DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s communication filed 12/22/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art have been fully considered but are not persuasive
The examiner disagrees that Paragraphs 18 and 20 provide sufficient support for the limitations added to claims 1 and 15. See the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections below, as these limitations are being considered new matter.
Applicant generally argues that the references do not teach the added limitations “wherein at least a portion of the plurality of questions asked to complete a first government form are not re-asked to the user when completing a second government form from a different government agency, and answers previously obtained by voice are automatically applied to corresponding fields of the second government form without further user input”. The examiner respectfully disagrees as Lopata is being relied upon to teach these limitations. See ¶ 13 and 51 of Lopata, in particular. Lopata teaches automatically pre-populating corresponding blank fields in a form that a user desires to fill out and file with a government agency. The selected form is accessed from a single access point that provides a user with access to multiple government forms from multiple government agencies, the single access point also providing the data field storage and pre-population mechanisms. Previously entered data pertaining to a user, i.e. data the user had previously entered when filling out a first form, is used to pre-populate appropriate fields of other forms selected to be completed by a user.
Applicant argues that Lopata teaches manual entry for each form and does not teach suppressing questions for a later form based on answers previously obtained from a different form and does not teach a system that automatically reuses previously captured voice responses without user input. Applicant argues that combining the teachings of Huff and Lopata would still require asking the user the questions corresponding to each form. The examiner respectfully disagrees. It is not necessary that Lopata teaches capturing data and filling out form fields based on a voice interaction with the user. Huff is relied upon to teach this limitation. Lopata (¶ 13, 51) explicitly teaches reusing previously entered information and automatically filling out pertinent fields of a form using the previously entered information. Any fields that are not pre-populated then require further input. Lopata therefore teaches more than mere manual data entry, as fields of a form being filled are pre-populated. Therefore, in combination with Huff, the previously obtained answers via the voice interaction would be saved and used to pre-populate a later form without requiring further input for those fields or re-asking the questions.
Since Lopata, in combination with the other prior art, teaches the amended limitations, applicant’s arguments in view of Swivigaradoss on Page 9 are respectfully moot.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In this case, even if the amended limitations are not considered new matter, Lopata still teaches these limitations and the independent claims as a whole would have been obvious over the combination of Huff, Lopata, and Semenovskiy. Huff provides the teachings of how the data is obtained from the user, i.e. via voice interaction with an agent and automatically extracting the form data to be filled out from the voice interaction. In combination with Lopata, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have considered saving the data previously captured by voice to be automatically pre-populated for a second form that the user desires to fill out without requiring further user input or re-asking questions to fill out those fields.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations “wherein at least a portion of the plurality of questions asked to complete a first government form are not re-asked to the user when completing a second government form from a different government agency, and answers previously obtained by voice are automatically applied to corresponding fields of the second government form without further user input.” Claim 15 recites similar limitations. These limitations, which include negative limitations “not re-asked” and “without further user input”, are considered new matter. There is not sufficient discussion in the specification that a portion of questions are not re-asked when completing a second government form from a different government agency and that the answers previously provided by a user by voice are automatically applied to the corresponding fields of the second form without further user input. The speciation at most describes the following:
“the form filing by voice includes different features related to expanding or managing the user’s vital documents, replacing the existing documents with newer versions, receiving the digital document to email/sending to a certain person, and integrating with other related services, such as automatic form completion.” ¶ 17
“Without wishing to be bound by theory, not having to refill form data that has previously been captured increases the efficiency of use for a general-purpose computer. The data remain encrypted between forms and do not need to be copied into the clipboard function of the general-purpose computer.” ¶ 20
“Form answering module 108 may be configured to answer by the user a plurality of questions that correspond to a plurality of fields on at least one form. Confirming module 110 may be configured to confirm that the answers from the user are accurate per a government standard. Form filling module 112 may be configured to fill out the at least one form with the answers to the plurality of questions. Form filing module 114 may be configured to file the form.” ¶ 29
While the specification generally indicates automatic form completion as a feature and teaches not having to refill form data that has previously been captured, the original disclosure does not discuss filling out a second form from a different government agency, where a portion of questions are not re-asked while filling the second form and where the previously obtained answers are automatically applied to the second form without further user input. The specification generally mentioning automatic form completion and that there is “at least one form” is not sufficient disclosure, nor does it sufficiently imply all the limitations added to claims 1 and 15. Claims 2-7 and 16-20 are rejected due to their dependencies.
