Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 14-16, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under 103, in view of new amendments, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Beeri, in combination with Gutman does indeed teach the added limitation to claims 1, 13, 25, and 28. The new limitation: “wherein the updated EVM requirement is different from the EVM requirement” can be taught either by mapping the updated EVM requirement to the received response frame from the second device (Beeri, col. 10, lines 36-39), or by mapping the updated EVM requirement to the second request frame (Beeri, claim 7). Both clearly have different EVM requirements than the initial request frame, as will be discussed further in the 103 rejection of claim 1. Further, Applicant’s arguments regarding the patentability of dependent claims 2-12, 14-24, 26-27, and 29-30 depend on the allowability of claims 1, 13, 25, and 28, and are therefore similarly not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-23, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Beeri (US Patent No. 11265100) in view of Gutman (US Patent No. 11387933).
Regarding claim 1, Beeri teaches:
A network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, (col. 8, lines 3-4: Fig. 2 illustrates a block diagram of an example wireless system 200. Fig. 2: CPU 210 is coupled to Memory 250 through communication infrastructure 240.) configured to: … identify an error vector magnitude (EVM) requirement associated with the modulation scheme; (col. 4, lines 14-24: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS7), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a high quality transmission signal… if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a low MCS index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS0), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a lower quality transmission signal.) communicate, with the second network node an indication of an updated EVM requirement, wherein the updated EVM requirement is different from the EVM requirement (fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. And see col. 10, lines 36-39: For example, initial response frame 309 can include rSTA 303’s actual EVM level, which can be a level closest to the requested EVM level (requested by iSTA 301) and is supported by rSTA 303’s capability OR see claim 7: the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, during the measurement phase of the ranging operation, a second request frame to the second electronic device for re-negotiation, the second request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement.) In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes receiving the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the initial response frame, and is different from the request frame. In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes transmitting the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the second request frame described in claim 7 of Beeri, and is described as containing an “updated EVM requirement,” which implies it is different from the EVM requirement in the original request frame.
wherein the updated EVM requirement is based at least in part on [a modulation scheme]… (col. 4, lines 14-24: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS7), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a high quality transmission signal… if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a low MCS index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS0), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a lower quality transmission signal.) In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes receiving the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the initial response frame, and is based off of the requested EVM level, which is based off of a modulation and coding scheme. In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes transmitting the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the second request frame described in claim 7 of Beeri, as disclosed in col. 4, lines 14-24, a desired EVM can be based on a modulation and coding scheme.
and transmit, to the second network node, a wireless communication using transmit processing associated with the updated EVM requirement. (Fig. 5B: operation 522, transmit a first measurement frame to a second electronic device. Col. 15, lines 4-9: at 522, an electronic device (e.g., iSTA 401) transmits a first measurement frame (e.g., first measurement frame 405) to another electronic device (e.g., rSTA 403). According to some embodiments, iSTA 401 transmits first measurement frame using the agreed-on parameters (e.g., the negotiated EVM requirement).)
However, Beeri does not explicitly disclose wherein:
Communicate with a second network node, separate from the network node, via an uplink wireless signal or a downlink wireless signal, an indication of a modulation scheme associated with a wireless communication;…
[the modulation scheme includes] an updated analog to digital conversion resolution or… an updated digital to analog conversion resolution;
In the analogous art of wireless transmission, Gutman teaches:
Communicate with a second network node, separate from the network node, via an uplink wireless signal or a downlink wireless signal, an indication of a modulation scheme associated with a wireless communication;… (claim 20: transmit, to the UE, a downlink control message comprising at least one of a modulation and coding scheme associated with at least one uplink transmission)
[the modulation scheme includes] an updated analog to digital conversion resolution or… an updated digital to analog conversion resolution; (claim 20: transmit, to the UE, a downlink control message comprising at least one of a modulation and coding scheme associated with at least one uplink transmission… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates to adjust a resolution of bits, associated with at least one uplink transmission, input to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) of the UE… to adjust an effective number of bits (ENOB) associated with the DAC… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates a second number of bits by which to adjust the ENOB.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beeri and Gutman before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate communicating an MCS, including an updated digital to analog conversion resolution between two wireless nodes (taught by Gutman) into the EVM requirement negotiation system between two wireless nodes (taught by Beeri) to allow for benefits such as: reduced power consumption (Gutman, col. 1, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to: transmit an indication to use the updated EVM requirement, (claim 7: the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, during the measurement phase of the ranging operation, a second request frame to the second electronic device for re-negotiation, the second request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement.) A request frame consisting of an updated EVM requirement is effectively an indication to use the updated EVM requirement.
