Detailed Notice
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s argument’s against the previous action filed 7/1/2026 has entered prosecution. No amendment to the claims were presented.
Claims 1-18 and 20-23 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 16-18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klepfer et al (US 6,184,427) in view of Risby (US9293302B2).
Regarding claim 1 and 20-21, Klepfer et al teaches a method comprising: exposing hydrocarbons (i.e. hydrocarbon precursor, Abstract) and a metal or carbon catalyst/sensitizer (col. 5, lines 30-35) and a carrier gas (e.g. nitrogen, col. 10, lines 45-55) to a non-thermal plasma generated by microwaves (col. 4, lines 53-60), where the discharges include plasma microdischarges (where the Examiner is reading the plasma microdischarges as the one or more non-thermal plasma, col. 5, lines 50-55 and col. 6, lines 58-68), which become one or more streamers (i.e. generating micro-discharges, col. 6 lines 40-67 and col. 7, lines 3-17) and producing hydrocarbons and/or hydrogen (col. 12, lines 66-67).
However, Klepfer does not teach that a plasma forming material is converted to a plasma prior to mixing the plasma forming material with the hydrocarbon precursor.
Risby teaches a method for processing of forming a microwave plasma from a gas which expels the gas as an afterglow (abstract).
Risby teaches that a plasma afterglow is formed by exposure of a gas to an external energy source (a mircowave field) followed by injection of the plasma afterglow into a secondary region absent of the external energy source. Risby teaches that this is advantaged over other plasma methods in that the plasma generated species then de-excite and participate in secondary chemical reactions that form stable species (col. 9, line 57-67 and col. 10, lines 1-16). Risby further teaches forming a plasma afterglow from N2 gas followed by the introduction of CH4 (col. 13, lines 15-30). It is understood that there is necessarily a spatial distinction between the methane and the nitrogen afterglow prior to the mixing, in order that the methane is introduced to the nitrogen, as described. Further, Risby teaches a method for forming a plasma in a microwave chamber in Fig. 2, as shown below, as related to the length and width of the formed plasma. Specifically, Risby teaches that the microwave energy propagates into the microwave reaction chamber in the direction of the exit channel (element 105) in order to combine with gases and form a plasma (element 109), understood to be inclusive of a streamer, as it was clearly disclosed above that at least one embodiment pertaining to this method creates a temporal distinction between plasma formation with N2 gas and introduction of reactant methane (col. 13, lines 15-30), such that it is clear that the longitudinal length of the streamer exceeds its transverse radius (Fig. 2, see MPEP 2125 I), where it follows that after formation of the plasma streamer reactant methane combines with the plasma to form a convergence point (Col. 6, lines 41-52). Risby further teaches that the geometric arrangement of the microwave chamber enables the reflection and maximal usage of the emitted microwave energy (Col. 6, Lines 8-30).
Prior to the effective filing date of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the method of hydrocarbon cracking, as per Klepfer, was ready for improvement by incorporation of the method of forming a plasma afterglow prior to introduction of hydrocarbon source into a reaction chamber and the incorporation of the streamer geometry as related to the microwave chamber dimensions, as per Risby, with the predictable result that one would arrive at a method for hydrocarbon cracking with improved conversion efficiency of the hydrocarbon gas into product and the ability to optimize the parameters of the streamer geometry to further improve efficiency with respect to the efficient reflection of the microwave radiation (see MPEP 2143 I D).
Regarding claim 2, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the hydrocarbon precursor material includes one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: aromatic, alkylated aromatic, paraffinic, olefinic, cycloolefin, napthenic, alkane, alkene, alkyl cycloalkane, alkylated cycloalkane, alkyne, alcohol, and heteroatom (e.g. plastics or heteroatoms, col. 7, lines 50-55). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the hydrocarbon precursor material includes one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: methane, ethane, propane, butane, syngas, natural gas, methanol, ethanol, propanol, butanol, hexane, benzene, paraffin, and naphthalene. (e.g. bitumen, which the Examiner is reading as containing naphthalene, col. 17, lines 18-67) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 3.
