DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temkin et al. (US Pub 2020/0251111) hereinafter Temkin in view of Pool et al. (Pool) US 2016/0077723 and Dalal et al. (Dalal) US 2010/0083217
Regarding claim 1, Temkin teaches, teaches a method providing dynamic in-context information, the method comprising:
receiving a user input directed at a particular portion of a dossier; (Fig. 5A, [0094]-[0095] user selects a data cube 510 from the various data sets in the GUI)
in response to determining the contextual data point, generating a plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints associated with the dossier based on the contextual data point and the user input, wherein each of the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints includes a plurality of placeholders for one or more dossier-specific information windows;
(Fig. 5A-5D, [0094]-[0098[0161]-[0164][0187]-[0200] [0232]-[0233] [0250]-[0256] in response to the user selecting the data cube 510, generating information specific blueprint based on the user selection and the contextual data (attributes of the data object the user selected, etc.) and the blueprint include a plurality of placeholders for a window as disclosed at Fig. 5C, such as using chat bot for the data set);
receiving data from a database based on one dossier-specific information window blueprint of the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints ([0005]-[0007][0161]-[0164] [0187]-[0200][0217]-[0226][0232]-[0256] the server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200, further, This interaction can trigger the client device to request an information card (information card contain data) from a server system, further, The server system can then send the data for the information card to the client device for display and client device receive data, the information cards can be requested);
generating a dossier-specific information window based on the one dossier-specific information window blueprint and the received data (Temkin; as illustrates in figure 23, when the user interacts with an instance 2310 of the key term, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 corresponding to an entity (window 2320 information card as dossier-specific information window blueprints); paragraph 224, further, server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200); and
displaying the dossier-specific information window comprising the received data via a graphical user interface (GUI), wherein the dossier-specific information window occupies at least a subset area of the dossier (Temkin; as shown in figure 23, as user select or interact with instance 2310, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 (overlay on selected instance 2310) corresponding to an entity represented by the term; paragraph 224).
But Temkin fail to explicitly disclose “determining a contextual data point based on the user input, the contextual data point being a relative difference between a user input location of the user input and a user prior input location of a prior user input, each of the user input location and the prior user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; wherein the plurality of placeholders of the one dossier-specific information window blueprint are determined using the received data based on the relative difference between the user input location of the user input and the user prior input location of the prior user input associated with the particular portion of the dossier;
Pool disclose determining a contextual data point based on the user input, the contextual data point being a relative difference between a user input location of the user input and a user prior input location of a prior user input, each of the user input location and the prior user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; (Fig. 3E-3F, Fig. 4A, [0009] [0019]-[0038] [0043] determine a user input position and recording a direction of motion of the user input based on the previously received user input positions corresponding to navigate portion of the content)
wherein the plurality of placeholders of the one dossier-specific information window blueprint are determined using the received data based on the relative difference between the user input location of the user input and the user prior input location of the prior user input associated with the particular portion of the dossier; (Fig. 3E-3F, Fig. 4A, [0009][0010][0018]-[0038] [0043] the aggregation and layout of the content of the interactive elements are determined using the data received based on the input trajectory and navigation made with the portion of the content during interaction)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Pool’s dynamic adaptation of interactive information container’s content into Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Pool’s dynamic adaptation of interactive information container’s content based on user input would help to provide more digital contents for the user based on user input to Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing more digital contents for the user based on the contextual information would improve user experience using the device.
But Temkin and Pool fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the plurality of placeholders of the one dossier-specific information window blueprint are populated based on the user input.”
Dalal disclose wherein the plurality of placeholders of the one dossier-specific information window blueprint are populated based on the user input. (Fig. 6, [0025]-[0030] [0032]-[0034] information blocks (modules/widgets) are populated for display (a widget or module is an interface element such as a window, etc.) on the page based on the context input)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dalal’s customization for a user experience into Pool and Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dalal’s customization content display based on user input would help to provide more digital contents based on user input to Pool and Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing more digital contents based on the contextual information would improve user experience using the device.
Regarding claim 3, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the dossier-specific information window is generated by selecting a subset of a plurality of information window components at the authoring platform (Temkin; as illustrates in figure 23, when the user interacts with an instance 2310 of the key term, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 corresponding to an entity (window 2320 information card as dossier-specific information window blueprints); paragraph 224, further, the process of creating an information card can include a user importing, identifying, selecting, or otherwise accessing a dataset using analytic platform (analytic platform as authoring platform); paragraphs 232).
