DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 17th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 states “the detent portion comprises at least one location that clicks”. It is unclear what the term “click” is meant to convey. Is the click an essential function or a byproduct of the detent mechanism, furthermore what constitutes a “click”, e.g., decibel level, or a mechanical interaction. Applicant is encouraged to ensure the claim language aligns with the intended invention as described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 16, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cannan (US 2005/0061014).
Regarding claim 1, Cannan teaches a texture material dispensing system (fig. 3) comprising:
a container assembly comprising a container (20, fig. 3) and a valve assembly (valve stem 74, fig. 3);
an actuator assembly comprising a trigger actuator (actuator tab 36, fig. 4B) pivotably attached (par. 0035) to an actuator housing (actuator cap 30, fig. 4A); and
an outlet assembly comprising a flexible (hose 60 is a “conventional” discharge hose, Cannan Claim 1. One skilled in the art would know this is typically a flexible material hose) tube (body 60, fig. 3) fluidically connected to the trigger actuator (fig. 4B shows fluid passage from orifice 33, through valve stem 74, which is actuated by tab 36) and an adjustable (hose 60 is a hose that is adjustable in any direction to facilitate connection, as shown in fig. 1) outlet opening (38, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, fig. 3) comprising an orifice (opening 39, fig. 3), wherein the adjustable outlet opening is adjustable between a position that is aligned substantially parallel to a container assembly axis and a position that is aligned substantially non-parallel to a container assembly axis (hose 60 is a “conventional” discharge hose, typically a flexible material).
Regarding claim 3, Cannan discloses depression of the trigger actuator causes the trigger actuator to engage the valve assembly to alter the valve assembly from a closed configuration to an open configuration (when 36 is pressed, valve stem 74 is actuated to release contents of canister 20, par. 0038).
Regarding claim 4, Cannan discloses the trigger actuator comprises a spring (spring, par. 0033) to assist the trigger actuator in returning to a non-use position after depression of the trigger actuator (a spring assists stem 74 to return to non-actuated position, after releasing of tab 36).
Regarding claim 8, Cannan discloses the texture material dispensing system is configured for dispensing an aerosol (actuator cap 30 is capable of fitting onto any conventional aerosol type canister, par. 0043) comprising a texture material (refrigerant which has a texture and is a material, abs.).
Regarding claim 16, Cannan teaches a moveable lock (lock hook 42, fig. 4B) configured to prevent actuation of the trigger and/or movement of the adjustable outlet opening (the engaging hook 44 engages the lock hook 42 to lock the actuator tab 36 in place, par. 0040).
Regarding claim 17, Cannan teaches a texture material dispensing system (fig. 3) comprising:
a container assembly comprising a container (20, fig. 3) and a valve assembly (valve stem 74, fig. 3);
an actuator assembly comprising a trigger actuator (actuator tab 36, fig. 4B) pivotably attached (par. 0035) to an actuator housing (actuator cap 30, fig. 4A); and
an outlet assembly comprising a flexible (hose 60 is a “conventional” discharge hose, Cannan- Claim 1. One skilled in the art would know this is typically a flexible material) tube (body 60, fig. 3) fluidically connected to the trigger actuator (fig. 4B shows fluid passage from orifice 33, through valve stem 74, which is actuated by tab 36) and an adjustable (hose 60 is a hose that is adjustable in any direction to facilitate connection, as shown in fig. 1) outlet opening (38, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, fig. 3) comprising an orifice (opening 39, fig. 3), wherein the adjustable outlet opening is adjustable between a position that is aligned substantially parallel to a container assembly axis and a position that is aligned substantially non-parallel to a container assembly axis (hose 60 is a “conventional” discharge hose, typically rubber and capable of 360 degree flexibility);
the method comprising using the texture material dispensing system (fig. 3) for dispensing a texture material (refrigerant, which has a texture and is a material, abs.) onto a target surface (the ref. is capable of dispensing on a surface).