Regarding claims 4, Klepfer et al teaches wherein at least one of the hydrocarbon precursor material and plasma forming material includes one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, argon, synthesis gas, hydrogen, hydrogen sulfide, water, helium, nitrogen, oxygen, air, and recycled gas. (e.g. nitrogen, col. 10, lines 45-55) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the plasma promoter material includes one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: carbon black, coal, biochar, biomass, graphite, activated carbon, a transition metal, a supported transition metal, and structured carbon. (col. 9, lines 10-35) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Klepfer et al teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising the one or more first materials accelerating the conversion of the hydrocarbon precursor material to the product (col. 7, lines 45-50). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Klepfer et al teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: exposing the one or more first materials to the non-thermal micro-plasma and the microwave radiation, the exposure of the one or more first materials selectively converting the one or more first materials to an upgraded second material. (col. 7, lines 45-50 and col. 8, lines 56-67) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the carbon enriched materials have a hydrogen atom to carbon atom ratio of less than or equal to 1. (e.g. producing coke, col. 14, lines 6-10). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the carbon enriched materials include one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: graphitic material, amorphous carbon, structured carbon, and ordered carbon. (e.g. coke, where the Examiner is reading the coke as containing amorphous carbon, col. 14, lines 6-10). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the courts have held broadly that where the device of the prior art is identical to the instant claim, under the principles of inherency, even if the prior art is silent as to a characteristic, it is understood that similar processes can reasonably be expected to yield products which inherently have the same properties (e.g. making graphite or graphene) (See MPEP 2112.02 I and II) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the hydrogen enriched materials include one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: hydrogen, ethylene, acetylene, butadiene, and butane. . (e.g. ethylene, acetylene, C4 paraffins or C4 olefins, col. 14, lines 25-40) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the hydrogen enriched materials include one or more first materials selected from the group consisting of: hydrogen, ethylene, acetylene, butadiene, and butane. . (e.g. ethylene, acetylene, C4 paraffins or C4 olefins, col. 14, lines 25-40) Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Klepfer et al teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising recycling an output of the reaction zone, including selectively returning at least one of an unconverted hydrocarbon precursor material, the plasma promoter material (e.g. the sensitizer/catalyst, Fig. 2 part 17, col. 11, lines 5-7), and the plasma forming material to the reaction zone. Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the microwave radiation is operated at 15-30 kW (where the Examiner is reading this as the microwave radiation is less than about 30 kilowatts per liter within the reaction zone, col. 10, lines 45-46). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Klepfer et al teaches wherein the non-thermal micro-plasma is generated in e.g. a multi-mode cavity (where the Examiner is reading this as the non-thermal micro-plasma has a non-uniform radiation intensity within the reaction zone, col. 9, lines 54-65). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Klepfer et al teaches a microwave generator operating at 915 MHz and a power level from 15-30 kW (col. 10, lines 45-46, where the Examiner is reading this as producing a non-thermal micro-plasma with a plasma temperature less than 5,500 degrees Kelvin). As the disclosed range of Klepfer overlaps with the conditions required in (para. 31 and 37) of the instant application, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established (MPEP 2112.01 I). Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 18.
Regarding claim 22, Klepfer et al teaches a microwave generator operating at 915 MHz and a power level from 15-30 kW (col. 10, lines 45-46, i.e. wherein the microwave radiation is between 36 megahertz and 300 gigahertz). A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03.I. Therefore, Klepfer et al anticipates the method of claim 22.
Regarding Claim 23, modified Klepfer teaches to claim 1, as shown above, which features the incorporation of the use of an elongated microwave energy chamber in order to form streamers that have a greater longitude than transverse radius. While modified Klepfer does not teach a specific unit of measurement with regard to the streamers distance of propagation into the reaction zone, as the device is geometrically substantially the same as the claimed device, it is understood that one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have optimized the size of the device in order to arrive at a streamer length in the microwave chamber cavity between 0.95 to 3 cm (see MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klepfer et al (US 6,184,427) in view of Risby (US9293302B2), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Barton (US 2014/0231417 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Klepfer et al is applied as above.
