DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 09/30/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-30 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 (on pages 9-11), applicant argues:
As an initial matter, Si does not disclose or suggest that the path loss RS ( even if a PRS) is
transmitted "to determine presence of target objects in an environment of the UE." Rather, as
indicated by its very name, the path loss RS is for path loss estimation. There is simply no
disclosure or suggestion in Si that the path loss RS is configured and transmitted "to determine
presence of target objects in an environment of the UE."
Under BRI (Broadest Reasonable Interpretation), “sensing reference signal” encompasses reference signals used to sense or estimate channel/environmental characteristics. Si repeatedly discloses that the “path loss RS includes at least one of a PRS, CSI-RS, or SSB” (¶ [0039]) and that the UE “monitors” such RS to estimate path loss and determine SRS transmission power (¶ [0035], [0044]).
The phrase “to determine presence of target objects in an environment of the UE” is an intended use/result. Claim 1 does not recite any additional structural features or steps specific to object detection beyond standard channel estimation and received signal measurements. Under MPEP § 2111.04, intended use language does not impart patentable weight where the body of the claim otherwise defines a structurally complete invention and the recited use does not change the claimed steps. Here, the recited steps are determining transmit power based on offsets and determining a channel estimate based on that transmit power.
Even if “sensing” is construed as environmental sensing, the BRI of “S-RS” is met by PRS/CSI-RS/SSB as reference signals used by the UE for measurement and estimation. Si provides for network- and UE-side configuration and measurement of such signals, which are the same category of downlink RS the claim calls “S-RS.”
Therefore, Si teaches or renders inherent the use of downlink reference signals by the UE to sense/channel-estimate and to configure power settings, satisfying the S-RS aspect under BRI.
Applicant further argues:
Further, in independent claim 1, both the S-RS and the "reference channel or reference
signal" are transmitted by the network node. In Si, however, the SSB is from "an associated cell."
This appears to be a neighboring cell, based on the disclosure in paragraph [0044] of Si that "the
network device needs to configure transmission power of an SSB of the neighboring cell for the
terminal." There is no disclosure or suggestion in Si that the same network node/cell transmits
both the path loss RS and the SSB used as the power offset.
Si expressly discloses configuring a power offset between PRS and SSB of an associated cell using “powerControlOffsetSS” (¶ [0045]). Si further teaches that transmission power of the SSB “may be configured by a serving gNB according to RRC signaling or configured by a location server according to LPP signaling” (¶ [0044]). Paragraph [0047] also covers the case where the path loss RS is associated with the serving cell and “the network side needs to configure a power offset between the PRS and an SSB,” i.e., PRS and SSB within the same cell.
Under BRI, “a network node” is not restricted to a single unique transmitter across all signals in the claim unless expressly required. The antecedent “the network node” is first introduced with “at least one S-RS transmitted by a network node,” and later the claim recites “relative to a transmit power of a reference channel or reference signal transmitted by the network node.” The claim does not explicitly require that the same physical node must transmit both signals. In Si, the PRS/CSI-RS/SSB are all transmitted by network nodes (serving or neighboring gNB/TRP), and the power offset is configured relative to the SSB of that associated/serving cell. This meets the limitation under BRI.
Even if the claim were read to require the same cell, Si discloses the serving cell case (¶ [0047]), where PRS is associated with the serving cell and the PRS-to-SSB offset in that cell is configured. Thus, the Applicant’s “neighboring cell only” characterization is incomplete.
Accordingly, Si discloses determining transmit power based on a power offset of PRS relative to SSB transmit power of an associated/serving cell, satisfying the offset limitation.
Also, applicant argues:
Accordingly, Si does not disclose or suggest "determining an enhanced channel estimate
of the at least one S-RS based on the transmit power of the at least one S-RS, wherein the enhanced channel estimate includes measurements of reflections of the at least one S-RS," much less "in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim."
Si teaches the UE “monitors a corresponding path loss RS … to estimate a path loss measurement result” and determines transmission power (¶ [0035], [0044]). Estimating the channel/path loss from a downlink RS necessarily involves processing the received signal as it arrives at the UE antenna after propagating through the environment. The received RS power is the cumulative result of the propagation, which includes direct and reflected/multipath components inherent in radio channels. Measuring received power and estimating path loss is inherently based on the received signal that includes reflections; a POSITA understands channel estimates to capture multipath and reflection effects. See MPEP § 2112 (inherency; a property or characteristic that is the natural result of the prior art disclosure).
