extending away from the central axis);
directly moving the maneuvering member in the second direction by using the handgrip, to move the sliders towards the extracted position, with the locking device at the unlocked position ([Pg. 2 , Col. 2, Line17-20] describes allowing the arms to be moved outward when moved counter clockwise);
moving the clamp close to the vehicle wheel so that each slider, with a corresponding side abutment surface, abuts up against a part of the tread of the tire (Fig. 2A); and
actuating the maneuvering member in the first direction, using the handgrip, in order to move the sliders simultaneously towards the retracted position ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Line 32-36] describes moving the lever in a clockwise direction to actuate the maneuvering member to a retracted position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handgrip and maneuvering member, as taught by Gray, with the handgrip comprising a rod and to be integral with the maneuvering member, as taught by Black, to simplify the structure of the rotating maneuvering member for ease of manufacturing and since such a limitation is merely an alternate equivalent structure to rotate a maneuvering member and to yield the predictable result of rotating the maneuvering member.
Gray as modified further teaches a locking device (Ref. 247, Fig. 2D, [0028&0033])) but fails to explicitly teach a locking device that is movable between a locked position where it acts on the maneuvering member to prevent it from moving in a second direction and an unlocked position where it allows the maneuvering member to move in the first and second rotation direction and the locking device defines a slit. Kibler teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2), movable between a locked position ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), where it prevents the maneuvering member (Ref. 33, Fig. 2) from rotating in the second rotation direction ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), and an unlocked position (Fig. 2), where it allows the maneuvering member to rotate in the first and second rotation directions ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving with the rear of wheel in any direction when not being engaged by the locking device), wherein the locking device defines a slit (Fig. 2 shows a slot where the disc can sit), the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit (Fig. 1-2, [Col. 2, Line, 7-9]);
moving the locking device from the unlocked position to the locked position ([Col. 3, Line 7-15] describes the braking elements applying pressure on the maneuvering member like a vice to stop disc rotation), wherein, when the handgrip of the maneuvering member is actuated, the disc is rotated about the central axis and the peripheral portion of the disc slides within the slit of the locking device ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving freely within the slot and would be capable of rotating within the slot of the locking device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the locking device with the slit so that the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit, as taught by Kibler, to the maneuvering member, as taught by Gray as modified, to allow for stronger locking power and resistance against accidental release of the clamping device.
Regarding Claim 17, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and Kibler further teaches wherein moving the locking device between the unlocked position (Fig. 2) and the locked position is accomplished by acting on an actuating mechanism (Ref. 37&39, fig. 1) that is connected to the locking device ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the actuator on a handle, as taught by Kibler, to allow the locking device to be easily activated by the user when placed on a handle and ensure the locking device is only activated when required by the user.
Regarding Claim 18, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and Gray further teaches a second handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B). Kibler further teaches wherein the actuating mechanism is controlled by a control member (ref. 39, Fig. 1) which is activated manually by the user with the hand that is operatively holding a handgrip connected to the clamp body ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device via the control member (39))
Regarding Claim 19, Gray teaches A clamp (Ref. 200, Fig. 2A, [0033]) applicable to a tire of a vehicle wheel (Ref. 205, Fig. 2a, [0027]) and comprising:
a body (Ref. 220, Fig. 2E, [0027]) including a plurality of arms (Ref. 225a-c, Fig. 2E, [0027]) extending radially from a central axis (Ref. C, Fig. 2C) and angularly distributed about the central axis (Fig. 2C);
a plurality of sliders (Ref. 260, Fig. 2E, [0033]), each slidably coupled to a respective arm to move radially between a retracted position (Fig. 2B, [0033] describes the sliders are slidably positioned and locked in multiple positions), where it is at a first distance (Fig. 2b shows a retracted position where the arms are fully enclosed) from the central axis (Fig. 2B), and an extracted position (Fig. 2A shows an extended state around the tire), where it is at a second distance (Fig. 2, [0037] teaches the sliders can extend and retract at different distances) from the central axis (Fig. 2), greater than the first distance, each slider including a side abutment surface (Ref. 230, Fig. 2A, [0027]), configured to abut against a tread of the tire (Fig. 2A, [0027]);
a maneuvering member (Ref. 246, Fig. 2D, [0028]) movably connected to the clamp body (Fig. 2D-E, [0028]);
a mechanism (Ref. 248, Fig. 2D, [0033]) configured to connect the plurality of sliders to the maneuvering member (Fig. 2D, [0033]), so that the sliders move simultaneously towards the retracted position, responsive to a movement of the maneuvering member in a first direction ([0033] describes rotating the maneuvering member in either a clockwise or counterclockwise direction), and move simultaneously towards the extracted position, responsive to a movement of the maneuvering member in a second rotation direction ([0033] describes rotating the maneuvering member in either a clockwise or counterclockwise direction), opposite to the first direction ([0033] describes the levers transferring movements to the extendable arms from one position to another); wherein the maneuvering member is rotatably connected to the clamp body to rotate solely about the central axis (Fig. 2B-D, [0028] describes the maneuvering member rotatably mounted about a central axis (A)), and
wherein the maneuvering member includes a disc (Ref. 246, Fig. 2 shows a disc), the disc having a peripheral portion (Fig. 2D, Ref. 246 the outer edge of the disk) extending along an arc (Fig. 2D).
