DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to correspondence filed March 16, 2026.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-15 and 17-23 are currently pending. Claims 3, 5 and 16 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 11, 13-15 and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 21-23 have been added. Entry of this amendment is accepted and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-15 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “locally” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination on the merits the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claims 2, 4, 6-10 and 21, depend on claim 1, therefore, are rejected at least for the same reasons as to claim 1.
The term “locally” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination on the merits the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claims 12-15, 17 and 22, depend on claim 11, therefore, are rejected at least for the same reasons as to claim 11.
The term “locally” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination on the merits the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claims 19-20 and 23 depend on claim 18, therefore, are rejected at least for the same reasons as to claim 18.
The term “locally” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination on the merits the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
The term “locally” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “locally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For examination on the merits the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-15, 17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 2000028411A) (hereinafter Inoue) in view of Nakada et al. (US 6516785) (hereinafter Nakada) in further view of Yao et al. (US 2014/0206124) (hereinafter Yao).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches a sensor assembly (flow sensor) (31) of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
a circuit board (circuit board formed by elements: substrates (32, 33), adhesive material (4), and thin film lead wires (16,17)) comprising two additional layers (substrates) (32,33) (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9) and
a plurality of sensors (flow rate detector (2), temperature sensor (3)) disposed on both of the two additional layers of the circuit board (see Figure 6B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9), the plurality of sensors is configured to detect one or more properties of an air flow (flow detector (2), temperature sensor (3)) directed across the circuit board (see Figures 6A-B and 8 and Abstract and page 6, lines 27-38), each sensor of the plurality of sensors (flow detector (2), temperature sensor (3)) is individually encapsulated by a respective amount of an encapsulation material (protective films) (18,19) (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9).
However, Inoue does not explicitly teach the circuit board comprising a conductive layer captured between two additional layers; the plurality of sensors electrically coupled to the conductive trace layer via respective conductive traces, wherein each conductive trace extends from a respective sensor of the plurality of sensors through at least one additional layer of the two additional layers to the conductive trace layer, the encapsulation material comprising a gel, and the respective amount of the encapsulation material is locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors.
Nakada teaches the circuit board comprising a conductive layer (conductor) (12) captured between two additional layers (laminate substrate) (10) (see column 5, lines 34-37 and lines 41-59); a sensor (temperature sensing element) (1) disposed on one or both of the two additional layers (laminate substrate) (10) of the circuit board and electrically coupled to the conductive trace layer (conductor) (12) via respective conductive traces (see Figures 2 and 3), wherein each conductive trace (conductor) (12) extends from a respective sensor (temperature sensing element) (1) of the plurality of sensors through at least one additional layer of the two additional layers (laminate substrate) (10) to the conductive trace layer (conductor) (12) (see column 5, lines 34-37 and lines 41-59 and Figures 2 and 3), and the respective amount of the encapsulation material (resin) (2) is locally applied to the sensor (temperature sensor) (1) of the plurality of sensors (see figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to been obvious to modify the circuit board and the encapsulation material as taught by Inoue with a conductive layer captured between two additional layers; a sensor disposed on one or both of the two additional layers of the circuit board and electrically coupled to the conductive trace layer via respective conductive traces, wherein each conductive trace extends from a respective sensor of the plurality of sensors through at least one additional layer of the two additional layers to the conductive trace layer, and the respective amount of the encapsulation material is locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a compact design and hence reducing the size of the air flow sensor. One would be motivated to modify the encapsulation material to be locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada does not explicitly teach the encapsulation material comprising a gel.
Yao further teaches the encapsulation material comprising a gel (gel) (32) (see paragraph 0019 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination with a gel as taught by Yao. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an alternative material to protect the sensors from being damaged due to environmental influences. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao further teaches the first additional layer of the two layers (substrates) (32, 33) (see Inoue; Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 10 and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9) comprises a first external surface (see Fig. 6B) and a second additional layer of the two additional layers comprises a second external surface opposite the first surface (see Inoue; Figure 6B), a first sensor (temperature sensor) (3) of the plurality of sensors is positioned on the first external surface of the first additional layer, and a second sensor (flow rate detector) (2) of the plurality of sensors is positioned on the second external surface of the second additional layer (see Inoue; Figure 6B).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach each additional layer of the two additional layers comprises a polymide layer.