or receive the indication to use the updated EVM requirement. (Fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. Col. 10, lines 33-36: initial response frame 309 can include information indicating whether rSTA 303 can meet the requested EVM requirement. This is effectively an indication to use the EVM requirement.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 2. Beeri further discloses:
The network node of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication to use the updated EVM requirement, are configured to receive the indication to use the updated EVM requirement via one or more of the second network node or another network device, (fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. Col. 10, lines 33-36: initial response frame 309 can include information indicating whether rSTA 303 can meet the requested EVM requirement. This is effectively an indication to use the EVM requirement.)
or wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication to use the updated EVM requirement, are configured to transmit the indication to use the updated EVM requirement to one or more of the second network node or the other another network device. (claim 7: the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, during the measurement phase of the ranging operation, a second request frame to the second electronic device for re-negotiation, the second request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the updated EVM requirement is associated with a communication resource of a communication channel used to transmit the wireless communication, and wherein the communication resource comprises one or more of: a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a spatial domain resource. (Col. 4, lines 50-53: the first electronic device can determine that the second electronic device may be located far from the first electronic device. Therefore, the first electronic device can use lower transmission signal quality (e.g., lower EVM).)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the updated EVM requirement is associated with the modulation scheme (Col. 4, lines 15-20: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS index value)… the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with high quality transmission signal.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the updated EVM requirement is associated with one or more of:
a network node type of the network node, a network node type of the second network node, a user equipment (UE) class of the network node, or a UE class of the second network node. (Col. 6, lines 62: For example, the initial response frame can include AP 110’s actual EVM level, and is supported by the AP 110a’s capability. The EVM requirement is directly related to the node’s capability, which is associated with the UE class of a node.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a request to use the updated EVM requirement, (claim 7: the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, during the measurement phase of the ranging operation, a second request frame to the second electronic device for re-negotiation, the second request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement.) A request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement is effectively a request to use the updated EVM requirement.
and wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to receive, based at least in part on the request, an indication to use the updated EVM requirement. (Fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. Col. 10, lines 33-36: initial response frame 309 can include information indicating whether rSTA 303 can meet the requested EVM requirement. This is effectively an indication to use the EVM requirement.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a request to use the updated EVM requirement, (claim 7: during the measurement phase of the ranging operation, a second request frame to the second electronic device for re-negotiation, the second request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement.)
and wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to transmit, based at least in part on the request, an indication to use the updated EVM requirement. (Fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. Col. 10, lines 33-36: initial response frame 309 can include information indicating whether rSTA 303 can meet the requested EVM requirement. The one or more processors are rSTA and the second electronic device. The initial response frame is effectively an indication to use the updated EVM requirement.)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to:
[determine an]… updated EVM requirement… [based off of a modulation scheme] (col. 4, lines 14-24: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS7), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a high quality transmission signal… if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a low MCS index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS0), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a lower quality transmission signal.)
