Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 10-14, 16-20 pending.
Response to Remarks
Amendments and remarks filed November 14, 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Argument 1 (Remarks pgs. 7-9): Applicant submits that the combination of Oettle in view of Oman does not teach “after execution of authentication tasks and transaction related tasks using UWB communication units in the communication mode, the controller causes the UWB communication units to operate in a combined mode of operation in which the controller causes the UWB communication units to alternate between the ranging mode of operation to track the position of the vehicle and the radar mode of operation to determine objects in a projected path of the vehicle” as recited by amended claim 1. Applicant further submits that Oettle does not teach similar limitations in amended claims 8, 10, and 14.
Response 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Oettle teaches: after execution of authentication tasks and transaction related tasks using UWB communication units in the communication mode, ([0014] – “It is particularly preferably provided that the motor vehicle and/or the charging station are/is identified before a charging process is carried out, in particular before or after the positioning process is carried out. In this case, identification is preferably performed by means of the one or more ultra-wideband sensors” Applicant agrees that Oettle teaches a communication mode of the UWB sensors for identification and authorization at Remarks pg. 8.) ([0014] – “ In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination. ”) and the radar mode of operation to determine objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0034], [0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.” [0006] – “the ultra-wideband sensor is preferably designed in such a way that the electromagnetic waves are additionally emitted in different polarization directions. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information. Supplementary ascertaining of the orientation between the vehicle and the charging station in particular is possible as a result.” Initial ascertaining of orientation between the vehicle and charging station corresponds to ranging mode as cited above for the previous limitation. Ascertaining /discriminating additional objects for collision avoidance (and supplementary ascertaining of orientation between vehicle and the charging station) corresponds to radar mode as cited for this limitation. Therefore, the modes, both performed by UWB sensor 21, are alternated in order to achieve both an initial and supplementary ascertaining of the orientation.)
Oman teaches a controller 18 for storing routines to perform steps for operating UWB transceivers in multiple modes of operation. See Oman [0015-31]. See rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for detailed analysis.
Duplicate Claims Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. Claim 6 appears to merely restate a limitation of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170174093 to Oetlle (‘093) in view of US 20140330449 A1 to Oman (‘449).
Regarding claim 1,
Oetlle (‘093) teaches:
A system for facilitating guiding a vehicle to a predefined location, the system configured to be included in a vehicle and comprising: (Figs. 1A, 1B; [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2. FIGS. 3 to 7 illustrate different exemplary embodiments of the device 15, in each case in a plan view of the motor vehicle 2 and the charging station 3.” [0042] – “the device 15 is integrated on the motor vehicle 2”)
one or more ultra-wideband, UWB, communication units coupled to the vehicle ([0030] – “Two ultra-wideband sensors 21 are likewise provided on the front end of the motor vehicle 2”) and configured to establish UWB communication with a UWB-enabled system installed at the predefined location; (Fig. 3; [0029-32] – “the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3”)
(lined through limitations correspond to limitations not taught by reference)
(Figs. 8A, 8B; [0044-49] – “In principle, the following steps, of which the order can also be different, are important: authorization, positioning and establishing communication”) a communication mode of operation for execution of authentication tasks, ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0045]) a ranging mode of operation to track a position and orientation of the vehicle relative to the predefined location ([0012-14] – “current position of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station is determined by means of at least one ultra-wideband sensor for a positioning process. In this case, the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station… In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination.” [0038] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning”) and a radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0031] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 preferably transmit individual electromagnetic pulses. These pulses are reflected at objects which differ from the propagation medium (for example air) in terms of their electrical properties. The reflected pulses are registered/detected by the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 and the propagation time of said pulses is determined.” [0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information” [0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.”) and wherein, after execution of authentication tasks and transaction related tasks using UWB communication units in the communication mode, ([0014] – “It is particularly preferably provided that the motor vehicle and/or the charging station are/is identified before a charging process is carried out, in particular before or after the positioning process is carried out. In this case, identification is preferably performed by means of the one or more ultra-wideband sensors”) ([0014] – “ In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination. ”) and the radar mode of operation to determine objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0034], [0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.” [0006] – “the ultra-wideband sensor is preferably designed in such a way that the electromagnetic waves are additionally emitted in different polarization directions. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information. Supplementary ascertaining of the orientation between the vehicle and the charging station in particular is possible as a result.” Initial ascertaining of orientation between the vehicle and charging station corresponds to ranging mode as cited above for the previous limitation. Ascertaining /discriminating additional objects for collision avoidance (and supplementary ascertaining of orientation between vehicle and the charging station) corresponds to radar mode as cited for this limitation. Therefore, the modes, both performed by UWB sensor 21, are alternated in order to achieve both an initial and supplementary ascertaining of the orientation.)
