DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, applicant calls to the plurality of teeth having “rounded” ends while claim 1 requires the teeth to have “a curved inclined surface, an end, and a consistent thickness from the wall to the end.” It is unclear how the thickness can be consistent when the ends are rounded, as the rounding inherently requires the thickness to change thus the thickness of claim 1 is interpreted as the width of the teeth (see annotated fig 10A of the instant application below).
Annotated instant fig 10A
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carstens (DE 102017108840 A1) in view of Farrow05 (US 2005/0209545 A1) and Farrow16 (US 2016/0310348 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Carstens discloses a garment configured to be worn by a user to promote lymphatic flow (fig 6-8 showing a wearable garment, par 0001 discloses wearing around a lumbar, par 0008 discloses providing massage or striking to the wearer, further as the structure is similar to the instant it is seen that the device is capable of promoting lymphatic flow), the garment comprising: a plurality of flow directing units (#10 fig 1, 2), each of the plurality of flow directing units comprising a wall (#12 fig 1-2) and a plurality of teeth (#22 fig 1-2) extending from the wall at an angle (α fig 1), the plurality of teeth configured to face skin of the user when the garment is worn (par 0039 “protrusions 22 is arranged on the contact side 126 of base body 12”, par 0002 discloses the contact side as the side that contacts the wearer’s body when worn) to apply a compressive force to the limb of the user to promote lymphatic flow in the user (par 0008, 0015 disclose pushing and pulling forces on the body tissue, due to the similar structure it is seen that the teeth translate a compressive force to promote fluid to flow in a direction), wherein, when an external force is applied to the flow directing unit, the angle decreases from an uncompressed angle to a compressed angle (par 0012 “the raised section bend toward the contact side when the support body is pressed against the body of the carrier along the pressure direction perpendicular to the body surface” and par 0001 and 0020 disclosing the elevations/protrusions as flexible), and when the external force is removed, the angle returns to the uncompressed angle (par 0001 and 0020 disclosing flexible thus disclosing returning to an uncompressed angle without force), and wherein each tooth of the plurality of teeth comprises a curved inclined surface (see fig 1, showing embodiments 1-4 utilizing curved inclined surfaces), an end (#24 fig 1), and a consistent thickness from the wall to the end (see fig 4-5 and 8 showing the thickness being maintained from base to end, alternatively if applicant intended to rely on a different dimension as the thickness, see fig 1 embodiments 2-3 that have rounded/curved bases/ends but a consistent thickness between the two with embodiment 3 substantially similar to fig 10a of instant).
In the event it is not seen that Carstens discloses the teeth returning to an uncompressed angle it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure the flexible teeth of Carstens are elastically flexible such that the teeth return to the uncompressed angle in order to allow the flow directing units to be re-used.
Carstens is silent to the garment being worn on a limb and a plurality of channels, wherein each of the plurality of channels is configured to receive a respective one of the plurality of flow directing units to maintain an orientation of the teeth of said flow directing unit with respect to the skin of the user. Carstens instead discloses the use of hook and loop fasteners or adhesive to attach the flow directing units to the garment (#40 fig 2, par 0042) thus maintaining the orientation of the teeth.
Farrow05 teaches a compression garment configured to be worn on a limb of a user (abstract, fig 7) with a plurality of channels (#144 fig 7, par 0042) configured to receive a plurality of compression units (148 fig 7, par 0042) to maintain an orientation of the plurality of compression units.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize insertable channels as taught by Farrow for the attachment mechanism of Carstens as doing so can provide a secure attachment for the flow directing units preventing the unit from being improperly oriented or coming dislodged/unattached.
Modified Carstens remains silent to the channels maintaining maintain an orientation of the teeth of said flow directing unit with respect to the skin of the user. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain the use of the attachment methods of Carsten in order to ensure the orientation of the teeth are maintained in the channels.