However, Beeri does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit an indication to perform an analog to digital conversion using the updated analog to digital conversion resolution associated with the updated EVM requirement, or
Receive an indication to perform a digital to analog conversion using the updated digital to analog conversion resolution associated with [the modulation scheme]
Gutman teaches:
Transmit an indication to perform an analog to digital conversion using the updated analog to digital conversion resolution associated with the updated EVM requirement, or
Receive an indication to perform a digital to analog conversion using the updated digital to analog conversion resolution associated with [the modulation scheme] (claim 20: transmit, to the UE, a downlink control message comprising at least one of a modulation and coding scheme associated with at least one uplink transmission… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates to adjust a resolution of bits, associated with at least one uplink transmission, input to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) of the UE… to adjust an effective number of bits (ENOB) associated with the DAC… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates a second number of bits by which to adjust the ENOB.) The UE receiving an updated resolution for a digital to analog conversion resolution is effectively it receiving an indication to use the updated resolution to perform a digital to analog conversion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beeri and Gutman before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate communicating an MCS, including an updated digital to analog conversion resolution between two wireless nodes (taught by Gutman) into the EVM requirement negotiation system between two wireless nodes (taught by Beeri) to allow for benefits such as: reduced power consumption (Gutman, col. 1, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the wireless communication using the transmit processing associated with the updated EVM requirement, are configured to:
transmit the wireless communication using parameters that include one or more of:
an updated transmit power, an updated beamwidth, an updated beamforming gain,
or an updated coding scheme. (Col. 4, lines 15-20: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS index value)… the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with high quality transmission signal. Col. 15, lines 4-9: at 522, an electronic device (e.g., iSTA 401) transmits a first measurement frame (e.g., first measurement frame 405) to another electronic device (e.g., rSTA 403). According to some embodiments, iSTA 401 transmits first measurement frame using the agreed-on parameters.)
This is additionally disclosed by Gutman in claim 20.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 10. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication to use the parameters based at least in part on the updated EVM requirement. (Fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. Col. 10, lines 33-36: initial response frame 309 can include information indicating whether rSTA 303 can meet the requested EVM requirement. This is effectively an indication to use the parameters associated with the updated EVM requirement.)
Regarding claim 13, Beeri discloses:
A network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, (col. 8, lines 3-4: Fig. 2 illustrates a block diagram of an example wireless system 200. Fig. 2: CPU 210 is coupled to Memory 250 through communication infrastructure 240.) configured to: … identify an error vector magnitude (EVM) requirement associated with the modulation scheme; (col. 4, lines 14-24: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS7), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a high quality transmission signal… if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a low MCS index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS0), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a lower quality transmission signal.) communicate, with the second network node an indication of an updated EVM requirement, wherein the updated EVM requirement is different from the EVM requirement (fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. And see col. 10, lines 36-39: For example, initial response frame 309 can include rSTA 303’s actual EVM level, which can be a level closest to the requested EVM level (requested by iSTA 301) and is supported by rSTA 303’s capability OR see claim 7: the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, during the measurement phase of the ranging operation, a second request frame to the second electronic device for re-negotiation, the second request frame comprising an updated EVM requirement.) In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes receiving the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the initial response frame, and is different from the request frame. In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes transmitting the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the second request frame described in claim 7 of Beeri, and is described as containing an “updated EVM requirement,” which implies it is different from the EVM requirement in the original request frame.
wherein the updated EVM requirement is based at least in part on [a modulation scheme]… (col. 4, lines 14-24: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS7), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a high quality transmission signal… if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a low MCS index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS0), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a lower quality transmission signal.) In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes receiving the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the initial response frame, and is based off of the requested EVM level, which is based off of a modulation and coding scheme. In the case that communicating the updated EVM requirement includes transmitting the updated EVM requirement, the updated EVM requirement is the second request frame described in claim 7 of Beeri, as disclosed in col. 4, lines 14-24, a desired EVM can be based on a modulation and coding scheme.
and receive, from the second network node, a wireless communication using transmit processing associated with the updated EVM requirement. (Fig. 5B: operation 524, receive a second measurement frame from the second electronic device. Col. 15, lines 12-16: at 524, iSTA 401 receives a second measurement frame (e.g., second measurement frame 407) from rSTA 403. According to some examples, rSTA 403 transmits second measurement frame 407 using the agreed-upon parameters (e.g., the negotiated EVM requirement).