Oman (‘449) teaches:
a controller coupled to the vehicle and to the one or more UWB communication units, the controller configured to control the UWB communication units; (Fig. 1; [0015] – “The controller 18… for storing one or more routines, thresholds and captured data. The one or more routines may be executed by the processor 20 to perform steps for operating one or more ultra wideband transceivers (UWBXs) on the vehicle 14”) and
wherein the controller is configured to cause the UWB communication units to switch between a communication mode of operation for execution of authentication tasks (Fig. 2; [0016] – “the controller 18 and the first UWBX 22 cooperate to transmit a request pulse 24 at a request time 26 (FIG. 5). As used herein, the request pulse 24 is an electromagnetic signal emitted by the first UWBX 22 in accordance with UWB communication protocols.” [0021] – “The request pulse 24 may include a vehicle identification 36 such as a vehicle identification number (VIN) or a serial number of the first UWBX 22… the mobile UWBX 30 may be configured to only respond if a signal received by mobile UWBX includes a proper vehicle identification”), a ranging mode of operation to track a position and orientation of the vehicle, ([0019] – “The controller 18 may be further configured to determine the distance 12 between the first UWBX 22 and the mobile UWBX 30 based on the first time interval 28 (FIG. 5) between the request time 26 and a first time 34 that corresponds to when the reply pulse 32 is received by the first UWBX 22” [0024] – “by determining a location where the circles intersect, the direction 44 can be determined in addition to the distance 12.” [0029-30] – “the arrangement of the three UWBXs may be configured to function for ranging and communications to an active tag (electronic key)… active tag mode… With a UWBX installed in each tire to communicate with the vehicle's UWBX(s), the system 10 can automatically determine the position of the tire transponder (and ID) by time of flight triangulation between the vehicle Ultra Wideband system and each tire transponder. This allows distance recognition to within 1 cm.”) and a radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle ([0029-31] – “short range (less than 10 m) detection of passive targets such as pedestrians or inanimate objects around the vehicle to allow for the implementation of the functions described below by a single set of hardware… For the passive target mode, the vehicle's UWBX(s) can be used in a radar mode to function similar to radar”) ([0032] – “By combining the active and passive modes a Security Threat Detection with Automated Panic function can be implemented. Security Threat Detection utilizes the vehicle's UWBXs which allows position range and tracking of electronic tags (fob/cellphone) as well as passive targets both inside and outside the vehicle.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Oman (‘449)’s known technique to Oetlle (‘093)’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Otelle (‘093) teaches a base invention using UWB sensors 21 on a vehicle for a plurality of modes of operations in sequence; (2) Oman (‘449) teaches a specific technique of controlling UWB transceivers to operate in one of multiple modes of operation based on a distance between a UWBX installed on a vehicle and a mobile UWBX; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with decreased power, equipment, and operational requirements; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the communication mode in order to establish a connection with the UWB-enabled system. ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding” [0045] – “As soon as authorization is performed, communication is established between the motor vehicle 2 and the charging station 3 in a step S5)
Regarding claim 3,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the ranging mode in order to determine a position of the vehicle. ([0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0031-40] – “The distance of the respective sensor from the object at which the pulses have been reflected is then determined by means of measuring the propagation time… The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning and coupling and, respectively, authorizing the motor vehicle 2.”)
Regarding claim 4,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to calculate a path from the vehicle to the predefined location based on the determined position of the vehicle. ([0049] – “the ascertained position can be used, for example, to assist manual parking by the driver by providing corresponding acoustic or visual signals, to facilitate semi-automatic parking with the aid of active steering intervention operations and/or acceleration operations or to carry out a fully automatic parking process.”)
Regarding claim 5,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in a combined ranging and radar mode in order to guide the vehicle to the predefined location. (Fig. 8; [0038] – “In this case, the ultra-wideband sensor 17 serves as a guideline for the motor vehicle 2.”)