Nakada teaches each additional layer of the two additional layers (laminate substrate) (10) comprises a polymide layer (see column 16, lines 23-26).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the two additional layers as taught by the prior combination with the two additional layers comprising a polymide layer as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a material that is high-temperature-resistant, high mechanical strength and excellent electrical insulation. Additionally, polymide material is widely available. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 6, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach each respective amount of the encapsulation material comprises a dome shape.
Nakada teaches each respective amount of the encapsulation material comprising a dome shape (resin) (2) (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the respective amount of the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination with a dome shape as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to modify the encapsulation material to be locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 7, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach the gel comprises a photosensitive gel, a curable gel, or both.
Yao further teaches a curable gel (gel) (32) (see paragraph 0019 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gel as taught by the prior combination to comprise a curable gel as taught by Yao. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an alternative material to protect the sensors from being damaged due to environmental influences. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Inoue further teaches the plurality of sensors comprises a first sensor (temperature sensor) (3) and a second sensor (flow rate detector) (2), the first sensor is a first thermistor (thermistor) configured to detect a temperature of the air flow (see page 5, lines 35-38), and the second sensor (flow detector) (2), is a second thermistor (thin film heating element) (9) and a heater (see page 5, lines 30-38).
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach the second thermistor configured to apply heat to the air flow.
Nakada teaches the second thermistor (heating resistor) (22) configured to apply heat to the air flow (see Figure 18 and column 13, lines 23-31).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second sensor as taught by the prior combination being configured to apply heat to the air flow as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an air flow sensor that is accurate, can be mass produced and cost-effective. Additionally, it allows to provide an air flow sensor capable of being driven with low electric power.
Regarding claim 10, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach a controller communicatively coupled to the circuit board and to the plurality of sensors, wherein the controller is configured to determine a flow rate of the air flow based on data received from the first sensor and the second sensor.
Nakada teaches a controller (control unit) (107) communicatively coupled to the circuit board and to the plurality of sensors, wherein the controller (control unit) (107) configured to determine a flow rate of the air flow based on data received from the first sensor and the second sensor (air temperature sensing element (1) and air flow measuring element (20)) (see column 10, lines 1-17 and column 13, lines 49-57).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor assembly as taught by the prior combination with a controller communicatively coupled to the circuit board and to the plurality of sensors, wherein the controller configured to determine a flow rate of the air flow based on data received from the first sensor and the second sensor configured to apply heat to the air flow as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to detect failures and more precisely control the fluid flow system.
Regarding claim 11, Inuoe teaches a circuit board for a sensor assembly of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, comprising:
two additional layers (substrates) (32, 33) (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9);
a first sensor arrangement (temperature sensor) (3) externally disposed on a first additional layer (substrate) (33) of the two additional layers (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9), wherein the first sensor (temperature) (3) is encapsulated by a first amount of an encapsulation material (protective film) (19) (see Figures 5-6 and page 6, lines 21-25); and
a second sensor arrangement (flow rate detector) (2) externally disposed a second additional layer (substrate) (32) of the two additional layers (see Figure 6B), wherein the second sensor arrangement (flow rate detector) (2) is encapsulated by a second amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (18) (see Figures 2-3 and 6 and page 6, lines 21-25) that is applied to the second additional layer (substrate) (32) at a second location corresponding to the second sensor arrangement (see Figure 6B), wherein the first amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (19) is separate from the second amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (18) (Figures 2-3 and 5-6 and page 6, lines 21-25).
However Inoue does not explicitly teach a conductive trace layer captured between two additional layers; and a plurality of sensors electrically coupled to the conductive trace layer via respective conductive traces, wherein each conductive trace extends from a respective sensor of the plurality of sensors through at least one additional layer of the two additional layers to the conductive trace layer, the encapsulation material comprising a gel, and the respective amount of the encapsulation material is locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors.
