DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In particular, the claim limitation “a receive means” that use the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0048]", the specification states: “A radio standard for the transmit/receive means 22 may in principle, as has been explained above, be of many and varied designs. It is advantageously selected from the above-stated options Bluetooth or BLE, but also Zigbee, WLAN or similar, and proprietary solutions without a generally applicable standard can be applied.” Therefore, the “receive means” is taken to be a radio standard selected from Bluetooth or BLE, but also Zigbee, WLAN or similar, and proprietary solutions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egenter (US20200196399) in view of Gremm (EP2981154) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Fig. 1 of Egenter
Fig. 3 of Egenter
Fig. 6 of Egenter
Regarding claim 1, Egenter teaches
A method for operating an induction cooktop having a plurality of induction heating coils (16 a and 16 b), wherein:
each said induction heating coil (16 a and 16 b) has a heating zone ([0050] a heating area is respectively formed with an area which corresponds approximately to the area of the induction heating coils 16 in each case),
a cooking vessel (27) can be arranged to overlap with at least one said heating zone ([0050] cooking vessel 27 is arranged in the heating area 17 a),
each said induction heating coil (16 a and 16 b) is designed for transmission or transfer of energy in order to heat one said cooking vessel ([0006] Each induction heating coil is designed to transmit or to transfer energy for heating a cooking vessel in the heating area),
wherein an inverter ([0049] converter apparatus 20, taken to be the equivalent of an inverter) is provided to drive each said induction heating coil ([0006] controlled in a known manner by a converter),
each said cooking vessel (27) has a transmit device (34) with a transmit antenna (44) for transmitting a signal as a function of energy received from one said induction heating coil ([0054] captures precisely energy or the signals or pings received by the receiving coil; integrated circuit 40 controls a transmitting apparatus 42 with a transmitting antenna 44),
a heating zone (17a) of said induction heating coil (16a) at least in part overlaps with said cooking vessel (27),
a receive means is provided for receiving signals ([0049] transmitting/receiving device 22) from said transmit device (34) of one said cooking vessel (27) or all said transmit devices of said cooking vessels on said induction cooktop (14),
a controller (18) is provided which obtains said signals from said receive means (22) and has information for transmission or transfer of energy of said induction heating coils or obtains said information ([0007] for the purpose of receiving signals from a transmitting apparatus of a cooking vessel or from all transmitting apparatuses of cooking vessels on the induction hob),
wherein said method has the following steps:
at least one said cooking vessel (27) is arranged over one said heating zone (17a) of one said induction heating coil (16a. Fig. 1) ,
a plurality of said induction heating coils are driven for transmission or transfer of energy in a pattern, wherein duration and/or amplitude are varied as a code ([0060] Fig. 6 for four induction heating coils I1 to I4, how a binary coding is transmitted as a statement regarding the respective induction heating coil), wherein said code consists in that
an amplitude of said transmitted or transferred energy within said code varies over time, and/or a duration of energy transfer varies, and/or a duration between two said energy transfers varies, and/or a number of said energy transfers varies ([0010, 0059-0061] Fig. 6 coding involves varying the amplitude of the transmitted or transferred energy within the coding over time, and/or varying the duration of the energy transfer, and/or varying the duration between two energy transfer operations, and/or varying the number of energy transfer operations)
wherein one said code has at least one sequence of at least two pulses and forms a pulse sequence ([0023] two pulses),
if one said cooking vessel overlaps with one said heating zone of one said induction heating coil which has transferred energy with a specific code, said transmit device transmits to said receive means a signal or a sequence of a plurality of signals, which are uniquely dependent on said code and/or are associable with precisely said code ([0011] If a cooking vessel covers a heating area of an induction heating coil which has transferred energy with a specific or individual coding, the transmitting apparatus of the cooking vessel transmits a signal or a sequence of a plurality of signals) ,
said controller obtains said signals received by said receive means and compares said signals with information about said energy transmitted or transferred by said induction heating coils as said codes ([0011] The controller receives the signals received by the receiving device and compares said signals with information relating to the energy transmitted or transferred by the induction heating coils as codings which are known to the controller), in order to establish which said transferred energy code from a specific induction heating coil fits with a received signal or a sequence of a plurality of signals ([0011]The controller can thus determine which coding of transferred energy from a particular induction heating coil matches a received signal or a sequence of a plurality of signals, wherein the signal has been received at the same time or shortly afterward), in order on said basis to associate said cooking vessel transmitting said signal or said sequence of a plurality of said signals with said heating zone or with said induction heating coil associated with said heating zone ([0011] On the basis thereof, the controller can assign the cooking vessel transmitting this signal or this sequence of a plurality of signals to the heating area or to the induction heating coil associated with the heating area).
