DETAILED ACTION
Claims 22-38 are pending in the case. Claims 22 and 30 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/03/2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. No copies of cited foreign patent documents and non-patent literature documents are provided. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 22-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are directed to software per se. Both independent claims 22 and 30 are directed to “[a] graphical user interface (GUI)” which is software. As such, these independent claims, and their respective dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 22-27 and 29 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (US 2010/0305928 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Cohen teaches a graphical user interface (GUI) implemented in a computer system comprising one or more processors, the GUI configured to customize components to include in an application data structure for modeling a physical system, the application data structure based on an embedded model data structure and user-selected application features, the embedded model data structure including a geometry and physical quantities represented in terms of a combined set of equations (FIG. 3 and [0039-0045]; For additional details regarding the various modules of FIG.3, see FIG. 4 and [0046-0061]), the GUI including selectable GUI elements configured to implement the following acts:
displaying one or more first GUI elements representing one or more model data structures (FIGS. 7-8 and [0076-0080]: for example, menu has options for specifying sex of the patient. Note that while options 720 and 721 are illustrated, they are erroneously referred to as options 721 and 722 in the specification. For clarity, the mapping herein refers to these options as numbered 720 for “Male” and 721 for “Female” in the figures.);
receiving one or more first user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more first GUI elements (FIG. 8 and [0080]: the user identified 810 the patient as female, corresponding to input of option 721);
displaying one or more second GUI elements representing one or more application features for association with the one or more model data structures (FIG. 11, [0068], and [0084]: second GUI elements correspond to at least slider bars 1110 and 1111; For another example of second GUI elements, see 1310, 1320, 1330, 1340, and 1350 of FIG. 13 and [0088-0089]);
receiving one or more second user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more second GUI elements (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient; For another example see FIG. 13 and [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]);
in response to receiving the one or more first user inputs, embedding the selected one or more model data structures in an application data structure (FIG. 8 and [0080]: “In FIG. 8, the user has identified 810 the patient as a female. After receiving the input from the user, the editor 213 has sent a message to the visualization module 211 to indicate that the patient's sex has been selected. In response, the visualization module changes the shading of the patient's torso 710. The editor 213 re-displays the graphical representation of the patient's torso 710, which provides a more realistic representation of internal organs and tissue.” Thus, the selected model data structure of a female torso is embedded in an application data structure); and
in response to receiving the one or more second user inputs, adding the selected one or more application features to the application data structure (FIGS. 6 and 11, [0068-0071], and [0084]: as supported in [0069], “After receiving the modification of a characteristic of the patient template, the system 300 may generate and display a view of the patient to provide feedback to the user modifying the characteristic of the patient template. For example, as may be seen in FIG. 7-23, the system 300 has generated views of the patient based on a user's modification of characteristics of the patient”. Thus, the application features are added to the application data structure; For another example see FIG. 13, [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]),
thereby generating a customized application data structure including at least the selected one or more model data structures and the selected one or more application features (FIG. 6 and [0066-0073]: at step 680, a user-defined scene is packaged as an executable application).
Regarding claim 23, the GUI of claim 22, further comprising the GUI being configured to add application feature settings to at least one of the one or more added application features by implementing the following acts:
displaying one or more GUI elements representing one or more application feature settings; and
receiving a user input associated with a user selection of the one or more application feature settings (FIG. 13 and [0088-0089], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: for example, one or more application feature settings can include at least tools 1310 for identifying tools that are allowed within the simulation).
Regarding claim 24, Cohen further teaches the GUI of claim 23, wherein at least one of the one or more application feature settings corresponds to a restriction setting or a preference setting (FIG. 13 and [0088-0089], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: for example, one or more application feature settings can include at least tools 1310 which corresponds to a restriction setting for identifying tools that are allowed within the simulation).
Regarding claim 25, Cohen further teaches the GUI of claim 22, wherein at least one of the one or more selected application features is added to the customized application data structure by implementation of the following acts:
displaying a context menu in the GUI, the context menu including several selectable application features (FIG. 11, [0068], and [0084]: context menu 732 includes second GUI elements correspond to at least slider bars 1110 and 1111; For another example of second GUI elements, see 1310, 1320, 1330, 1340, and 1350 of FIG. 13 and [0088-0089]); and
receiving a user input associated with a user selection of one of the displayed selectable application features (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient; For another example see FIG. 13 and [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]).