Nakada teaches the circuit board comprising a conductive layer (conductor) (12) captured between two additional layers (laminate substrate) (10) (see column 5, lines 34-37 and lines 41-59); a plurality of sensors (temperature sensing element (1) and air flow measuring element (20)) electrically coupled to the conductive trace layer via respective conductive traces (conductor) (12) (see Figures 2 and 3), wherein each conductive trace (conductor) (12) extends from a respective sensor (temperature sensing element (1) and air flow measuring element (20)) of the plurality of sensors through at least one additional layer of the two additional layers (laminate substrate) (10) to the conductive trace layer (conductor) (12) (see column 5, lines 34-37 and lines 41-59 and Figures 2 and 3), and the respective amount of the encapsulation material (resin) (2) is locally applied to the sensor (temperature sensor) (1) and air flow measuring element (20)) of the plurality of sensors (see figures 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to been obvious to modify the circuit board and the encapsulation material as taught by Inoue with a conductive trace layer captured between two additional layers; and a plurality of sensors electrically coupled to the conductive trace layer via respective conductive traces, wherein each conductive trace extends from a respective sensor of the plurality of sensors through at least one additional layer of the two additional layers to the conductive trace layer, the encapsulation material comprising a gel, and the respective amount of the encapsulation material is locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a compact design and hence reducing the size of the air flow sensor. One would be motivated to modify the encapsulation material to be locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada does not explicitly teach the encapsulation material comprising a gel.
Yao further teaches the encapsulation material comprising a gel (gel) (32) (see paragraph 0019 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination with a gel as taught by Yao. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an alternative material to protect the sensors from being damaged due to environmental influences. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 12, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach the encapsulation material comprises a photosensitive gel, a curable gel, or both.
Yao further teaches the encapsulation material comprises a curable gel (gel) (32) (see paragraph 0019 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination to comprise a curable gel as taught by Yao. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an alternative material to protect the sensors from being damaged due to environmental influences. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach the first additional layer comprises a first polymide layer and the second additional layer comprises a second polymide layer.
Nakada teaches the first additional layer comprises a first polymide layer and the second additional layer comprises a second polymide layer (laminate substrate) (10) (see column 16, lines 23-26).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the two additional layers as taught by the prior combination the first additional layer comprises a first polymide layer and the second additional layer comprises a second polymide layer as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a material that is high-temperature-resistant, high mechanical strength and excellent electrical insulation. Additionally, polymide material is widely available. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 11, Inoue further teaches each of the first sensor arrangement and the second sensor arrangement comprises a sensor (flow rate detector (2), temperature sensor (3)) (see Figure 6B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9)
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach each of the first sensor arrangement and the second sensor arrangement comprises a sensor; and a solder pad, wherein the sensor is electrically coupled to the solder pad via one or more connection points.
Nakada teaches a solder pad, wherein the sensor is electrically coupled to the solder pad (solder) (80) via one or more connection points (electrodes (1a, 1b) (see Figure 5 and column 7, lines 34-46).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each of the first sensor arrangement and the second sensor arrangement comprising a sensor as taught by the prior combination with a solder pad, wherein the sensor is electrically coupled to the solder pad via one or more connection points as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a stable electrical connection between the sensors and the circuit board, offering several advantages, including size reduction and increased electrical efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 11, Inuoe further teaches the first sensor (temperature detecting section) (3) is a first thermistor (thermistor) configured to detect a temperature of an air flow, and the second sensor (flow detector) (2) is a second thermistor (thermosensitive element) (13) and a heater (thin film heating element 9) (see page 5, lines 30-32).
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach does not explicitly teach the second thermistor configured to apply heat to the air flow.
Nakada teaches the second thermistor configured to apply heat to the air flow (see Figure 18 and column 13, lines 23-31).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second sensor as taught by the prior combination being configured to apply heat to the air flow as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an air flow sensor that is accurate, can be mass produced and cost-effective. Additionally, it allows to provide an air flow sensor capable of being driven with low electric power.
Regarding claim 17, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 11, Inoue teaches the first amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (19) and the second amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (18) (see Figures 2-3 and 5-6 and page 6, lines 21-25).
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly the encapsulation material each comprise a dome-shaped geometry.
Nakada teaches the encapsulation material comprises a dome shape (resin) (2) (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the respective amount of the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination with a dome shape as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to modify the encapsulation material to be locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 21, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach the circuit board comprises a sensing portion and a tail portion, the plurality of sensors is disposed on the sensing portion, and at least a portion of the sensing portion is not coated with the encapsulation material.
Nakada teaches the circuit board (laminated substrate) (10) comprises a sensing portion (where temperature sensing element (1) is located) and a tail portion (where circuit component (18) is located) (see Figure 1), the plurality of sensors (temperature sensing element (1) and air flow measuring element (20)) is disposed on the sensing portion (see Figure 1), and at least a portion of the sensing portion is not coated with the encapsulation material (resin) (2) (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor assembly as taught by the prior combination wherein the circuit board comprises a sensing portion and a tail portion, the plurality of sensors is disposed on the sensing portion, and at least a portion of the sensing portion is not coated with the encapsulation material as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to modify the encapsulation material to be locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 22, Nakada further teaches the encapsulation material (resin) (2) does not contact the conductive trace layer (conductor) (12) (see Figures 1 and 2).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao in further view of Drees et al. (US 2018/0238577) (hereinafter Drees).
