DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claims 1, 3, 6, 10, and 15 and cancellation of claim 5 has been acknowledged.
With respect to Claims 15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(l), the applicant appears to traverse the rejection by amending to claim 15 to require “polymer material comprising a polyethylene material." The applicant further argues that the polymer used by Fuhrmann is a sulfur polymer cement (SPC) and that Fuhrmann does not disclose a polymer material comprising polyethylene (Remarks of 05/18/2026 at 11-12). Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Burbank (“Mixed Waste Solidification Testing on Polymer and Cement-Based Waste Forms in Support of Hanford's WRAP 2A Facility,” 1993 ). Burbank teaches polyethylene waste form performance was investigated due to perceived processing advantages over the thermosetting polymer (Burbank 10, polyethylene).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuhrmann (“Sulfur Polymer Solidification/Stabilization of elemental mercury waste”, 2001) and further in view of Burbank (“Mixed Waste Solidification Testing on Polymer and Cement-Based Waste Forms in Support of Hanford's WRAP 2A Facility,” 1993).
With respect to claim 15, the claim requires “A mercury-including waste product,” Fuhrmann teaches metallic mercury and mixed mercury waste (Fuhrmann 328, 2.1. Processing materials)
claim 15 further requires a “mercury-including waste product comprising: solid structures and pellets and the pellets solid structures comprising of mercuric sulfide within a polymer material.” Fuhrmann teaches generating mercuric sulfide and then solidifying that material in a sulfur polymer cement matrix (Sulfur polymer cement, SPC) and casting the treated waste into pellets (Fuhrmann 329, 3. Test Methods: treated waste) (Fuhrmann 333, 5. Summary and conclusions: mercuric sulfide).
Claim 15 further requires “the polymer material comprising a polyethylene material.” Fuhrmann does not explicitly teach a polymer material comprising a polyethylene material. However, Burbank teaches solidifying mercury-containing waste within a polyethylene matrix (Burbank 5, table 2) (Burbank 2 and 10, polyethylene).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modify Fuhrmann by substituting the polyethylene matrix taught by Burbank for Fuhrmann’s polymer cement matrix. Fuhrmann’s polymer cement matrix and Burbank’s polyethylene each function as a polymer matrix for solidifying and incorporating mercury containing waste. Accordingly, the substitution of Burbank’s polyethylene matrix for Furhrmann’s sulfur polymer matrix would have predictably resulted in Furhrmann’s structures and pellets being incorporated within a polymer material comprising polyethylene. It would have been obvious to substitute one known material for mercury immobilization for another with the predictable result of immobilizing mercury waste and preventing environmental contamination.
Regarding claim 16, Fuhrmann teaches centrifuging the reacted mixture to obtain a completed reaction, which could be considered as substantially evenly distributed (Fuhrmann 329, 3. Test Methods: Completeness).
Regarding claim 17, Fuhrmann teaches extra SPC (sulfur polymer cement) was added after the mercury had completely reacted with the sulfur to solidify and encapsulate the mercury waste (Fuhrmann 329, 3.1. Processing of mercury waste).
Regarding claim 18, Fuhrmann teaches solidifying mercuric sulfide in a solid sulfur matrix of the sulfur polymer cement (SPC) (Fuhrmann 333, 5. Summary and conclusions: mercuric sulfide).
Regarding claim 19, Fuhrmann teaches sulfur polymer cement (SPC) solidifying the mercury waste poured into metal cans (Fuhrmann 329, 3.1. Processing of mercury waste)
Regarding claim 20, Fuhrmann teaches producing the treated waste into pellets (Fuhrmann 329, 3. Test Methods: treated waste).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STARFARI TESHAWN MCCLAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736