Regarding claim 26, Cohen further teaches the GUI of claim 22, wherein at least one of the one or more model data structures is added to the customized application data structure by implementation of the following acts:
displaying a context menu in the GUI, the context menu including at least one selectable GUI element representing adding a model data structure (FIGS. 7-8 and [0076-0080], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: for example, context menu has selectable checkbox for “More Options”);
receiving a user input associated with a user selection of the at least one selectable GUI element (FIGS. 8 and 10 and [0080], [0083-0084], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: user selects “More Options”);
in response to receiving the user input, displaying a list including representations of available model data structures (FIG. 10 and [0083-0084]: a list including representations of available model data structures is displayed); and
receiving a user input associated with a user selection of at least one of the available model data structures (FIGS. 8 and 10 and [0080], [0083-0084], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: the user identified 810 the patient as female, corresponding to input of option 721).
Regarding claim 27, Cohen further teaches the GUI of claim 22, wherein at least one of the selected one or more application features includes input forms, output forms, form collections, and widget collections, wherein the GUI is configured to allow interactive drawing and positioning of the input forms and output forms (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient, which allows interactive drawing and position of the input forms for a patient’s torso. As supported in [0069], “After receiving the modification of a characteristic of the patient template, the system 300 may generate and display a view of the patient to provide feedback to the user modifying the characteristic of the patient template. For example, as may be seen in FIG. 7-23, the system 300 has generated views of the patient based on a user's modification of characteristics of the patient.” Note that output forms may be the generated view of the patient. Form collections are the different categories of adjustable information, like age and health in this example. Widget collections include the sliders for modifying the age and health; For another example see FIG. 13 and [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]), and
wherein the GUI is configured to allow for interactive design of form collections and widget collections (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient, which allows interactive drawing and position of the input forms for a patient’s torso. As supported in [0069], “After receiving the modification of a characteristic of the patient template, the system 300 may generate and display a view of the patient to provide feedback to the user modifying the characteristic of the patient template. For example, as may be seen in FIG. 7-23, the system 300 has generated views of the patient based on a user's modification of characteristics of the patient.” Note that output forms may be the generated view of the patient. Form collections are the different categories of adjustable information, like age and health in this example. Widget collections include the sliders for modifying the age and health; For another example see FIG. 13 and [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]).
Regarding claim 29, Cohen teaches the GUI of claim 27. Cohen further teaches wherein the GUI is configured to receive a user input for at least one of a default horizontal spacing setting and a default vertical spacing setting to be applied to a positioning of the input form or the output form (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient, which allows interactive drawing and position of the input forms for a patient’s torso. As supported in [0069], “After receiving the modification of a characteristic of the patient template, the system 300 may generate and display a view of the patient to provide feedback to the user modifying the characteristic of the patient template. For example, as may be seen in FIG. 7-23, the system 300 has generated views of the patient based on a user's modification of characteristics of the patient.” In this case, see default horizontal spacing setting for input forms for age and/or health of patient).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 28 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 2010/0305928 A1), in view of Glaser et al. (US 2006/0085170 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Cohen teaches the GUI of claim 27. Cohen does not explicitly teach wherein the GUI is configured to allow for a snapping option for positioning the forms and widgets.
Glaser teaches wherein the GUI is configured to allow for a snapping option for positioning the forms and widgets (FIG. 3A and [0081], FIG. 3D and [0088], FIG. 4B and [0090]: GUI allows for snapping option for positioning forms and widgets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have modified Cohen by incorporating the teachings of Glaser so as to include wherein the GUI is configured to allow for a snapping option for positioning the forms and widgets. Doing so would prevent disconnected spaces in the UI that may either cause wasted display space or indicate unintentional user input error. A snapping option allows the system to automatically snap forms and widgets to a more likely correct or intended location, reducing pressures for user accuracy.