See MPEP 2163.I.B and 2173.05(i). If applicant traverses this rejection, applicant should clearly indicate the portions of the specification that provide support for the added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUFF (US 7,907,705 B1) in view of LOPATA (US 2010/0153441 A1) and further in view of SEMENOVSKIY (US 2021/0281421 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, HUFF teaches a computerized method for completing a plurality of government form by voice, the method comprising the steps of: (“the invention relates to a method for capturing information from a live conversation between an operator and a customer… recognizing at least one portion of the live conversation as a text portion after converting the live conversation to text… and storing information obtained from the text portion into the information field, wherein the information obtained from the text portion comprises at least one word spoken after the cue” Col. 2:11-18. This is an overview of the method for completing a form by voice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the method to be performed for any type of form, including government forms. The form being a government form would not distinguish from the technical solution taught by HUFF.)
a user answering by voice a plurality of questions (“Given this information, the Context Designator (110) includes functionality to "listen for" cues as it obtains a stream of text from the Speech Recognition Engine (114). Upon "hearing" a cue, the Context Designator (110) knows the associated data field ID and type.” Col. 5:9-13. “For example, in one embodiment of the invention, the cues may be particular words within verbal phrases such as "Could you please give me your full name?" or "What is your home address?" where the cue is the word "name" and "address."… the cues recited by the operator may correspond to information that is included in the context that includes the information field to be completed with customer information.” Col. 6:56-55. “the information from the portion of text following each recognized cue may be recorded as information relating to the information field (Step 310)” Col. 8:4-6. Cues, which are within questions that are asked by a human operator to a customer user, correspond to the plurality of fields of the form. The user answers the plurality of questions and the user’s answers are recorded in the appropriate information field based on the detected cue.)
that correspond to a plurality of fields on a plurality of… forms… (“the Context Designator (110) is responsible for recognizing cues and relating text from the live conversation with fields in the document/form based on the cues. In one embodiment of the invention, the Context Designator (110) may be operatively connected to a repository (not shown) configured to store documents/forms that are retrieved to record information from the live conversation” Col. 4:52-58. A plurality of fields in at least one document or form are filled based on a user’s answers extracted from a conversation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the process to be repeated any number of times to fill out a plurality of forms having a plurality of fields. As stated previously, the plurality of forms being government forms would not distinguish from such a solution.)
…confirming that the answers from the user are accurate… (“common fields of information may include a customer name, an address, an occupation, a phone number, etc. In this case, the restricted grammar may expect words or phrases associated with such fields of customer information. In one embodiment of the invention, the Speech Recognition Engine (114) is a learning engine that improves accuracy and performance using corrections made by the operator (106) such that the Speech Recognition Engine (114) may be better able to recognize types of customer information in the future” Col. 4:38-47. “Simultaneously or subsequent to the completion of the recording of information into the document/form, the document/form may be reviewed to check whether the speech recognition was performed accurately and to confirm the validity of the information (Step 208).” Col. 7:30-34.)
completing the plurality of… forms with the answers to the plurality of questions using a computer-implemented form-filling process; (“Thus, the form/document retrieved and automatically completed using the DAS (108) is presented on-screen to the operator by the computer application (107).” Col. 4:62-64. “The operator can continue to interview the customer in a similar fashion as described above until all the information fields of the document have been completed and all relevant customer information has been recorded to satisfy the purpose of the customer's call.” Col. 9:6-10. The answers provided by the user are automatically entered into the fields of the form corresponding to each question/cue until the form is completed.)