Regarding claim 6,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 5, wherein the combined ranging and radar mode includes alternating between the ranging mode of operation and the radar mode of operation. ([0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.” Examiner notes that position of vehicle (determined in ranging mode) and position of potential collision objects (determined in radar mode) must be compared in order to ascertain whether charging station can be driven to, i.e. ranging mode and radar mode are alternated.)
Regarding claim 7,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 5, wherein the controller is further configured to predict a collision between the vehicle and an external object based on a detection of the external object ([0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.”) by the UWB communication units when the UWB communication units operate in the radar mode. ([0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information”)
Regarding claim 8,
Oetlle (‘093) teaches:
A method for facilitating guiding a vehicle to a predefined location, (Figs. 1A, 1B; [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2. FIGS. 3 to 7 illustrate different exemplary embodiments of the device 15, in each case in a plan view of the motor vehicle 2 and the charging station 3.” [0042] – “the device 15 is integrated on the motor vehicle 2”) comprising:
([0030] – “Two ultra-wideband sensors 21 are likewise provided on the front end of the motor vehicle 2”) to switch (Figs. 8A, 8B; [0044-49] – “In principle, the following steps, of which the order can also be different, are important: authorization, positioning and establishing communication”) from one of a ranging mode of operation ([0012-14] – “current position of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station is determined by means of at least one ultra-wideband sensor for a positioning process. In this case, the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station… In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination.” [0038] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning”) or a radar mode of operation ([0031] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 preferably transmit individual electromagnetic pulses. These pulses are reflected at objects which differ from the propagation medium (for example air) in terms of their electrical properties. The reflected pulses are registered/detected by the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 and the propagation time of said pulses is determined.” [0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information”) to a communication mode of operation; ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0044-45])
establishing, by the one or more ultra-wideband, UWB communication units in the communication mode of operation, UWB communication with a UWB-enabled system installed at the predefined location; (Fig. 3; [0029-32] – “the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3”)
performing, via the UWB communication, at least one transaction-related task between the vehicle and the UWB-enabled system at the predefined location; ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0045] Examiner notes that their broadest reasonable interpretation of “transaction-related task” in light of the specification includes an authentication task. See, e.g., instant application specification [0034] – “authentication tasks and other transaction-related tasks”) and
([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0045]) to a combined mode of operation in which the UWB communication units alternate between the ranging mode of operation to track a position and orientation of the vehicle ([0012-14] – “current position of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station is determined by means of at least one ultra-wideband sensor for a positioning process. In this case, the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station… In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination.” [0038] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning”) and the radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0034], [0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.” [0006] – “the ultra-wideband sensor is preferably designed in such a way that the electromagnetic waves are additionally emitted in different polarization directions. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information. Supplementary ascertaining of the orientation between the vehicle and the charging station in particular is possible as a result.” Initial ascertaining of orientation between the vehicle and charging station corresponds to ranging mode as cited above for the previous limitation. Ascertaining /discriminating additional objects for collision avoidance (and supplementary ascertaining of orientation between vehicle and the charging station) corresponds to radar mode as cited for this limitation. Therefore, the modes, both performed by UWB sensor 21, are alternated in order to achieve both an initial and supplementary ascertaining of the orientation.) ([0046] – “The method in FIG. 8B differs from the preceding method in that authorization, that is to say step S4, and establishing communication, that is to say step S5, are carried out before positioning at a distance according to step S2.”)