Claims 30-33 and 35-38 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 2010/0305928 A1), in view of Vidal et al. (US 2011/0265073 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Cohen teaches a graphical user interface (GUI) implemented in a computer system comprising one or more processors, the GUI configured to customize components to include in an application data structure for modeling a physical system, the application data structure based on an embedded model data structure and user-selected application features, the embedded model data structure including a geometry and physical quantities represented in terms of a combined set of equations (FIG. 3 and [0039-0045]; For additional details regarding the various modules of FIG.3, see FIG. 4 and [0046-0061]), the GUI including selectable GUI elements configured to implement the following acts:
displaying one or more first GUI elements representing one or more model data structures (FIGS. 7-8 and [0076-0080]: for example, menu has options for specifying sex of the patient. Note that while options 720 and 721 are illustrated, they are erroneously referred to as options 721 and 722 in the specification. For clarity, the mapping herein refers to these options as numbered 720 for “Male” and 721 for “Female” in the figures.);
receiving one or more first user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more first GUI elements representing the one or more model data structures (FIG. 8 and [0080]: the user identified 810 the patient as female, corresponding to input of option 721);
displaying one or more second GUI elements representing one or more application features for association with the one or more model data structures (FIG. 11, [0068], and [0084]: second GUI elements correspond to at least slider bars 1110 and 1111; For another example of one or more second GUI elements, see 1310, 1320, 1330, 1340, and/or 1350 of FIG. 13 and [0088-0089]);
receiving one or more second user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more second GUI elements representing the one or more application features (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient; For another example see FIG. 13 and [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]);
in response to receiving the one or more first user inputs, embedding the selected one or more model data structures in an application data structure (FIG. 8 and [0080]: “In FIG. 8, the user has identified 810 the patient as a female. After receiving the input from the user, the editor 213 has sent a message to the visualization module 211 to indicate that the patient's sex has been selected. In response, the visualization module changes the shading of the patient's torso 710. The editor 213 re-displays the graphical representation of the patient's torso 710, which provides a more realistic representation of internal organs and tissue.” Thus, the selected model data structure of a female torso is embedded in an application data structure);
in response to receiving the one or more second user inputs, adding the selected one or more application features to the application data structure (FIGS. 6 and 11, [0068-0071], and [0084]: as supported in [0069], “After receiving the modification of a characteristic of the patient template, the system 300 may generate and display a view of the patient to provide feedback to the user modifying the characteristic of the patient template. For example, as may be seen in FIG. 7-23, the system 300 has generated views of the patient based on a user's modification of characteristics of the patient”. Thus, the application features are added to the application data structure; For another example see FIG. 13, [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]);
(FIG. 6 and [0066-0073]: at step 680, a user-defined scene is packaged as an executable application);
wherein the executable stand-alone application is generated (FIG. 6 and [0066-0073]).
Cohen does not explicitly teach displaying one or more third GUI elements representing one or more selections for generating an executable standalone application; optionally displaying additional GUI elements as part of the one or more third GUI elements, the additional GUI elements representing one or more selections for packaging settings for the executable standalone application; and receiving one or more third user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more third GUI elements representing the one or more selections for generating the executable standalone application, wherein the executable stand-alone application is generated based on the received one or more third user inputs.
Vidal teaches displaying one or more third GUI elements representing one or more selections for generating an executable standalone application (FIG. 1 and [0014-0018]: see set of package update options 146);
optionally displaying additional GUI elements as part of the one or more third GUI elements, the additional GUI elements representing one or more selections for packaging settings for the executable standalone application (not a required limitation but mapping provided for the sake of compact prosecution; FIG. 2 and [0019-0020]: see additional GUI elements via selector 182); and
receiving one or more third user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more third GUI elements representing the one or more selections for generating the executable standalone application,
wherein the executable stand-alone application is generated based on the received one or more third user inputs (FIGS. 1 and 2 [0014-0020]: executable stand-alone application is generated based on the received one or more third user inputs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have modified Cohen by incorporating the teachings of Vidal so as to include displaying one or more third GUI elements representing one or more selections for generating an executable standalone application; optionally displaying additional GUI elements as part of the one or more third GUI elements, the additional GUI elements representing one or more selections for packaging settings for the executable standalone application; and receiving one or more third user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more third GUI elements representing the one or more selections for generating the executable standalone application, wherein the executable stand-alone application is generated based on the received one or more third user inputs. Doing so would allow generation of a standalone application that can operate independently of other program. By reducing reliance on additional programming, the application can be distributed and made accessible to a wider baseline audience. Furthermore, configuration of package settings would increase customizability for the user to generate a standalone application that maintains applicability and adheres to certain environments.
Regarding claim 31, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 30, wherein the displayed additional GUI elements include selectable settings to embed a platform compatible runtime engine with the executable standalone application (the claim recites an optional feature not required under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 32, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 30, wherein the displayed additional GUI elements include selectable settings for packaging a downloader for a runtime engine compatible with the executable standalone application (the claim recites an optional feature not required under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 33, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 31, wherein the displayed additional GUI elements further include representations of one or more platforms a packaged runtime engine is compatible with, and in response to receiving the one or more third user inputs, generating the executable stand-alone application such that the packaged runtime engine is compatible with the platform associated with the received third user input (the claim recites an optional feature not required under broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 35, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 30. Vidal further teaches wherein the additional GUI elements are displayed allowing user interaction with the additional GUI elements, and
wherein in response to a user interaction with one or more of the additional GUI elements, the executable application is generated with the packaging of the executable stand-alone application being in accordance with one or more selections of package settings associated with the user interaction with the one or more additional GUI elements (FIGS. 1 and 2 [0014-0020]: executable stand-alone application is generated based on the received one or more third user inputs).