However, Beeri does not explicitly disclose wherein:
Communicate with a second network node, separate from the network node, via an uplink wireless signal or a downlink wireless signal, an indication of a modulation scheme associated with a wireless communication;…
[the modulation scheme includes] an updated analog to digital conversion resolution or… an updated digital to analog conversion resolution;
In the analogous art of wireless transmission, Gutman teaches:
Communicate with a second network node, separate from the network node, via an uplink wireless signal or a downlink wireless signal, an indication of a modulation scheme associated with a wireless communication;… (claim 20: transmit, to the UE, a downlink control message comprising at least one of a modulation and coding scheme associated with at least one uplink transmission)
[the modulation scheme includes] an updated analog to digital conversion -resolution or… an updated digital to analog conversion resolution; (claim 20: transmit, to the UE, a downlink control message comprising at least one of a modulation and coding scheme associated with at least one uplink transmission… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates to adjust a resolution of bits, associated with at least one uplink transmission, input to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) of the UE… to adjust an effective number of bits (ENOB) associated with the DAC… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates a second number of bits by which to adjust the ENOB.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beeri and Gutman before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate communicating an MCS, including an updated digital to analog conversion resolution between two wireless nodes (taught by Gutman) into the EVM requirement negotiation system between two wireless nodes (taught by Beeri) to allow for benefits such as: reduced power consumption (Gutman, col. 1, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 13. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to:
[determine an]… updated EVM requirement… [based off of a modulation scheme] (col. 4, lines 14-24: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS7), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a high quality transmission signal… if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a low MCS index value (as a non-limiting example, MCS0), the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with a lower quality transmission signal.)
However, Beeri does not explicitly disclose:
Receive an indication to perform an analog to digital conversion using the updated analog to digital conversion resolution associated with the updated EVM requirement, or
Transmit an indication to perform a digital to analog conversion using the updated digital to analog conversion resolution associated with [the modulation scheme]
Gutman teaches:
Receive an indication to perform an analog to digital conversion using the updated analog to digital conversion resolution associated with the updated EVM requirement, or
Transmit an indication to perform a digital to analog conversion using the updated digital to analog conversion resolution associated with [the modulation scheme] (claim 20: transmit, to the UE, a downlink control message comprising at least one of a modulation and coding scheme associated with at least one uplink transmission… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates to adjust a resolution of bits, associated with at least one uplink transmission, input to a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) of the UE… to adjust an effective number of bits (ENOB) associated with the DAC… the modulation and coding scheme… indicates a second number of bits by which to adjust the ENOB.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beeri and Gutman before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate communicating an MCS, including an updated digital to analog conversion resolution between two wireless nodes (taught by Gutman) into the EVM requirement negotiation system between two wireless nodes (taught by Beeri) to allow for benefits such as: reduced power consumption (Gutman, col. 1, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 13. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the wireless communication based at least in part on the updated EVM requirement, are configured to:
receive the wireless communication using parameters that include one or more of:
an updated beamwidth, or an updated coding scheme. (Col. 4, lines 15-20: In one example, if the first electronic device desires to transmit a signal with a high Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS index value)… the first electronic device may use an EVM associated with high quality transmission signal. Col. 15, lines 12-16: at 524, iSTA 401 receives a second measurement frame (e.g., second measurement frame 407) from rSTA 403. According to some examples, rSTA 403 transmits second measurement frame 407 using the agreed-upon parameters.) This is further disclosed in claim 20 of Gutman.