While HUFF at least suggests a process for filling a plurality of forms, HUFF does not explicitly teach the process being completed for a plurality of government forms from different government agencies;
While HUFF teaches validation of the user’s answers, HUFF does not explicitly teach that the answers are accurate per a government standard with a computer-implemented verification process.
HUFF does not teach and electronically transmitting the plurality of completed government forms to the government for processing, wherein the electronic transmission is performed using encrypted communication and enables automatic processing within the government.
While HUFF teaches obtaining answers by voice, HUFF does not teach wherein at least a portion of the plurality of questions asked to complete a first government form are not re-asked to the user when completing a second government form from a different government agency, and answers previously obtained… are automatically applied to corresponding fields of the second government form without further user input.
However, LOPATA, which is directed to a single access point for filling and filing a plurality of government forms with different government agencies, teaches the process being completed for a plurality of government forms from different government agencies; (See Paragraphs 13, 28-31, 49, 51, 53, 55: A user accesses a plurality of government forms from different government agencies via a single access point. The user can then manually fill blank fields in the forms or answer questions asked by a telephone operator to fill out the blank fields. Completed forms are transmitted to the appropriate government agencies.)
teaches verifying that answers are accurate per a government standard with a computer-implemented verification process. (Paragraph 30, 51: Data mapping software and translator components are used to convert submitted form data into the proper format for submission to the appropriate government agency: “business process orchestration software determines the proper format for data from the submitted form in order to be properly received and processed by the government agency systems 302, 304”. Therefore, there is a computer-implemented process of verifying that the data is correct per a government standard.)
and teaches electronically transmitting the plurality of completed government forms to the government for processing… and enables automatic processing within the government. (Paragraphs 30, 34, 50-51: After a user submits a form, it is electronically transmitted to the appropriate government agency, where the form data is verified and then automatically processed as a transaction with the agency.)
wherein at least a portion of the plurality of questions asked to complete a first government form are not re-asked to the user when completing a second government form from a different government agency, and answers previously obtained… are automatically applied to corresponding fields of the second government form without further user input. (¶ 13: “Multiple electronic forms are accessible to the customer at a single access point, such as on a web site. At the web site, the customer selects a form for filing with a government agency. When presented to the customer, the selected form may have some of its data fields being pre-populated according to information retrieved from a database and specific to that customer.” Also see ¶ 51: “First, a database server 908 is queried to determine whether data specific to this customer and pertinent to any of the blank data fields of the selected form have been previously stored. If so, the data is used to populated those blank data fields prior to presenting the form.” Previously stored form data pertaining to corresponding fields of a government form are not re-asked to the user. Rather, the pertinent data is automatically applied to the corresponding fields of the government form without further user input. This process is repeated for each form selected to be completed by the user, of multiple electronic forms to be filed with the appropriate government agency. Also see ¶ 53, which teaches that the automatic pre-population is performed for all applications for all government agencies, and ¶ 34, 50, and 55, which teaches that data entered by a user to fill a form is saved and maintained.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic completion of a form during a live conversation between a user and an operator taught by HUFF by applying the system to the electronic filling and filing of a plurality of government forms, including pre-population of previously stored user data, from different government agencies and validating the user’s answers against the requirements of the government forms as taught by LOPATA. Since both references are directed to automatic form completion and since they both teach validation of the user’s answers, the combination would have yielded predictable results. Furthermore, as suggested by LOPATA (¶ 10, 12-13), providing a single access point for a user to fill and file multiple government forms with multiple different agencies would reduce inefficiencies in the filing system and save the user time.
HUFF in view of LOPATA does not teach verifying the user or a user's signature using a vital document, a third-party signature service, or an electronic token exchange and wherein the electronic transmission is performed using encrypted communication.