Regarding claim 8, Inoue in view of Nakada and Yao teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach a housing defining an opening configured to receive the air flow, wherein the circuit board is disposed within and extends through the opening to separate the opening into a first plenum and a second plenum, the housing is configured to be disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system, and the housing is configured to direct the air flow through the first plenum, the second plenum, or both.
Nakada teaches a housing (holder) (40) defining an opening (subpassage) (41) configured to receive the air flow, wherein the circuit board (laminate substrate) (10) is disposed within and extends through the opening (subpassage) (41) to separate the opening into a first plenum and a second plenum (see Figure 29), and the housing (holder) (40) is configured to direct the air flow through the first plenum, the second plenum, or both (see Figure 29 and column 5, line 63 through column 6, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor assembly as taught by the prior combination with a housing defining an opening configured to receive the air flow, wherein the circuit board is disposed within and extends through the opening to separate the opening into a first plenum and a second plenum, and the housing is configured to direct the air flow through the first plenum, the second plenum, or both as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination because air flows at a velocity higher in the interior of the sub-passage/plenum than in the main intake passage, the cooling effect for the intake air temperature sensing element is more outstanding. Thus, mounting the intake air temperature sensing element on the support member of the air flow sensor so as to be positioned in the sub-passage/plenum is effective for enhancing the sensing accuracy of the intake air temperature sensing element.
However, Inoue as modified by Nakada and Yao does not explicitly teach the housing is configured to be disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system.
Drees teaches the air flow and the housing (housing of flow rate sensor 510) is configured to be disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 0080-0082).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor assembly as taught by the prior combination with the gas flow being an air flow and the housing is configured to be disposed within an air flow path of an HVAC system as taught by Dree. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to detect failures in the HVAC system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Karp et al. (US 2015/0133753) (hereinafter Karp).
Regarding claim 18, Inoue teaches a method of producing a circuit board having a plurality of sensors, comprising:
applying a first amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (19) to the first position associated with the first sensor (temperature sensor) (3) of the plurality of sensors to encapsulate the first sensor on the circuit board (circuit board formed by elements: substrates (32, 34), adhesive material (4), and thin film lead wires (16,17)) (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 10 and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9); and separately applying a second amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (18) to the second position associated with the second sensor (flow rate detector) (2) of the plurality of sensors to separately encapsulate the second sensor (flow rate detector) (2) on the circuit board (circuit board formed by elements: substrates (32, 34), adhesive material (4), and thin film lead wires (16,17)) (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 10 and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9);
However, Inoue does not explicitly teach determining a first position of a first sensor of the plurality of sensors on the circuit board and a second position of a second sensor of the plurality of sensors on the circuit board; controlling application of an encapsulation material to the circuit board by: locally applying a first amount of the encapsulation material to the first position associated with the first sensor of the plurality of sensors to encapsulate the first sensor on the circuit board; and separately locally applying a second amount of the encapsulation material to the second position associated with the second sensor of the plurality of sensors to separately encapsulate the second sensor on the circuit board; and curing the first amount of the encapsulation material and the second amount of the encapsulation material to adhere the first amount and the second amount to the circuit board.
Karp teaches determining a first position on the circuit board and a second position on the circuit board; controlling application of an encapsulation material (38/48) to the circuit board by: locally applying a first amount of the encapsulation material (38/48) to the first position on the circuit board; and separately locally applying a second amount of the encapsulation material (38/48) to the second position on the circuit board, and curing the first amount of the encapsulation material (38/48) and the second amount of the encapsulation material to adhere the first amount and the second amount to the circuit board (see Figures 1 and 2 and paragraphs 0026 and 0033)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of producing a circuit board having a plurality of sensors as taught by Inoue by determining a first position on the circuit board and a second position on the circuit board and controlling application of an encapsulation material to the circuit board as taught by Karp to provide determining a first position of a first sensor of the plurality of sensors on the circuit board and a second position of a second sensor of the plurality of sensors on the circuit board; controlling application of an encapsulation material to the circuit board by: locally applying a first amount of the encapsulation material to the first position associated with the first sensor of the plurality of sensors to encapsulate the first sensor on the circuit board; and separately locally applying a second amount of the encapsulation material to the second position associated with the second sensor of the plurality of sensors to separately encapsulate the second sensor on the circuit board; and curing the first amount of the encapsulation material and the second amount of the encapsulation material to adhere the first amount and the second amount to the circuit board. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide the encapsulation material the ability to the ability to withstand mechanical stress, and thermal shock, without developing any voids or cracks. Additionally, providing suitably sized encapsulations allows for a more cost efficient method.