Klepfer et al does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: positioning a first conduit and a second conduit proximal to the reaction zone, wherein the first conduit channels the plasma forming material; and positioning the first conduit within the second conduit, the positioning includes forming an annulus between a first surface of the first conduit and a second surface of the second conduit, wherein the annulus channels the hydrocarbon precursor material wherein at least one of the first conduit and the annulus channels the promoter material.
In the same field of endeavor (microwave non-thermal plasma hydrocarbon processing) Barton teaches positioning a first conduit and a second conduit proximal to the reaction zone, wherein the first conduit channels the plasma forming material; and positioning the first conduit within the second conduit, the positioning includes forming an annulus between a first surface of the first conduit and a second surface of the second conduit, wherein the annulus channels the hydrocarbon precursor material. (para. 0054, Fig. 6) Barton teaches that this is an energetically efficient arrangement (para. 0054)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to modify the method of Klepfer et al by positioning a first conduit and a second conduit proximal to the reaction zone, wherein the first conduit channels the plasma forming material; and positioning the first conduit within the second conduit, the positioning includes forming an annulus between a first surface of the first conduit and a second surface of the second conduit, wherein the annulus channels the hydrocarbon precursor material, as taught by Barton, as this is an energetically efficient arrangement (para. 0054)
Regarding claim 15, Klepfer et al is applied as above.
Klepfer et al does not teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: orienting the reaction zone with respect to an outlet, wherein one or more solid particles free-fall through the outlet.
In the same field of endeavor (microwave non-thermal plasma hydrocarbon processing), Barton teaches the method further comprising: orienting the reaction zone with respect to an outlet, wherein one or more solid particles free-fall through the outlet. (i.e. under the influence of gravity, para. 0058) Barton teaches that this is a simple mechanism to separate non-gasifiable feedstock residues out of the system. (para. 0058)
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to modify the method of Klepfer et al by orienting the reaction zone with respect to an outlet, wherein one or more solid particles free-fall through the outlet. (i.e. under the influence of gravity) as taught by Barton, as this is a simple mechanism to separate non-gasifiable feedstock residues out of the system. (para. 0058)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Klepfer and Risby do not teach to Claim 1 because within Risby the after glow operates in a region without microwave radiation present. This is not compelling as it is a piecemeal analysis of the rejection that does not take into full view that the rejection to claim 1 is based on the combination of Klepfer in view of Risby. Accordingly, applicant is not recognizing that the combination of references incorporates the afterglow method of Risby into the method of hydrocarbon cracking of Kelpfer, such that the combination features a reaction chamber which has an afterglow plasma which is in contact with a microwave plasma and a hydrocarbon source.
Applicant argues that the use of Klepfer in view of Risby in view of Barton does not teach to the limitations of Claim 14 and 15 for the reasons that: (1) the combination of references does not teach to the simultaneous exposure of microwave radiation and streamers (which has been addressed above); (2) that Barton is not within the same field of endeavor; (3) that the structure of the conduits in Barton do not teach to the structure of Claim 14 and 15. Point 1 has been previously addressed. Regarding, Point 2, Barton teaches a microwave non-thermal plasma hydrocarbon processing system, which is understood to be in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would readily recognize this. Regarding point 3, the incorporation of the structures of Barton into modified Klepfer enables for the free-fall collection of material and the incorporation of a conduit and annulus structure corresponding to Claim 14. In view of the combination of all the cited references, the streamers are spatially separated from the hydrocarbon source, and both the streamers and the hydrocarbon source reach the reaction zone, such that accordingly, it is understood the combination of Klepfer in view of Risby in view of Barton teaches to Claims 14 and 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHANAEL JASON. DOWNES
Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/NATHANAEL JASON DOWNES/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759