However, SEMENOVSKIY, which is directed to authenticating digitally signed documents, teaches verifying the user or a user's signature using a vital document, a third-party signature service, or an electronic token exchange (“Before signing any documents, users are required to verify their identity using government-issued identification and, for example, a Live Photo (i.e., a “selfie”)… once the user verifies their identity, the system allows the user to start signing the documents using the wallet as cryptographic key pair and Blockchain account that is linked to the KYC profile of the user.” Paragraph 89. See Figure 12B, which shows the verification of a user using a third-party signature service.)
and wherein the electronic transmission is performed using encrypted communication. (“a step 72 of generating a unique file key for each file; a step 74 of encrypting each document with the corresponding file key (e.g., using an AES-256 algorithm) to protect the privacy of the signing parties; a step 76 of computing shared secrets between wallets; a step 78 of encrypting file keys with corresponding shared secrets, preferably computed for a pair of wallets, as a passphrase; a step 80 of uploading documents to a decentralized content-addressable storage (“CAS”) or an InterPlanetary File System (“IPFS”) as an implementation of a decentralized CAS where an address that is represented by the content hash is assigned to each file when storing a file on a CAS such as IPFS” Paragraph 72. Signed documents are transmitted using encrypted communication.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic completion and transmission of a government form during a live conversation between a user and an operator taught by HUFF in view of LOPATA by incorporating the teachings of electronic signature verification and encrypted communication taught by SEMENOVSKIY. Since SEMENOVISKY is also directed to electronic submission of user data, the combination would have yielded predictable results. Such an implementation would have improved the security of the system and protect the user’s data. Furthermore, as taught by SEMENOVSKIY (Paragraphs 12-13), such an implementation would ensure that a document is signed by the correct signatory, which one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply to the submission of government forms, such as those taught by LOPATA.
Regarding Claim 8, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY further teaches a non-transient computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform a method for completing a government form by voice, the method comprising: (HUFF, “For example, as shown in FIG. 4, a networked computer system (400) includes a processor (402), associated memory (404), a storage device (406)” Col. 9:12-15. Figs. 2 and 4.).
Note: Claim 8 does not recite the limitations “wherein at least a portion of the plurality of questions asked to complete a first government form are not re-asked to the user when completing a second government form from a different government agency, and answers previously obtained by voice are automatically applied to corresponding fields of the second government form without further user input”. Claim 8 is a broader version of claim 1 that is encompassed by the limitations of claim 1 and is still rejected in view of the same combination of references. Claim 8 is therefore rejected for the same reasoning described above minus the discussion of the above limitation.
Regarding Claim 15, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY further teaches a system for filling a government form by voice, comprising: one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: (HUFF. “For example, as shown in FIG. 4, a networked computer system (400) includes a processor (402), associated memory (404), a storage device (406)” Col. 9:12-15. Figs. 2 and 4.)
Claim 15 otherwise recites the same limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasoning described above.
Regarding Claim 2, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY further teaches further comprising the user calling a dedicated phone number and a computer or processor processing the user’s call. (HUFF, “Specifically, the customer (102) may place a phone call to the operator or the operator’s place of employment for some type of customer support” Col. 3:44-46. “the phone system (104) is configured to forward the live conversation between the customer (102) and the operator (106) to the Document Assistance System (DAS) (108)” Col. 3:64-66. The user calls a specific phone number for an operator or an operator’s place of employment and the call is then processed by the system for automatic form completion.)
Claim 9 and claim 16 recite the same limitations as claim 2 and are rejected using the same reasoning described above.
Regarding Claim 3, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY further teaches wherein one or more human agents ask the plurality of questions. (HUFF, “the operator (106) may be an individual working for a variety of organization” Col. 3:35-36. An operator is a human agent that asks the questions for filling the form.)
Claim 10 and claim 17 recite the same limitations as claim 3 and are rejected using the same reasoning described above.
Regarding Claim 4, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY further teaches wherein the one or more human agents comprise a customer service agent, a form expert, or both. (HUFF, “Specifically, the customer (102) may place a phone call to the operator or the operator’s place of employment for some type of customer support. For example, the customer (102) may provide/request particular information, schedule an appointment to receive services provided by the operator or the operator’s (106) employer, make a purchase/sell a produce over the telephone, request for a modification to be made to particular information associated with the customer or the customer’s organization, etc.” Col. 3:44-53. The human operator is a customer service agent.)