Moreover, PRS and CSI-RS are standard NR downlink reference signals designed for channel estimation, including delay spread/multipath observations and positioning. The channel estimate derived from these RS is an “enhanced channel estimate” under BRI, and it inherently “includes measurements of reflections” because multipath reflections are part of the observed channel impulse/frequency response.
The claim does not require any specific radar processing (e.g., explicit delay/Doppler profile extraction) beyond channel estimation and “measurements of reflections.” Under BRI, Si’s disclosure of UE measurement of downlink RS and estimation of channel/path loss constitutes measurement of received signal power that includes reflection components, therefore satisfying the limitation inherently.
Thus, Si inherently discloses determining a channel estimate that includes measurements of reflections of the downlink RS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 12-13, 15-16, 24, 26-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Si et al. (US 2022/0116888 A1), hereinafter “SI”.
Regarding claim 1, SI teaches, ‘A method of wireless communication performed by a user
equipment (UE), comprising: (Paragraphs [0360]-[0361], wireless communications system and
network. The terminal (corresponds to UE) provides wireless broadband Internet access for the user by using the network module 602):
‘determining a transmit power of at least one sensing reference signal (S-RS) transmitted by a network node to determine presence of target objects in an environment of the UE, wherein the transmit power of the at least one S-RS is determined based on a transmit power offset relative to a transmit power of a reference channel or reference signal transmitted by the network node’ (Paragraph [0039], Path loss RS includes at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS) (corresponds to sensing reference signal (S-RS)), a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a synchronization signal block (SSB). Paragraph [0045], in a case that the path loss estimation reference signal includes a PRS, the network device needs to configure a power offset between the PRS and an SSB (corresponds to reference signal) of an associated cell (that is, configure 'powerControlOffsetSS' in a PRS resource field). The PRS power offset may be configured by the location server according to LPP signaling),
‘and determining an enhanced channel estimate of the at least one S-RS based on the transmit power of the at least one S-RS, wherein the enhanced channel estimate includes measurements of reflections of the at least one S-RS.’ (Paragraph [0035], after receiving the configuration information, the terminal may monitor a corresponding path loss RS according to a configuration of a power control parameter set corresponding to an SRS unit in the configuration information, to estimate a path loss measurement result, and finally determine, in combination with another parameter in the
power control parameter set, the transmission power corresponding to the SRS unit, to control uplink transmission power of an SRS resource or an SRS resource set. Paragraph [0044], The transmission power of the SSB may be configured by a serving gNB according to RRC signaling or configured by a location server according to long-term-evolution positioning protocol (LPP) signaling. UE may indirectly calculate a pathloss measurement result according to the transmission power of the SSB and received power of the path loss RS).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, SI teaches, the method of claim 1,
‘wherein the reference channel or reference signal comprises:’ ‘a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).’ (Paragraph [0045], in a case that the path loss estimation reference signal includes a PRS, the network device needs to configure a power offset between the PRS and an SSB (corresponds to reference signal) of an associated cell (that is, configure 'powerControlOffsetSS' in a PRS resource field). The PRS power offset may be configured by the location server according to LPP signaling).
Regarding claims 10 and 24, SI teaches, the method of claim 1, ‘further comprising: receiving,
from the network node via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a configuration of the transmit power offset, an indication of the at least one S-RS, and an indication of the reference channel or reference signal.’ (Paragraph [0034], in a case that the SRS unit is used for positioning, the network device may configure one or more independent power control parameter sets for the terminal. The network device may send the configuration information through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, to configure the N power control parameter sets for the terminal. Paragraph [0047], the identifier information of the PRS (corresponds to S-RS) may be configured by the serving gNB according to RRC signaling. The network side needs to configure a power offset between the PRS and an SSB (corresponds to reference signal) (that is, configure 'powerControlOffsetSS' in a PRS resource field). The PRS power offset is configured by the location server according to LPP signaling).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, SI teaches, the method of claim 1, ‘further comprising: receiving an
indication of the transmit power offset from the network node via downlink control information (DCI).’ (Paragraph [0045], in a case that the path loss estimation reference signal includes a PRS, the network device needs to configure a power offset between the PRS and an SSB (corresponds to reference signal) of an associated cell (that is, configure 'powerControlOffsetSS' in a PRS resource field). The PRS power offset may be configured by the location server according to LPP signaling. Paragraphs [0182], [0188], for a certain SRS resource set, the UE can determine the transmission power value in one of: according to the instructions from the network side (RRC/Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE)/Downlink Control Information (DCI)), the UE selects transmission power corresponding to a certain power control parameter (associated with cell A) (corresponds to 'powerControlOffsetSS) as the transmission power of the SRS resource; where cell A and cell B can be the same cell).