Regarding claim 18, Cannan teaches the target surface is a surface selected from the group consisting of a horizontal surface, a vertical surface, an angled surface, and combinations thereof (the ref. is capable of dispensing on any surface due to the hose 60, fig. 3, being able to articulate in any direction [hose 60 is a “conventional” discharge hose, Cannan Claim 1. One skilled in the art would know this is typically a flexible material] and the contents of the can under pressure, par. 0033).
Regarding claim 19, Cannan discloses the target surface is a ceiling, a wall, or a floor (the ref. is capable of dispensing on a ceiling, a wall, or a floor as it comprises a flexible hose [hose 60 is a “conventional” discharge hose, Cannan Claim 1. One skilled in the art would know this is typically a flexible material] and the contents of the can under pressure, par. 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannan (US 2005/0061014) in view of Stern et al. (US 6,883,688) and Smith (US 2021/0053745).
Regarding claim 2, Cannan fails to disclose the outlet assembly snaps onto the actuator assembly.
However, Stern et al. teaches the outlet assembly (member 1024, fig. 52) snaps (snaps into place, col. 27, line 50-51) onto the actuator assembly (member 1028, fig. 52).
Cannan teaches an outlet assembly comprising a threaded fitting 64 which screws onto threaded projection 38. Stern et al. teaches an outlet assembly comprising member 1028 and member 1024 which snap together. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have the motivation to substitute the snap fitting members of Stern et al. for the threaded outlet of Cannan by combining the elements as claimed by known methods (snap-fit) with no change in their respective functions because it would have the predictable result of providing a fluid connection.
Cannan also fails to disclose the actuator assembly snaps onto the container assembly.
However, Smith teaches the actuator assembly (cap 20, fig. 2) snaps (par. 0021) onto the container assembly (cap 20 snaps onto lip of container 6, par. 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have the motivation to modify the actuator assembly of Cannan by making it snap-fit as taught by Smith because the snap fit mechanic automatically retains pressurized liquid to prevent backflow of pressurized liquid from the tube, par. 0022.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannan (US 2005/0061014 ) in view of Starzman et al. (US 2019/0077580).
Regarding claim 5, Cannan discloses disclose the adjustable outlet opening is a pivotable outlet opening (hose 60 pivots about outlet pivot 64. 64 is fixed in place while 61 is free to articulate. Threaded fitting 64 engages the threaded projection 38, par. 0041).
Cannan fails to disclose that the outlet pivot is within the actuator housing.
However, Starzman et al. teaches the outlet pivot is within the actuator housing (Starzman et al.- fig. 1 shows 22 that pivots about axle members 26 which are contained within shroud A).
To provide the pivotable outlet of Cannan within the actuator housing would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Starzman et al., since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, i.e., one skill in the art would have recognized that the pivotable opening used in Starzman et al. would allow the pivotable opening of Cannan to be within the actuator housing, for example, to contain the rotatable components.
Regarding claim 6, Cannan modified by Starzman et al. fails teaches the outlet pivot comprises a detent portion (Starzman et al.- rectangular stop members 30, fig. 1) to hold the pivotable outlet opening at a desired angle (Starzman et al.- rectangular stop members 30 are received in channels 32, when outlet port 36 is extended either downward, as shown in fig. 1 or at 90 degrees, as shown in fig. 6, the channels 32 prevent the rectangular stop members 30 from articulating beyond the desired angles, as shown in fig. 1 and fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have the motivation to modify the outlet pivot of Cannan modified by Starzman et al. by adding a detent portion to hold the pivotable outlet opening at a desired angle as taught by Starzman et al. for the benefit of “protecting the locking member sections from being damaged”, par. 0087.