Claim 11 recites the same limitations as claim 4 and is rejected using the same reasoning described above.
Regarding Claim 7, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY further teaches wherein the user has not physically used a computing device but has only interacted with a human agent or non-human artificial intelligence agent to complete and electronically transmit the plurality of government forms to the government. (HUFF, “In one or more embodiments of the invention, the DAS (108) is responsible for processing the live conversation and capturing information from the live conversation. In one embodiment of the invention, the DAS (108) uses speech recognition technology to process and capture information from the live conversation. More specifically, the DAS (108) uses the Speech Recognition Engine (114) to recognize the live conversation as text. Further, the DAS (108) is also configured to place the information captured from the live conversation into a particular context associated with a form or document actively in use by the operator.” Col. 4:3-13. The steps of the method are all performed by the document assistance system, with the questions being asked by an operator using an application with the DAS functionality. The only interaction of the user is with the operator over the phone. See Figure 1, which shows the interaction of the customer only with the operator and phone system.)
Claim 14 and claim 20 recite the same limitations as claim 7 and are rejected using the same reasoning described above.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUFF (US 7,907,705 B1) in view of LOPATA (US 2010/0153441 A1) and further in view of SEMENOVSKIY (US 2021/0281421 A1) and SWVIGARADOSS (US 2022/0075947 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY teaches all the limitations of claim 1, on which claim 5 depends.
HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY does not teach wherein a non-human artificial intelligence agent asks the plurality of questions.
However, SWVIGARADOSS, which is directed to a chatbot generated from a form, teaches wherein a non-human artificial intelligence agent asks the plurality of questions. ( “A technique for automatically generating a conversation bot using an input document form is disclosed. Using a conversation bot, the requests of the input form document can be provided to a user via a chat interface. User responses to the requests can be captured to complete the corresponding response fields of the form. The original input document form is used to automatically generate and configure the conversation bot. The form document is analyzed to configure the conversation bot to ask a series of requests directed to collect user responses.” Paragraph 0022. “Once users access the conversation bot, they are presented with a chat interface for inputting form responses based on request prompts. Users can enter input responses via the conversation bot in response to requests for the requested fields of a digital form.” Paragraph 0037. A conversation bot, such as a virtual assistant or a chatbot, asks a user a plurality of questions, and the user’s answers are recorded onto a form used to generate the chatbot.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic completion of a form during a live conversation between a user and an operator taught by HUFF in view of LOPATA and SEMENOVSKIY by using a chatbot or other virtual assistant as the operator that asks the user the questions as taught by SWVIGARADOSS. Non-human artificial intelligence phone operators, as well as virtual assistants and chatbots, are well known in the art, especially for use by companies and organizations for customer service, and using a non-human phone operator instead of a human phone operator to ask the user the questions would have been a simple substitution that would have yielded predictable results. As suggested by SWVIGARADOSS (Paragraph 39), use of a chatbot for collecting form data would improve the efficiency of the data collection.
Claim 12 and claim 18 recite the same limitations as claim 5 and are rejected using the same reasoning described above.
Regarding Claim 6, HUFF in view of LOPATA, SEMENOVSKIY, and SWVIGARADOSS further teaches wherein the non-human artificial intelligence agent is a virtual assistant or a chatbot. (SWVIGARADOSS, “the disclosed conversation bot is a chat assistant, virtual assistant, agent, virtual agent, conversation agent, chat bot, messaging agent, and/or another similar interactive virtual agent” Paragraph 0027.)
The same reasoning to combine discussed in the rejection of claim 5 applies to claim 6.
Claim 13 and claim 19 recite the same limitations as claim 6 and are rejected using the same reasoning described above.
Conclusion
/RAMI R OKASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118