Claims 14-20, 23, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 correspond to claims 2-8, 11, 1, 2, 6, 13, 2, and 6 (respectively), and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Beeri in view of Gutman, further in view of Sakamoto (US Pub. No. 20180270085).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Beeri and Gutman teaches the network node of claim 1. Beeri further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to: receive an indication of… [measurement parameters describing capability and ability] to be used by the second network node, (Fig. 5A: operation 506, receive a response frame from the second electronic device. Col. 10, lines 30-33: As discussed above, initial response frame 309 can include a set of measurement parameters that describe rSTA 303’s availability and capability for the ranging operation.)
and select the updated EVM requirement based at least in part on the [received measurement parameters describing capability and ability]. (Col. 11, lines 47-53: The exchange of initial request frame 305 and initial response frame 309 of fig. 3 can ensure an agreement between iSTA 401 and rSTA 403 on the parameters (including, but not limited to, EVM requirement) for the ranging operation. If an agreement is reached between iSTA 401 and rSTA 403, iSTA 401 can perform the ranging operation using the agreed upon parameters.)
However, the combination of Beeri and Gutman does not explicitly disclose:
[measurement parameters describing capability and ability includes] the updated analog to digital conversion resolution.
Sakamoto teaches:
[the capability and ability for communication includes] the updated analog to digital conversion resolution.
(para. 4: Thus, the wideband radio communication requires an analog/digital converter to have both a high sampling rate and high resolution.) It is well known in the art that the EVM performance of a transmission system is affected by, and therefore based at least in part on, the resolution of an analog/digital converter. Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, when incorporating Sakamoto’s analog/digital converter 304 to include the resolution used as one of the measurement parameters describing rSTA’s capability for performing a ranging operation in the system taught by Beeri. This is because Sakamoto’s analog/digital converter would be used during communication, and therefore the resolution used would be an important measurement parameter describing rSTA’s capability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beeri, Gutman, Sakamoto before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the analog to digital conversion taught by Sakamoto into the communication system disclosed by Beeri and Gutman, to allow for benefits such as prevented signal deterioration (Sakamoto, para. 7, lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Beeri and Gutman discloses the network node of claim 1. Beeri further discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to communicate the indication of the updated EVM requirement, are configured to: transmit an indication of… [measurement parameters describing the communication performance] to be used by the second network node, (Col. 14, lines 37-38: According to some embodiments, iSTA 301 transmits an initial request frame 305 to rSTA 303. Col. 6, lines 28-31: The initial request frame can include a set of measurement parameters that can describe [the transmitting device’s] availability and capability for the ranging operation.)
and select the updated EVM requirement based at least in part on the [measurement parameters describing the communication performance]. (Col. 11, lines 47-53: The exchange of initial request frame 305 and initial response frame 309 of fig. 3 can ensure an agreement between iSTA 401 and rSTA 403 on the parameters (including, but not limited to, EVM requirement) for the ranging operation. If an agreement is reached between iSTA 401 and rSTA 403, iSTA 401 can perform the ranging operation using the agreed upon parameters.)
However, the combination of Beeri and Gutman does not explicitly disclose:
[measurement parameters describing capability and ability includes] the updated analog to digital conversion resolution to be used by the network node.
Sakamoto teaches:
[measurement parameters describing capability and ability includes] the updated analog to digital conversion resolution to be used by the network node.
(para. 4: Thus, the wideband radio communication requires an analog/digital converter to have both a high sampling rate and high resolution.) It is well known in the art that the EVM performance of a transmission system is affected by, and therefore based at least in part on, the resolution of an analog/digital converter. Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, when incorporating Sakamoto’s analog/digital converter 304 to include the resolution used as one of the measurement parameters describing iSTA’s capability for performing a ranging operation in the system taught by Beeri. This is because Sakamoto’s analog/digital converter would be used during communication, and therefore the resolution used would be an important measurement parameter describing iSTA’s capability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beeri, Gutman, and Sakamoto before them, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the analog to digital conversion taught by Sakamoto into the communication system disclosed by Beeri and Gutman, to allow for benefits such as prevented signal deterioration (Sakamoto, para. 7, lines 2-3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK KENSINGTON BARNETT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111