17DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the sealing cover." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “the sealing cover” is one of the “sealing covers” or both of the “sealing covers” recited previously in claim 5. Additionally, it is unclear how one sealing cover may have a liquid inlet or liquid outlet such that “liquid enters the flow path through the liquid inlet of the sealing cover for heating and is discharged from the liquid outlet” if there is only one sealing cover that does not require both a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet. For purposes of examination, the limitation is understood to be “ the sealing cover [of a two sealing covers] has a liquid outlet” and “the sealing cover [of a two sealing covers] has a liquid inlet.”
Claims 13 and 14 recite the limitation "debugging the device." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what “the device” refers. For purposes of examination “the device” is taken to be “the pressure device.”
Claims 13 and 14 recite the limitation " performing pushing wave forming." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what the “pushing wave” being formed refers to, whether the “pushing wave” is the “spiral diversion structure” previously recited in the claims. For purposes of examination, the limitation is read to be “performing [spiral diversion structure] forming.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 205481685) in view of Li (CN201181172), referred to as Li ‘172, with citations made to machine translations.
Fig. 1 of Zhao
Fig. 4 of Zhao
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches an inner pipe for a liquid heating apparatus,
comprising a hollow pipe body (6) made of a metal or an alloy (6, []0040] the stainless steel tube),
a pipe wall thickness of the pipe body is 0.5 to 1.0 mm ([0041] thickness of inner tube 6 is respectively 0.5mm to 1mm.)
through a machining method of rolling or pressing, a spiral diversion structure (67) is machined on an inner peripheral wall of the pipe body (6) along an axial direction of the pipe body (Fig. 4), so that the spiral division structure (67) is formed to extend along the axial direction of the pipe body (6),
Regarding the limitation “wherein a pipe wall thickness of the pipe body is 0.3-1.0 mm” as required by claim 1,
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pipe wall thickness of Zhao from 0.5 to 1.0 mm to 0.3-1.0 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Zhao is silent on so that the spiral division structure is formed to protrude on an outer peripheral wall of the pipe body and be sunken on the inner peripheral wall.
Fig. 1of Li ‘172
Li ‘172 teaches the spiral division structure ([0019] spiral ribs of the spiral tube are hollow ribs) is formed to protrude on an outer peripheral wall of the pipe body (3) and be sunken on the inner peripheral wall (Fig. 1).
Zhao and Li ‘172 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating tubes. It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Li ‘172 to have a spiral diversion structure that protrude on an outer surface of the wall of the pipe and sunken in on the inner peripheral of the wall in order to be able to guide fluid out of the heat exchanger (Li ‘172 [0019]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach the inner pipe according to claim 1, and Zhao teaches further comprising expanded ports (Fig. 1 openings at inner pipe 6) disposed at two ends of the pipe body (6) and integrated with the pipe body (6).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach the inner pipe according to claim 2, and Zhao teaches wherein on the inner peripheral wall of the pipe body (6),
a first through hole (63) penetrating a pipe wall (6) of the pipe body is disposed at a start position of the spiral diversion structure (67), so that the first through hole communicates with the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall of the pipe body (6),
and a flow path inlet (66) is formed at a joint between the first through hole (63) and the inner peripheral wall of the pipe body (6)
and a second through hole (62) penetrating the pipe wall of the pipe body (6) is disposed at an end position of the spiral diversion structure (67), so that the second through hole (62) communicates with the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall of the pipe body (6),
and a flow path outlet (65) is formed at a joint between the second through hole (62) and the inner peripheral wall of the pipe body (6).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach a liquid heating apparatus comprising: the inner pipe according to claim 3, and Zhao teaches an outer pipe (2), wherein an inner peripheral wall of the outer pipe (2) is spaced apart from a highest point of the spiral diversion structure (67) by a predetermined radical clearance (Fig. 4), so that the outer pipe (2) is sleeved at an outer part of the spiral diversion structure (67); a
and a heating assembly (3) is disposed on the outer peripheral wall of the outer pipe (2); wherein
