DETAILED ACTION
Claims 81-82 are currently pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of
in the reply filed on 05/27/2025 is acknowledged.
In accordance with the MPEP, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species and the claims drawn to the elected species are allowable, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended (see MPEP 803.02). If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
Applicants' elected species of
does not appear allowable, therefore the search and examination of the claims has not been extended beyond the elected species (see the following 35 USC 103(a) rejection).
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant's Information Disclosure Statements filed on 06/16/2022, 03/30/2023, 05/27/2025 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copies of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 81-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BARNES (see WIPO Pub No. 2007/067612, pub. 06/14/2007, cited in IDS filed 06/16/2022). BARNES teaches compound
(see Example 30, p. 86-87) which corresponds to the elected species
except that rather than a OCH3, there is a Br at the position. BARNES teaches broadly that in compounds
in the position of R2a is selected from halogen or alkoxy (see p. 12). Further, the compounds are taught to be inhibitors of protein tyrosine phosphatases (PTPases) - see p. 2 and in pharmaceutical compositions (see p. 44).
The prior art compound of BARNES is disclosed to inhibit protein tyrosine phosphatases and useful in treating insulin resistance, glucose intolerance, obesity, diabetes, hypertension (see p. 2), which is the same effect that Applicant' s compound is found to have. BARNES describes a compound in which the 7-position of the instant compound claims is substituted with a Br rather than OCH3. However, BARNES teaches that the same position can be substituted with a halogen in addition to an alkoxy. One would be motivated to synthesize such compound since the compound of BARNES is described to inhibit protein tyrosine phosphatases and useful in treating insulin resistance, glucose intolerance, obesity, diabetes, hypertension. The motivation to make the claimed compound derives from the expectation that structurally similar compounds are generally expected to have similar properties and similar utilities.
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
The motivation to substitute a methyl for hydrogen would derive from (B) from KSR. It is common in the chemical/pharmaceutical field for a skilled artisan to synthesize structurally related compounds in hopes of obtaining greater activity on the desired target – a process known as structure-activity relationship (SAR) in the chemical arts. In the instant case, substitution of halogen for an alkoxy would have been desirable in order to find compounds that inhibit protein tyrosine phosphatases to treat insulin resistance, glucose intolerance, obesity, diabetes, hypertension. The explicit teaching of BARNES together with the enabled examples would have motivated one skilled in the art to modify the known compounds with the expectation that that would have similar utility.
Double Patenting
Claims 81-82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,954,202. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘202 teaches compound
. However, claim 71 teaches compound 5-(1-fluoro-3-hydroxy-6-methoxynaphthalen-2-yl)-1λ6,2,5-thiadiazolidine-1,1,3-trione which is a positional isomer (i.e. having the methoxy substituent at the 6-rather than the 7-position) of said compound. According to MPEP 2144.09, Section II compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). Note also In re Deuel 34 USPQ2d 1210, 1214 which states, “Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved properties.” Regarding the pharmaceutical composition, it is obvious to add a carrier to an obvious compound – see Ex parte Douros, 163 USPQ 667 (P.T.O. Bd. App. 1968) in order to allow for administration of the compound in the treatment of disease (i.e. those related to inhibition of protein tyrosine phosphatase).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2019/246513, filed 06/21/2019 but has the same inventors as the instant application.
WO 2020/186199, filed 03/13/2020 and claims priority to US Prov Appl No. 62/818,447, filed 03/14/2019 teaches compounds that do not have the naphthalene-2-yl core or have differing substituents in the 6- rather than 7-position of the naphthalene core.
Correspondence
/KAREN CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623