Gray teaches a handgrip (Ref. 250, Fig. 2C, [0035]) wherein the handgrip can be gripped by a user to move the maneuvering member directly ([0029]) by rotating the maneuvering member clockwise or counterclockwise (fig. 2D). Gray fails to explicitly teach wherein the handgrip comprises a rod having a first end, integral with the maneuvering member so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element. Black teaches a clamp for a tire with a maneuvering member and arms and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Black further teaches a handgrip (Ref. 27, Fig. 1), wherein the handgrip includes a rod (Fig. 1 shows a rod having a first end (See annotated Fig. 1 below), integral with the maneuvering member (Ref. 17, Fig. 1) so that the maneuvering member and the rod form a rigid element (Fig. 1), and a second end that extends outwardly from the maneuvering member, away from the central axis (Fig. 1&2 shows the rod extending away from the central axis), wherein the handgrip is grippable by a user at the second end to rotate the maneuvering member ([Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lines 17-22] describes gripping the handgrip to move the maneuvering member (disc) directly). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the handgrip and maneuvering member, as taught by Gray, with the handgrip comprising a rod and to be integral with the maneuvering member, as taught by Black, to simplify the structure of the rotating maneuvering member for ease of manufacturing and since such a limitation is merely an alternate equivalent structure to rotate a maneuvering member and to yield the predictable result of rotating the maneuvering member.
Gray as modified further teaches a locking device (Ref. 247, Fig. 2D, [0028&0033], Gray) but fails to explicitly teach a locking device that is movable between a locked position where it acts on the maneuvering member to prevent it from moving in a second direction and an unlocked position where it allows the maneuvering member to move in the first and second rotation direction and the locking device defines a slit. Kibler teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2), the locking device being movable between a locked position ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), where it acts on the maneuvering member (Ref. 33, Fig. 2) to prevent it from moving in the second rotation direction ([Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation), and an unlocked position (Fig. 2), where it allows the maneuvering member to move in the first and second rotation direction ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving with the rear of wheel in any direction when not being engaged by the locking device); and
wherein the locking device defines a slit (Fig. 2 shows a slot where the disc can sit), the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit (Fig. 1-2, [Col. 2, Line, 7-9]), so that, upon acting in the handgrip, the disc is rotated about the central axis (Ref. 30, Fig. 1) and the peripheral portion of the disc slides within the slit of the locking device ([Col. 2, Line, 7-9] describes the disc moving freely within the slot and would be capable of rotating within the slot of the locking device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the locking device with the slit so that the peripheral portion of the disc being slidingly arranged in the slit, as taught by Kibler, to the maneuvering member, as taught by Gray as modified, to allow for stronger locking power and resistance against accidental release of the clamping device.
Regarding Claim 20, Gray as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19, as described above, and Kibbler further teaches wherein the actuating mechanism (Ref. 37&39, fig. 1, [Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device) includes a control member (ref. 39, Fig. 1) that is operable manually by the user operatively holding the additional handgrip ([Col. 2, Line 17-25] describes an actuator on a handle to activate the locking device via the control member (39)). Black further teaches wherein the handgrip describes an angle of rotation less than 90° about the additional handgrip (Fig. 1 shows the handgrip is capable of moving an angle of rotation less than 90 degrees about the handgrip), so that, when the sliders are at the extracted position, the handgrip is inclined by a first angle less than 900 relative to the additional handgrip ([Pg. 2 , Col. 2, Line17-20] describes allowing the arms to be moved outward when moved counter clockwise in an extraction position), and, when the sliders are in the retracted position, the handgrip is inclined to the additional handgrip by a second angle, different from the first angle (examiner notes, Fig. 1 shows the maneuvering member would be capable of moving to one angle relative to the second handgrip when rotated both clockwise and counterclockwise, [Pg. 2, Col. 2, Line 32-36] describes moving the lever in a clockwise direction to actuate the maneuvering member to a retracted position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the locking device, as taught by Gray as modified, with the actuator on a handle, as taught by Kibler, to allow the locking device to be easily activated by the user when placed on a handle and ensure the locking device is only activated when required by the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claim are acknowledged and examiner has withdrawn the claim objections, drawing objections, and the 35 USC 112 rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 February, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s has amended Claims 1, 13, and 19 thereby changing the scope of the claim and necessitating a new grounds of rejection. Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach the amended language has been fully considered however, examiner has applied Grey and Kibler to the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Kibler teaches a locking device (Ref. 20, Fig. 2), the locking device (20) comprises a braking element (Ref. 60&64) which, at the locked position, is configured to apply a locking pressure on the disc of the maneuvering member by means of a vice (Ref. 20, Fig. 2, [Col. 2, Line 55-56] describes moving into engagement with the disc locking the disc rotation and would be capable of applying a locking pressure), wherein a sector of the peripheral portion of the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element (Fig. 2 shows the disc is operatively inserted in the braking element). If applicant intended for the additional handgrip to operate the braking element of the locking device such a limitation is not required by claims. Further Grey teaches an additional wherein the clamp (200) comprises an additional handgrip (Ref. 265, Fig. 2B), connected to the clamp body at one of the arms thereof (Fig. 1, examiner notes connected to the clamp body at one of the arms is interpreted as near one of the arms). If applicant intended for the additional handgrip to be directly connected to one of the arms such a limitation is not required.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723