DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 11/24/2025 has been entered.
Pending: claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 24-27
New: claim 26-27
Cancelled: claims 2, 10, 13-14, 19, and 22-23
Rejected: claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 24-27
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the previous references are no longer being relied upon as references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20230392236 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-17, and 24-26, Smith teaches the following alloy composition for a high-entropy alloy material (title, abstract):
Element
Instant claim 1(wt. %)
Smith
(wt. %)
Location in reference
Cr
about 12-22
16.0-26.0
[0006]
Mo
about 22-35
23.0-34.0
[0006]
Ta
about 15-50
21.0-31.0
[0006]
Ti
about 10-20
0.50-3.5
[0006]
Al
about 1-3
0-4.0
[0009]
V
-
17.0-27.0
[0006]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
Smith further teaches that the alloy has a BCC structure [0015], meeting the corresponding limitations in claims 1, 17, and 25. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 18, Smith teaches that the inventive examples had hardness levels ranging from 594-740 Vickers hardness (Table II), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 20, Smith teaches the alloy of claim 1 above, and further teaches that the alloy may be used for an aircraft component [0003], [0017]-[0019], [0095].
Regarding claim 21, Smith teaches the alloy of claim 1 above, and further teaches that the alloy may be formed from sintering elemental powders (i.e. powder consolidation) or by atomization from plasma spray (i.e. arc melting) [0088].
Regarding claim 27, Smith teaches the following alloy composition for a high-entropy alloy material (title, abstract):
Element
Instant claim 1(wt. %)
Smith
(wt. %)
Location in reference
Cr
about 12-22
16.0-26.0
[0006]
Mo
about 22-35
23.0-34.0
[0006]
Ta
about 15-50
21.0-31.0
[0006]
Ti
about 10-20
0.50-3.5
[0006]
Al
about 1-3
0-4.0
[0009]
V
-
17.0-27.0
[0006]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
With regard to the claimed “A heat exchanger comprising…”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a heat exchanger is any product that is capable of exchanging heat when being used where there may be a temperature differential. Smith teaches that the alloy can be used for gas turbine engine components such as blades or vanes, which are heat exchangers under BRI, because gas turbine engine blades and vanes have internal cooling channels which allow for exchanging heat from the blades/vanes to the cooling medium within (e.g., air),
Smith further teaches that the alloy has a BCC structure [0015], meeting the corresponding limitations in claim 27. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (MPEP 2113).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735