Regarding claim 4, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the one or more dossier-specific information window blueprints is received from a dossier-specific database (Temkin; the server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200, further, This interaction can trigger the client device to request an information card (information card contain data) from a server system, further, The server system can then send the data for the information card to the client device for display and client device receive data; paragraph 224-225).
Regarding claim 5, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints is selected from one of a plurality of information window blueprint templates (Temkin; The card templates 2224 can include different templates for different types of entities. For example, one template may be used for a person, another template may be used for a company, another template may be used for a location (e.g., a particular store or region), and so on; paragraph 192).
Regarding claim 6, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin, Pool do not teach expressly,
wherein the contextual data point is data input by a user interacting with a dossier that provides contextual information to the dossier
However, Dalal teaches,
wherein the contextual data point is data input by a user interacting with a dossier that provides contextual information to the dossier. (Fig. 6, [0025]-[0030] [0032]-[0034] the contextual input is data input by a user interacting with the document to provide contextual information)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dalal’s customization for a user experience into Pool and Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dalal’s customization content display based on user input would help to provide more digital contents based on user input to Pool and Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing more digital contents based on the contextual information would improve user experience using the device.
Regarding claim 7, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints is output by a machine learning model (Temkin; system use machine learning to automatically generate cards or to suggest content for cards using usage data, further, each card can be designed with one or more key terms (e.g., words, phrases, numbers, data points, patterns, etc.) specified in card so that the occurrence of the one or more keywords can trigger the presentation of the card; paragraphs 247-248).
Regarding claim 8, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the machine learning model outputs the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints based on at least one of historical dossier-specific information windows, dossier content, contextual data point, or user history (Temkin; system use machine learning to automatically generate cards or to suggest content for cards using usage data (e.g., words, phrases, numbers, data points, patterns, etc.) specified in card so that the occurrence of the one or more keywords can trigger the presentation of the card; paragraphs 247-248).
Regarding to claim 15, claims 15 is system claim that corresponding to method claim 1. Therefore, claim is rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above. In addition, the combination of Temkin and Pool teaches, at least one memory (Pool. [0110]-[0113]) storing instructions; and at least one processor (Pool, [0110]-[0113]) executing the instructions to perform a process, the processor configured to:
Regarding claim 17, Temkin teaches, a method for providing dynamic in-context information, the method comprising:
receiving a user input directed at a particular portion of a dossier; (Fig. 5A, [0094]-[0095] user selects a data cube 510 from the various data sets in the GUI)
in response to determining the contextual data point, generating a plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints associated with the dossier based on the contextual data point and the user input, wherein each of the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints includes a plurality of placeholders for one or more dossier-specific information windows;
(Fig. 5A-5D, [0094]-[0098[0161]-[0164][0187]-[0200] [0232]-[0233] [0250]-[0256] in response to the user selecting the data cube 510, generating information specific blueprint based on the user selection and the contextual data (attributes of the data object the user selected, etc.) and the blueprint include a plurality of placeholders for a window as disclosed at Fig. 5C, such as using chat bot for the data set);
receiving first data from a database based on a first dossier-specific information window blueprint of the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints; ([0005]-[0007][0161]-[0164] [0187]-[0200][0217]-[0226][0232]-[0256] the server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200, further, This interaction can trigger the client device to request an information card (information card contain data) from a server system, further, The server system can then send the data for the information card to the client device for display and client device receive data, the information cards can be requested);
generating a first dossier-specific information window based on the first dossier-specific information window blueprint and the received data (Temkin; as illustrates in figure 23, when the user interacts with an instance 2310 of the key term, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 corresponding to an entity (window 2320 information card as dossier-specific information window blueprints); paragraph 224, further, server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200); and
displaying the first dossier-specific information window comprising the first data via a graphical user interface (GUI), wherein the first dossier-specific information window occupies at least a subset area of the dossier; (Temkin; as shown in figure 23, as user select or interact with instance 2310, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 (overlay on selected instance 2310) corresponding to an entity represented by the term; paragraph 224).