Oman (‘449) teaches:
controlling, by a controller of the vehicle, one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) communication units of the vehicle, (Fig. 1; [0015] – “The controller 18… for storing one or more routines, thresholds and captured data. The one or more routines may be executed by the processor 20 to perform steps for operating one or more ultra wideband transceivers (UWBXs) on the vehicle 14”)
controlling, by a controller of the vehicle, the UWB communication units, (Fig. 1; [0015] – “The controller 18… for storing one or more routines, thresholds and captured data. The one or more routines may be executed by the processor 20 to perform steps for operating one or more ultra wideband transceivers (UWBXs) on the vehicle 14”) to switch from the communication mode of operation (Fig. 2; [0016] – “the controller 18 and the first UWBX 22 cooperate to transmit a request pulse 24 at a request time 26 (FIG. 5). As used herein, the request pulse 24 is an electromagnetic signal emitted by the first UWBX 22 in accordance with UWB communication protocols.” [0021] – “The request pulse 24 may include a vehicle identification 36 such as a vehicle identification number (VIN) or a serial number of the first UWBX 22… the mobile UWBX 30 may be configured to only respond if a signal received by mobile UWBX includes a proper vehicle identification”) to at least one of the ranging mode of operation to track a position and orientation of the vehicle, ([0019] – “The controller 18 may be further configured to determine the distance 12 between the first UWBX 22 and the mobile UWBX 30 based on the first time interval 28 (FIG. 5) between the request time 26 and a first time 34 that corresponds to when the reply pulse 32 is received by the first UWBX 22” [0024] – “by determining a location where the circles intersect, the direction 44 can be determined in addition to the distance 12.” [0029-30] – “the arrangement of the three UWBXs may be configured to function for ranging and communications to an active tag (electronic key)… active tag mode… With a UWBX installed in each tire to communicate with the vehicle's UWBX(s), the system 10 can automatically determine the position of the tire transponder (and ID) by time of flight triangulation between the vehicle Ultra Wideband system and each tire transponder. This allows distance recognition to within 1 cm.”) and a radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle ([0029-31] – “short range (less than 10 m) detection of passive targets such as pedestrians or inanimate objects around the vehicle to allow for the implementation of the functions described below by a single set of hardware… For the passive target mode, the vehicle's UWBX(s) can be used in a radar mode to function similar to radar”) ([0032] – “By combining the active and passive modes a Security Threat Detection with Automated Panic function can be implemented. Security Threat Detection utilizes the vehicle's UWBXs which allows position range and tracking of electronic tags (fob/cellphone) as well as passive targets both inside and outside the vehicle.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Oman (‘449)’s known technique to Oetlle (‘093)’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Otelle (‘093) teaches a base invention using UWB sensors 21 on a vehicle for a plurality of modes of operations in sequence; (2) Oman (‘449) teaches a specific technique of controlling UWB transceivers to operate in one of multiple modes of operation based on a distance between a UWBX installed on a vehicle and a mobile UWBX; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with decreased power, equipment, and operational requirements; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 10,
Oetlle (‘093) teaches:
A system for facilitating guiding a vehicle to a predefined location, the system configured to be installed at the predefined location and comprising: (Figs. 1A, 1B; [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.”) ([0048] – “The ultra-wideband sensors, that is to say the transmitter and/or receivers, can be integrated into the charging station 3 and, respectively, into the motor vehicle 2 in different fitting variants.” [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2. FIGS. 3 to 7 illustrate different exemplary embodiments of the device 15, in each case in a plan view of the motor vehicle 2 and the charging station 3.” [0035] – “provided that the device 15 is integrated substantially into the charging station 3.”)
one or more ultra-wideband (UWB) communication units at the predefined location and (Fig. 3; [0029-31] – “plurality of ultra-wideband sensors 16 and 17 are associated with the primary unit 4… The ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 preferably transmit individual electromagnetic pulses. These pulses are reflected at objects which differ from the propagation medium (for example air) in terms of their electrical properties. The reflected pulses are registered/detected by the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21”) configured to establish UWB communication with a UWB-enabled system included in the vehicle; ([0030] – “Two ultra-wideband sensors 21 are likewise provided on the front end of the motor vehicle 2”)
a controller of the system at the predefined location and configured to control the one or more UWB communication units; and (e.g. Figs. 3-5, sensors 16 and 17)
(Figs. 8A, 8B; [0044-49] – “In principle, the following steps, of which the order can also be different, are important: authorization, positioning and establishing communication”) to a communication mode of operation to perform at least one transaction-related task between the system and the vehicle ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0045] Examiner notes that their broadest reasonable interpretation of “transaction-related task” in light of the specification includes an authentication task. See, e.g., instant application specification [0034] – “authentication tasks and other transaction-related tasks”) and then to cause the UWB communication units to switch to a combined mode of operation in which the UWB communication units alternate between a ranging mode of operation to determine a position and orientation of the vehicle relative to the predefined location ([0012-14] – “current position of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station is determined by means of at least one ultra-wideband sensor for a positioning process. In this case, the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station… In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination.” [0035] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 17 and 21 serve, in particular, to position the motor vehicle 2 with its secondary unit 6 above the primary unit 4,”) and a radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0034], [0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.” [0006] – “the ultra-wideband sensor is preferably designed in such a way that the electromagnetic waves are additionally emitted in different polarization directions. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information. Supplementary ascertaining of the orientation between the vehicle and the charging station in particular is possible as a result.” Initial ascertaining of orientation between the vehicle and charging station corresponds to ranging mode as cited above for the previous limitation. Ascertaining /discriminating additional objects for collision avoidance (and supplementary ascertaining of orientation between vehicle and the charging station) corresponds to radar mode as cited for this limitation. Therefore, the modes, both performed by UWB sensor 21, are alternated in order to achieve both an initial and supplementary ascertaining of the orientation.) ([0046] – “The method in FIG. 8B differs from the preceding method in that authorization, that is to say step S4, and establishing communication, that is to say step S5, are carried out before positioning at a distance according to step S2.”)
