DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wickramanayaka (U. S. 6,225,746).
Regarding claim 1, Wickramanayaka discloses a plasma generating device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a cylinder 11/53 having an interior volume (Figures 1 & 8, col. 1, line 39-40 & col. 4, line 14);
(2) a gas inlet 23 for supplying gas (i.e., an inlet port…, Figure 1-4, col. 4, line 56);
(3) a plurality of ports 23 for exhausting gas (i.e., an outlet port…, Figure 1-4, col. 4, line 53-54); and
(4) a resonator comprises
(i) a central metal plate 14 having a first end and a second end within the cylinder 11 (i.e., a first conductor …, Figures1- 4, col. 4, line 46-48) and
(ii) a metal helical coil 16/51 coupled to the cylinder 11/53 and partially extended to the outside of the cylinder 11/53 (i.e., a second conductor …, Figures 1& 8, col. 1, line 34-36 & col.4, line 23-24).
The limitation of “a first conductor” or “a second conductor” does not recite any additional structures and will be interpreted as “a structure/member configured to conduct/transport electricity and/or electromagnetic wave”.
The central metal plate 14 and the metal helical coil 16 are configured to conduct electricity and/or electromagnetic wave, reading on “a first conductor”, and “a second conductor”, respectively.
Furthermore, the limitation of “one or more reagents” and “one or more chemical products” are material worked upon a device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 2, Wickramanayaka teaches that the central plate 14, which is grounded, is fixed to a top plate of the cylinder 11 using a vertical bar 20 and the helical coil may be wound around a dielectric plate/tube, wherein an RF source 31/57 is configured to supply electric power to the resonator with multiple times of one quarter of wavelength (Figures 1-4, & 8, col. 1, line 34-50, col. 2, line 44-46, col. 3, line 5-7, col. 4, line 46-48, col. 5, line 4-5, & col.6,line 33-35).
Since the device of Wickramanayaka comprises substantially the same/similar structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, it should be noted that temperature or power is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tranquilla et al (PG-PUB US 2021/0086158).
Regarding claim 1, Tranquilla et al disclose a plasma generating device (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a reactor vessel 1 having an interior volume (Figure 1, paragraph [061]);
(2) a gas inlet 2 for supplying gas (i.e., an inlet port…, Figure 1, paragraphs [0061] & [0074]);
(3) an outlet 5 for exhausting gas (i.e., an outlet port…, Figure 1, paragraphs [0061] & [0074]); and
(4) a resonate cavity 7/15 comprises (Figures 1-3, paragraph [0065])
(i) an electrode 8 having a first end and a second end within the reactor vessel 1 (i.e., a first conductor …, Figure 2, paragraph [0065]) and
(ii) a waveguide coaxial transformer 6/14 coupled to the reactor vessel 1 and partially disposed outside of the reactor vessel 1 (i.e., a second conductor …, Figures 2-3, paragraphs [0064] – [0065]).
The limitation of “a first conductor” or “a second conductor” does not recite any additional structures and will be interpreted as “a structure/member configured to conduct/transport electricity and/or electromagnetic wave”.
The electrode 8 and the waveguide coaxial transformer 6/14 are configured to conduct/transport electricity and/or electromagnetic wave, reading on “a first conductor”, and “a second conductor”, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Tranquilla teaches that a plurality of reactor vessels supplying microwave energy may be utilized (Figure 11, paragraphs [0096] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 6, Tranquilla teaches that the gas enters the reactor vessel 1 through an axial feed 2 by means of one or more tangential feeds 3 (Figure 1, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Tranquilla teaches that the products containing solid, liquid and gas exit from a duct 74 (Figure 11, paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 9, Tranquilla teaches that a cyclone filter 75 and a condenser 78 are provided at the exit duct 74 for separating solid from liquid and gas (Figure 11, paragraph [0104]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tranquilla et al (PG-PUB US 2021/0086158) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu et al (PG-PUB US 2009/0205254).
Regarding claim 8,Tranquilla does not teach a gas analyzer system coupled to the outlet. However, Zhu et al disclose a plasma generating system (ABSTRACT). Zhu teaches that a corona plasma reactor 28 is provided for a chemical reaction and a gas chromatograph 84 coupled to the outlet of the reactor 28 for analyzing products generated from the reactor 28 (Figures 1-3, paragraphs [0026] & [0039]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a gas chromatograph coupled to the outlet as suggested by Zhu in order to analyze products generated from the device of Tranquilla.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tranquilla et al (PG-PUB US 2021/0086158) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wong (PG-PUB US 2015/0158008).
Regarding claim 10, Tranquilla teaches to separate the produced solid from liquid and/or gas (Figure 11, paragraph [0104]), but does not teach a recirculation loop. However, Wong discloses a plasma generating device (ABSTRCT). Wong teaches that an RF plasma is coupled to a separation/rotation system to collect different products with collectors and the unreacted material is recycled to the reactor chamber for repeated processing (Figures 2, 3, 9, & 10, paragraphs [0006], [0040], [0037], [0047], & [0060]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a recirculation loop as suggested by Wong in order to repeat processing the chemical reaction within the device of Tranquilla.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of co-pending Application No. 19/075200 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same structures as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 1/23/2026 have been considered but are moot in light of the applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are rejected. Claims 11-23 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795