receiving a second user input at the dossier; (Fig. 5A, [0094]-[0095] user can select any data cube from the various data sets in the GUI)
receiving second data from the database based on a second dossier-specific information window blueprint of the plurality of dossier-specific information window blueprints; (Temkin; the server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200, further, This interaction can trigger the client device to request an information card (information card contain data) from a server system, further, The server system can then send the data for the information card to the client device for display and client device receive data; paragraph 224-225);
in response to determining the second contextual data point, generating a second dossier-specific information window based on the second dossier-specific information window blueprint and the received data (Temkin; as illustrates in figure 23, when the user interacts with an instance 2310 of the key term, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 corresponding to an entity (window 2320 information card as dossier-specific information window blueprints); paragraph 224, further, server 2220 accesses the source database 2222 and generates one or more information cards that are provided to the client device 2210 in response to the card request 2202; paragraph 200); and
displaying the second dossier-specific information window comprising the received data via a graphical user interface (GUI), wherein the second dossier-specific information window occupies at least a second subset area of the dossier (Temkin; as shown in figure 23, as user select or interact with instance 2310, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 (overlay on selected instance 2310) corresponding to an entity represented by the term; paragraph 224).
But Temkin fail to explicitly disclose “determining a fist contextual data point based on the user input, the contextual data point being a relative difference between a user input location of the user input and a user prior input location of a prior user input, each of the user input location and the prior user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; wherein the plurality of placeholders of the first one dossier-specific information window blueprint are determined using the received first data based on the relative difference between the user input location of the user input and the user prior input location of the prior user input associated with the particular portion of the dossier; determining a second contextual data point based on the second user input, the second contextual data point being a relative difference between a second user input location of the second user input and the user input location of the user input, each of the second user input location and the user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; wherein the plurality of placeholders of the second one dossier-specific information window blueprint are determined using the received second data based on the relative difference between the second user input location of the second user input and the user input location of the user input, each of the second user input location and the user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier;”
Pool disclose determining a first contextual data point based on the user input, the contextual data point being a relative difference between a user input location of the user input and a user prior input location of a prior user input, each of the user input location and the prior user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; (Fig. 3E-3F, Fig. 4A, [0009] [0019]-[0038] [0043] determine a user input position and recording a direction of motion of the user input based on the previously received user input positions corresponding to navigate portion of the content)
wherein the plurality of placeholders of the first one dossier-specific information window blueprint are determined using the received first data based on the relative difference between the user input location of the user input and the user prior input location of the prior user input associated with the particular portion of the dossier; (Fig. 3E-3F, Fig. 4A, [0009][0010][0018]-[0038] [0043] the aggregation and layout of the content of the interactive elements are determined using the data received based on the input trajectory and navigation made with the portion of the content during interaction)
determining a second contextual data point based on the second user input, the second contextual data point being a relative difference between a second user input location of the second user input and the user input location of the user input, each of the second user input location and the user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; (Fig. 3E-3F, Fig. 4A, [0009] [0019]-[0038] [0043] determine a user input position and recording a direction of motion of the user input based on the previously received user input positions corresponding to navigate portion of the content)
wherein the plurality of placeholders of the second one dossier-specific information window blueprint are determined using the received second data based on the relative difference between the second user input location of the second user input and the user input location of the user input, each of the second user input location and the user input location being associated with the particular portion of the dossier; (Fig. 3E-3F, Fig. 4A, [0009][0010][0018]-[0038] [0043] the aggregation and layout of the content of the interactive elements are determined using the data received based on the input trajectory and navigation made with the portion of the content during interaction)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Pool’s dynamic adaptation of interactive information container’s content into Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Pool’s dynamic adaptation of interactive information container’s content based on user input would help to provide more digital contents for the user based on user input to Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing more digital contents for the user based on the contextual information would improve user experience using the device.
But Temkin and Pool fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the plurality of placeholders of the first one dossier-specific information window blueprint are populated based on the first user input; wherein the plurality of placeholders of the second one dossier-specific information window blueprint are populated based on the second user input.”
Dalal disclose wherein the plurality of placeholders of the first one dossier-specific information window blueprint are populated based on the first user input; (Fig. 6, [0025]-[0030] [0032]-[0034] information blocks (modules/widgets) are populated for display (a widget or module is an interface element such as a window, etc.) on the page based on the context input)
wherein the plurality of placeholders of the second one dossier-specific information window blueprint are populated based on the second user input. Fig. 6, [0025]-[0030] [0032]-[0034] information blocks (modules/widgets) are populated for display (a widget or module is an interface element such as a window, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Dalal’s customization for a user experience into Pool and Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Dalal’s customization content display based on user input would help to provide more digital contents based on user input to Pool and Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing more digital contents based on the contextual information would improve user experience using the device.