Oman (‘449) teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to cause the UWB communication units (Fig. 1; [0015] – “The controller 18… for storing one or more routines, thresholds and captured data. The one or more routines may be executed by the processor 20 to perform steps for operating one or more ultra wideband transceivers (UWBXs) on the vehicle 14”) to switch to a communication mode of operation to perform at least one transaction-related task between the system and the vehicle (Fig. 2; [0016] – “the controller 18 and the first UWBX 22 cooperate to transmit a request pulse 24 at a request time 26 (FIG. 5). As used herein, the request pulse 24 is an electromagnetic signal emitted by the first UWBX 22 in accordance with UWB communication protocols.” [0021] – “The request pulse 24 may include a vehicle identification 36 such as a vehicle identification number (VIN) or a serial number of the first UWBX 22… the mobile UWBX 30 may be configured to only respond if a signal received by mobile UWBX includes a proper vehicle identification”) and then to cause the UWB communication units to switch to at least one of a ranging mode of operation to track a position and orientation of the vehicle relative to the predefined location, ([0019] – “The controller 18 may be further configured to determine the distance 12 between the first UWBX 22 and the mobile UWBX 30 based on the first time interval 28 (FIG. 5) between the request time 26 and a first time 34 that corresponds to when the reply pulse 32 is received by the first UWBX 22” [0024] – “by determining a location where the circles intersect, the direction 44 can be determined in addition to the distance 12.” [0029-30] – “the arrangement of the three UWBXs may be configured to function for ranging and communications to an active tag (electronic key)… active tag mode… With a UWBX installed in each tire to communicate with the vehicle's UWBX(s), the system 10 can automatically determine the position of the tire transponder (and ID) by time of flight triangulation between the vehicle Ultra Wideband system and each tire transponder. This allows distance recognition to within 1 cm.”) and a radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle ([0029-31] – “short range (less than 10 m) detection of passive targets such as pedestrians or inanimate objects around the vehicle to allow for the implementation of the functions described below by a single set of hardware… For the passive target mode, the vehicle's UWBX(s) can be used in a radar mode to function similar to radar”) ([0032] – “By combining the active and passive modes a Security Threat Detection with Automated Panic function can be implemented. Security Threat Detection utilizes the vehicle's UWBXs which allows position range and tracking of electronic tags (fob/cellphone) as well as passive targets both inside and outside the vehicle.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Oman (‘449)’s known technique to Oetlle (‘093)’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Otelle (‘093) teaches a base invention using UWB sensors 21 on a vehicle for a plurality of modes of operations in sequence; (2) Oman (‘449) teaches a specific technique of controlling UWB transceivers to operate in one of multiple modes of operation based on a distance between a UWBX installed on a vehicle and a mobile UWBX; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with decreased power, equipment, and operational requirements; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the communication mode in order to establish a connection with the UWB-enabled system. ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding” [0045] – “As soon as authorization is performed, communication is established between the motor vehicle 2 and the charging station 3 in a step S5)
Regarding claim 12,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the ranging mode in order to determine a position of the vehicle. ([0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0031-40] – “The distance of the respective sensor from the object at which the pulses have been reflected is then determined by means of measuring the propagation time… The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning and coupling and, respectively, authorizing the motor vehicle 2.”)
Regarding claim 13,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the radar mode in order to detect an external object which is present near or at the predefined location. ([0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information”) ([0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.”)