Regarding claim 36, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 30. Cohen further teaches wherein the one or more application features include method calls, and wherein in response to the one or more second inputs being associated with a user selection from a GUI element representing a method call, adding the selected method call to the application data structure (FIG. 4 and [0046-0061]: one or more application features include method calls, which in response to the one or more second input, is added to the application data structure, the building of which is further detailed in FIG. 6 and [0066-0073]).
Regarding claim 37, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 36. Cohen further teaches wherein the GUI is further configured to allow modification of default values of the method call (FIG. 11, FIG. 6 and [0068-0071], and [0084]: user performs inputs to adjust age and/or health of patient. Note the modification of default values as the user may revert the modification by restoring to default values; For another example see FIG. 13 and [0088-0089] as it pertains to [0069-0071]).
Regarding claim 38, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 30. Cohen further teaches further comprising:
displaying one or more GUI elements representing a custom file arrangement (FIGS. 8 and 10, [0080], and [0083-0085]: checkbox “More Options” represents a custom file arrangement);
in response to receiving an input associated with a user selection of the one or more GUI elements representing the custom file arrangement, displaying a settings window, the settings window including at least one of a name input field and a list of available class identifiers (FIG. 10 and [0083-0084]: a settings window including templates 1010-1012 is displayed. The settings window include a name input field like “Obese Geriatric”, “Overweight Youngster”, “Malnourished Middle-Aged” and a list of available class identifiers like those indicating “Female”);
receiving a user input corresponding to a user selection of a name and/or an available class identifier (FIG. 10 and [0083-0084], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: user input selects, for example, template 1011); and
in response to receiving the user input for the name and/or available class identifier, configuring the application data structure to include the custom file arrangement in accordance with the user inputs (FIG. 10 and [0083-0084], FIG. 6 and [0069-0071]: selection of a template configures the application data structure to include the custom file arrangement in accordance with the user inputs).
Claim 34 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 2010/0305928 A1), in view of Vidal et al. (US 2011/0265073 A1), in view of Koebrick (US 2009/0005930 A1).
Regarding claim 34, Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the GUI of claim 30. Although Cohen in view of Vidal teaches the executable stand-alone application, Cohen in view of Vidal does not explicitly teach further comprising: displaying one or more fourth GUI element representing one or more selectable splash screens; and in response to receiving one or more fourth user inputs associated with a user selection of the one or more fourth GUI elements, packaging a file describing the splash screens associated the selected one or more fourth user inputs with the executable stand-alone application and automatically displaying the file during the launch of the executable stand-alone application.
Koebrick teaches displaying one or more fourth GUI element representing one or more selectable splash screens; and in response to receiving one or more fourth user inputs associated with a user selection of the one or more fourth GUI elements, packaging a file describing the splash screens associated the selected one or more fourth user inputs with the executable stand-alone application and automatically displaying the file during the launch of the executable stand-alone application (FIG. 4 and [0037-0042]: see for example fourth GUI element 78 which enables a retailer to create a custom message for the user. A splash screen is automatically displayed during launch).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have modified Cohen in view of Vidal by incorporating the teachings of Koebrick so as to include displaying one or more third GUI elements representing one or more selections for generating an executable standalone application; optionally displaying additional GUI elements as part of the one or more third GUI elements, the additional GUI elements representing one or more selections for packaging settings for the executable standalone application; and receiving one or more third user inputs associated with a user selection from the one or more third GUI elements representing the one or more selections for generating the executable standalone application, wherein the executable stand-alone application is generated based on the received one or more third user inputs. Doing so would allow greater customization of an initial screen that is displayed to an end-user. In this way, the user configuring the stand-alone application can better control what the end-user is greeted with. As Koebrick suggests, “This enables additional flexibility to the retailer or manufacturer, and provides an important customer relations and customer service tool” ([0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 2007/0124128 A1: GUI for modeling physical system allowing for modifications of parameters
US 8588955 B2: visualization of data-sets through selected inputs
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171