Claims 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Karp in further view of Nakada.
Regarding claim 19, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 18.
However, Inoue as modified by Karp does not explicitly teach wherein locally applying the first amount of the encapsulation material comprises forming a first dome-shaped geometry of the encapsulation material such that the first dome-shaped geometry covers the first sensor on the circuit board without covering a portion of the circuit board with the first dome-shaped geometry, and wherein locally applying the second amount of the encapsulation material comprises forming a second dome-shaped geometry of the encapsulation material such that the second dome-shaped geometry covers the second sensor on the circuit board without covering the tail portion of the circuit board with the second dome-shaped geometry.
Nakada teaches locally applying the first amount of the encapsulation material comprises forming a first dome-shaped geometry of the encapsulation material such that the first dome-shaped geometry covers the first sensor on the circuit board without covering a portion of the circuit board with the first dome-shaped geometry, and wherein locally applying the second amount of the encapsulation material comprises forming a second dome-shaped geometry of the encapsulation material such that the second dome-shaped geometry covers the second sensor on the circuit board without covering the tail portion of the circuit board with the second dome-shaped geometry (resin) (2) (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination with locally applying the first amount of the encapsulation material comprises forming a first dome-shaped geometry of the encapsulation material such that the first dome-shaped geometry covers the first sensor on the circuit board without covering a portion of the circuit board with the first dome-shaped geometry, and wherein locally applying the second amount of the encapsulation material comprises forming a second dome-shaped geometry of the encapsulation material such that the second dome-shaped geometry covers the second sensor on the circuit board without covering the tail portion of the circuit board with the second dome-shaped geometry as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
Regarding claim 23, Inoue as modified by Karp teaches all the limitations of claim 18.
However, Inoue as modified by Karp does not explicitly teach the circuit board comprises a first portion, a second portion, and one or more remaining portions, the first position corresponds to the first portion of the circuit board, the second position corresponds to the second portion of the circuit board, and wherein the one or more remaining portions do not include the encapsulation material.
Nakada further teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a first portion (where temperature sensing element (1) is located), a second portion (where air flow sensor (20) is located), and one or more remaining portions (where circuit component (18) is located), the first position corresponds to the first portion of the circuit board (laminate substrate) (10), the second position corresponds to the second portion of the circuit board (laminate substrate) (10) (see Figures 1-2), and wherein the one or more remaining portions do not include the encapsulation material (see Figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor assembly as taught by the prior combination wherein the circuit board comprises a first portion, a second portion, and one or more remaining portions, the first position corresponds to the first portion of the circuit board, the second position corresponds to the second portion of the circuit board, and wherein the one or more remaining portions do not include the encapsulation material.as taught by Nakada. One would be motivated to modify the encapsulation material to be locally applied to the sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to permit sealing the sensor area in a very small size and to reduce cost.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Karp in further view of Yao.
Regarding claim 20, Inoue as modified by Karp teaches all the limitations of claim 18, Inoue further teaches locally applying the first amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (19) to the first position associated with the first sensor (temperature sensor) (3), and locally applying the second amount of the encapsulation material (protective film) (18) to the second position associated with the second sensor (flow detector) (2) (see Figures 2, 4, 5 and 6A-B and page 6, line 35 through page 7, line 9).
However, Inoue as modified by Karp does not explicitly teach locally applying a curable gel.
Yao teaches locally applying a curable gel (see Figure 1A and 6-7 and paragraphs 0019, 0028 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the encapsulation material as taught by the prior combination with a curable gel as taught by Yao and provide wherein locally applying the first amount of the encapsulation material comprises locally applying a curable gel to the first position associated with the first sensor, and wherein locally applying the second amount of the encapsulation material comprises locally applying the curable gel to the second position associated with the second sensor. . One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an alternative material to protect the sensors from being damaged due to environmental influences. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 6-15 and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANICE M SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855