Regarding claim 14,
Oetlle (‘093) teaches:
A method for facilitating guiding a vehicle to a predefined location, (Figs. 1A, 1B; [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2. FIGS. 3 to 7 illustrate different exemplary embodiments of the device 15, in each case in a plan view of the motor vehicle 2 and the charging station 3.” [0042] – “the device 15 is integrated on the motor vehicle 2”) comprising:
(Figs. 8A, 8B; [0044-49] – “In principle, the following steps, of which the order can also be different, are important: authorization, positioning and establishing communication”) from one of a ranging mode of operation ([0012-14] – “current position of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station is determined by means of at least one ultra-wideband sensor for a positioning process. In this case, the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station… In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination.” [0035] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 17 and 21 serve, in particular, to position the motor vehicle 2 with its secondary unit 6 above the primary unit 4,”) or a radar mode of operation ([0031] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 preferably transmit individual electromagnetic pulses. These pulses are reflected at objects which differ from the propagation medium (for example air) in terms of their electrical properties. The reflected pulses are registered/detected by the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 and the propagation time of said pulses is determined.” [0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information”) to a communication mode of operation; ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0045])
establishing, by the one or more ultra-wideband, UWB communication units in the communication mode of operation, UWB communication with a UWB-enabled system included in the vehicle; ([0032] – “It is provided that the ultra-wideband sensors 21 on the vehicle communicate with the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17 of the charging station 3… at least one of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 emits a signal which is provided, in particular, with a coding for identification purposes. Another of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21 detects the signal, reads the coding, and can decide, for example, whether the detected signal is a permissible signal… so that a charging process can be authorized” [0045])
performing, via the UWB communication, at least one transaction-related task between the UWB-enabled system at the predefined location and the vehicle; (Examiner notes that their broadest reasonable interpretation of “transaction-related task” in light of the specification includes an authentication task. See, e.g., instant application specification [0034] – “authentication tasks and other transaction-related tasks”) and
operation to determine a position and orientation of the vehicle relative to the UWB-enabled system at the pre-defined location ([0012-14] – “current position of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station is determined by means of at least one ultra-wideband sensor for a positioning process. In this case, the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station… In order to position or in order to determine the position of the motor vehicle in relation to the charging station, individual electromagnetic pulses are preferably emitted by the ultra-wideband sensor, reflected pulses are received and the propagation time of said pulses is calculated for the purpose of position determination.” [0038] – “The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning”) and the radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0034], [0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.” [0006] – “the ultra-wideband sensor is preferably designed in such a way that the electromagnetic waves are additionally emitted in different polarization directions. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information. Supplementary ascertaining of the orientation between the vehicle and the charging station in particular is possible as a result.” Initial ascertaining of orientation between the vehicle and charging station corresponds to ranging mode as cited above for the previous limitation. Ascertaining /discriminating additional objects for collision avoidance (and supplementary ascertaining of orientation between vehicle and the charging station) corresponds to radar mode as cited for this limitation. Therefore, the modes, both performed by UWB sensor 21, are alternated in order to achieve both an initial and supplementary ascertaining of the orientation.) ([0046] – “The method in FIG. 8B differs from the preceding method in that authorization, that is to say step S4, and establishing communication, that is to say step S5, are carried out before positioning at a distance according to step S2.”)