Regarding claim 18, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 17,
Temkin further teaches,
wherein at least one of the first dossier- specific information window blueprint or the second dossier-specific information window blueprint is output by a machine learning model (Temkin; system use machine learning to automatically generate cards or to suggest content for cards using usage data, further, each card can be designed with one or more key terms (e.g., words, phrases, numbers, data points, patterns, etc.) specified in card so that the occurrence of the one or more keywords can trigger the presentation of the card; paragraphs 247-248).
Regarding claim 19, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 17. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the machine learning model outputs at least one of first the dossier-specific information window blueprint or the second dossier-specific information window blueprint based on at least one of historical dossier-specific information windows, dossier content, contextual data point, or user history (Temkin; system use machine learning to automatically generate cards or to suggest content for cards using usage data (e.g., words, phrases, numbers, data points, patterns, etc.) specified in card so that the occurrence of the one or more keywords can trigger the presentation of the card; paragraphs 247-248)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temkin et al. (US Pub 2020/0251111) hereinafter Temkin, Pool et al. (Pool) US 2016/0077723 and Dalal et al. (Dalal) US 2010/0083217 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sojobi et al. (Sojobi) US 11860922
Regarding claim 2, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1.
But Temkin and Dalal fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the dossier-specific information window is semi-transparent.”
Pool disclose wherein the dossier-specific information window is semi-transparent. ([0011]-[0012] display window based on transprancy)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Pool’s dynamic adaptation of interactive information container’s content into Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Pool’s dynamic adaptation of interactive information container based on transparency would help to provide more digital contents display method to Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing contents window with transparency would improve user experience using the device.
But Temkin, Pool and Dala fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the dossier-specific information window is generated via an authoring platform, wherein the dossier-specific information window is displayed overlaying the particular portion of the dossier associated with the user input, and wherein the dossier-specific information window includes a plurality of indicators located relative to the user input associating the dossier-specific information window to the user input location.”
Sojobi disclose wherein the dossier-specific information window is generated via an authoring platform, wherein the dossier-specific information window is displayed overlaying the particular portion of the dossier associated with the user input, and wherein the dossier-specific information window includes a plurality of indicators located relative to the user input associating the dossier-specific information window to the user input location. (col. 3, line 32-col. 4, line 67, col. 5, line 65-col. 6, line 44, fig. 1-2, 114 is generated and displayed by the application via a display, and 114 is overlayed over 111 which is the user input location on the field and the menu include information contents related to the field 111, such as information displayed in 112, or the frame, etc. as indicators. Note: Please further define indicators to help move forward the prosecution)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to incorporate Sojobi’s tagging documents to display with context sensitivity into Pool and Dalal, Temkin’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of user display. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Sojobi’s tagging documents to display with context sensitivity would help to provide more digital contents for the user with to Pool and Dalal, Temkin’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that would providing more digital contents for the user based on the contextual information would improve user experience using the device.
Claims 9, 12 and 16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temkin et al. (US Pub 2020/0251111), Pool et al. (Pool) US 2016/0077723 and Dalal et al. (Dalal) US 2010/0083217as applied to claims 1, 7 and 15 above, and further in view of Panuganty et al. (US Pub. 2020/0034357) hereinafter Panuganty.
Regarding claim 9, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Temkin further teaches,
receiving training data including the historical user inputs (Temkin; The machine learning module can be one that has been trained to identify data items that are most commonly used (e.g., requested, viewed, copied, shared, etc.) by a set of users, such as users in a group, department, organization, or geographical area; paragraph 263);
receiving outcome data tagged based on the historical user inputs (Temkin; machine learning identify data based on the user actions such as requested, viewed, shared and further, based on access logs and/or other usage records showing how portions of the data set and/or other data sets have been used, the machine learning model can be trained to identify the data items with the strongest affinity to a data element (machine learning identify data based on the tagged); paragraph 263);
outputting the machine learning model based on the training model (Temkin; the trained machine learning model can provide output indicating a relative importance of various data item types, and the items given the highest importance scores can be selected for inclusion in the information card; paragraph 263).
Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach do not teach expressly,
adjusting at least one of weights, biases, or layers of a training model based on the training data and the outcome data
However, Panuganty teaches,
adjusting at least one of weights, biases, or layers of a training model based on the training data and the outcome data (Panuganty; normalizing data that store in a database helps remove biases and undesired characteristics that potentially reduce the integrity and/or quality of data stored in a database using machine learning and this includes identifying and removing anomalies, removing redundant data, simplifying data mapping, validating data dependencies, etc.; paragraph 148).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Panuganty’s technique of normalizing data that store in a database helps remove biases using machine learning to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform, and displaying menu when highlighted item press longer then threshold of Temkin, Pool, Dalal. The motivation for doing so would have an enable user to quickly view the detail information of the selected file to increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin, Pool and Dalal do not teach expressly,
wherein the contextual data print received at a first time is different than the contextual data point received at a second time.
However, Panuganty further teaches,
wherein the contextual data print received at a first time is different than the contextual data point received at a second time (Panuganty; a template or generic entity type card can be stored and can be used repeatedly to dynamically create cards for entities of a particular type, without storing separate individual card definitions for individual entities; paragraph 245, further, The client device 2210 includes an application 2212 that enables the client device 2210 to dynamically generate and display contextually-relevant information cards in response to certain actions being performed on the client device 2210 or certain conditions of the client device 2210 being detected (template for generic entity type card used for different entity therefore first entity contextual data in card different then second entity card and these card with contextual data generated and used dynamically and different data in each different entity); paragraph 187).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Panuganty’s technique of normalizing data that store in a database helps remove biases using machine learning to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform, and displaying menu when highlighted item press longer then threshold of Temkin, Pool and Dalal. The motivation for doing so would have an enable user to quickly view the detail information of the selected file to increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 15. Temkin, Pool and Dalal do not teach expressly,
wherein the information window data accessed at a first time is different than the information window data accessed at a second time.
However, Panuganty further teaches,
wherein the information window data accessed at a first time is different than the information window data accessed at a second time (Panuganty; a template or generic entity type card can be stored and can be used repeatedly to dynamically create cards for entities of a particular type, without storing separate individual card definitions for individual entities; paragraph 245, further, The client device 2210 includes an application 2212 that enables the client device 2210 to dynamically generate and display contextually-relevant information cards in response to certain actions being performed on the client device 2210 or certain conditions of the client device 2210 being detected (template for generic entity type card used for different entity therefore first entity contextual data in card different then second entity card and these card with contextual data generated and used dynamically and different data in each different entity); paragraph 187).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Panuganty’s technique of normalizing data that store in a database helps remove biases using machine learning to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform, and displaying menu when highlighted item press longer then threshold of Temkin, Pool and Dalal. The motivation for doing so would have an enable user to quickly view the detail information of the selected file to increase efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 17. Temkin further teaches,
receiving training data including the historical user inputs (Temkin; The machine learning module can be one that has been trained to identify data items that are most commonly used (e.g., requested, viewed, copied, shared, etc.) by a set of users, such as users in a group, department, organization, or geographical area; paragraph 263);
receiving outcome data tagged based on the historical user inputs (Temkin; machine learning identify data based on the user actions such as requested, viewed, shared and further, based on access logs and/or other usage records showing how portions of the data set and/or other data sets have been used, the machine learning model can be trained to identify the data items with the strongest affinity to a data element (machine learning identify data based on the tagged); paragraph 263);
outputting the machine learning model based on the training model (Temkin; the trained machine learning model can provide output indicating a relative importance of various data item types, and the items given the highest importance scores can be selected for inclusion in the information card; paragraph 263).
Temkin, Pool and Dalal do not teach expressly,
wherein the machine learning model is trained based on historical user inputs for a plurality of dossiers and wherein training the machine learning model
adjusting at least one of weights, biases, or layers of a training model based on the training data and the outcome data.