the inner pipe (6), the outer pipe (1), and the spiral diversion structure (67) form a flow path (Fig. 4);
and openings at two ends of the flow path (Fig. 4) are sealed by the expanded ports (Figs. 1 and 4 [0039] opening of pipe 6).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach a liquid heating apparatus according to claim 6, and Zhao teaches wherein a liquid inlet pipe (66) is disposed at an inlet of the flow path (Fig. 4); a liquid outlet pipe (65) is disposed at an outlet of the flow path (Fig. 4);
and the liquid inlet pipe (66) or the liquid outlet pipe (65) extends towards directions of the openings of two ends of the inner pipe (6) through the first through hole (63) or the second through hole (62), and is exposed at the openings at the two ends of the inner pipe (6, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach a liquid heating apparatus according to claim 7, and Zhao teaches wherein the expanded port is welded to and sealed with an end of the outer pipe ([0048-0049] inner tube 6 two ends sealed by welding manner to outer tube 1);
and the liquid inlet pipe (66) or the liquid outlet pipe (65)is welded to the first through hole or second through hole ([0063] all welded sealing means for water stream channel, of which 66, 65 are part of).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach a liquid heating apparatus according to claim 8, and Zhao teaches wherein the liquid inlet pipe is connected to a water pump ([0053] water pump promote water flowing),
and a diameter of the liquid outlet pipe is not greater than a diameter of the liquid inlet pipe (Fig. 4), to keep a liquid pressure in the flow path at a maximum of 50 bar ([0063] pressure of maximum 50bar which is 5Mpa).
Regarding the limitation “ a liquid pressure in the flow path at 0.1-1.0 Mpa” as required by claim 10,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure of Zhao from a maximum of 50 bar to a pressure of 0.1-1.0 Mpa since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach a liquid heating apparatus according to claim 8, and Zhao teaches wherein the inner pipe (6) and the expanded port (64, made from pipe 6) are both made of a stainless steel material (uses the stainless steel).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 205481685) in view of Li (CN201181172), referred to as Li ‘172, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 106903197), referred to as Li ‘197, with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach the inner pipe according to claim 3, and Zhao teaches
a thread spacing is 10.5mm ([0051] helix wire distribution distance is 10.5mm).
Regarding the limitation “ a thread spacing is 5-20 mm” as required by claim 1,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a thread spacing of Zhao from 10.5mm to a thread spacing is 5-20 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Zhao is silent on wherein a surface height of the spiral diversion structure protruding on the outer peripheral wall of the pipe body is 1-5 mm,
Li ‘197 teaches a surface height of the spiral diversion structure (11) protruding on the outer peripheral wall of the pipe body is 0.5mm to 2.5 mm(Pg. 2 Para. 1 wave height is 0.5 mm to 2.5 mm);)
Regarding the limitation “a surface height of the spiral diversion structure protruding on the outer peripheral wall of the pipe body is 1-5 mm” as required by claim 4,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pipe wall thickness of Li ‘197 from 0.5 to 2.5 mm to 1-5 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Zhao, Li ‘172, and Li ‘197 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating tubes. It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao and Li ‘172 to incorporate the teachings of Li ‘197 to have a height of the spiral diversion structure be in the range of 0.5mm to 2.5mm as the height of the spiral diversion structure increases or decreases heat transfer (Li ‘197 Pg. 5 Para. 2).
Claims 5, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 205481685) in view of Li (CN201181172), referred to as Li ‘172, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fu (CN108458474), with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao and Li ‘172 teach a liquid heating apparatus comprising: the inner pipe according to claim 1, and Zhao teaches wherein openings at two ends of the inner pipe (6) are sealed by end covers (64) made of a metal material ([0042] tube 6 having flanging 64 made from tube 6 Fig. 4);
an outer pipe (2), wherein an inner peripheral wall of the outer pipe (2) is spaced apart from a highest point of the spiral diversion structure (67) by a predetermined radical clearance (Fig. 4), so that the outer pipe (2) is sleeved at an outer part of the spiral diversion structure (67); a
and a heating assembly (3) is disposed on the outer peripheral wall of the outer pipe (2); wherein
the inner pipe (6), the outer pipe (1), and the spiral diversion structure (67) form a flow path (Fig. 4 [0039]);
openings at two ends of the flow path (Fig. 4 flow paths are sealed by sealing covers (64).
