DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann et al. (U.S. No. 6,949,067 B1; hereinafter known as “Dann”), in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0263697 A1; hereinafter known as “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Dann discloses an adult device (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising a first contact surface portion that is formed from a thermoplastic elastomer material (col. 6, lines 14-18). Dann fails to disclose that the material is silver impregnated, though Dann does teach that another suitable material is silicone. Liu teaches a similar adult device (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising a first contact surface portion that is formed from a silver impregnated silicone material in order to provide an antibacterial effect ([0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dann so that the TPE material is silver impregnated, as taught by Liu, in order to provide an antibacterial effect.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the combination of Dann and Liu discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and further discloses second and third contact surface portions that are formed from the silver impregnated thermoplastic elastomer material (e.g., the portions are arbitrary; a single contact surface may be divided up into numerous different portions).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dann and Liu discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Dann further discloses that an entirety of the adult device is formed from the silver impregnated thermoplastic elastomer material (col. 6, lines 27-30; unitary construction of a single material).
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0099858 A1), in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Hernandez discloses an adult device (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising a first contact surface portion 202 that is formed from a thermoplastic elastomer material ([0023]). Hernandez fails to disclose that the material is silver impregnated, though Hernandez does teach that another suitable material is silicone. Liu teaches an adult device (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising a first contact surface portion that is formed from a silver impregnated silicone material in order to provide an antibacterial effect ([0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hernandez so that the TPE material is silver impregnated, as taught by Liu, in order to provide an antibacterial effect.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hernandez and Liu discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and further discloses a second contact surface portion that is formed from the silver impregnated thermoplastic elastomer material (e.g., the portions are arbitrary; a single contact surface may be divided up into numerous different portions).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hernandez and Liu discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Hernandez further discloses that the adult device is a sex doll (Abstract; [0002]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hernandez and Liu discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and Hernandez further discloses that a remainder 212 of the adult device is formed from a material other than the silver impregnated thermoplastic elastomer material ([0022]; [0026]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann and Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (KR 2023/0060704 A; hereinafter known as “Kwon”). The combination of Dann and Liu discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, and further discloses that the silver impregnated thermoplastic elastomer material comprises a silver powder and a thermoplastic material that are mixed together (Dann: col. 6, lines 14-18; Liu: [0023]). The combination of Dann and Liu fails to disclose that the silver powder is a silver nanopowder. Kwon discloses manufacturing TPE and adding an antibacterial silver nanopowder to enhance the antibacterial effect by evenly dispersing in the TPE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dann and Liu so that the powder is a nanopowder, as taught by Kwon, in order to enhance the antibacterial effect by evenly dispersing the silver in the TPE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. More (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0107431 A1) and Shubin, Sr. (U.S. 5,466,235) both teach a sex doll that can be formed from a TPE.
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791