Egenter is silent on wherein transmission or transfer of said energy proceeds as a code at a frequency of at least 50 kHz.
Gremm teaches wherein transmission or transfer of said energy proceeds as a code at a frequency of at least 50 kHz ([0015] if the induction coil operates at a frequency of 17 kHz and greater, for example 50 kHz or even 80 kHz, the transmitter operates at a frequency of approximately 80 kHz to 1 MHz or even slightly higher).
Egenter and Gremm are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of induction cooktops. It would have been obvious to have modified Egenter to incorporate the teachings of Gremm to have the transmission or transfer of energy as a code be at a frequency of at least 50 kHz so that the operating frequency of the induction coil does not interfere with the transmission of the code (Gremm [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein one said cooking vessel (27) has a receive coil (32) in order to store an alternating magnetic field of an induction heating coil as electrical energy in order to emit the signal by means of the transmit antenna of the transmit device ([0013] a cooking vessel has a receiving coil in order to store an alternating magnetic field of an induction heating coil), wherein said magnetic field is used for said transfer of said energy ([0013] used to transfer energy, as electrical energy or to convert it into electrical energy).
Regarding claim 3, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein an energy storage (38) means which is connected to said receive coil (32) is provided in said cooking vessel ([0053] cooking vessel module 34 of cooking vessel 27), wherein said energy received by said receive coil is stored in said energy storage means ([0014, 0054] wherein the energy received by the receiving coil is stored in the energy storage) and wherein a signal or a sequence of a plurality of signals is emitted by said transmit device corresponding to said stored energy ([0014, 0054] A signal or a sequence of a plurality of signals can then be emitted by the transmitting apparatus with or in accordance with the stored energy).
Regarding claim 4, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein said transmission or said transfer of said energy in the case of said induction heating coils, for which it is unknown that or whether their heating zone is overlapped by one said cooking vessel, is frequently and/or regularly repeated to detect said cooking vessels arranged in said heating zone ([0017] In a further configuration, the transmission or transfer of energy in induction heating coils, in the case of which it is not known whether their heating area is covered by a cooking vessel, can be repeated frequently and/or regularly in order to detect cooking vessels arranged in their heating area).
Regarding claim 5, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 4, and Egenter teaches wherein said transmission or said transfer of said energy in the case of said induction heating coils is frequently and/or regularly repeated at a frequency or a time interval of less than 5 sec ([0017] a frequency or repetition frequency corresponding to an interval of time of preferably less than 5 seconds).
Regarding claim 6, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein said transmission or said transfer of said energy of said induction heating coils for detection of said cooking vessels arranged in said heating zone also proceeds at least in an event that a change in an extent of overlap of one said heating zone by one said cooking vessel is detected ([0019] Provision can be advantageously made for the transmission or transfer of energy from the induction heating coils with coding for detecting cooking vessels arranged in the heating area to be at least also carried out if a change in a coverage of a heating area by a cooking vessel is detected).