Regarding claims 13 and 27, SI teaches, the method of claim 12,
‘wherein the indication comprises an index to a table of a plurality of sets of S-RS antenna ports and associated transmit power offsets.’ (Paragraph [0133], a parameter of the PRS resource configured
by the network side need to include power offset information (powerControlOffsetSS) of the PRS relative to the SSB of the cell, The UE may estimate the transmission power of the PRS according to the transmission power of the SSB and power offset information of the PRS. Then, the UE subtracts
the received power of the PRS, to estimate path loss of the PRS).
Regarding claim 15, SI teaches, ‘A user equipment (UE), comprising:’ (Paragraph [0361], the
terminal (corresponds to UE) provides wireless broadband Internet access for the user by using the network module 602):
‘one or more memories;’ (Paragraph [0362], memory 609);
‘one or more transceivers;’ (Paragraph [0360], transceiver);
‘and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories
one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:’ (Paragraph [0370], processor 610 is a control center of the terminal, connects various parts of the entire terminal by using various interfaces and circuits, and performs various functions of the terminal and processes data by running or executing software programs and/or modules stored in the memory 609 and invoking data stored in the memory 609, so as to monitor the terminal as a whole. The processor 610 may include one or more processing units):
‘determine a transmit power of at least one sensing reference signal (S-RS) transmitted by a
network node to determine presence of target objects in an environment of the UE, wherein the transmit power of the at least one S-RS is determined based on a transmit power offset relative to a transmit power of a reference channel or reference signal transmitted by the network node;’ (Paragraph [0039], Path loss RS includes at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS) (corresponds to sensing reference signal (S-RS)), a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a synchronization signal block (SSB). Paragraph [0045], in a case that the path loss estimation reference signal includes a PRS, the network device needs to configure a power offset between the PRS and an SSB (corresponds to reference signal) of an associated cell (that is, configure 'powerControlOffsetSS' in a PRS resource field). The PRS power offset may be configured by the location server according to LPP signaling).
‘and determine an enhanced channel estimate of the at least one S-RS based on the transmit
power of the at least one S-RS, wherein the enhanced channel estimate includes measurements of reflections of the at least one S-RS’ (Paragraph [0035], after receiving the configuration information, the terminal may monitor a corresponding path loss RS according to a configuration of a power control parameter set corresponding to an SRS unit in the configuration information, to estimate a path loss measurement result, and finally determine, in combination with another parameter in the
power control parameter set, the transmission power corresponding to the SRS unit, to control uplink transmission power of an SRS resource or an SRS resource set. Paragraph [0044], The transmission power of the SSB may be configured by a serving gNB according to RRC signaling or configured by a location server according to long-term-evolution positioning protocol (LPP) signaling. UE may indirectly calculate a pathloss measurement result according to the transmission power of the SSB and received power of the path loss RS).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, the claims include features identical to the subject matter
mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding apparatus and computer-readable medium, and the rejection to claim 1 are applied hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SI in view of Peng et al. (US 2025/0133529 A1), hereinafter “PENG”.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, SI teaches, the method of claim 1, ‘wherein: the S-RS is received
from the network node … that does not carry an SSB from the network node,’ (Paragraph [0039], the path loss RS includes at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS) (corresponds to S-RS), a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a synchronization signal block (SSB)),
SI does not explicitly teach but PENG teaches, ‘… on a first component carrier …’ (PENG - paragraph [0112], the PRS on one carrier can be QCL with SSB on another carrier),
‘and the reference channel or reference signal comprises an SSB transmitted on a second component carrier that provides time, frequency, and/or spatial information for the first component carrier.’ (PENG - paragraph [0112], the PRS on one carrier can be QCL with SSB on another carrier. For example, the PRS on one carrier with carrier index 0 (or, serving cell index 0) can be QCL with SSB on another carrier with carrier index 1 (or, serving cell index 1)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PENG with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PENG into SI is that PENG provides a higher and improved positioning accuracy after carrier aggregation (CA). Thus, a technological solution for communicating reference signals for positioning is provided. The QCL relationship indicates that a first one of the reference signals for positioning on a first one of the plurality of frequency layers is QuasiCo-Located (QCL'ed) with a synchronization signal or a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on a second one of the plurality of frequency layers. (See paragraphs [0003], [0006], PENG)
Regarding claims 4 and 18, SI teaches, the method of claim 1, ‘wherein: the S-RS is received
from the network node … that does not carry an SSB from the network node,’ (Paragraph [0039], the path loss RS includes at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS) (corresponds to S-RS), a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a synchronization signal block (SSB)),
SI does not explicitly teach but PENG teaches, ‘… on a first component carrier …’ (PENG - Paragraph [0112], the PRS on one carrier can be QCL with SSB on another carrier),
‘the reference channel or reference signal is transmitted on a second component carrier, and the method further comprises receiving an indication of the reference channel or reference signal.’
