DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 05/22/2026 has been entered.
Pending: claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 24-27
Amended: claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-16, 21, and 27
Cancelled: claims 2, 10, 13-14, 19, and 22-23
Rejected: claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 24-27
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because Smith teaches the following alloy composition for a high-entropy alloy material (title, abstract):
Element
Instant claim 1(wt. %)
Smith
(wt. %)
Location in reference
Cr
12-22
4.8-26.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Mo
22-35
21.75-41.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Ta
15-50
21.0-50.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Ti
10-20
<18.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Al
1-3
0-4.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
V
-
6.0.0-27.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20230392236 A1; of record).
Regarding claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-17, and 24-26, Smith teaches the following alloy composition for a high-entropy alloy material (title, abstract):
Element
Instant claim 1(wt. %)
Smith
(wt. %)
Location in reference
Cr
12-22
4.8-26.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Mo
22-35
21.75-41.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Ta
15-50
21.0-50.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Ti
10-20
<18.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Al
1-3
0-4.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
V
-
6.0.0-27.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
Smith further teaches that the alloy has a BCC structure [0015], meeting the corresponding limitations in claims 1, 17, and 25. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 18, Smith teaches that the inventive examples had hardness levels ranging from 594-740 Vickers hardness (Table II), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 20, Smith teaches the alloy of claim 1 above, and further teaches that the alloy may be used for an aircraft component [0003], [0017]-[0019], [0095].
Regarding claim 21, Smith teaches the alloy of claim 1 above, and further teaches that the alloy may be formed from sintering elemental powders (i.e. powder consolidation) or by atomization from plasma spray (i.e. arc melting) [0088].
Regarding claim 27, Smith teaches the following alloy composition for a high-entropy alloy material (title, abstract):
Element
Instant claim 27(wt. %)
Smith
(wt. %)
Location in reference
Cr
12-22
4.8-26.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Mo
22-35
21.75-41.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Ta
15-50
21.0-50.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
Ti
10-20
<18.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
V
-
6.0.0-27.0
Table IA: “Ex. 1-4 Range 1”
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
With regard to the claimed “A heat exchanger comprising…”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a heat exchanger is any product that is capable of exchanging heat when being used where there may be a temperature differential. Smith teaches that the alloy can be used for gas turbine engine components such as blades or vanes, which are heat exchangers under BRI, because gas turbine engine blades and vanes have internal cooling channels which allow for exchanging heat from the blades/vanes to the cooling medium within (e.g., air),
Smith further teaches that the alloy has a BCC structure [0015], meeting the corresponding limitations in claim 27. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (MPEP 2113).
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735