DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final rejection is in response to Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 4/20/2026. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application and are being considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 4/20/2026 have been fully considered with the following results:
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended claims 1 and 11 to include “the communicating including receiving data from the second device via the second network and transmitting the data to a server via the first network” in an effort to recite features not taught or suggested by the previously cited combination of references.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. According to embodiments disclosed within the previously cited Tchigevsky reference, such as paragraphs 0027 – 0028 and 0047 – 0051, communication between devices includes a plurality of devices communicating with one another with the potential transmission to the first network including a server. Specifically, paragraphs 0047 - 0051 provide that a user device may include any suitable processor-driven device including a server, and that any number of user devices may be configured to communicate with each other via one or more communications networks and/or wirelessly or wired. Due to this, the Examiner concludes that the current amendment is taught if not at least suggested by Tchigevsky, and therefore the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 will be maintained. For further explanation please refer to the 103 rejection section below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/07/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchigevsky et al. (US 20170289900) in view of Efstathopoulos (US 9606817) and Egner et al. (US 10194320).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Tchigevsky teaches: A network system for communication, the network system comprising, data processing hardware and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware causes (at least one processor and memory par. 0065) / A method for communication (method disclosed par. 0023), the method comprising: transmitting a code and information to a first device (transmission of information/code associated with a device par. 0027) via a first network (of multiple networks par. 0048); wherein when executed, the code causes the first device to communicate with a second device via a second network (IoT devices communicating/transmitting information over a wired or wireless connection associated with one or more networks par. 0027 and Fig. 1), the communicating including receiving data from the second device via the second network and transmitting the data to a server via the first network (the user device(s) may include any suitable processor-driven user device including a server, each user device communicating with each other via one or more communications networks par. 0047 – 0051 and 0027), wherein the first network is based on a first network protocol (of one or more network protocols par. 0027, 0048) and the second network is based on a second network protocol different from the first network protocol (of one or more different network protocols par. 0027, 0048).
Tchigevsky does not explicitly teach code configured to execute on a virtual environment as well as the transaction of cryptocurrency.
However, Efstathopoulos teaches: the code configured to execute on a virtual environment associated with the first device (virtual computing environment associated with one of the plurality of IoT devices claim 1; col. 10, line 36 – col. 11, line 3; col. 7, lines 11-21; col. 5, line 16-28).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Tchigevsky with the teachings of Efstathopoulos since the virtualization of Efstathopoulos enables multiple operating systems or virtual machines to run simultaneously on IoT devices without worrying about insufficient resource capabilities (Efstathopoulos: Col. 1 Line 23 -Col. 2 Line 4).
Efstathopoulos does not explicitly teach the transaction of cryptocurrency.
However, Egner teaches: the information including an amount of cryptocurrency to be provided in exchange for an execution of the code by the processor at the first device (cryptocurrency being used in exchange for requested services needed to access a wireless communication network Col. 17 Lines 39 – 50, by a local service broker/information handling system including processor Col. 6 Line 21 – Col. 7 Line 16).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Tchigevsky and Efstathopoulos with the teachings of Egner since Egner further expands the method of communications between IoT devices and networks with the ability for these services to be monetarily beneficial by way of cryptocurrency, further providing records of transactions, access attempts, as well as storing user bitcoin account addresses (Egner: Col. 17 Line 39 – Col. 19 Line 50).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Tchigevsky teaches: wherein the communication includes requesting data (request of data from through probe request par. 0037) from the second device via the second network (of IoT devices par. 0027), the data generated by an Internet of Things (IoT) device associated with the second device (through sending or receiving data of IoT devices par. 0021).
Further, Efstathopoulos teaches the communication between IoT devices is between different network protocols via virtual environment (virtual computing environment associated with one of the plurality of IoT devices claim 1; col. 10, line 36 – col. 11, line 3; col. 7, lines 11-21; col. 5, line 16-28).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tchigevsky teaches: wherein the communication includes receiving data from the second device via the second network (receiving data from IoT devices par. 0021), the data generated by an Internet of Things (IoT) device associated with the second device (through sending or receiving data of IoT devices par. 0021).
Further, Efstathopoulos teaches the communication between IoT devices is between different network protocols via virtual environment (virtual computing environment associated with one of the plurality of IoT devices claim 1; col. 10, line 36 – col. 11, line 3; col. 7, lines 11-21; col. 5, line 16-28).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Efstathopoulos teaches: wherein the virtual environment is a virtualization environment (virtualization of IoT devices in virtual environment Col. 4 Lines 29 – 46).
For motivation to combine see claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Efstathopoulos teaches: wherein the code is an instruction capable of executing on a virtual machine (execution on IoT device with “shadow proxy” virtual machine Col. 4 Line 57 – Col. 5 Line 15).
For motivation to combine see claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Tchigevsky teaches: wherein the first network includes a cellular network (network connection including cellular network par. 0048).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Tchigevsky teaches: wherein the second network includes a short-range wireless network (wireless network communication ranges par. 0048).
Regarding claim 18, Tchigevsky teaches: wherein the first device and the second device are configured to form a distributed compute network to execute one or more distributed operations (IoT devices connected in a P2P or other distributed computer networks par. 0066).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchigevsky in view of Efstathopoulos and Egner and further in view of Ameling et al. (US 20200177484).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combination of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner teaches the claimed limitations as detailed above in claim 1, however it does not teach the limitations of claim 4 and 14.
However, Ameling teaches: wherein the virtual environment is a containerization environment (IoT service and devices in a cloud foundry container environment; Figure 1, par. 0014; 0017, 0032).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner with the teachings of Ameling since the container environment as described in Ameling provides handling capabilities of messages associated with end-to-end monitoring of IoT devices (Ameling: par. 0032).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchigevsky in view of Efstathopoulos and Egner and further in view of Pochuev et al. (US 20200145409).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner teaches the claimed limitations as detailed above in claim 1, however it does not teach the limitations of claim 6 and 16.
However, Pochuev teaches: wherein the code is a containerized program (IoT devices including attributes that include container programs/code par. 0035).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner with the teachings of Pochuev since the containerized programs included in the software RoT of Pochuev allows automatic generation of key materials for authentication as well as allowing for provisioning policy management (Pochuev: par. 0035 – 0037).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchigevsky in view of Efstathopoulos and Egner and further in view of Rongo et al. (US 20150121470).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner teaches the claimed limitations as detailed above in claim 1, however it does not teach the limitations of claim 10
However, Rongo teaches: wherein the communication includes providing hotspot service to the second device via the second network (peer-to-peer network communication via a mobile hotspot par. 0073 – 0076).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner with the teachings of Rongo since the hotspot connection of Rongo provides an extended list of devices and connection attributes that further increases the capabilities of an IoT network and the connections within (Rongo: par. 0075 – 0076).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchigevsky in view of Efstathopoulos and Egner and further in view of Gupta (US 20150006695).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner teaches the claimed limitations as detailed above in claim 1, however it does not teach the limitations of claim 20
However, Gupta teaches: wherein the second network includes a proximal social network (IoT devices as part of a proximal network par. 0023 – 0025).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Tchigevsky, Efstathopoulos, and Egner with the teachings of Gupta since the SuperAgent/Gateway for controlling communication within a IoT proximal network of Gupta provides enabling/disabling of communication as well as remoting notifications from one or more IoT devices to a user device (Gupta: 0023 – 0025).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198