DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 01/16/2026.
The Claims 4, 6, 17 and 19 have been canceled by the applicant.
The Claims 27-30 have been newly added by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/remarks filed on 01/16/2026 with respect to claim(s) 14 and the similarly amended independent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-9, 14, 16 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US. Pub. 20200403731) in view of Chae et al. (US. Pub. 20210289380), further in view of Farag (US. Pub. 20230319849).
Regarding claim 14 Zhang disclose, an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) read as: “terminal devices - UEs 102-1-n” see para. 78, comprising: one or more memories and one or more processors para. 37, “a terminal device, including a processor and a memory”, coupled with the one or more memories, configured to:
select between random selection and partial sensing based at least in part on a block error ratio (BLER) and a channel busy ratio (CBR) associated with a sidelink channel para. 156, “Alternatively, the configuration or definition may also indicate (such as, either dynamically or semi-statically) the carrier (e.g. the serving cell index, or the frequency) in which the duplicated sidelink data packet should be transmitted. Alternatively, the terminal device may autonomously determine in which carrier the duplicated sidelink data packet should be transmitted depending on radio conditions, e.g., interference level, and/or CBR, and/or block error rate (BLER)”; and
transmit on the sidelink channel using the sidelink resources para. 172, “regardless of which split bearer mechanism is used, the MAC entity may just transmit the data from the higher layer regardless whether sidelink data duplication has been performed or not”.
Zhang do not specifically disclose, wherein the random selection is used to select sidelink resources of the sidelink channel when the BLER is less than or equal to a BLER threshold. However, Chae teach, “The UE may measure an average/maximum/minimum BLER of a packet received during a predetermined time duration or the number of occurrences of a BLER equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold”. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the second of the alternatives.
Zhang and Chae do not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more processors are configured to use the partial sensing to select the sidelink resources when the BLER is greater than the BLER threshold and the CBR is less than or equal to greater than a CBR threshold. However, Farag teaches, para. 242, “The condition to trigger the sending the sensing results (sensing information) from the LTE SL module to the NR SL module can be one or more of: (1) CBR on the LTE SL interface exceeds a threshold, (2) BLER averaged over N subframes for the LTE SL interface exceeds a threshold”.
Zhang, Chae and Farag are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chae and Farag in the system of Zhang so the system can choose the sidelink resources needed to transmit from of all potential candidate resources for the sidelink channel transmission selected according to the restrictions or limitations of the selected channel with the established configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to managing the selection of the available resources and deliver the data in the corresponding order of priority preconfigured.
Regarding claim 16 Zhang disclose, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit the message on the sidelink channel using the other sidelink resources. para. 172, “regardless of which split bearer mechanism is used, the MAC entity may just transmit the data from the higher layer regardless whether sidelink data duplication has been performed or not”.
Zhang and Chae do not specifically disclose, use partial sensing to select other sidelink resources when a priority associated with a message satisfies a priority threshold. However, Farag teach, para. 242, “The condition to trigger the sending the sensing results (sensing information) from the LTE SL module to the NR SL module can be one or more of: (1) CBR on the LTE SL interface exceeds a threshold, (2) BLER averaged over N subframes for the LTE SL interface exceeds a threshold”.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Sartori are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sartori in the system of Zhang, Chae, and Farag so the system can select the sidelink resources needed to transmit from of all potential candidate resources for the sidelink channel transmission and send data on the selected channel according to the established configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to managing the selection of the available resources and deliver the data in the corresponding order of priority preconfigured to maintain levels of quality of services.
Claim 1 recites a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 14 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 3 and 9 the limitations of claim 3 and 9 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 16.
Regarding claim 8 the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 21.
Claim 21 recites a apparatus corresponding to the apparatus of claim 14 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
Claim(s) 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US. Pub. 20200403731) in view of Chae et al. (US. Pub. 20210289380), further in view of Farag (US. Pub. 20230319849) and further in view of Donggun et al. (EPO. Pub. KR102695605).
Regarding claim 25 Zhang, Chae and Farag do not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more processors, to use the random selection, are configured to: use the random selection when a channel busy ratio (CBR) associated with the sidelink channel satisfies a CBR threshold. However, Donggun teach para. 941, “Thres_CBR can be equal to or less than Thres1. This operation is applied when the P2V mobile terminal (9f-01) can operate in both modes (random resource selection and partial sensing operation)”.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Donggun are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Donggun in the system of Zhang, Chae and Farag, so the system can update the channel configuration according to change on the variation of relevant parameters values. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of service on the communication channel available.
Regarding claim 12 the limitations of claim 12 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 25.
Claim(s) 2, 15, 22 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US. Pub. 20200403731) in view of Chae et al. (US. Pub. 20210289380), further in view of Farag (US. Pub. 20230319849), and further in view of Zhao (WIPO. Pub. WO2022077227).