Regarding claim 7, Cannan modified by Starzman et al. discloses the detent portion (Starzman et al. – stop member 30, fig. 1) comprises at least one location that clicks (click as defined CLICK Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster, “to move through” [channels], stop members 30 click through channels 32) when the pivotable outlet opening is pivoted into the at least one location (as 20 is rotated stop members 30 click through channels 32).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannan (US 2005/0061014) in view of Stern et al. (US 6,883,688).
Regarding claim 9, Cannan fails to disclose an adjustable orifice that controls a flow rate of dispensed texture material.
However, Stern et al. teaches the orifice (nozzle passageway 130, fig. 20) is an adjustable orifice that controls a flow rate (rotation of outlet member 126, causes one of 3 orifices, 128a-c to be aligned with nozzle passageway center axis G. col. 12, line 13-28, describes 128a-c having different diameters, and therefore varying flow rate depending on which orifice is selected) of dispensed texture material (the ref. dispenses texture material, col. 6, line 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have the motivation to alter the orifice of Cannan by adapting lock member 28 and valve member 18 as taught by Stern et al. for the benefit of “setting a desired flow rate” (abs).
Regarding claim 10, Cannan discloses an orifice (opening 39, fig. 3) comprises a threaded outlet (threaded projection 38, fig. 3), screw cap (threaded fitting 64, fig. 3).
Cannan fails to disclose at least one deformable finger.
However, Stern et al. teaches at least one deformable finger (outlet member 1026, fig. 53, deforms as member 1028 is engaged into the threaded surface portion 1074).
The substitution of one known element (threaded outlet in Cannan) for another (deformable member as shown in Stern et al.) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the deformable member shown in Stern et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely, a deformable member in Stern et al. to securely attach the outlet.
Regarding claim 12, Cannan modified by Stern et al. teaches a cross-sectional area of the adjustable orifice is proportional to the tightness of the screw cap on the threaded outlet (Stern et al.- the effective cross section of the orifice is determined by deformation or squeezing of member 1026, which is proportional to the tightness of member 1028, col. 26, line 13).
Regarding claim 13, Cannan modified by Stern et al. discloses the adjustable orifice comprises a backstop (Stern et al.- annotated fig. 55) to prevent overtightening (Stern et al.- the backstop is capable of preventing overtightening) of the screw cap.
To provide the backstop to Cannan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Stern et al., since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, i.e., one skilled in the art would have recognized that the backstop used in Stern et al. would prevent the adjustment member of Cannan from over tightening, therefore preventing damage to the adjustment member.
Regarding claim 14, Cannan modified by Stern et al. discloses the adjustable orifice comprises a stop (Stern et al.- stop ring 1152, fig. 62) to prevent removal of the screw cap (to prevent the second and third outlet members 1138 and 1140 from sliding completely off the first outlet member 1136, col. 29, line 38-40) from the adjustable orifice.
To provide the stop to Cannan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Stern et al., since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, i.e., one skilled in the art would have recognized that the stop used in Stern et al. would prevent the adjustment member of Cannan from being removed.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannan (US 2005/0061014) in view of Stern et al. (US 6,883,688) further in view of Snell (US 5,040,705).
Regarding claim 11, Cannan modified by Stern et al. fails to disclose the flow rate of dispensed texture material is proportional to the tightness of the screw cap on the threaded outlet.
However, Snell teaches “the flow rate of material dispensed is a function of the height of the flow control member [18, fig. 9]” (col. 1, lines 24-28) and “If the flow control member is rotated to a location relatively higher on the stem of the valve the flow rate is increased” (col 1, lines 35-39).
One skilled in the art would have the motivation to make the flow rate proportional to the tightness of the screw cap in light of the previous modification of claim 10. Cannan in view of Stern et al. already comprises deformable fingers meant to be deformed, therefore decreasing the orifice diameter proportionally to the screw cap tightness. This would improve the invention of Cannan by allowing flow rate control as taught by Stern et al. and would involve applying the known technique of utilizing the screw cap to constrict the deformable fingers as taught by Stern et al.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannan (US 2005/0061014) in view of Stern et al. (US 6,883,688) further in view of Nigro (US 3,703,994).