Zhao is silent on the sealing cover is provided with a liquid outlet or a liquid inlet and liquid enters the flow path through the liquid inlet of the sealing for heating and is discharged from the liquid outlet.
Annotated Fig. 4 of Fu
Fu teaches the sealing cover (3) is provided with a liquid outlet or a liquid inlet (opening of covers 3, shown in annotated Fig. 4); and liquid enters the flow path through the liquid inlet of the sealing cover (3) for heating and is discharged from the liquid outlet (annotated Fig. 4, [0033] where through the opening of seal 3, liquid may enter flow path through the inlet 12 and out of the outlet 13).
Zhao, Li ‘172, and Fu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating tubes. It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao and Li ‘172 to incorporate the teachings of Fu to have a sealing cover with a liquid outlet or inlet in order to be able to attached a sealing connection independently which is convenient for manufacturing and mass production and improves stability of the heating device in withstanding high temperature and high pressure environments for a long time (Fu [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao, Li ‘172, and Fu teach a liquid heating apparatus comprising: the inner pipe according to claim 5, and Zhao teaches wherein the liquid inlet pipe is connected to a water pump ([0053] water pump promote water flowing),
and a diameter of the liquid outlet pipe is not greater than a diameter of the liquid inlet pipe (Fig. 4), to keep a liquid pressure in the flow path at a maximum of 50 bar ([0063] pressure of maximum 50bar which is 5Mpa).
Regarding the limitation “ a liquid pressure in the flow path at 0.1-1.0 Mpa” as required by claim 9,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure of Zhao from a maximum of 50 bar to a pressure of 0.1-1.0 Mpa since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao, Li ‘172, and Fu teach a liquid heating apparatus comprising: the inner pipe according to claim 9, and Zhao teaches further comprising a temperature sensor ([0055] temperature control temperature sensing device, NTC temperature sensor) and a controller ([0059] temperature controlling device) electrically connected to the temperature sensor ([0064] temperature sensor)
wherein the temperature sensor (42) is configured at a place of the outer pipe (1) close to the second through hole (Fig. 1, 62), and the controller ([0058] temperature control device) is configured to control,
according to temperature information issued by the temperature sensor, the water pump liquid inlet speed and/or heating power of the heating assembly ([0054, 0059] controlling the power of heating resistor 2, it is also possible to select to control the flow of water pump).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 205481685) in view of Li (CN201181172), referred to as Li ‘172, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 106903197), referred to as Li ‘197, LI (CN104259746A), referred to as Li ‘736, Fu (CN108458474A), and Pilon (US 20150273560).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Zhao and Li teach a method for preparing a liquid heating apparatus, wherein the method is used to prepare the liquid heating apparatus according to claim 6, and Zhao, Li, and Fu teach a method for preparing a liquid heating apparatus, wherein the method is used to prepare the liquid heating apparatus according to claim 9, and Zhao teaches comprises the following steps:
wherein a preset parameter comprises an inner pipe thickness ([0041] inner tube (6) is respectively 0.5mm to 1mm), a spacing of a spiral diversion structure ([0051] helix wire distribution distance is 10.5mm),
And sleeving the inner pipe in an outer pipe, aligning two ends of the inner pipe and the outer pipe (Fig. 1 [0014] insert inner tube 6 into main body 1); and welding an opening to implement sealing ([0014] welding two ends of inner tube 6 for sealing).
Zhao is silent on S1: preparing a mold according to preset parameters of an inner pipe, and placing the mold into a pressure device; and setting parameters and debugging the device, wherein the preset parameter comprises a height of an expanded port, and a height of a spiral diversion structure;
S2: placing a metal material or a metal alloy material into the mold; sealing and locking the mold; and annealing the metal material or metal alloy material;
S3: starting the pressure device, performing pushing wave forming by using a high-pressure water drum, to complete machining, and integrating the spiral diversion structure with a pipe body;
S4: releasing pressure and loosening the mold, and taking out the prepared inner pipe.