Regarding claim 7, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 2, and Egenter teaches wherein said method is only carried out when one said cooking vessel with said receive coil and with one said transmit device has been discovered on said induction cooktop ([0021] Provision may also be made for the method to be carried out only when a special cooking vessel with the above-mentioned receiving coil and a transmitting apparatus has been discovered on the induction hob or in a heating area), wherein said cooking vessel (27) also additionally has an integrated circuit (40) and at least one sensor (36).
Regarding claim 8, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein one said code consists of pulses ([0022] pings or pulses), of which at least two said pulses form said at least one pulse sequence ([0022-0023] two pulses), wherein said pulses are generated at an operating frequency or said resonant frequency of an oscillator circuit with said induction heating coil ([0022] an operating frequency or the resonant frequency of a resonant circuit containing the induction heating coil, where a resonant circuit is understood to be the equivalent of an oscillator circuit), wherein one said pulse has one or more oscillations ([0022] a ping or a pulse has one or more oscillations).
Regarding claim 9, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 8, and Egenter teaches wherein said pulse has one or more oscillations with a total duration of between 0.1 μsec and 50 μsec ([0022] A total duration of a ping or pulse is preferably between 1 μsec and 500 μsec, in particular between 20 μsec and 100 μsec).
Regarding claim 10, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein, when all said induction heating coils are being driven for transfer of energy in order to detect said cooking vessels arranged in said heating zone ([0027] if all induction heating coils are controlled to transfer energy for the purpose of detecting cooking vessels arranged in the heating area),
said energy is first of all transferred for a short time as a pulse ([0027] energy can first of all be transferred for a short time as a ping/pulse), a pause is then provided ([0027] pause)
and then a plurality of different codes is generated by way of a varying number of short sequences energy transfers and pausing or by waiting for a specific multiple of a waiting time ([0027] a multiplicity of different coding can then be generated using a varying number of short sequences of transferring energy and pausing or by waiting for a particular multiple of a waiting time),
and each of said induction heating coils is driven with a different code, but each said induction heating coil always recurrently with the same code, for transmission or transfer of energy with said code ([0027] Each of the induction heating coils is controlled in this case with a different coding to transmit or transfer energy with this coding).
Regarding claim 11, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 10, and Egenter teaches wherein said waiting time is between 5% and 20% of a duration of said codes ([0027] multiple of a waiting time can be, in particular, between 5% and 20% or 30% of the duration of the entire coding).
Regarding claim 12, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein said controller stores which one said cooking vessel is arranged in said heating zone of which induction heating coil ([0028] controller advantageously stores which cooking vessel is arranged in the heating area of which induction heating coil), wherein said controller detects cooking vessels newly arranged in a heating zone of one said induction heating coil in the same way ([0028] controller detects cooking vessels newly arranged in a heating area of an induction heating coil in the same manner).
Regarding claim 13, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein transmission or transfer of one said code is omitted ([0030] transmission or transfer of a coding stops as long as an induction heating coil) for so long as, once one said induction heating coil has detected and associated one said cooking vessel, no change or movement of said cooking vessel in its heating zone is registered by a change in said operating parameters of said oscillator circuit with said induction heating coil ([0030] after detecting and assigning a cooking vessel to itself or to its heating area, does not register any change or movement of this cooking vessel in its heating area)
wherein a code is then not transmitted again to said or to all said induction heating coils until a change or movement of said cooking vessel in its heating zone is registered by one said induction heating coil or by other sensors ([0030] A coding is preferably transmitted to this induction heating coil or to all induction heating coils again only when a change or movement of the cooking vessel).
Regarding claim 14, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein all said induction heating coils simultaneously begin to transfer a code as said transmission of energy ([0055] a synchronization ping illustrated using dotted lines can be simultaneously generated for all four induction heating coils).
Regarding claim 15, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein each said code first has a pulse or energy is briefly transferred for synchronization ([0055] a synchronization ping)and, from said synchronization pulse onwards, each said induction heating coil has a different code (Fig. 3 [0058] The number of the induction heating coils emitting this coding can be directly read by counting these pings).
