DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19, 29 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 29, 31, and 38 require transmission of “a first sensing signal for sensing an object using ultra-wideband sensing” and reception of a “second sensing signal…for sensing the object using the ultra-wideband sensing”. The limitation imposed by the language on these “sensing signals” is not clear. As a first matter, at least per claim 1 it is the “processor” itself which is configured to transmit the sensing signal, whereas in context if the “sensing signals” are to be interpreted as illustrated in Figure 4, transmission is the function of a modem/antenna (e.g. per Fig. 2) and not a processor. This raises doubt as to whether a “sensing signal” encompasses an actual transmission through space as illustrated in Fig. 4 or instead signals internal to the network node. On the presumption the former is intended, it is not clear what limitation is imposed by “for sensing an object using ultra-wideband sensing”. The second sensing signal is “for sensing the object” using “the” (i.e. the same) “ultra-wideband sensing”. Is “ultra-wideband sensing” a structural component? Is it an algorithm? What limitation is imposed on the sensing signals? Further complicating interpretation, the claims make no reference to any interaction of the signals with the object, also as illustrated in Figure 4. If it is the intent to establish that that ultra-wideband signals are transmitted, reflected by the object, and received as illustrated in Figure 4, amendment to establish such, including the corresponding structural components, is suggested.
Claims 2-19, 32-37, and 39-40 depend on one of claims 1, 31, and 38 and are likewise indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 29, 31, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2022/001713 A1) in view of Ninnemann et al. (“Multipath-assisted Radio Sensing and Occupancy Detection for Smart In-house Parking in ITS”). As Liu et al. is not published in English, references below are made to corresponding application publication US 2023/0132850.
Regarding claims 1, 29, 31, and 38, Liu (See Figure 1) discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at an initiator network node (101) and corresponding method, the apparatus comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories ([0239]), configured to:
transmit a first sensing signal (“first sounding frame”) for sensing an object (103);
receive, from a responder network node (102), a second sensing signal (“second sounding frame”), that is based at least in part on the first sensing signal ([0141]: “after receiving the first sounding frame, the second station 102 sends the second sounding frame to the first station 101 when a preset interval elapses”), for sensing the object (see paragraphs [0150]-[0151]); and
obtain a location of the object relative to the initiator network node and the responder network node based at least in part on the first sensing signal and the second sensing signal ([0064]).
Liu discloses the 802.11ax communication standard for the transmitted sensing signals and while the scope of the claimed “ultra-wideband sensing” is unclear, Liu is not found to disclose employing signals for sensing “ultra-wideband sensing”, as 802.11 instead employs narrowband or wideband signals.
However, Ninnemann discloses joint communication, localization, and sensing technology employing ultra-wideband for locating reflecting objects (e.g. Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to modify the method and apparatus of Liu to employ ultrawideband signals/sensing with a reasonable expectation of success, as it provides a significant resolution improvement (e.g. Ninnemann Table 1) and is particularly suited to improving detection in multipath environments (section 2.1).
Claim(s) 10, 15, 34, 36, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Ninnemann as applied to claims 1, 31, and 38 above, and further in view of Satrasala et al. (10,623,121).
Liu discloses receiving from the responder a sensing measurement report including measurement results ([0007]). While Liu as modified for UWB technology in view of the referenced teaching of Ninnemann would determine the channel impulse responses of the sensing signals for inclusion in such a report, the combination does not require that the channel impulse responses associated with the sensing signals be interpolated in the time domain. Satrasala is directed to time delay estimation in wireless communication and discloses interpolating channel impulse response in the time domain (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed with a reasonable expectation of success to interpolate the channel impulse responses of the sensing signals at the respective initiator and responder nodes in order to provide a more accurate estimation of the delay experienced by the received signals through the receivers as described by Satrasala, in turn enabling a more accurate location determination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14, 16-19, 32-33, 35, 37, and 39 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action as suggested and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tertinek discloses object position determining using UWB.
Oscar discloses distributed localization methods to determine the position of a target using two sensing devices and corresponding reflected sensing signals.
Wu discloses CIR interpolation in UWB sensing.
Troutman discloses passive object locating using UWB sensing.
Li discloses bidirectional channel sounding where each of multiple devices transmit signals to reflect off an object and be received at the other.
Kang discloses at least one processor is configured to: transmit a UWB signal including a first data frame, receive, based on the transmitted first data frame, a reflected first data frame, obtain a first channel impulse response by using the reflected first data frame, acquire information by using the channel impulse response, and receive a UWB signal including a second data frame from an external electronic device in response to the transmitted first data frame.
/MATTHEW M BARKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646