Li ‘746 teaches S1 (A): preparing a mold (mold 2 having portions 23a, 24a) according to preset parameters of an inner pipe ([0045] preparing metal pipe 1 and the needed length is matched with shape of the metal pipe 1 of cavity 21 of the mould 2),
and placing the mold (23a, 24a) into a pressure device (23,24 of mold 2);
and setting parameters and debugging the device ([0045] preparing a desired length of metal pipe)
a height of an expanded port ([0040] preparing a desired length of metal pipe, which corresponds to the height or length ends of pipe 1, being the equivalent of the expanded port),
S2 (B): placing a metal material or a metal alloy material into the mold ([0047] sealing the metal pipe I is put in the mold); sealing and locking the mold ([0042] forming a seal between the inner side wall of the other end of the metal tube),
S3 (C, D): starting the pressure device ([0051-0053] injecting liquid medium until pressure reaches a set value),
performing pushing wave forming by using a high-pressure water drum ([0054] extruding and damping), to complete machining ([0054] forming extruded portion 12 of pipe 1),
and integrating the structure (12) with a pipe body (1)
S4(D1, E): releasing pressure and loosening the mold ([0056] stopping pushing of metal pipe 1, which would remove pressure), and taking out the prepared inner pipe (E, [0057] opening mold.
Zhao and Li ‘746 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of making pipes. It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao with the teachings of Li ‘746 to have the steps of preparing a mold, placing a metal in the mold, starting a pressure device, releasing a pressure and removing the pipe from the mold so that a pipe with a specific shape may be obtained without wasting extraneous materials (Li ‘746 [0009]).
Zhao and Li ‘746 are silent on wherein the preset parameter comprises a height of a spiral diversion structure, annealing the metal material or metal alloy material, and integrating the spiral diversion structure with a pipe body, and a spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe is 0.05mm-0.5mm.
Li ‘197 teaches wherein the preset parameter comprises a height of a spiral diversion structure (Pg. 2 Para. 1 wave height is 0.5 mm to 2.5 mm).
Zhao, Li ‘746, and Li ‘197 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating tubes. It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao and Li ‘746 with the teachings of Li ‘197 to set the height of the spiral diversion structure as the height of the spiral diversion structure increases or decreases heat transfer (Li ‘197 Pg. 5 Para. 2).
Zhao, Li ‘746, and Li ‘197 are silent on annealing the metal material or metal alloy material, and integrating the spiral diversion structure with a pipe body, a spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe is 0.05mm-0.5mm.
Pilon teaches and annealing the metal material or metal alloy material ([0009] annealing metal).
Zhao, Li ‘746, Li ‘197, and Pilon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating tubes. It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao, Li ‘746, and Li ‘197 with the teachings of Pilon to have a step of annealing metal as annealing is known to prevent material failure and to increase the ductility of the material (Pilon[0083])
Zhao, Li ‘746, Li ‘197, and Pilon are silent on integrating the spiral diversion structure with a pipe body, a spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe is 0.05mm-0.5mm.
Li ‘172 teaches integrating the spiral diversion structure with a pipe body (Fig.1 spiral ribs of the spiral tube are hollow ribs, being integrated with middle tube 3).
It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao, Li ‘746, Li ‘197, and Pilon with the teachings of Li ‘172 to have the spiral diversion structure be integrated with the pipe body so that fluid may flow on either side of the pipe structure by the direction of the spiral diversion structure (Li ‘172 [0008]).
Zhao, Li ‘746, Li ‘197, Pilon, and Li ‘172 are silent on a spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe is 0.05mm-0.5mm.
Fu teaches a so that a spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe is 0.05mm-0.5mm ([0025]).
Regarding the limitation “ a spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe is 0.1-0.6 mm” as required by claim 13,
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe of Fu from 0.05mm-0.5mm to 0.1-0.6 mm since it has been held that since it has been held that "a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close." MPEP 2144.05 I.
It would have been obvious to have modified Zhao, Li ‘746, Li ‘197, Pilon, and Li ‘172 with the teachings of Fu to set the spacing between a highest point of the inner pipe and the outer pipe as having the desired radial gap facilitates easy insertion of the inner tube into the outer tube and avoids the situation where the radial gap is too large, causing the liquid to flow directly through the radial gap along the length direction of the inner tube to the liquid outlet instead of being guided by the spiral guide structure (Fu [0035]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/18/2025
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761