(PENG - paragraph [0112], the network (e.g., gNB) can configure QuasiCo-Location (QCL) relationship of PRS in each CC for a UE. The first PRS resource (set) on one carrier with carrier index 0 can be QCL with SSB (corresponds to reference signal) with a SSB index 0 on another carrier with carrier index 1. The PRS on one carrier can be QCL with SSB on a reference carrier. The reference carrier has a lowest center frequency (corresponds to receiving an indication of the reference signal with configuration info i.e. frequency). Paragraph [0141], a PRS processing window can be activated by a DL MAC CE (corresponds to receiving an indication of the reference signal with activation message)with carrier ID (or cell ID, or serving cell ID). A PRS processing window can be activated by a DL MAC CE with carrier ID of aggregated carrier(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of PENG with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of PENG into SI is that PENG provides a higher and improved positioning accuracy after carrier aggregation (CA). Thus, a technological solution for communicating reference signals for positioning is provided. The QCL relationship indicates that a first one of the reference signals for positioning on a first one of the plurality of frequency layers is QuasiCo-Located (QCL'ed) with a synchronization signal or a physical broadcast channel block (SSB) on a second one of the plurality of frequency layers. (See paragraphs [0003], [0006], PENG)
Claims 5-8, 11, 14, 19-22, 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SI in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0360701 A1), hereinafter “XU”.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, SI teaches, the method of claim 1,
‘wherein: the at least one S-RS comprises …’ (Paragraph [0047], the network device configures PRS identifier information for the terminal. The PRS identifier information may include at least one (of a PRS resource ID, a PRS resource set ID, or a PRS ID).
SI does not explicitly teach but XU teaches, ‘… a plurality of S-RS transmitted on a set of S-RS antenna ports, and the transmit power offset is configured for the set of S-RS antenna ports’ (XU - paragraph [0226], FIG. 19, the configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of reference signals
(RSs). The plurality of RSs may comprise a first RS group (corresponds to plurality of S-RS) and a second RS group. A TP may comprise a set of geographically co-located transmit antennas (e.g. antenna array (with one or more antenna elements)) for one cell, part of one cell, or one positioning reference signals (PRS)-only TP (transmission point). A TP and/or RP (reception point) may comprise base station antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, an antenna of a PRS-only TP (or RP), and/or the like. One cell may be formed by one or multiple TPs (corresponds to set of S-RS antenna ports). Paragraph [0228], the configuration parameters may indicate a power offset. The power offset may comprise an RSRP offset, an SINR offset, or a BLER offset. The power offset may comprise a transmission power difference between the first RS group and the second RS group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XU into SI is that XU provides the transport block may be available at the multiple coordinated TRPs for TPS (transmission point selection). Multiple TRPs may improve throughput and coverage for hot spot scenarios (e.g., train station, airport, stadium, shopping mall, etc.). To further improve the throughput and coverage of the NR system with multiple TRPs, an ultra-dense deployment scenario may be supported. (See paragraphs [0218]-[0219], XU)
Regarding claims 6 and 20, SI teaches, the method of claim 5, ‘wherein the transmit power offset indicates a difference in transmit power between the reference channel or reference signal and an average transmit power of the plurality of S-RS transmitted on …’ (Paragraph [0087], the network side indicates the transmission power of the SSB and a power offset of the path loss RS relative to the transmission power of the SSB to the UE. Paragraph [0054], the first path loss measurement result is an average or any one of c path loss measurement results. The c path loss measurement results are path loss measurement results corresponding to c path loss RSs in the SRS resource set).