Regarding claim 15 Zhang, Chae and Farag do not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: use the random selection to select other sidelink resources when a priority associated with a message fails to satisfy a priority threshold. However, Zhao para. 220, “only when the priority of the data to be transmitted that triggers resource selection or reselection is lower than a certain priority threshold, the random resource selection method is limited by the specified conditions and/or the range of transmission parameters”; and
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit on the sidelink channel, are configured to: transmit the message on the sidelink channel using the other sidelink resources, wherein the message is associated with a priority that fails to satisfy a priority threshold, para. 209, “determining, by the first communication device, a priority of the second sidelink message associated with the second sidelink message grant fails to meet the priority threshold”.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Zhao are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao in the system of Zhang, Chae and Farag so the system can select the sidelink resources needed to transmit from of all potential candidate resources for the sidelink channel transmission and notify the restrictions or limitations of the selected channel according to the established configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to managing the selection of the available resources and deliver the data in the corresponding order of priority preconfigured.
Regarding claims 2, 22 and 27-28 the limitations of claims 2, 22 and 27-28, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 15.
Claim(s) 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US. Pub. 20200403731) in view of Chae et al. (US. Pub. 20210289380), further in view of Farag (US. Pub. 20230319849), further in view of Lee at al. (U.S. Pub. 20210377956).
Regarding claim 18 Zhang, Chae and Farag does not specifically disclose, wherein the CBR fails to satisfy is greater than the CBR threshold based on a hysteresis value. However, Lee teach, para. 146, “the CBR value of the current carrier does not exceed a second CBR threshold value (e.g., a type of hysteresis margin) related to an additionally configured specific PPPP, the UE may maintain the current carrier”.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Lee are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in the system of Zhang, Chae, and Farag so the system can update the channel configuration according to change on the variation of relevant parameters values. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of service on the communication channel available.
Regarding claim 5 the limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 18.
Claim(s) 7, 13, 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US. Pub. 20200403731) in view of Chae et al. (US. Pub. 20210289380), further in view of Farag (US. Pub. 20230319849), further in view of Lee at al. (U.S. Pub. 20210336688), hereafter, “Lee688”.
Regarding claim 20 Zhang, Chae and Farag does not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: apply a hidden node remediation when a block error ratio (BLER) associated with the sidelink channel fails to satisfy a BLER threshold para. 8, “a UE in a wireless communication system supporting a sidelink comprises the steps of configuring a beam failure recovery (BFR) parameter for each of a plurality of services on the basis of service attributes, and independently detecting a beam failure for at least one beam corresponding to each service on the basis of a block error ratio (BLER) threshold value”.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Lee688 are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee688 in the system of Zhang, Chae and Farag so the system can update the channel configuration according to changing transmission parameters. The motivation for doing so would have been to dynamically modify the communication parameters with variations of the channel conditions.
Regarding claim 7, 13 and 26 the limitations of claim 7, 13 and 26 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 20.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US. Pub. 20200403731) in view of Chae et al. (US. Pub. 20210289380), further in view of Farag (US. Pub. 20230319849), further in view of Lee at al. (U.S. Pub. 20210377956).
Regarding claim 23 Zhang, Chae, Farag does not specifically disclose, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: use the random selection to select other sidelink resources when an updated BLER associated with the sidelink channel satisfies is less than the BLER threshold. However, Lee teach, para. 146, “the CBR value of the current carrier does not exceed a second CBR threshold value (e.g., a type of hysteresis margin) related to an additionally configured specific PPPP, the UE may maintain the current carrier”. The Examiner notes the CBR parameter is used but condidering that Chae takes in consideration several parameters including BLER, it would be obvious to one with skill in the art to perform the same function using other parameter values; and
transmit on the sidelink channel using the other sidelink resources para. 233, “FIG. 20 shows a method for transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a sidelink service through one or more BWPs”.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Lee are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in the system of Zhang, Chae, Farag so the system can update the channel configuration according to change on the variation of relevant parameters values. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of service on the communication channel available.
Regarding claim 24 Zhang, Chae, Farag does not specifically disclose, wherein the updated BLER is less than the BLER threshold based on a hysteresis value. However, Lee teach, “the CBR value of the current carrier does not exceed a second CBR threshold value (e.g., a type of hysteresis margin) related to an additionally configured specific PPPP, the UE may maintain the current carrier”, see para. 146.
Zhang, Chae, Farag and Lee are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to sidelink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in the system of Zhang, Chae, Farag so the system can update the channel configuration according to change on the variation of relevant parameters values. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of service on the communication channel available.
Regarding claims 10-11 the limitations of claims 10-11, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 23-24, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ko et al. (U.S. Pub. 20230389122) which disclose(s) method and device for reevaluating and preempting mode2 resource during SL DRX operation in NR V2X.
/R.R/ Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471