Further, Farrow16 teaches flow directing units (#14 fig 1-16) held between inner and outer fabric layers (#12, #14 fig 1-4, 16, par 0039) acting as a channel wherein the orientation of the protruding side of the flow directing units is maintained with respect to the skin of the user (par 0051 disclosing the flat side oriented away and the rounded side oriented to the user, par 0053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the channels of modified Carstens/Farrow05 maintain the orientation of the teeth with respect to the user as taught by Carstens and Farrow16 in order to maintain the benefits of the teeth facing the user’s body.
Regarding claim 2, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens further discloses the plurality of teeth are in a repeating pattern (see fig 2-5, 9).
Regarding claim 4, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens further discloses the plurality of teeth are evenly distributed along the wall (see fig 2, 5, 8-9 showing the teeth evenly distributed on two symmetrically placed flow directing units).
Regarding claim 5, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens further discloses the angle is acute (see fig 1-3, par 0035 discloses α as less than 90°).
Regarding claim 7, Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens further discloses each tooth of the plurality of teeth includes a rounded end (par 0056 “rounded domes”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens does not expressly discloses the plurality of channels are positioned to align with one or more underlying lymphatic vessels of the lymphatic system of the user when the garment is worn by the user. However, the position of the channels with respect to the user is dependent on how the user places the garment on their body therefore it is seen that the device of modified Carsten is capable of being positioned such that discloses the plurality of channels are positioned to align with one or more underlying lymphatic vessels of the lymphatic system of the user when the garment is worn by the user. Further, Farrow16 teaches aligning the flow directing units/channels with lymphatic vessels (Farrow16: par 0053).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Carstens as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramanan (US 2020/0113773 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens is silent to a bioimpedance sensing device configured to detect a volume of the limb.
Ramanan discloses a compression garment (abstract) with a bioimpedance sensing device configured to detect a volume of a region of a body of the user (par 0239).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a bioimpedance sensor as taught by Ramanan on the garment of Carstens as doing so allows the device to inform the wearer or a clinician of the volume of the user’s limb allowing monitoring of the therapeutic effect of the garment (Ramanan: par 0239).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Carstens as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clausen (US 2019/0343205 A1).
Regarding claim 24, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 1. Carstens is silent to one or more vibration units configured to vibrate to promote lymphatic flow.
Clausen teaches a compression belt (abstract) with a plurality of teeth (#2 fig 2) and one or more vibration units configured to vibrate (par 0013 discloses vibrators for vibrating the teeth/bumps) to promote lymphatic flow (par 0006-0008 discloses the device being for trigger point therapy/myofascial release, and par 0006 discloses myofascial release encouraging lymphatic drainage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vibration units as taught by Clausen on the device of Carstens as doing so can provide a better massage (Clausen: abstract).
Claims 83 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carstens in view of Farrow05 and Farrow16.
Regarding claim 83, Carstens discloses a garment configured to be worn by a user to promote lymphatic flow (fig 6-8 showing a wearable garment, par 0001 discloses wearing around a lumbar, par 0008 discloses providing massage or striking to the wearer, further as the structure is similar to the instant it is seen that the device is capable of promoting lymphatic flow), the garment comprising: a plurality of flow directing units (#10 fig 1, 2), each of the plurality of flow directing units comprising a wall (#12 fig 1-2) and a plurality of teeth (#22 fig 1-2) extending from the wall at an angle (α fig 1), the plurality of teeth configured to face skin of the user when the garment is worn (par 0039 “protrusions 22 is arranged on the contact side 126 of base body 12”, par 0002 discloses the contact side as the side that contacts the wearer’s body when worn), wherein the plurality of teeth is configured to translate a compressive force applied to the garment to promote fluid within the user to flow in a direction (par 0008, 0015 disclose pushing and pulling forces on the body tissue, due to the similar structure it is seen that the teeth translate a compressive force to promote fluid to flow in a direction).
