DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on September 15, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, and 12-16 are pending in the application. Claims 7, 9, and 15-16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 7, “2-[(2-Amino-2-oxoethyl)amino]ethane-1-sulfonic acid” is improperly capitalized and should read “2-[(2-amino-2-oxoethyl)amino]ethane-1-sulfonic acid.”
Other instances of improper capitalization in claim 13 (lines 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 24, 25, 27) must be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anthis et al (WO 2022/157198 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Anthis teaches a composition containing a hydrogel and an impregnating fluid, wherein the impregnating fluid contains a curable monomer/prepolymer (p.39 para. 6 – p.40 para. 1), wherein the hydrogel is photocrosslinked (p.27, para. 1-4; photoinitiator used in production of hydrogel). Anthis further teaches an embodiment wherein the prepolymer contained in the impregnating fluid the same as the prepolymer used to form the hydrogel (p.35, para. 2).
Anthis does not specify that the hydrogel comprises a remaining photoinitiator. However, chemical reactions as a whole do not go to 100% completion; therefore, there will necessarily be trace amounts of remaining photoinitiator present in the hydrogel.
Regarding Claims 3-5: Anthis teaches polyethylene glycol diacrylate (formed from a polyethylene glycol and a diacrylate) as a preferred prepolymer in both the crosslinked hydrogel (p.21, para. 3) and the impregnating fluid (p.26, para. 2).
Regarding Claim 6: Anthis teaches that the composition is used in preparation for wound repair (Abstract, suture or staple supports).
Claims 10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anthis et al (WO 2022/157198 A1).
Regarding Claim 10: Anthis teaches a composition containing a hydrogel and an impregnating fluid, wherein the impregnating fluid contains a buffer (p.39 para. 3), wherein the hydrogel is photocrosslinked (p.27, para. 1-4; photoinitiator used in production of hydrogel).
Anthis does not specify that the hydrogel comprises a remaining photoinitiator. However, chemical reactions as a whole do not go to 100% completion; therefore, there will necessarily be trace amounts of remaining photoinitiator present in the hydrogel.
MPEP § 2111.02(II) states “the claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Therefore, the limitation of “recrosslinkable” in the preamble of Claim 10 is not given patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 12: Anthis teaches polyethylene glycol diacrylate (p.21, para. 3).
Regarding Claim 13: Anthis teaches phosphate buffer/PBS (p.39, para. 3).
Regarding Claim 14: Anthis teaches that the composition is used in preparation for wound repair (Abstract, suture or staple supports).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767