SI does not explicitly teach but XU teaches, ‘the set of S-RS antenna ports.’ (XU - paragraph [0226], FIG. 19, the configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of reference signals (RSs). The plurality of RSs may comprise a first RS group (corresponds to plurality of S-RS) and a second RS group. A TP may comprise a set of geographically co-located transmit antennas (e.g. antenna array (with one or more antenna elements)) for one cell, part of one cell, or one positioning reference signals (PRS)-only TP (transmission point). A TP and/or RP (reception point) may comprise base station antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, an antenna of a PRS-only TP (or RP), and/or the like. One cell may be formed by one or multiple TPs (corresponds to set of S-RS antenna ports).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XU into SI is that XU provides the transport block may be available at the multiple coordinated TRPs for TPS (transmission point selection). Multiple TRPs may improve throughput and coverage for hot spot scenarios (e.g., train station, airport, stadium, shopping mall, etc.). To further improve the throughput and coverage of the NR system with multiple TRPs, an ultra-dense deployment scenario may be supported. (See paragraphs [0218]-[0219], XU)
Regarding claims 7 and 21, SI teaches, the method of claim 5,
SI does not explicitly teach but XU teaches, ‘wherein variations in transmit power across the
plurality of S-RS transmitted on the set of S-RS antenna ports are within a threshold.’ (XU - paragraph [0228], the configuration parameters may indicate a power offset. The power offset may comprise an RSRP offset, an SINR offset, or a BLER offset. The power offset may comprise a transmission power difference between the first RS group and the second RS group. Paragraph [0226], A TP may comprise a set of geographically co-located transmit antennas (e.g. antenna array (with one or more antenna elements)) for one cell, part of one cell, or one positioning reference signals (PRS)-only TP (transmission point). A TP and/or RP (reception point) may comprise base station antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, an antenna of a PRS-only TP (or RP), and/or the like. One cell may be formed by one or multiple TPs (corresponds to set of S-RS antenna ports). Paragraph [0239], The configuration parameters may indicate the RSRP threshold (or the SINR threshold) to the wireless device. In an example, the wireless device may normalize (corresponds to within a threshold) the RSRP values (or SINR values) of the first RS group (corresponds to plurality of S-RS) with the
transmission power offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XU into SI is that XU provides the transport block may be available at the multiple coordinated TRPs for TPS (transmission point selection). Multiple TRPs may improve throughput and coverage for hot spot scenarios (e.g., train station, airport, stadium, shopping mall, etc.). To further improve the throughput and coverage of the NR system with multiple TRPs, an ultra-dense deployment scenario may be supported. (See paragraphs [0218]-[0219], XU)
Regarding claims 8 and 22, SI teaches, the method of claim 5,
SI does not explicitly teach but XU teaches, ‘wherein the transmit power offset is configured to the UE based on variations in transmit power across the plurality of S-RS transmitted on the set of S-RS antenna ports being greater than a threshold.’ (XU - paragraph [0228], the configuration parameters may indicate a power offset. The power offset may comprise an RSRP offset, an SINR offset, or a BLER offset. The power offset may comprise a transmission power difference between the first RS group and the second RS group. Paragraph [0226], A TP may comprise a set of geographically co-located transmit antennas (e.g. antenna array (with one or more antenna elements)) for one cell, part of one cell, or one positioning reference signals (PRS)-only TP (transmission point). A TP and/or RP (reception point) may comprise base station antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, an antenna of a PRS-only TP (or RP), and/or the like. One cell may be formed by one or multiple TPs (corresponds to set of S-RS antenna ports). Paragraph [0239], the wireless device may select the RS from the plurality of RSs in response to an RSRP value of the RS being greater than an RSRP threshold ( e.g., the selection being performed within the second RSRP values of the first RS group (corresponds to plurality of S-RS) and the RSRP values of the second RS group)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XU into SI is that XU provides the transport block may be available at the multiple coordinated TRPs for TPS (transmission point selection). Multiple TRPs may improve throughput and coverage for hot spot scenarios (e.g., train station, airport, stadium, shopping mall, etc.). To further improve the throughput and coverage of the NR system with multiple TRPs, an ultra-dense deployment scenario may be supported. (See paragraphs [0218]-[0219], XU)
Regarding claims 11 and 25, SI teaches, the method of claim 10,
SI does not explicitly teach but XU teaches, ‘wherein: the at least one S-RS comprises a plurality