Regarding claim 16, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 15, and Egenter teaches wherein, after said synchronization pulse ([0055] a synchronization ping illustrated using dotted lines, Fig. 3), at least two further pulses follow in a time interval within all said codes (Fig. 3 two pings/pulses for I1 to I4 shown) and a number of following pulses corresponds to a numbering of said induction heating coils ([0058] The number of the induction heating coils emitting this coding can be directly read by counting these pings).
Regarding claim 17, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 16, and Egenter teaches wherein within a code said time interval is in each case identical until a final pulse before said next synchronization pulse ([0033] The interval of time between two pings within a coding is particularly advantageously the same in each case up to the last ping before the next synchronization ping).
Regarding claim 18, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein said transmit device sends a processed item off information or directly a number of said induction heating coil as a designation or a position of said induction heating coil on said induction cooktop as at least two pulse sequences, which has been evaluated from said code received from one said induction heating coil ([0038] Provision is advantageously made, in principle, for the transmitting apparatus to transmit an item of already processed information as a signal; in particular, this is directly the number of the induction heating coil which has been evaluated from the coding received from an induction heating coil).
Regarding claim 20, Egenter and Gremm teach an induction cooktop for carrying out the method as claimed in claim 1, and Egenter teaches wherein said induction cooktop (13) has a plurality of said induction heating coils (16a, 16b), wherein at least one said heating zone ([0050] a heating area is respectively formed with an area which corresponds approximately to the area of the induction heating coils 16 in each case) is associated with each said induction heating coil (16a, 16b).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egenter (US20200196399) and Gremm (EP2981154) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bunya (JP6768830) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 19, Egenter and Gremm teach the method as claimed in claim 18, and Egenter teaches wherein said evaluation proceeds in said transmit device ([0038] An evaluation is advantageously carried out in the transmitting apparatus), but is silent on wherein said position of said induction heating coil on said induction cooktop is sent as x/y coordinates.
Bunya teaches wherein said position of said induction heating coil on said induction cooktop is sent as x/y coordinates ([0079] mapping information identifies each of the plurality of coils 80 in the X-Y coordinates).
Egenter, Gremm, and Bunya are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of induction cooktops. It would have been obvious to have modified Egenter and Gremm to incorporate the teachings of Bunya to have the position of the coils be in the form of x/y coordinates so separate coils may have unique position identifiers associated with the x/y axis plane such that the location of the coils may be accurately identified in relation the cooking device (Bunya [0079]).
Response to Arguments
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards the indefiniteness rejection on claim 1, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments towards the limitation of “transmission or transfer of said energy proceeds a s a code at a frequency of at least 50 kHz,” applicant argues that “the only reason for the heightened frequency of operation for the detection coils (15, 115) of Grimm is to avoid interference with its parallel (i.e., simultaneously) operated induction heating coils (11)” which is in contrast with the claimed method “which according to the process recited transmits energy with a code as the only induction coil in the detection step, whereby the code is particularly important. Notably, when this detection step occurs, the sole induction coil claimed cannot be operated for heating. Stated otherwise, in the claimed method there is no simultaneous heating and detection steps.” However, the claim language is still broad and does not narrowly explain that only one induction coil is in operation, and it does not specify that there cannot be an induction coil that may be operated in a heating capacity, as it is only specified that “a plurality of said induction heating coils are driven for transmission or transfer of energy…” It does not specify that only one induction coil is in operation and does not specify that all of the induction coils are used for transmission or transfer of energy, such that none of them may be transmitting heat or induction power. Therefore, given that Grimm teaches the “heightened frequency” and would have had motivation to have combined and modified Egenter for the purposes of preventing interference with an operating frequency of the induction coil, as an improvement on the frequency/coil combination as taught in Egenter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 1/15/2026
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761