Carstens is silent to a plurality of channels collectively forming a wrap, a sleeve, or a pant configured to receive the limb therein, wherein each of the plurality of channels is configured to receive a respective one of the plurality of flow directing units to maintain an orientation of the teeth of said flow directing unit with respect to the skin of the user, wherein each of the plurality of flow directing units is reversable to change the direction of the flow of fluid urged by the respective plurality of teeth when the compressive force is applied.
Farrow05 teaches a compression garment configured to be worn on a limb of a user (abstract, fig 7) with a plurality of channels (#144 fig 7, par 0042) collectively forming a wrap, a sleeve or a pant (see fig 7 showing the channels collectively forming a sleeve) configured to receive a plurality of compression units (148 fig 7, par 0042) to maintain an orientation of the plurality of compression units.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize insertable channels as taught by Farrow for the attachment mechanism of Carstens as doing so can provide a secure attachment for the flow directing units preventing the unit from being improperly oriented or becoming dislodged/unattached.
As Farrow05 discloses the channels acting as pockets to receive the compression units (Farrow05 par 0042) it is seen that the flow directing units of Carstens can be reversed/inserted in an opposite direction in order to reversable change the direction of the flow of fluid urged by the respective plurality of teeth when the compressive force is applied.
Modified Carstens remains silent to the channels maintaining maintain an orientation of the teeth of said flow directing unit with respect to the skin of the user. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to maintain the use of the attachment methods of Carsten in order to ensure the orientation of the teeth are maintained in the channels.
Further, Farrow16 teaches flow directing units (#14 fig 1-16) held between inner and outer fabric layers (#12, #14 fig 1-4, 16, par 0039) acting as a channel wherein the orientation of the protruding side of the flow directing units is maintained with respect to the skin of the user (par 0051 disclosing the flat side oriented away and the rounded side oriented to the user, par 0053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the channels of modified Carstens/Farrow05 maintain the orientation of the teeth with respect to the user as taught by Carstens and Farrow16 in order to maintain the benefits of the teeth facing the user’s body.
Regarding claim 8, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 83. Carstens further discloses the plurality of teeth have a thickness that tapers to an end (par 0056 “rounded domes discloses tapering to the tip of the dome, further fig 1 second and third embodiments show thickness tapering to an end).
Claim 84 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Carstens as applied to claim 83 above, and further in view of Creighton (US 8,491,514 B2).
Regarding claim 84, modified Carstens discloses the garment of claim 83. Modified Carstens is silent to the plurality of channels is oriented to wrap around the limb of the user at an angle relative to a longitudinal direction of the limb.
Creighton teaches a similar compression garment wherein compression components/channels are at an angle relative to a longitudinal direction of the limb (#1904, 1905, 1906 fig 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize and angle relative to the longitudinal direction of the limb as taught by Creighton for the channels of modified Carstens as doing so follows the natural lymphatic flow pattern in the skin (col 11 ln 8-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 83/84 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 1, applicant asserts that the prior art of Carstens fails to disclose when an external force is applied to the flow directing unit, the angle decreases from an uncompressed angle to a compressed angle, an, when the external force is removed, the angle returns to the uncompressed angle (see pg 8 of response filed 09/23/2026). Applicant specifically asserts that the disclosure of the angled protrusions being flexible is insufficient to disclose the angle decreasing and returning to an uncompressed state when the force is removed. However, it is seen that the disclosure of flexible inherently allows for the projections to bend such that the angle decreases, and further as flexible is commonly defined as being able to bend WITHOUT breaking, it is seen that the achievement of the compressed angle is not permanent and thus the angle can return to the uncompressed state elastically when the force is removed. However if it is seen that the flexibility does not disclose elasticity such that the uncompressed angle is returned to, it is seen that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Carstens to have this elastic flexibility in order to allow for the device to be re-used multiple times.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Toth US 2010/0056966 A1 discloses a compressive garment maintaining orientations (see par 0303-0305, 0364)
Pollock US 2015/0133836 A1 discloses a garment with mounds maintained in position within bubbles (see par 0043)
Reid US 6,656,141 B1 discloses a compression garment for promoting lymphatic flow
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799