However, Panuganty teaches,
wherein the machine learning model is trained based on historical user inputs for a plurality of dossiers and wherein training the machine learning model (Temkin; system use machine learning to automatically generate cards or to suggest content for cards using usage data, further, each card can be designed with one or more key terms (e.g., words, phrases, numbers, data points, patterns, etc.) specified in card so that the occurrence of the one or more keywords can trigger the presentation of the card; paragraphs 247-248) further comprises:
adjusting at least one of weights, biases, or layers of a training model based on the training data and the outcome data (Panuganty; normalizing data that store in a database helps remove biases and undesired characteristics that potentially reduce the integrity and/or quality of data stored in a database using machine learning and this includes identifying and removing anomalies, removing redundant data, simplifying data mapping, validating data dependencies, etc.; paragraph 148).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Panuganty’s technique of normalizing data that store in a database helps remove biases using machine learning to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform, and displaying menu when highlighted item press longer then threshold of Temkin, Pool and Dalal. The motivation for doing so would have an enable user to quickly view the detail information of the selected file to increase efficiency.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temkin et al. (US Pub 2020/0251111) hereinafter Temkin, Pool et al. (Pool) US 2016/0077723 and Dalal et al. (Dalal) US 2010/0083217 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Borzello et al. (Borzello) US 2014/0282178
Regarding claim 10, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1.
But Temkin, Pool and Dalal fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the user input is determined based on a focus area of the dossier, the focus area selected using an input device.”
Borzello further teaches wherein the user input is determined based on a focus area of the dossier, the focus area selected using an input device (([0016]-[0021] [0115]-[0120][0141] the user selection is made by the input device, the selected text 510 to become “bold” )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Borzello’s technique of identifying user inputs to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform of Pool, Dalal and Temkin. The motivation for doing so would have improve a user’s experience or ease with a particular task by displaying quickly, efficiently and consistently provide contextual information.
Regarding claim 11, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1.
But Temkin, Pool and Dalal fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the user input is determined based on a selection made by an input device.”
Borzello further teaches, wherein the user input is determined based on a selection made by an input device (([0016]-[0021] [0120][0141] the user selection is made by the input device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Borzello’s technique of identifying user inputs to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform of Pool and Dalal, Temkin. The motivation for doing so would have improve a user’s experience or ease with a particular task by displaying quickly, efficiently and consistently provide contextual information.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temkin et al. (US Pub 2020/0251111) hereinafter Temkin , Pool et al. (Pool) US 2016/0077723 and Dalal et al. (Dalal) US 2010/0083217 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Osterhout et al. (US Pub 2012/0194549) hereinafter Osterhout.
Regarding claim 13, Temkin, Pool and Dalal teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Temkin, Pool and Dalal do not teach expressly,
wherein the dossier-specific information window is semi-opaque
However, Osterhout teaches,
wherein the dossier-specific information window is semi-opaque (Osterhout; command and/or control modes and interfaces in which inputs can be reflected may include semi-opaque display; paragraph 769, further, as illustrates in figure 7, the displayed image may be positioned anywhere in the field of view and the media may be made to be more or less transparent (e.g., semi-opaque); paragraph 311).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to include Osterhout’s technique of image display in semi-opaque view to modify generate pop-up window of entity’s information from instance of the card via analytic platform, and displaying menu when highlighted item press longer then threshold of Temkin, Pool and Dalal. The motivation for doing so would have enable user to view the background content of the window to monitor the behavior of the other content.
Regarding claim 14, Temkin, Pool, Dalal and Osterhout teach the invention as claimed in claim 13. Temkin further teaches,
wherein the dossier-specific information window is overlaid over contextually relevant portions of the dossier, such that the contextually relevant portions of the dossier are visible in addition to the dossier-specific information window (Temkin; as shown in figure 23, as user select or interact with instance 2310, the client device generates and provides an information card 2320 (overlay on selected instance 2310) corresponding to an entity represented by the term; paragraph 224).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 filed on 11/14//2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Documents PATENT DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 20100122194 A1 2010-05-13 ROGERS et al.
METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CONTEXT DEPENDENT POP-UP MENUS
ROGERS et al. disclose A method and system for providing context dependent pop-up menu icons that activate menu icons in response to a select & drag operation by manipulation of a pointing device. Presented icons may correspond to functions or actions that can be implemented with the particular type of content selected. Icons may be displayed in a consistent manner in terms of position and content with respect to the selected file or object. Icons may appear only during a select & drag operation, thereby leaving the display uncluttered at other times. Presentation of icons may be discontinued when the selected file or object is dragged beyond the area of the presented icons. New applications can register with the operating system to specify icons to be presented when corresponding files are selected or when particular content objects are selected within the application… see abstract.
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143