of S-RS transmitted on a set of S-RS antenna ports, and the method further comprises receiving, from the network node via downlink control information (DCI) or a medium access control control element (MAC-CE), a configuration to apply the transmit power offset to the set of S-RS antenna ports.’ (XU - paragraph [0228], the configuration parameters may indicate a power offset. The power offset may comprise an RSRP offset, an SINR offset, or a BLER offset. The power offset may comprise a transmission power difference between the first RS group and the second RS group. Paragraph [0226], A TP may comprise a set of geographically co-located transmit antennas (e.g. antenna array (with one or more antenna elements)) for one cell, part of one cell, or one positioning reference signals (PRS)-only TP (transmission point). A TP and/or RP (reception point) may comprise base station antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, an antenna of a PRS-only TP (or RP), and/or the like. One cell may be formed by one or multiple TPs (corresponds to set of S-RS antenna ports). Paragraph [0258], FIG. 23 and 24C, the DCI may indicate a request of the one or more SRS resources to the wireless device. For example, the uplink grant (or the downlink assignment) may comprise an SRS request field indicating (or triggering) the one or more SRS resources. The wireless device may determine a transmission power ( e.g., for SRS transmission) based on the measurements and the power offset (e.g., within a duration from time TS to T6). The measurements may comprise a pathloss measurement based on the one or mor pathloss RSs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XU into SI is that XU provides the transport block may be available at the multiple coordinated TRPs for TPS (transmission point selection). Multiple TRPs may improve throughput and coverage for hot spot scenarios (e.g., train station, airport, stadium, shopping mall, etc.). To further improve the throughput and coverage of the NR system with multiple TRPs, an ultra-dense deployment scenario may be supported. (See paragraphs [0218]-[0219], XU)
Regarding claims 14 and 28, SI teaches, the method of claim 13,
SI does not explicitly teach but XU teaches, ‘wherein the indication specifies both a set of S-RS antenna ports of the plurality of sets of S-RS antenna ports and a transmit power offset associated with the set of S-RS antenna ports.’ (XU - paragraph [0228], the configuration parameters may indicate a power offset. The power offset may comprise an RSRP offset, an SINR offset, or a BLER offset. The power offset may comprise a transmission power difference between the first RS group (corresponds to plurality of S-RS) and the second RS group. Paragraph [0226], A TP may comprise a set of geographically co-located transmit antennas (e.g. antenna array (with one or more antenna elements)) for one cell, part of one cell, or one positioning reference signals (PRS)-only TP (transmission point). A TP and/or RP (reception point) may comprise base station antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, an antenna of a PRS-only TP (or RP), and/or the like. One cell may be formed by one or multiple TPs (corresponds to set of S-RS antenna ports)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of XU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of XU into SI is that XU provides the transport block may be available at the multiple coordinated TRPs for TPS (transmission point selection). Multiple TRPs may improve throughput and coverage for hot spot scenarios (e.g., train station, airport, stadium, shopping mall, etc.). To further improve the throughput and coverage of the NR system with multiple TRPs, an ultra-dense deployment scenario may be supported. (See paragraphs [0218]-[0219], XU)
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SI in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0225145 A1), hereinafter “WU”.
Regarding claims 9 and 23, SI teaches, the method of claim 1,
SI does not explicitly teach but WU teaches, ‘wherein the transmit power offset comprises an energy per resource element (EPRE) ratio relative to the reference channel or reference signal.’ (Paragraph [0172], if the UE can use SSB to assist PRS for positioning measurement, the UE needs to know a power offset of energy per resource element (EPRE) between the PRS and the corresponding SSB, which can be predefined or preconfigured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of WU with SI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of WU into SI is that WU provides the UE in the RRC unconnected state acquires the configuration information of the PRS (or POSS RS) through system information. The advantageous effect of this method is that the UE can acquire the configuration information of the PRS (or POS-SRS) without entering the RRC connected state, thus saving signaling overhead and reducing UE power consumption. The PRS (or POS-SRS) configuration information for positioning measurement in the RRC unconnected state is configured separately. The advantageous effect of this method is that configuration with enough flexibility can
be provided. (See paragraphs [0155], [0158], WU)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to HAESHIL J CHOI whose telephone number is (703)756-5409. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday ET.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479