Regarding claim 15, Cannan modified by Stern et al. teaches a stop (Stern et al.- stop ring 1152, fig. 62).
Cannan modified by Stern et al. only fails to disclose an indicator of the flow rate of the texture material.
However, Nigro teaches indicators, corresponding to "L" (low), "M" (medium) and "H" (high) printed thereon to define an indicator dial (fig. 2, and col. 4, line 50-51). These indicators correspond to the position of the screw cap.
Cannan modified by Stern et al. already teaches constricting deformable fingers to adjust flow rate, and a stop to prevent removal of the adjustment member.
One skilled in the art would have the motivation to utilize the indicator as taught by Nigro to modify the stop in Cannan because it would notably improve the flow rate control by adding an indicator allowing the user to gain information about the screw cap position which is proportional to the flow rate. Modifying the stop in Cannan in view of Stern et al. with the indicator of Nigro would have been obvious because the indicator of Nigro provides an index to the position of the screw cap. One skilled in the art would only have to utilize a known method of applying indicators to the stop of Cannan in view of Stern et al. as taught by Nigro which would yield predictable results of indicating the flow rate.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cannan (US 2005/0061014) in view of Stern et al. (US 5,934,518).
Regarding claim 20, Cannan fails to disclose the method dispenses onto the target surface a texture selected from the group consisting of a knockdown texture, an orange peel texture, a popcorn texture, and combinations thereof.
However, Stern et al. teaches a texture selected from the group consisting of a knockdown texture, an orange peel texture, a popcorn texture, and combinations thereof (col. 1, line 43-49).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art to add texture selected from the group consisting of a knockdown texture, an orange peel texture, a popcorn texture, and combinations thereof as taught by Stern et al. in the aerosol actuator of Cannan to increase possible applications “in new construction” (col. 1, line 65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 17th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that a POSITA would readily appreciate the meaning of the term “click” from its plain meaning and applicant further states that when the pivotable outlet opening is pivoted into at least one location, “it makes an audible click to allow a user to find a desired angle setting and provides uniformity of texture material delivery. However, applicant’s specification does not make clear that this is in fact an “audible” click as the term “click” can also be defined as simply two things fitting together or functioning smoothly, in which case, from the claim language (which is similar to what’s present in applicant’s specification), “the detent portion comprises at least one location that clicks when the pivotable outlet opening is pivoted into the at least one location” could be an audible click or it could simply be that one location on the detent portion has a smoother reaction when the pivotable outlet opening is pivoted into that location.
Regarding applicant’s argument “the flexible tube is not part of the adjustable outlet opening” and that “the adjustable outlet opening is a different component that is adjustable on its own and not adjustable by means of moving a flexible tubing.” Applicant’s further state that “the office interpreted the flexible hose of Cannan as both the claimed flexible tube and the claimed adjustable outlet opening.” Firstly, claim 1 recites a tube and an outlet opening, nowhere in claim 1 is there any language present precluding the outlet from being the outlet of the tube. To which this is what is presented in the rejection, a tube, element 60, and an outlet opening, element 63, which is fluidically connected to the actuator assembly through elements 38, 61, 62, 64 and 66. Thus, the rejection does not rely on the flexible tube as “both” elements as applicant has argued. While applicant states “the adjustable outlet opening is a different component that is adjustable on its own and not adjustable by means of moving a flexible tubing,” claim 1 recites no limitations to actually demonstrate this. Claim 1 recites no limitations defining how the adjustable outlet is meant to be adjusted and merely requires an outlet assembly which includes both a flexible tube (fluidically connected to…) and an adjustable outlet opening comprising an orifice and that the adjustable outlet opening is adjustable between two positions. As such, as described, Cannan demonstrates a container, an actuator, and an outlet assembly as required.
In light of these remarks, all prior art rejections shall be maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752