Oman (‘449) teaches:
controlling, by a controller of an ultra-wideband (UWB)- enabled system one or more UWB communication units of the UWB system, (Fig. 1; [0015] – “The controller 18… for storing one or more routines, thresholds and captured data. The one or more routines may be executed by the processor 20 to perform steps for operating one or more ultra wideband transceivers (UWBXs) on the vehicle 14”)
controlling, by the controller, the UWB communication units, wherein after performing the at least one transaction-related task in the communication mode of operation, (Fig. 2; [0016] – “the controller 18 and the first UWBX 22 cooperate to transmit a request pulse 24 at a request time 26 (FIG. 5). As used herein, the request pulse 24 is an electromagnetic signal emitted by the first UWBX 22 in accordance with UWB communication protocols.” [0021] – “The request pulse 24 may include a vehicle identification 36 such as a vehicle identification number (VIN) or a serial number of the first UWBX 22… the mobile UWBX 30 may be configured to only respond if a signal received by mobile UWBX includes a proper vehicle identification”) the controller causes the UWB communication units to selectively switch from the communication mode of operation to at least one of the ranging mode of operation to determine a position and orientation of the vehicle relative to the UWB-enabled system at the pre-defined location ([0019] – “The controller 18 may be further configured to determine the distance 12 between the first UWBX 22 and the mobile UWBX 30 based on the first time interval 28 (FIG. 5) between the request time 26 and a first time 34 that corresponds to when the reply pulse 32 is received by the first UWBX 22” [0024] – “by determining a location where the circles intersect, the direction 44 can be determined in addition to the distance 12.” [0029-30] – “the arrangement of the three UWBXs may be configured to function for ranging and communications to an active tag (electronic key)… active tag mode… With a UWBX installed in each tire to communicate with the vehicle's UWBX(s), the system 10 can automatically determine the position of the tire transponder (and ID) by time of flight triangulation between the vehicle Ultra Wideband system and each tire transponder. This allows distance recognition to within 1 cm.”) and the radar mode of operation to detect objects in a projected path of the vehicle. ([0029-31] – “short range (less than 10 m) detection of passive targets such as pedestrians or inanimate objects around the vehicle to allow for the implementation of the functions described below by a single set of hardware… For the passive target mode, the vehicle's UWBX(s) can be used in a radar mode to function similar to radar”) ([0032] – “By combining the active and passive modes a Security Threat Detection with Automated Panic function can be implemented. Security Threat Detection utilizes the vehicle's UWBXs which allows position range and tracking of electronic tags (fob/cellphone) as well as passive targets both inside and outside the vehicle.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Oman (‘449)’s known technique to Oetlle (‘093)’s known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Such a finding is proper because (1) Otelle (‘093) teaches a base invention using UWB sensors 21 on a vehicle for a plurality of modes of operations in sequence; (2) Oman (‘449) teaches a specific technique of controlling UWB transceivers to operate in one of multiple modes of operation based on a distance between a UWBX installed on a vehicle and a mobile UWBX; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in a system with decreased power, equipment, and operational requirements; and (4) no additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries are necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 16,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the ranging mode in order to determine a position of the vehicle relative to a charging station. ([0013] – “the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station,” [0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0031-40] – “The distance of the respective sensor from the object at which the pulses have been reflected is then determined by means of measuring the propagation time… The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning and coupling and, respectively, authorizing the motor vehicle 2.”)
Regarding claim 17,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in a combined ranging and radar mode in order to guide the vehicle to the predefined location. (Fig. 8; [0038] – “In this case, the ultra-wideband sensor 17 serves as a guideline for the motor vehicle 2.”)
Regarding claim 18,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 6, wherein the controller is further configured to predict a collision between the vehicle and an external object ([0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.”) based on a detection of the external object by the UWB communication units when the UWB communication units operate in the radar mode. ([0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information”)
Regarding claim 19,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the ranging mode in order to determine a position of the vehicle ([0013] – “the position of the motor vehicle is intended to be understood to mean not only the distance of the motor vehicle from the charging station but rather also the orientation of the motor vehicle with respect to the charging station,”) ([0029] – “The device 15 provides that an ultra-wideband system is used for positioning the motor vehicle 2.” [0031-40] – “The distance of the respective sensor from the object at which the pulses have been reflected is then determined by means of measuring the propagation time… The ultra-wideband sensors 21 of the motor vehicle 2 further serve for positioning and coupling and, respectively, authorizing the motor vehicle 2.”) relative to multiple modules of the UWB-enabled system, wherein the UWB-enabled system comprises a charging station. (Fig. 1, 3 – primary unit 4; [0009] – “a plurality of ultra-wideband receivers or sensors are arranged on the motor vehicle and on the primary unit in each case”)
Regarding claim 20,
Oetlle (‘093) in view of Oman (‘449) teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Oetlle (‘093) further teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the UWB communication units to operate in the radar mode in order to detect an external object which is present near or at the predefined location. ([0034] – “In addition, electromagnetic waves can be emitted in different polarization directions by one or more of the ultra-wideband sensors 16, 17, 21. This information can be used in order to construct a polarimetric radar system which performs additional object discrimination with the aid of the polarization information”) ([0049] – “radar device, can be used in order to prevent collisions with objects in the environment and to indicate to the user whether the target position, which is ascertained as described above, on the charging station can be driven to.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20170080962 A1 to Kashima teaches a first wireless communication device disposed in a mobile object and a second wireless communication device disposed in a fixed object. The second wireless communication device selectively operates in a data transmission mode and in a radar mode. The data transmission mode wirelessly communicates with the first wireless communication device
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648